NFL Division One: Discussion on a very competitive group

A great result for armagh considering they were missing so many, not just the cross boys but K.Toner, Gareth swith and m.o'rourke, fantastic - it must be the grimley effect

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 12/02/2012 11:28:20    1109774

killer_88_

1109663 Loyal2TheRoyal

What happens in the event of an abandoned game? Dublin were winning at the time and had a mad sent off (harshly according to reports). Game called off at HT.
-------------------------------------------

The red wasn't harsh. He threw the elbow back at Freeman and clearly caught him. It was a silly move.

I can't help but feel we got off the hook tonight. Although we were only 3 points down Dublin were dominating the game with only 14 men and the Brogans on the bench. Our forwards weren't moving for each other and our backs were all at sea, Dublin were scoring at will. Hopefully we have learned a few lessons and can improve for the replay. The dubs can feel hard done by, they were on their way to an unusually easy win in Castlebar.

P.S. What did ye make of the "point" awarded to Mayo when Varley hit the crossbar and the ball flew well wide?? It would've been interesting had Mayo gone on to win by a point!

mccarthy sending off was a complete joke look at the facts he
a.he was only protecting the ball
b.how low was freemans head going into the tackle
c. and finally freeman came from behind mccarthy if you think about honesthy mccarthy was more interested in getting ball forward and would not have seen him and at most it should have only been a free

great game for the dubs felt we could have gone on and won only it was cut short by bad weather conditions who could have predicted that a miserable drive home but on a plus side alot of positives to take from the game also connolly great point from p brogan and few others not to mention all improved on last and kev mc as usuall played a blinder again looking razor sharp at the minute.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/02/2012 11:34:28    1109776

just after watching kerry v armagh unreal scoreline who could have seen that coming armagh looking pretty impressive at the minute and both cork and kerry out of the way exciting times for armagh
well done armagh.
p.s. unbelieveable sending off to win your own free only to raise your knee if front of the ref smart move alright especially when your team is loosing.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/02/2012 11:38:24    1109778

mcmahon should have walked for kicking out at his opponent, in front of the ref!
it was on camera too, the commentators chose bot to comment on it!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 12/02/2012 12:49:19    1109793

I didn't see that and I'm being honest with you, if he kicked out then he should be suspended but il have to see it first. Did you see donaghy kicking out when the Armagh player had the bad in his hands?? Right in front of the ref and he does nothing, it was a straight IMO. I have to say I use to really admire donaghy but now I've no time for him.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2012 13:48:08    1109830

dubbydave.

c. and finally freeman came from behind mccarthy if you think about honesthy mccarthy was more interested in getting ball forward and would not have seen him and at most it should have only been a free
--------------------------------------------------------
A. Protecting the ball or not you can't use your elbow the way McCarthy did.
B. Not particularly low as he was trying to tackle McCarthy.
C. Well most elbow's tend to be thrown at the man BEHIND you. He knew well Freeman was there trying to tackle him. You said yourself he was trying to protect the ball. Well if he didn't know Freeman was there then what was he protecting the ball from?

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 12/02/2012 13:56:19    1109835

killer_88_

1109835 dubbydave.

--------------------------------------------------------
A. Protecting the ball or not you can't use your elbow the way McCarthy did.
B. Not particularly low as he was trying to tackle McCarthy.
C. Well most elbow's tend to be thrown at the man BEHIND you. He knew well Freeman was there trying to tackle him. You said yourself he was trying to protect the ball. Well if he didn't know Freeman was there then what was he protecting the ball from?

mccarthy is not a dirty he was getting away from his player and as for the comment about he knew he was behind watch the match again i recorded it there is no way mccarthy would have seen him and as for using the elbow there was no force action in the elbow freeman looking foul and got it as most mayo lads looking for easy fouls last night role on the replay

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/02/2012 14:05:32    1109844

killer 88,in fairness it was never a sending off,alot of referrees wouldnt have even given a free.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 12/02/2012 14:11:12    1109848

If you can look at the incident again,have a look at Alan Dillons face.He seemed pretty surprised that McCarthy was sent off too.McCarthy didnt "throw" his elbow back at your man.It was just an unlucky connection.As I said,when i first saw it i thought it was a harsh free,dont mind a sending off.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 12/02/2012 14:18:26    1109852

theroad
also the more you look at it imo there was no real force in the elbow action to prove there was any mailce in the challenge

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/02/2012 14:21:46    1109854

I never said he was a dirty player. He used his elbow and that's that, straight red.

And you're completely over-exaggerating saying Mayo players were diving all night. I suppose Dublin players never ever ever look for a free when in a difficult position. Cop on. When you're running towards the corner after the ball, go down on it and if you feel contact go down and you'll get your free. Any coach will tell you that.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 12/02/2012 14:22:11    1109855

killer_88_

1109855 I never said he was a dirty player. He used his elbow and that's that, straight red.

And you're completely over-exaggerating saying Mayo players were diving all night. I suppose Dublin players never ever ever look for a free when in a difficult position. Cop on. When you're running towards the corner after the ball, go down on it and if you feel contact go down and you'll get your free. Any coach will tell you that.

i never said anything about mayo diving all night but guess your just been honest as regards about mccarthy i was only making apoint he is not adirty player thats all fact is lad it was no sending off light free if anything getting away from his marker but how long low was freemans head going into the tackle honestly and then the cheek of him on the ground diving around player of his quality should know better....................

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/02/2012 14:43:42    1109874

McCarthy is not a dirty player and it was no way a sending off.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 12/02/2012 14:49:04    1109878

What is all this "McCarthy is not a dirty player" nonsense. That fact that he is not a dirty player doesn't mean he must be innocent of any accusation leveled at him. You don't have to be a dirty player to make a mistake and do something stupid in the heat of battle. Martin Taylor was not a dirty player but he still destroyed Eduardo's leg.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 12/02/2012 14:57:31    1109886

This was posted as a new thread but has been incorporated here.

breakingball22

County: Louth

kerry being booed?

kerry fans booed their team after the second league match? seems a bit odd and soccerish...after all the great days that the fans have been given it seems a bit disrespectful to some of these players...dont remember any booing at any louth game ive been at and we are nowhere near the level of kerry!!!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 12/02/2012 14:57:36    1109887

Couldnt have been more happy than if it was my own country. Delighted for Ardmacha. Always good to see a Northern county beat kerry in their own back yard. Proud of the boys. Up to Cross to do business next week now.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 12/02/2012 14:57:52    1109889

Administrator

1109887 This was posted as a new thread but has been incorporated here.

breakingball22
County: Louth

kerry being booed?

kerry fans booed their team after the second league match? seems a bit odd and soccerish...after all the great days that the fans have been given it seems a bit disrespectful to some of these players...dont remember any booing at any louth game ive been at and we are nowhere near the level of kerry!!!

very disrespectfull but sadly it does happen but the one thing that myself personally cant abide by is fans leaving the ground early when team is loosing i cant stand that you go to the match to support your county win loose or draw thats is my moto but for some fans to leave early is the ultimate low for me personally anyway.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/02/2012 15:09:56    1109898

Had a feeling Armagh would beat them.Theyll be some side for the championship if the league form is anything to go by.Good to see guys like gaelAntrim leeching off the success of other counties,God knows his own county wont give him much.Is Gaelic football becoming a non contact sport?Watching the Donegal game and everytime a player puts his hand on another he goes down and gets a free.Very frustrating to watch.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 12/02/2012 15:10:23    1109899

Galway man its not leeching to desire success for some counties other than ones own. I lived in Armagh for five years and played my school football in Armagh , and secondly Im always happy to see Kerry beaten. Granted my own county would not likely have a chance against them , but they certainly wouldnt lap it , in the way Galway allowed their beloved Kingdom to waltz round them at croke park a few years back. Just stick to the subject of football and you'll be better served my friend.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 12/02/2012 15:46:49    1109920

Dont buy that for a second gaelantrim,with your "always good to see a Northern county beat kerry" stuff.proves the point that Ulster people complaining of bias is a bit dodgy.Imagine i said its always good to see a Galway team beat an Ulster team?Yed be screaming bloody murder.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 12/02/2012 16:00:09    1109933