NFL Division One: Discussion on a very competitive group

Talk about feeling deflated, been looking forward to both the Dubs game and the rugby all week : (

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 11/02/2012 20:54:36    1109658

Loyal2TheRoyal

What happens in the event of an abandoned game? Dublin were winning at the time and had a mad sent off (harshly according to reports). Game called off at HT.
-------------------------------------------

The red wasn't harsh. He threw the elbow back at Freeman and clearly caught him. It was a silly move.

I can't help but feel we got off the hook tonight. Although we were only 3 points down Dublin were dominating the game with only 14 men and the Brogans on the bench. Our forwards weren't moving for each other and our backs were all at sea, Dublin were scoring at will. Hopefully we have learned a few lessons and can improve for the replay. The dubs can feel hard done by, they were on their way to an unusually easy win in Castlebar.

P.S. What did ye make of the "point" awarded to Mayo when Varley hit the crossbar and the ball flew well wide?? It would've been interesting had Mayo gone on to win by a point!

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 11/02/2012 20:58:19    1109663

3 Brogans will probably start the re-match killer

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 11/02/2012 21:03:20    1109666

just watched kerry game and dont know what the hell is wrong with tomas ose or what he is thinking reminds me of his older brother at the end of his career, no need for that. Also donnaghy is getting very annoying with his complaining all the time. armagh deserved the win though they were the better team.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 11/02/2012 21:03:48    1109667

realdub

3 Brogans will probably start the re-match killer
-------------------------------------------------------------

I dread to think what the half-time score might have been had they been involved.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 11/02/2012 21:13:14    1109675

hih ball into donaghy, like seriously when i jack going to wake up and realise that tactit isn effective anymore without tommy tere to support him,in recent years best game was v dublin in 09, donaghy missing, coincidence?

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 11/02/2012 21:14:26    1109677

Yes Thomas strike with the knee was very stupid and he will miss a game for it. Im not defending it at all its a straight red end of.
Donaghy has been moaning and giving out for far too long, i would not start him in our next game.
I would also drop Brendan Keally i have no faith in him at all

Armagh deserved there victory with some long range points that were class. They knew when to foul and hold up play, little ankle taps
and stopping frees being taken like the one that resulted in Thomas knee strike.

A lot to work on...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/02/2012 21:18:14    1109680

Well done to all the new lads(and the old ones) in team. I was hoping for a decent performance in Kerry was'nt expecting a win, good to see us playing a more direct style of football rather than the slow hand-passing. To stay up in division one is very important playing quality teams Cork and Kerry- the experience is gold dust.Hope to be meeting those counties again this year!

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 11/02/2012 21:34:35    1109694

great to see Armagh winning important games. Was in Croke Park last sat nite an thought that Star Donaghy has not got it anymore. pity to see it but it happens to all players and I know its only Feb but the trend has changed completly this year with many of the top flight teams on this new early fitness regimes that was started by Dub last year.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 921 - 11/02/2012 21:42:00    1109703

very good win for armagh considering the negative tactics employed by kerry

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1749 - 11/02/2012 21:51:06    1109714

Awesome result for Armagh. Well deserved but defenitely didn't see it coming or would have backed them at 15/2!

neverafree (Down) - Posts: 456 - 11/02/2012 21:53:20    1109719

Armagh fully deserved there win and fair play to the fans that travelled a long way down to support there team... Thats real support, im sure the long drive up wont be bad now :)

Barrowsider

What are you on about, im sure you are just looking for a reaction but can you explain Kerrys negative tactics? yes we were very very poor but what was it that was negative? did you see us holding up the play? or ankle tapping Armagh forwards?
We where behind for the whole game so i dont know why we would be playing negative football...

I look forward to watching Carlow's open attacking brand of football......

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/02/2012 22:02:01    1109728

westkerry

we all know carlows capabilities, it was the kerry dirty tactics i was referring to, rugby tackles have no place in our game

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1749 - 12/02/2012 09:02:37    1109733

Barrowsider

What in the name of God are you on about? You clearly didn't watch the game last night.

Intact the majority of Kerry's scores came from frees. While almost every Armagh score was from play. That alone tells a story about who done the most fouling.

And how can a team who's chasing the game from the very start, afford to play negative football?

That really was a ridiculous statement you made. The powerhouse that is Carlow criticising the Kerry play football. Classic stuff.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 12/02/2012 09:45:09    1109740

i counted 4 rugby tackles in the second half all done in the armagh half of the field, i would allow for a extra frees this time of year but jumping at your opponent ? i don't see what carlow has to do with my opinion, can you explain that to me?

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1749 - 12/02/2012 09:56:33    1109743

It shows one thing to all dubs every team we play they raise there game for us ,all Ireland champs or not. Kerry last Saturday played like there life depended on it , Kerry last night played like they didn't care. The dubs were very impressive last night. Our full back 'the roc' is outstanding , I thought all the lads played well in the first half but dermo up front was class and was the stand performer. The sending off was a joke what was the ref thinking? One more thing that I'm really getting fed up with is the diving in our game, Philly mac challenged the mayo corner forward and before he even touched him he was going down and got a free, terrible decision. It's happening all to often and I'm getting sick of it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2012 10:10:32    1109751

Fair point Clondalkin, but are you seriously suggesting that no Dublin players ever take an easy fall?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 12/02/2012 10:55:15    1109761

Barrowsider

Not a word about it. I watched the game and the closest thing to a rugby tackle was mackens tackle on Sheehan at ye end which you chose to ignore too.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 12/02/2012 11:04:08    1109765

i wouldnt be hard on the mayo lads its some of the kerry forwards who are realy diving seem them last saturday in croker every time a tackle came in and seen them in second half last night the refs would want to start copping on to it sheehan kept kerry in both games with frees as a result of these dives

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/02/2012 11:15:42    1109769

Ye they probably do and i will say it if I see it. The kerry lad was at it again last night and we all seen mulligans dive against derry , it needs to be stamped out before it becomes a big problem.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2012 11:16:50    1109770