Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Just saw a clip there on the news, not much of a brawl, about 30 tyrone lads attacking a few kerry lads. Throw them out, give it to the galway team.

gaafan2012 (Dublin) - Posts: 10 - 23/01/2012 19:00:47    1098812

The Road..

"Tyronetim,when have I ever said anything about economic migrants?I would have infinitely more respect for foreign nationals working and earning an honest living in this country than for those "supporters" who embarrassed the Gaa yesterday. "

Read my posting again..prejudice seems to trip freely from the tongue so easily these days in modern Ireland...if its not the foreign nationals it's the Nordies...prejudice is wrong full stop.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 23/01/2012 19:15:25    1098822

The same nordies tried that lark with the Dubs during the battle of Omagh......but they were left in no doubt as to who their masters were once the drama was all over and they had gingerly peeled themselves up off the groud!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/01/2012 19:41:43    1098853

It's clear from the footage on TV3 that it all started when a Dromid player hit a member of the Derrytresk backroom staff. Dromid started it, Derrytresk finished it. Well done to all involved

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 23/01/2012 19:50:27    1098869

Snuf
God knows why they let you back but dublin got lumps took outa them that day which is not right by the way that was after alan brogan had run into the stand and then dublin got thumped.

mickeylinden (Monaghan) - Posts: 587 - 23/01/2012 19:54:03    1098871

It happens everywhere be it players or supporters and needs rooting out. Highlighting Ulster counties is pathetic and is definitley prejudicial. We all know about the problems with Corrafin not too long ago, just staying in the same county you could maybe ask the Cannings about unchallenged tuggery in the Galway hurling championship a few years back, young Joe nearly jacked. Carlow have had problems, Wicklow say no more, Louth a few years back etc etc etc

As an aside I have always dispised the term Nordie. It makes me cringe to read such postings. Culchie isnt much better. You can sum up someones mentality quite quickly by the use of such terms.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 537 - 23/01/2012 19:56:01    1098874

so pplocal you are saying well done to people who invade pitches and attack players during a game?Says a lot about the your philosophy.

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 23/01/2012 19:56:07    1098875

Yeah well done, out number men and attack them. A great bunch of lads!

gaafan2012 (Dublin) - Posts: 10 - 23/01/2012 19:57:56    1098877

You are so right snuff, those nordies were and are no match for the mighty Dubs.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 23/01/2012 19:58:52    1098879

Far too many players at pitch-side and this invites trouble. The subs should be sitting in the front row of the stand sectioned off from the crowd and should not have access to the field or sideline until summoned by the manager. In club matches they should not be on the sideline either but behind a wall or in a dugout with a line around it like they have in soccer. Far too many encroachments in G.A.A. games and inviting trouble !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/01/2012 19:59:07    1098881

Pity to read about all these brawls. No hope of any one being able to outplay Dec O Sullivan so I suppose opponents try to outslay him. None of them will ever win as many All Ireland medals. Well I`ll tell all ye "wee northerners summen ". Theres a sturdy group of men from Clonbur County Galway meetin ye in the final.
The Tyrone team will "get enough of it"and Clonbur will bring that trophy West for the first time.!!

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 23/01/2012 20:00:01    1098884

Have agree with Jamsie O'Connor on Off The Ball this evening, time to kick Derrytresk out of the competition and send out a message that attacking players will not be tolerated. Sickening to see so many Ulster posters attempting to justify these supporters attacking players

Shin_kicker (Dublin) - Posts: 50 - 23/01/2012 20:01:58    1098887

I think if a player decides to attack someone who isn't on the pitch they deserve everything that's coming to them. Dromid, no doubt shocked at how tough little Derrytresk were proving to be, started the whole sorry affair by punching a staff member of the opposition team. Derrytresk players obviously came to his aid as any players would. Hopefully it is investigated and the Dromid player dealt with accordingly

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 23/01/2012 20:06:44    1098898

http://www.tv3.ie/sport.php?request=&tv3_preview=&video=44630

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/01/2012 20:25:40    1098918

23/01/2012 20:06:44
pplocal

1098898 I think if a player decides to attack someone who isn't on the pitch they deserve everything that's coming to them. Dromid, no doubt shocked at how tough little Derrytresk were proving to be, started the whole sorry affair by punching a staff member of the opposition team. Derrytresk players obviously came to his aid as any players would. Hopefully it is investigated and the Dromid player dealt with accordingly
23/01/2012 20:25:40
Gammy_Knee
County: USA

1098918 http://www.tv3.ie/sport.php?request=&tv3_preview=&video=44630

pp thats totally the wrong attitude to have, while they shouldnt be on the pitch, both sides are at fault.
Both sets of players are involved and a Dromid player threw the first punch but that's no excuse for a few hot heads in the crowd to jump in.
What im taking from your post is that its only Dromids fault which from looking at the video its not the case. Whoever the lad with the green hood who jumped the barrier and started throwing punches should be banned for an indefinate period from all GAA action

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/01/2012 20:33:55    1098927

Tyronetim
Tyrone is a boil on Ciarrai's 36 AI's that they just can't seem to lance.

You see this is the nonsense that I refer to. Earth to Tyronetim, it is nothing to do with getting under kerry's skin or beating kerry for sam. These people are thugs and should be removed from the gaa. Some people need to wake up and smell the roses.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/01/2012 20:50:13    1098936

Just watched the clip on TV3 and to be honest lads if that was the worst of it then it is a storm in a tea cup. I've honestly seen worse at club and intercounty on an annual basis and I'm sure most people on hoganstand would agree. That said I cannot condone this or any similar behaviour that I have seen and the biggest problem in this incidence is the invasion on the pitch by people not directly involved. If everyone else had stayed out of it the officials would have dealt with it and play resumed. We had a similar case in Donegal last year in a Senior Championship match and it was minimal punishments for those involved.
The GAA has plenty of enemies to drag it down, incidents like this just add fuel. We need as an organisation to take responsibility on ourselves from club level up to educate our young players not to interfere in incidents not directly involved in and we also need to come down stronger on our supporters who get involved. Our club has handed out lifetime bans in the past to non playing club members for actions and its time to stamp this out before somebody gets seriously hurt.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 23/01/2012 20:57:21    1098946

pplocal

It's clear from the footage on TV3 that it all started when a Dromid player hit a member of the Derrytresk backroom staff. Dromid started it, Derrytresk finished it. Well done to all involved

Care to expalan how it ''clear'' the Dromid player started it? When it shows the Derrytresk backroom staff knocking the Dromid player? Then again i suppose you didn't see that bit

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 20:57:23    1098947

how low can the gaa dragged down to , sickening to see suppose gaa fans here defending that type of scum , it has no place in the gaa bully boy intimidation tactics .

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/01/2012 20:59:38    1098951

'Care to expalan how it ''clear'' the Dromid player started it? When it shows the Derrytresk backroom staff knocking the Dromid player? Then again i suppose you didn't see that bit'

The first punch thrown in that video footage is by a Dromid player on a non-playing member of the Derrytresk team. It shouldn't happen but reading about it I thought it would be a lot worse than what it actually was, that sort of handbags (pardon the pun) happens on a weekly basis up and down Ireland

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 23/01/2012 21:18:09    1098981