Who are the 'biased southern media' that many of the posters from Northern Ireland have made reference to!? Is it the Examiner in Cork or the Kerryman you're talking about? Joe Duffy is based in RTE in Dublin which is in the east of the country, as are most of the national newspapers.
Thuggery among players is one thing, but clubs from Tyrone have consistently disgraced themselves and the Association when their 'supporters' have resorted to violence. The incident yesterday was mild to recent scenes up there recently when a man has his ear bitten up in the stands.
I really hope the Gardai can punish those responsible, perhaps the PSNI can co-operate in extraditing some of them to face charges.
ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 23/01/2012 16:51:16
Liveline was a joke lads and anyone who gives it credence needs their head examined. 2 or 3 of the "contribitors" were not even at the game. It was very biased with a very any north agenda, e.g one guy kept referring to that crowd of thugs from Northern Ireland while in the same breath waxing lyrical about how he is a dyed in the wool GAA man. If he was he would realise the Association is a 32 county one with no recognition of Northern Ireland. The thing is this does highlight an attitude in much of the D4 attitude to the GAA in the North.
In regards to the events, while there is always 2 sides to every story, there does seem to be an underlying agreement that Derrytresk were out of line. On lad from Dromid left the field at half time with concussion while another will probably have to get a plate put into his jaw. This is wrong no matter who is involved in it and whether it happened in Tyrone, Mayo, Cork or Meath it is wrong. It is time for the excuse makers to get rid of the chips on their shoulders and look at the real issue that needs to be addressed and that is discipline and respect for the rules. And that is not just the rules of the game but general rules of fair play. Play tough but play fair and at all times play the ball not the man.
RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 23/01/2012 16:54:27
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 4708
1098676 Hilarious hypocrisy of the highest order once again. When Tyrone get bashed by Meath it's because they aren't tough enough but when a Tyrone team hit back they are guilty of physical assault??? You couldn't make some of this stuff up, double standards how are you?
Meath dealt with Tyrone on the pitch. Beat them fair and square. there was no "fans" running on to assault players. For you to use a match 16 years ago that stayed on the pitch, to condone thuggary and assault outside of the game is an example of your own ignorance.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 23/01/2012 16:58:45
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 754
1098648 Ulsterman Posts: 4701 Antrim 23/01/2012 15:29
BIAS AGAINST ULSTER GAA AND THE NORTH
raises it's ugly head in the GAA and Southern media once again. Yesterday's incidents in Portlaoise have kicked off a rabid, nasty, one sided reaction in the GAA outside Ulster and Southern media who have always been hostile to the North and Ulster GAA. Indeed if players, fans and mentors from either Dromid or Derrytresk are found guily of violent actions they should pay the penalty but the fall out and biased campaign today against Derrytresk, Tyrone and the North from some outside Ulster would be called racism if it was carried out against any other group. It has vindicated everything I have ever said that there are those in the 26 counties who, for some reason, hate everything about the Ulster GAA, North and Northern people. It has always been bubbling just under the surface in the GAA and South and erupts every so often; today is one of those occasions and some people need to wind their necks in and take the chip off their shoulders.
Complete rubbish, bias??? Really, what element of the stroy was biased. Players were attacked by so called "supporters" on 1 team. You are only making yourself look foolish with ramblings like you have just posted
The only rubbish is on here is yous 26 thinks that this only happens in tyrone cop on will ya. On the road galway why dont you take off those tinted glasses, I t was a disgrace what happen like i said but happens in every county in ireland and that saddens me.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 17:02:28
,Awful posts coming from north and south. It doesnt matter where anyone is from, certain behaviour at a gaa match is unacceptable, nor does past events mattet a damn in this case. Can the tyrone men honestly say that the fans were not a disgrace to the gaa??? And can the Kerry fans say that Tyrone is the worst county when it comes to these scenarios? Let the gaa FOR ONCE set an example and punish those on either side who thoroughly deserve it.
gaafan2012 (Dublin) - Posts: 10 - 23/01/2012 17:04:27
RingoI am a Derrytresk man and was at the game yesterday. Whilst you may think me bias I can say Dromin players behaved badly without provocation. Dromin players repeatedly went to the ref asking for Derrytresk players to be booked. As for the scuffle, it was our 17 year old back who was hit on the sideline by 2 Dromin players. This was in the middle of our selectors who were then punched by one of these players. At that point things got out of hand because there were no stewards to restrain those involved. I'm not excusing anyone who threw a punch but when the situation was over out 17 year old was still lying on the ground. All in all a good game somewhat spoiled by the incident and the real bad feeling from the start which was obvious from the stands. Kerry seem to think that they are still the lords who invented the game. Time they are a changing, the best team won.
Tyrone_Hill_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 23/01/2012 17:13:23
Derrytresk: 2 yellow cards Dromid: 2 red cards, 9 yellow cards
Clear to see which team resorted to physical violence. Well done Derrytresk, don't let the usual Kerry whinging overshadow what was a fantastic victory
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 23/01/2012 17:14:02
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 612
1098671 Oh shut up Ulsterman.The bias I see here involves all the Northern posters defending the Derrytresk players (one moron described their antics as passion).Typical anti southern ramblings.Why should players from Kerry have to put up with those rabid supporters
Why dont you take your own advice before telling others . Nobody i see answered why 2 kerry men got sent off and got 8 yellows .The supporters though should get life .
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 17:16:26
A very sad day when joe duffy gets involved
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 23/01/2012 17:18:47
typical bull from ulsterman , there is no defending this they should be thrown out and players and mentors supporters banned and where can be proved charged and brought to justice , i have enough of these teams and supporters coming down south thinking they can get away with anything they want , its about time we stood up to these tactics north and south . and this type of behaviour seems to be the in vogue for the new gaa fan
hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/01/2012 17:19:22
Seeing as I wasn't there yesterday I can't comment on the goings on in Laois. From this distance it would appear that the GAA would need to maintain their fencing nationwide and improve their stewarding outside Croke Park. Supporters and players at games do tend to get excited and lose the run of themselves whether it's in Tyrone or Kerry/ Ireland or elsewhere /at GAA matches or other sports. Have any ot you ever seen the rows between rugby players or soccer supporters. Even in the good ole USA isn't there trouble after American football matches. I do feel free to comment on what has been going on since but why should anyone be surprised at the attitude of the southern media? These are the same people who have not only stood idly by but been cheerleaders for the politicians who have transferred Bank debt onto the citizens of the 26 counties. Hypocrisy is their stock in trade. And Joe Duffy is a populist, overpaid and overrated journalist who refuses to take a voluntary pay cut. People on here seem to love jumping on high horses without thinking of the skeletons in their own cupboards eg I have seen Galway posters on here preaching yet its only a few weeks ago that Corofin supporters invaded the pitch and were intent on beating a referee. Not only that but it's not so long ago either that referee Christy Helebert had to be locked in a dressing room while a crowd of Mullagh supporters were baying for his blood outside. That is only one county. It goes on everywhere. This is how people behave sometimes. That is why there are laws and rules to deal with this kind of behaviour. Unfortunately the application of rules and laws is a big problem in Ireland and not only in sport.
BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 23/01/2012 17:27:14
Jinxie County: Meath Posts: 3771
1098692 Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 4708
1098676 Hilarious hypocrisy of the highest order once again. When Tyrone get bashed by Meath it's because they aren't tough enough but when a Tyrone team hit back they are guilty of physical assault??? You couldn't make some of this stuff up, double standards how are you?
Meath dealt with Tyrone on the pitch. Beat them fair and square. there was no "fans" running on to assault players. For you to use a match 16 years ago that stayed on the pitch, to condone thuggary and assault outside of the game is an example of your own ignorance
I do not have to go back that long for all these serious incidents in meath club football and players getting off with serious breaches of dicispline.... tut tut tut
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 17:30:19
Mayotyroneman, are you going to give me those examples of such acts in mayo club football, you said they exist so lets hear them? I have already said that I do not condone it if it did happen, but for the sake of completeness (and to ensure that you are not telling lies), let us hear the examples of numerous assaults on players from the crowd in mayo club football.
Breffni39 Unless every man woman and child from Derrytresk invaded the pitch and assaulted someone you are being very misreprestative of the issue here and there is no need for it.
What? If I meant every man woman and child then wouldnt I have said that? I said the crowd came on en masse, that doesnt mean every single person, that means a large amount of them, i.e. it wasnt just one or two 'bad eggs'. Instead of picking out single sentences of people's posts and nitpicking at the language used, why not explain how condemning multiple assaults on players from the crowd is 'getting on a high horse', as you put it? Surely people are allowed to point such issues out? Furthermore are people not allowed to respond when fools describe such acts as 'passion'? Or is that high horsing aswell? Numerous posters have pointed out that this seems to happen more often in tyrone than anywhere else. Isnt that also true? The evidence is there in front of you, yet all I see as an explanation is 'hypocrisy' (how does condemning assualts make me a hypocrite? I have never seen it, never done it and never condoned it) or a 'media bias' (so the assaults never happened then and the media made it up?).
Then you get ulsterman coming on with his anti this anti that propaganda. How about cutting to the part where condemning assaults on players from the crowd is wrong? There was 2 red cards in the game, so what? Does that make it open season on assaults? Sendings off are part of the game, not a very nice one, but they happen. Tyrone had 2 players sent in against derry in the ulster championship in the mid 90s, did they get assaulted by fans? And if they had would it be ok?
Look back over this thread and see how pretty much every tyrone poster (and some ulster posters) row in behind the club and make it a tyrone issue, us against the world, ye are just all against us and its a big conspiricy. And then it is the 'free staters' who have the bias? For gods sake, get real. These guys have acted terribly and they should be punished, end of story, it doesnt matter where they are from.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/01/2012 17:31:42
hipster Bull you say why did yous hide the fact that a dublin player broke a lads chaw in a challenge last year off the ball so stop the bull with blaming the north.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 17:33:44
Well all ill say to that is that it is the Dromoid selectors who want an investiagtion into what happened,and they are calling for the video of the game to be examined.Dosent sound to me like they have too much to hide.I wouldnt blame the Dromoid players in any event.After all,theyre the ones leaving the pitch with broken jaws and stud marks on their backs.It would be impossible to keep your head in the face of such hostitlity,not just from the players,but the supporters as well.If the Northerners only got two yellow cards I would argue that it is because they are much more experienced in the dark arts of Gaa intimidation and did their stuff when the referee wasnt looking.STOP DEFENDING THEM.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 23/01/2012 17:33:53
Fair point from BIGSACKS about the Corofin fans by the way.I wont be defending their behaviour just beacuse Im from Galway.Thuggery is thuggery and should never be condoned just because youre from the same town/county/province as the perpetrators (are you listening Ulsterman).
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 23/01/2012 17:41:02
I'd pay good money to see Joe Duffy get a belt of a handbag.
Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 23/01/2012 17:44:33
Well said TheRoad, GAA need to stamp out this thuggish behaviour in all all areas of the game. Underage games parents are a nightmare on the sideline. We need to change this culture
andhuglas (Cork) - Posts: 26 - 23/01/2012 17:52:48
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 6711
1098596 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1109
1098562 I see alot of oh Dromid had 2 players sent off they must have been as bad. Been reading some reports of people at the game and the Tyrone lads were trowning themselfs on the ground every chance they got to try and get lads booked or sent off (something Tyrone have been good at over the years) at one point the ref told one of them to get up off the ground and cop himself on
You say "trowning themselfs on the ground", I prefer the term "o'mahonying themselves on the ground". Doesn't have the same ring as Kennellyed but still just about works.
oh wow is that the best you can do? What does that have to do with the game yesterday?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 17:53:58
TheRoad County: Galway
Thought you said it only happens in tyrone your men tried to attack a ref tut tut glass houses my sirs.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 17:54:39