Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

ringo
County: Wexford

Also on the terraces topic - I generally go to a few big games per year outside of Wexford's involvement (you'd have to if you wanted to see a few high profile games!). The worst fans I've encountered are Tyrone, Tipp, Antrim and Limerick in that order. Found the Armagh fans really good, was surprised by that.

Antrim fans? You can't be serious, we don't have any. Antrim big game? When is this alleged to have happened

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 26/01/2012 16:50:40    1100917

Ringo The worst fans I've encountered are Tyrone, Tipp, Antrim and Limerick in that order. Found the Armagh fans really good, was surprised by that.
you haven't been to a Meath,Dublin,Galway,Kerry,Monaghan or Derry game ? granted Armagh seem to be fair bunch I should know been to so many Ulster games involving Tyrone and Armagh over the last decade and always good "Craic" win lose or draw.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 26/01/2012 16:56:42    1100920

I have just watched the footage of the "brawl" for the first time today. On first impressions I am absolutely astounded that this incident has received the level of media attention that it has. Was there a different row that the camera's didn't catch were someone was actually hurt?

The solution is very simple, a suspension for the Derrtresk guy with the clip board for the uncalled for trip. If a woman hit DS with a handbag she should be banned.

What I can't understand is the outrage from supporters of Dromid who clearly contributed to the escalation of the whole thing.

Both teams would need to take a hard look at themselves as neither of them covered their selves in glory. But this hysteria is bordering on the ridiculous and it only serves to give ammunition to people who want to detract from these counties or our games.

It becomes more and more obvious everyday that a large percentage of the people on here don't actually play ball at all. That game at the weekend meant everything to both these teams. Anywhere you have competition and physical contact there is always the possibility that someone is going to do something stupid that will inevitably snowball into a fracas.

This is the minority of games and has always been the way but has probably lessened in recent times but with the amount of camera's about everyone see's it now. I could name 2 incidents similar to this that happened in Dublin club football last year (but won't).

whitenred (Tyrone) - Posts: 156 - 26/01/2012 16:57:02    1100921

@ tonto21
Kilkenny v Tipp are certainly the cream of the crop! You are right there! At the same time we are not bad at hurling either! Talk to me when you have 30 something All Irelands in the bag!! As for our footballers go we do our talking on the pitch! One of the most successful counties from minor right through to senior( in both codes might I add)! Cork, Kerry, Dublin play nice football!!! Not like the puke that you lads gave us in the semi last year!! Go away for yourselves and learn how to play the game and win a few All Irelands then maybe I will recognize Donegal on the GAA map!!
@Tyronetim
Nice little dig about the hurlers!! That's an issue with them! I am not ashamed of them! They have their reasons!! They done it in 99 and what happened after? We delivered a piece of silverware called LIAM MCCARTHY!!! You probably never heard of it up there have you?? Probably use hurling sticks for beating the heads of each other and using them as weapons at games along with handbags etc..

mmrebel (Cork) - Posts: 19 - 26/01/2012 17:09:11    1100930

Ulsterman
If Derrytresk are excluded I would expect an organised boycott of the club competitions and National Leagues from ALL Ulster sides and counties; this can be the only response.

Ha ha, maybe you could start a rival one funded by barry hearn. Dat da da da da...

I wonder would the number of instances of mass brawls be down in the championship if they did?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/01/2012 17:25:43    1100940

Here fortyfive no need for the sly dig at meath fans.
I think everyone would agree we've the most well-behaved and well-mannered support in the country.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 26/01/2012 17:38:56    1100944

Coylers Elbow

Here fortyfive no need for the sly dig at meath fans.
sorry coylers 96 is still an open wound for me .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 26/01/2012 17:46:58    1100949

Ha ha, maybe you could start a rival one funded by barry hearn. Dat da da da da...

I wonder would the number of instances of mass brawls be down in the championship if they did?

Well Mayos chances of finally winning an All Ireland would increase I suppose. They would find some way of still bottling it though all the same...

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 26/01/2012 17:49:21    1100951

i have literally seen the footage just there.my god they are the worst scenes of violence iv seen since me ma tried to stop me sister going to the shop in her pyjamas... seriously i have seen much worse,im not defending either team but come on lads.granted there is no need for it but im sure yiz have all seen worse

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 26/01/2012 18:04:50    1100960

MMRebel
@Tyronetim
Nice little dig about the hurlers!! That's an issue with them! I am not ashamed of them! They have their reasons!! They done it in 99 and what happened after? We delivered a piece of silverware called LIAM MCCARTHY!!! You probably never heard of it up there have you?? Probably use hurling sticks for beating the heads of each other and using them as weapons at games along with handbags etc..

Thank you. Did you not think you were due one? I've heard plenty of the Liam McCarthy..you see where I come from you don't have to be good at something to take a keen interest - that's called Bandwagon jumping. Would you believe I hurled for my county as well...not naturals but enthusiatic.
The old "We are violent" diatribe...read the comprehensive (Yet succinct) post I made yesterday which details where we learnt our ahemmm "Assertiveness". Quite like Cork as a county proncipally because of its ability to compete so effectively in both codes - I might make an exception for you though.
Remind me why do they call you the "Rebel county"?

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 18:06:28    1100961

mmrebel!! Why!! Do!! You!! Have!! To Use!! So Many!! Ex!! Clamation !!! Marks?!!

!!

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 26/01/2012 18:08:42    1100963

whitenred

Your wasting your time trying to be reasonable around here, of course most of what you say is correct but I don't expect the two sides to listen. In fact Hoganstand could segregate the opposing views here as reason is getting an absolute pasting. And when the punishments are dished out, this will all kick off again. Let us predict what is going to happen?
Three bans for the Kerry lot, for the Tyrone lot, a ban on all their fans at the final, life bans for half-a-dozen subs/supporteers camp follower, hefty bans for mentors and some players, and derisory fine. Tyrone club will accept this punishment and end off.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 26/01/2012 18:13:23    1100968

fortyfive,
where is this place called Londonderry you mentioned earlier?never heard of it.

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 26/01/2012 18:23:46    1100971

I have watched the video many times and its clear the person with the "clipboard" started the trouble by interfeering with a player who was stupid enough to retaliate ( and miss with his punch). Then more fools came running in.

Why the hell were there so many (15 or so ) so called mentors/officilas on the sideline ??

Later in the row there so nasty belts by people so joined from from the sideline and stand. Is it not very pointed that both Drumid midfielders were taken out. One being taken out is very clear in the video. The assaliant was in a Derrytresh top (a mentor or sub ??).
When the row was over and players were returning to their position why was it necessary for 2 Derrtresk players to push and shoulder Declan O'Sullivan and stalk, with one Derrtresk player marching after him with closed fists at the ready. I feel that was indicitave of an attitude and not one of friendly sporting rivalry.

Brining up what happened in other games over the years is only an attempt to muddy the waters.

What happened was wrong. The clipboard man started the trouble and while Drumid players who got involved were wrong those mentors who piled in were worse and of course those who jumped the barrier were the worst with the green hoodie totally out of order and he should be barred from all games.

I have no sympathy for either club. Both should be turfed out and heavt suspensions and fines handed out to all players who threw punches ( I did not see any kicks), while al the mentors/subs who got involved should get at least 2 years.

And while I live in Kildare dont start abusing them as I'm an Offaly man !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 26/01/2012 18:25:39    1100973

@Tyronetim
Congrats to you on playing for your county. To represent your county is an honour for everyone.
You asked me to explain about how we got the name "Rebel County". Well I actually hate talking about politics
to be honest. I have no time for such conversations!! This is a GAA thread and I want to get my feelings out about how I felt
after seeing the disgusting scenes in Portlaois last Sunday!!
@passerby
LOL I! don't! Know! why! I! use! the! exclaimation! so! often! Maybe to indicate my strong feelings towards this topic!!!!!!!!!!

mmrebel (Cork) - Posts: 19 - 26/01/2012 18:41:41    1100981

Why do so many people on this forum confuse history with politics!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for addressing the bandwagon hopping.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 19:01:27    1101000

Kerry club Dr Crokes call on the GAA to organise separate seating areas for supporters at next month's All-Ireland Club Football semi-final against Crossmaglen at Portlaoise. I hope this will never happen, never seen any fighting on the terraces alot of banter but nothing serious that needed segregation . I also feel that if I was a Cross supporter I would feel extremely unhappy at Crokes to suggest that Cross fans act irresponsibly they have a great history of going to the club show piece on paddys day . Is kerry becoming paranoid about the Nordies? answers on a post card or i pad.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 26/01/2012 19:01:35    1101001

Maybe somebody has said this already, if not let me be the first to ask.
How the hell did the ref not send anybody off after that?

denniswise (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 26/01/2012 19:07:47    1101005

I wouldn't be surprised fortyfive, and yes, Crossmaglen fans
should take serious offence to such a request, if it was made!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 26/01/2012 19:10:00    1101009

a kerry player is left concussed another is left with a broken cheekbone , a woman attacks a kerry player with a hand bag , and yes the tyrone club plays the victim how history has never changed , looking forward to seeing the scenes at the end of the match

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/01/2012 19:13:35    1101013