Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Brolly & wise_guy

I dont think HS will print the comments we were subjected to in Cross or Omagh.
In Cross it started before the throw in as a group of men (8 or 9) some middle aged started taking the P.... out of us for wasting our time coming up. It started maybe as banter but as soon the the scoring started the "mob" element took over and one of the lads had his glasses knocked off him as a kind of "see that"blow to his back when Armagh scored. This unsettled us and strong words were had by all but no sorry for that or anything like it. As the muppet show continued on the field the gang continued to be very loud and aggressive towards us and our teams performance. They were looking for one of us to react no doubt about it. We left at half time and again were jeered. We paid our money in to enjoy the game and were treated very badly by what I can only describe as a mob. Them boys were looking for trouble and there was no police present if we reacted to their taunts.

Omagh - This was just a completely male dominated zoo in my opinion. Never before have I seen so many grown men go so overboard over a game of football. One of the Tyrone players was down injured for a few minutes after Westmeath scored a goal. My eldest girl was still waving her flag when again a man that was old enought to know better (40s) pulled it out of her hand and grunted whatever.None of the Tyrone crowd around us told him to settle down or anything. ( Normal GAA people would) I kinda squared up to him as it was uncalled for but suddenly knew I was on my own. I backed off and we moved down about 10 yards. This is when my wife wanted to leave with the youngest but wouldn't as that would mean going past our earlier friend. As the game continued I was looking around me at what it was all about and It was just thousands of angry men looseing their heads and over what. It must have been 95% male, angry red faces on them and no security present. You dont see that anywhere else - theres alaways a few with a bit of cop on around you but not that day in Omagh.

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 26/01/2012 14:03:15    1100753

Tom 1916,

You edited half my post but if you read the second half you will see that I also said: "there is a small minority of "supporters" that go to games that are not genuine followers of games they only jump on the band wagon of winning teams. They go to games but have no real affiliation or history to the club/County they are "supporting". Therefore their actions have no consequence on them but only on the real followers that get punished for their actions".

This type of person is in every club/county in Ireland and my club and county are no exception. Football is a recreation/ hobby it has become tribal in certain counties and their hatred for other sets of supporters is unacceptable and has no place in the gaa at any level.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 26/01/2012 14:03:52    1100754

Nice one Big Sacks...doubt The Road will read either the original or this..doesn't suit the mindset

Incidentally my cousin was on the An Spideal team..imagine that being related to the durty nordy's (Probably explained the violence)

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 14:06:24    1100757

JinxyPoop
County: UK

1100738 Seems many posters are hiding behind the 'anti-ulster bias' excuse. Very cowardly.

There's some truth in that

So do my eyes deceive me and there are no posters on here who have turned this incident into an Tyrone/North/Ulster bashing exercise?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 26/01/2012 14:17:19    1100767

If Derrytresk are excluded I would expect an organised boycott of the club competitions and National Leagues from ALL Ulster sides and counties; this can be the only response.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 26/01/2012 14:21:59    1100771

Breffni39

JinxyPoop

1100738 Seems many posters are hiding behind the 'anti-ulster bias' excuse. Very cowardly.

So do my eyes deceive me and there are no posters on here who have turned this incident into an Tyrone/North/Ulster bashing exercise?

Of course some posters have done that.

Note the word SOME in Jinxy's post.

You're better than this!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/01/2012 14:23:04    1100772

Horsebox77

1100754 Tom 1916,

You edited half my post but if you read the second half you will see that I also said: "there is a small minority of "supporters" that go to games that are not genuine followers of games they only jump on the band wagon of winning teams. They go to games but have no real affiliation or history to the club/County they are "supporting". Therefore their actions have no consequence on them but only on the real followers that get punished for their actions".

This type of person is in every club/county in Ireland and my club and county are no exception. Football is a recreation/ hobby it has become tribal in certain counties and their hatred for other sets of supporters is unacceptable and has no place in the gaa at any level.

I agree horsebox, very well said. It's trime to get back to our GAA values after all we are all members of the one organisation.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 26/01/2012 14:24:08    1100774

legendzxix

There'll be a book released in years to come regards the rise and growth of hooliganism within Ulster football.

Written by Walter Mitty

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 26/01/2012 14:27:51    1100779

Ulsterman

If Derrytresk are excluded I would expect an organised boycott of the club competitions and National Leagues from ALL Ulster sides and counties; this can be the only response.

Only Ulster clubs and counties?

It doesn't surprise me that that would be your view.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/01/2012 14:29:54    1100780

Collie09

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Haha it must be eating away at you the fact the Kerry GAA has been Tyrones b***h this last number of years.... naw naw naw....

Last number of years???? Poor lad needs a history lesson..............

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/01/2012 14:32:18    1100781

Heavy suspensions for both sides is the only way out of this mess. This has been a total PR disaster for the GAA and the dinosaurs drawing their massive salaries still don't give a damn in my opinion.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/01/2012 14:35:48    1100786

MesAmis

1100772 Breffni39

JinxyPoop

No I'm not, I noticed the word "some" alright. "of course some posters have done that", would the two lads not be better off calling out people for doing this, rather than who they have.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 26/01/2012 14:38:14    1100789

MesAmis

1100772 Breffni39

JinxyPoop

No I'm not, I noticed the word "some" alright. "of course some posters have done that", would the two lads not be better off calling out people for doing this, rather than who they have.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 26/01/2012 14:38:18    1100791

@ Ulsterman
If Derrytresk are excluded I would expect an organised boycott of the club competitions and National Leagues from ALL Ulster sides and counties; this can be the only response

That would be fantastic to see!! No Ulster teams in football and hurling ( WELL THERE NEVER ARE IN HURLING)!! God I hope this will come through!! It will be nice to see the cream of the crop play against each other!! Thank you Ulsterman for suggesting this!! I hope somebody in the hallowed halls of Croke Park will take this into consideration!!!

mmrebel (Cork) - Posts: 19 - 26/01/2012 14:38:24    1100792

Ulsterman I used to think you were about the best WUM i had ever seen but nowadays i think maybe i was wrong
Maybe your really are just that paranoid and that bitter?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/01/2012 14:39:59    1100795

Right holidays cancelled no more Killarney nor An Daingean for me..no failte to be had there I doubt

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 14:41:44    1100797

CKH.
I only asked you the same type of question as you asked Hurlingdub seeing as you put a question mark
after you wrote do you believe everything you read get your facts right and by the way I would be wasting
my time trying to be clever to you because you probably wouldn't get it if I was.

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 26/01/2012 14:46:24    1100802

"Some" Mothers do have em

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 26/01/2012 14:47:44    1100804

I dont think Derrytresk have been involved in much trouble in recent years. Their main contribution to the GAA down the years has been in Scor. I cant recall them ever being above junior ranks before in a long number of years nor having any senior county players as their neighbours Clonoe and Derrylaughan usually poach any good up and coming players. (There are 4 clubs in that parish btw with Brocagh the other).The worst thing about going to play Derrytresk is the midges. The most famous person from there was Geordie Hanna the traditional singer.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 26/01/2012 14:52:32    1100807

TyroneTim....
I warned earlier about northern paranoia....

I can repor that I was in Tralee last night, had a drink or two in the Carlton and seem to be totally unscathed.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 26/01/2012 14:54:42    1100808