Youd make a good politician tyronetim.Talk about twisting somebodys words to suit your own ends.When Paidi o se said what he said he was talking about how kerry fans were impossible to please,not about how violent they were,and you know it.Show some integrity.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 26/01/2012 11:45:11
Hnag your head in shame
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 11:46:23
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0126/1224310757218.html
Is there a problem with violence in Leinster? I think the winners of this match should be thrown out of the competition, a melee before the game has even started red card after 4 minutes? I'm not sure who is really to blame but it is more than likely the winners of the match, it always is isn't it?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 26/01/2012 11:55:04
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 640
1100607 Youd make a good politician tyronetim.Talk about twisting somebodys words to suit your own ends.When Paidi o se said what he said he was talking about how kerry fans were impossible to please,not about how violent they were,and you know it.Show some integrity.
Yeah because animals are notoriusly hard to please.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 26/01/2012 11:56:15
Seems we're not allowed discuss "trouble" at other very recent matches. Curious that posters can say pretty much what they like about this incident but not others.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 26/01/2012 12:11:31
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 640
1100607 Youd make a good politician tyronetim.Talk about twisting somebodys words to suit your own ends.When Paidi o se said what he said he was talking about how kerry fans were impossible to please,not about how violent they were,and you know it.Show some integrity.
Does integrity = ignore the actions of one team and villify the other and their county? Cause thats what you seem to be doing?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 26/01/2012 12:13:02
For about 8years (2000 -2008) i travelled to most Westmeath games both home and away. Only 2 of these games did I feel unsafe. (1) Crossmaglen - It was one of these years when valentines day fell on a Sunday and Westmeath were playing Armagh. I went with 2 other lads and we will never be back there again. It was hostile with a mob rule feel to the place and Steve Mcdonnell scoring at will. After 35 mins and down by 12 points or so we made our exit to geering locals delight. I was glad we were being hammered because you dare not open your mouth if we scored. Dont know to this day what Westmeath ever did to them to get this reaction but it was local mob rule with not a policeman or woman in sight. (2) Omagh - 2008 Back door Qualifer - very simular to Cross but the hatred wasn't evident until during the game. I was with my wife and three children this time and it was the usual high tempo championship game. Mob rule took over again and my wife (Longford) wanted to go back to the car with the youngest. How the fence around the pitch stayed up is a surprise as every Westmeath free or line ball led to mayhem. The linesmen and ref were just as afraid as per their decisions and i dont blame them. Thank God Dessie missed his goal chance in injury time because there would have been deaths.
In contrast I was at the Laois Vs Meath championship game in Tullamore last year (replay) and although there was great tension between the supporters at times which led to a plastic bottle being thrown by a Laoisman at a group of meath supporters - it was the Laois people who quickly turned on the culprit and I think he was even arrested.
There's a few nuts supporting every team but its a mob with a lot of teams from the North and mobs get out of control unless they are policed. From what I have seen the same security needs to be in place as if it was Lingfield are playing Shamrock Rovers because some just go for the fight.
maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 26/01/2012 12:13:45
Ive always said it that Kerry football people dont like their once powerful hegemony being challenged. They don't like it up em , the cold steel! And don't start me on Declan O'Sullivan. A class player , but one of the single biggest whinge in the history of the GAA.
gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 26/01/2012 12:13:57
irishtom County: Donegal Posts: 171
1100547 I agree with a lot of the statements on here in support of Derrytresk. 1. The trouble was started by Dromid 2. Anyone who says they would sit back and watch a team mentor being assaulted by opposing players is lying to themselves It is human nature to come to the defence of a team mate who is being attacked.
Anyone who would sit back and have a team mentor push you over on the sideline while your playing is lying to themselves. Mentor started it. That's for all to see.
Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 26/01/2012 12:16:13
Ah tis tread has gone all personal: step back a small bit lads and take stock: with regard to Vince Cooper Crokes Chairman's comments and the Senior Club Semi against Cross, there was an incident the last time these clubs played and a crokes player was struck by a Cross supporter. I do however think that separating the crowds is a bit in the extreme. Ask any genuine and I mean any genuine supporter from any club/county and they will tell you there is nothing nicer than sitting next to another supporter from the opposition and discussing the game from different points of view. I remember in 1997 being at the AI Semi-final against Cavan sound skins in all fairness and drank many's a pint with them over the weekend, same in 2002 even though we lost the Armagh supporters were fair sound and I've often met some up there and down in Tralee/Killarney at league games and again all banter but still in all sound genuine supporters and couldn't speak highly enough of them.
I always say you meet the true supports at away league games in February but what everyone is forgetting is that there is a small minority of "supporters" that go to games that are not genuine followers of games they only jump on the band wagon of winning teams. They go to games but have no real affiliation or history to the club/County they are "supporting". Therefore their actions have no consequence on them but only on the real followers that get punished for their actions. The gaa should stamp this out with the county boards involved, to ensure that the genuine supporter and family man can safely go and bring their kids to games with being subjected to a situation like what occurred last Sunday
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 26/01/2012 12:22:40
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 640 "Tyronetim Show some integrity" and you post amongst other drivel...
1100350 And I dont buy these comparisons with the connacht final.The Corofin fans were angry because they felt,rightly, that the referee had robbed them of a deserved victory.There was a sense of injustice.Certain Derrytresk fans,players seemed to have it in their head to attack the Dromid players before a ball was kicked.Its no coincidence that Dromids three best players received particularly heavy attention.I believe that it was premeditated
How do you know what's in the minds of The Derrytresk lads? Where you actually at the game?.. Galway violence is excusable then? As a man of intergrity - when is violence justified? Perhaps Galway violence is more thoughtful rather just neanderthal bludgeoning? I think you have some deep seated issues you need to work through.. I can make myself available - I'll be in Brownes bar tuam before and after our game at Tuam stadium in February?
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 12:28:01
Selective condemnation Breff ..think that's allowed..that's how extremists live with themselves.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 12:30:18
Superglue, I was there on Sunday, saw that the mentor defended himself as can be seen in the video. Please watch the clip objectivly without the rose tinted.....
Tyrone_Hill_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 26/01/2012 12:34:04
Lads lets leave it. Await the HQ ruling and if there is punishment then whoever it is,take it and continue. Lets learn lessons for the future.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 26/01/2012 12:35:10
26/01/2012 10:47:46 irishtom County: Donegal Posts: 171
1100547 I agree with a lot of the statements on here in support of Derrytresk. 1. The trouble was started by Dromid 2. Anyone who says they would sit back and watch a team mentor being assaulted by opposing players is lying to themselves It is human nature to come to the defence of a team mate who is being attacked. 3. It was Dromid who had 2 players sent off 4. It is clearer now than ever that Kerry teams and people have "notions of upperosity" as Fluther Good said in the plough and the stars. Who do these northerners think they are. Don't they know that Kerry is the saviour of all things Gaa. How dare they beat us at football. They play a tyrone team, they lose. They start a fight with a tyrone team, they lose. Toys are then heaved out of the pram and they call Joe Duffy bleatin on about violent tyrone folk! The northerners are painted as the aggressors when they were only defending themselves. 5. Give the media no interviews until they can demonstrate they are unbiased. The coverage so far has been about as fair and balanced as a fox news report. 6. Finally good luck to Derrytresk in the all Ireland and to cross in their semi final. --------------------------------------------------------------------- Nail on the head irishtom.
It really is embarrassing for Kerry.
Mayo have lost plenty of All Irelands to Kerry as one of - what did Paidí call them? Oh yes, animals, reminded me in an earlier post but we never cried about these defeats to Kerry, we accepted they were the better team on those days and congratulated them.
However, when Kerry were defeated by the best footballing side in their pomp of the last decade Tyrone in 03,05, and 2008 many of their supporters were whinging and could not accept being beaten by a far better side. Dublin beat them last September and many of them still can't accept this result either but rather try and blame the referee and boo-hoo about it. Talk about a bunch of cry-babies. These Kerry supporters simply have no class because you can never take defeat with dignity. The fact that Tyrone are your modern days masters is at the deep root of all this bitterness, a bitterness that goes right down to their most junior of clubs.
PS: Good luck to Derrytresk, I hope you go on and win it now given what you have been put through. ________________________________________________________________________
JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 26/01/2012 12:37:51
A fault line has been developing in the Association for a while now between Ulster and the rest of the GAA and that is an awful scenario; there are those outside the province who are completely hostile and hold a rabid xenophobic hatred for Ulster, the North and Northern people in general. I have read some very nasty comments on various websites this past week that are a shocking disgrace and SOME Southern media and GAA elements should hang their heads in shame for creating the poisonous atmosphere where this hatred can thrive. This match has given a vent to a certain bigoted narrow mindset in the South that has always been bubbling just underneath the surface towards the North for whatever reason. The facts of the game have been sidelined in a race to see who can say and publish the most offensive diatribe against Derrytresk, Tyrone and Ulster and it's no wonder that prominent Ulster officials and elements are now hitting back at the disgraceful campaign being waged against the province. I would definately go along the lines of Ulster teams boycotting the Southern media completely as this crowd have a sinister agenda at play here. As for the football Colm O'Rourke hit the nail on the head and is an island of sanity and common sense in a sea of madness, hypocrisy and blinkered bias. The melee lasted about 2 mins, Dromid started it with a Derrytresk official and young player being struck, the Derrytresk camp rushed to their defence, a few punches were thrown, some people fell but MOST others tried to break it up. Then the traditional Kerry sour grapes, whinging and yapping started supported by their fawning worshippers in the Southern media; a Kerry team lost to a Tyrone team again and they just can't hack it but get their excuses pushed out by their media lackeys . Now another Kerry side want segragation of fans and consequently that county has totally lost ALL respect and admiration that they ever had in Ulster. Kerry now has a tarnished reputation and have left a very bitter taste. Shame on them!
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 26/01/2012 12:38:16
maroon2gold County: Westmeath Posts: 393
1100639 For about 8years (2000 -2008) i travelled to most Westmeath games both home and away. Only 2 of these games did I feel unsafe. (1) Crossmaglen - It was one of these years when valentines day fell on a Sunday and Westmeath were playing Armagh. I went with 2 other lads and we will never be back there again. It was hostile with a mob rule feel to the place and Steve Mcdonnell scoring at will. After 35 mins and down by 12 points or so we made our exit to geering locals delight. I was glad we were being hammered because you dare not open your mouth if we scored. Dont know to this day what Westmeath ever did to them to get this reaction but it was local mob rule with not a policeman or woman in sight. (2) Omagh - 2008 Back door Qualifer - very simular to Cross but the hatred wasn't evident until during the game. I was with my wife and three children this time and it was the usual high tempo championship game. Mob rule took over again and my wife (Longford) wanted to go back to the car with the youngest. How the fence around the pitch stayed up is a surprise as every Westmeath free or line ball led to mayhem. The linesmen and ref were just as afraid as per their decisions and i dont blame them. Thank God Dessie missed his goal chance in injury time because there would have been deaths.
In contrast I was at the Laois Vs Meath championship game in Tullamore last year (replay) and although there was great tension between the supporters at times which led to a plastic bottle being thrown by a Laoisman at a group of meath supporters - it was the Laois people who quickly turned on the culprit and I think he was even arrested.
There's a few nuts supporting every team but its a mob with a lot of teams from the North and mobs get out of control unless they are policed. From what I have seen the same security needs to be in place as if it was Lingfield are playing Shamrock Rovers because some just go for the fight.
I was at that westmeath game in cross - remember mcdonnell wrecking. Cant understand what you are on about - i didnt notice anything plus it was all very tame with westmeath team not turning up. I think the fact ye were hammered might hamper your thoughts on this. U almost sound as if ye were going to get attacked?? Catch a grip man... Also what does mob rule mean in this instance?
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 26/01/2012 12:41:11
maroon2gold County: Westmeath
Un-safe and Deaths.... letting your imagination run away with itself here fella.
1. Grow up and grow a set
2. Maybe you should consider staying indoors the rest of your life in-case of injury or death!!
3. Give me one expample of when anyone was assulted, injured or killed my Tyrone, Armagh or any other group of GAA supporters????
wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 26/01/2012 12:43:33
Real Kerry Fan County: All Posts: 2492
1100657 Lads lets leave it. Await the HQ ruling and if there is punishment then whoever it is,take it and continue. Lets learn lessons for the future.
Agree and I'm assuming this is both teams
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 12:44:53
Agreed Real Kerry Fan, except if Derrytresk get thrown out, that would be extreme. Suspendsions will be handed out to the culprits but the lads on the pitch deserve their chance in Croke Park.
Tyrone_Hill_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 26/01/2012 12:46:30