Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

What a pack of whinning I am actually embarrased for Dromid at this point.

What we are talking about here is a brawl that involved no more than a dozen punches alot of handbags (Sorry D. O'Sullivan but that is funny!) and pushing. Most of which were thrown by Dromid players who started and subseqently fared worse in the brawl. The brawl including handbags was over in under 30secs and had completely disipated within a minute of starting. I was involved in a worse melee at U14s

To suggest that the whole thing was Derrytresk's fault is ridiculous and to suggest that they should be thrown out of the competition on the basis of this skirmish is nothing short of sour grapes from Dromid. Its the worst case of sore losing since Pat Spillane's "puke football"

Its good to see that Dromid have a good competitive attitude and its surely this attitude has helped Kerry win so many all irelands but you gotta let the losses go lads!

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 25/01/2012 21:31:58    1100445

I'd expect 3-4 suspensions for the Dromid lads and 8-10 suspensions for the Tyrone boys (thats including those enterering the pitch from the stand if they can be identified). A fine for both clubs and hopefully that should mark an end to the whole saga.
Biggest issue for me from the incident was the number of mentors on the sideline who inflamed the situation which lead to bench clearing onto the field. The GAA needs to address the issue of large numbers of mentors on the field at games - the ref has enough to do to manage the 30 lads on the field. For any of these games all mentors except manager and physio shoud be in the stand with the subs.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 25/01/2012 21:39:23    1100452

I've no doubt it will be a sporting game THM as I'd say youse will be on your best behaviour! :)
I doubt there's ever been as much media interest in an all-ireland junior club semi-final.
I believe Al Jazeera and CNN are sending a few cameras over.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 25/01/2012 21:40:27    1100453

Having watched the video clip on youtube about 20 times i have 2 say its seems 2 me that after a coming together of the Dromid number 10 and Derrytresk number 4 along the sideline Dromid's number 4 seems 2 take exception 2 a slight push from a Derrytresk selector and throws the first punch which is quickly followed by the Dromid number 5 charging in and both i am sure will get bans for there part in the action. The rest seems just 2 be alot of pushing and shoving nothing major apart from the Derrytresk sub that is in the hoodie who can be clearly seen 2 be 1 of the first subs on 2 the field of play a striking the Dromid number 9 a punch who was only trying 2 calm things down and was'nt even looking a very cowardly act, he should be charged with assault and go before the courts 4 his part in the scuffle. As 4 the supporters that came on the field they should get long bans from all gaa matches especially the guy in the tracksuit top with the green hood who can be seen trying 2 get involved lucky he was held back by some of the Derrytresk players he can also be seen having words with the officials before he leaves the field. People saying that Derrytresk should be kicked out because of what there subs done should get real they won fair and square and deserve 2 be in croke park on feb 12.

Pukefootball (Monaghan) - Posts: 377 - 25/01/2012 21:43:11    1100458

this whole thing is beginning to annoy me dromid pearse release a statement thanking people for the support they have been given, who DIED....nobody, take your manager and whinge somewhere else both teams were bad as each other... simply dromid were NOT GOOD ENOUGH..end of story..

carpenter (Wicklow) - Posts: 100 - 26/01/2012 08:37:47    1100476

this sums it up perfectly for me

http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12329

carpenter (Wicklow) - Posts: 100 - 26/01/2012 08:48:47    1100480

blacknamber

1100452 I'd expect 3-4 suspensions for the Dromid lads and 8-10 suspensions for the Tyrone boys (thats including those enterering the pitch from the stand if they can be identified). A fine for both clubs and hopefully that should mark an end to the whole saga.
Biggest issue for me from the incident was the number of mentors on the sideline who inflamed the situation which lead to bench clearing onto the field. The GAA needs to address the issue of large numbers of mentors on the field at games - the ref has enough to do to manage the 30 lads on the field. For any of these games all mentors except manager and physio shoud be in the stand with the subs

Spot on, that is one of the main issues with numbers of "club officials" on side lines, there should only be The Management team ie. Coach, Selectors, Physio and water carriers, count the number at your next clubs championship match, I'd bet you could ad at least 6 more who should not be no where near the sideline. GAA should regulate this rule which would go a long way to quelling a lot of rows which start near the sideline/dug outs

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 26/01/2012 08:51:00    1100483

I am actually embarassed for the Dromid Pearces club & indeed Kerry football as a whole at this stage. In all my years of following sport, I have never seen a dose of sour grapes & bad sportsmanship like it. It has long long been said on the island of Ireland - that Kerry are great sports people - WHEN they are winning!!!

Where else, in any competitive sporting arena would you get the following:
#1. On their website & offical facebook page - they wish clonbur all the best in the final!!
#2. Kerry County board officials beating the door down, so that they can give "evidence"!
#3. Dromid managers cringeworthy comments requesting Derrytresk be threw out of the competition
#4. Dromid players & management on yapping because an aul doll clipped a grown man & powerful one at that, with a HANDBAG!
#5. Repeated statements, running crying to the press, crying on live radio phone ins, throwing the toys outta the pram,,making a complete show of yourselves.
#6. Guilty of serious exaggeration & complete selective memory regarding what actually happened.

My message to Dromid would be this. Look lads - ye started a bit of a rucus. Ye couldnt compete with the Derrytresk men on a purely footballing level (played off the park by all accounts) - so ye resorted to the nasty physical stuff for 70 mins (remember it was your lot who had all the bookings and the 2 sendings off, NOT Derrytresk)
When Derrytresk defeated ye, so comprehensively, both on a footballing level, and on the argie bargie fisticuffs stakes - ye start all this PATHETIC crying!!
I mean on this latest (hilarious) statement - they are trying to pretend they are on some moral crusade for the sake of GAA people. They are making a mountain out of a molehill and generating repeated bad publicity for us all - but particularily themselves.

Dromid Pearces - man up, and take your beating! It is Dromid who should hang there head in shame.

redhandmacca (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 26/01/2012 09:21:13    1100494

Tyrone got thrown around by Dublin in '95 and battered in '96 by Meath. We were told to "Man-up" "Dry our eyes" and I believe that's exactly what Tyrone teams have done since. Armagh I know certainly after some bruising encounters with Meath and Kerry) decided physically they needed to change..and they did. Donegal's quest for same brilliantly told in "Sam's for the hills" revealed their secret and that was to toughen up. Tyrone never had the bulk of these teams so they made up for it with fitness and intensity. Colm O'Rourke once famously said "You small skilful Tyrone lads need to come down to meath and mate with some Meath girls"..All very true, so dare I say it we were taught "Assertiveness" not by ourselves but from the peaceful 26 counties?

TyroneTim- i think you hit the nail on the head there. Meath had alot to do with changing mentality in the Tyrone Camp. We were bullied, stamped on, thrown around and generally beaten up in 96. Tyrone then was all dependant upon football skills and talent. However Meath came down hard on us and i think Tyrone footballers never forgot it. All of Ulster witnessed it as well but in Tyrone in particular a new agressive strike was installed into the mindset. All this rubbish about the troubles making us less tolerable and more likely to fight is nonsense, its more to do with the hammerings we got in Croke Park before the three successes. So its all Meaths fault lol

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 26/01/2012 09:24:52    1100496

This is getting irksome. So Dromid wanted the match abandoned? Are they for real?
Yes the scenes were unsavoury and yes there should be hefty suspensions handed down, especially to those who came onto the field to get involved, no excuse for that.
However, having watched the vid, the only player I see stretched on the ground was from Derrytresk and in fact the whole thing was over in about 30 secs with most of it just pushing and shoving. The row at the Fermanagh v Antrim game in the McKenna Cup was worse and not a peep heard about that.
I'm embarrassed for Dromid if they really believe that game should have been abandoned on the basis of that scuffle. As for Dr Crokes wanting segregation - if true I don't know whether to laugh or cry.

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 26/01/2012 09:35:15    1100499

In my opinion Dromid are making a fool of themselves at this stage. They're latest statement is pathetic, they refer to the instigators who clearly were the two Dromid palyers atatcking the Derrytresk selector.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 26/01/2012 09:39:52    1100504

Tried to start a new thread on this but technical problems:

Crokes have called for their supporters to be segregated from Crossmaglen at their semi final.

Way over the top in my humble opinion and an insult to any Cross or Armagh supporters I have come across over the years. We don't need segregation. Way to deal with what happened last Sunday is severe sanctions including if needs be expulsion from the competition.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/01/2012 09:48:52    1100510

Both clubs are a disgrace in my opinion, if the GAA are serious about cleaning up the game's image from the bog warrior image that the media and the anti GAA crew bandy about, tougher laws have to be introduced. Players that enter the field of play for a melee should have an automatic 12 month ban, end of story. Touch a referee it should be a minimum 24 month ban. As for supporters interfering with players, mentors or officials there should be an automatic lifeban. Penalise hard the ones who bring the game into disrepute. We have to be hard on ourselves.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 26/01/2012 09:52:16    1100512

says it all hurlingdub, though not sure seen anything warranting expulsion

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/01/2012 10:10:38    1100521

26/01/2012 09:52:16
bananapublican
County: Leitrim

1100512 Both clubs are a disgrace in my opinion, if the GAA are serious about cleaning up the game's image from the bog warrior image that the media and the anti GAA crew bandy about, tougher laws have to be introduced. Players that enter the field of play for a melee should have an automatic 12 month ban, end of story. Touch a referee it should be a minimum 24 month ban. As for supporters interfering with players, mentors or officials there should be an automatic lifeban. Penalise hard the ones who bring the game into disrepute. We have to be hard on ourselves.

banana, agree with ya. anyone who touches a ref should get a min ban of 5 years and ddepending on the case, a life ban. It should be totally unacceptable to go near a ref during/after a game, assualt a ref and the punishment should be severe and supporters entering the field should get a life ban

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/01/2012 10:20:58    1100527

hurlingdub

Crokes have called for their supporters to be segregated from Crossmaglen at their semi final.

Way over the top in my humble opinion and an insult to any Cross or Armagh supporters I have come across over the years. We don't need segregation. Way to deal with what happened last Sunday is severe sanctions including if needs be expulsion from the competition.

Hurlingdub, the Dr. Crokes club approached the GAA before last Sunday's events in order to obtain a block/section in the Stand for the Crossmaglen game. It has absolutely nothing to do with what happened last Sunday and it is not seggregation. Separate blocks are provided for Inter-county Championship matches, is that seggregation????? No it is not.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/01/2012 10:25:47    1100530

Its official, rock bottom has been hit!

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 26/01/2012 10:27:25    1100531

Well CKH, the report would appera to contradict you.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/01/2012 10:31:39    1100532

hurlingdub

Have to agree with the Hurler, this is very sad and insulting. Crossmaglen are not Derrytresk and the only common denominator is that they're Northern. What is goin on with the Kerry People, they are becoming the biggest criers and whingers in all of the country.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 26/01/2012 10:40:19    1100537

hurlingdub

Well CKH, the report would appera to contradict you.

Do you believe everything you read? I have no affiliation with the club but the report has been sensationalised greatly. The Dr. Crokes club confirmed this morning on Radio Kerry that the request was made before last weekend. I will take their word anyday over an anonymous article on here.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/01/2012 10:43:15    1100538