Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

TheGateKeeper

1100207 This has been blown out of proportion as usual!

No it hasn't... it's simply the latest instalment of unruly behaviour at club level. It's what's come before it that has added to this current situation - which in itself it shameful enough

It's tarnishing our sports and making our sports look thuggish and ignorant. It's enough to make people turn away from our sports

Time to start throwing the book at some of these clubs and its members who become involved in the stands - I'd even go as far to prosecute them. What about those Louth lads that ran on the pitch… that went to court and rightly bloody so. The message has to be clear cut. Simple as that... make it very public and put the message out there that such behaviour will not be tolerated.

Such incidents are highly damaging to our sport.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 25/01/2012 16:02:13    1100216

Thegatekeeper,youre wrong.The Gooch was abused by some Tyrone fans in 2008,but that lad you see consoling the Gooch was actually also helping to shepherd him off the pitch.If you look at the final whistle moment again you can also see a Tyrone fan drawing a kick at one of the kerry players coming off the pitch.The Gooch also had to be escorted off the pitch after the 2005 final.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 25/01/2012 16:11:29    1100224

Liam,
Same name back then..some dude cyber-squated for a wee while on my name but didn't last, when the site's format changed I lost my password and had to re-register. In those days (not now) the site was alot more cliqueish, so I read more and commented infrequently.
Anyways - I never said you were racist - I said broad generalisations lend themselves to racism.

Realdub - made the point succinctly.
We can't have selective condmenation - that's were the troubles actually is relevant - we lived through prominent politicians excusing one atrocity after another (Mostly but not exclusively Unionists).
The GAA in the North and specifically in Tyrone (As that's where I'm from) became one of the primary ways which you can unequivocably assert your Irishness. For nationalists it is the focal point of the community, a safe haven, but principally something which couldn't be regarded as British or used to impugn your Irishness.
It was not always easy or "A given" to be a Gael here and some councils still to this day make it difficult. That's probably were the passion comes from (real passion not violence) - Coyles elbow (Great name) alluded to this a couple of days ago. When I moved back to Ireland I played for Lisburn - great pitch but we couldn't play there because Loyalists glassed, barb-wired, and bulldozed it so we had to travel 14 miles to play our home games.
That brings me to the next point - the present day footballers haven't really experienced violence (Peace process mid-90's brought great changes from my youth when my u-16 games were cancelled because of the hunger strikes - lesser sacrifice agreed). I also made the point yesterday that the troubles didn't have an equal impact everywhere...someone playin for St.John's/Gall's/Paul's/ Donavan Rossa had a much harder time than I had. People in Crossmaglen had to endure horrendous stuff. So we can't attribute blanketedly the troubles.
The change politically (peace process mid-90's) changed the context enormously but it was at this time Ulster teams became "More assertive". Tyrone got thrown around by Dublin in '95 and battered in '96 by Meath. We were told to "Man-up" "Dry our eyes" and I believe that's exactly what Tyrone teams have done since. Armagh I know certainly after some bruising encounters with Meath and Kerry) decided physically they needed to change..and they did. Donegal's quest for same brilliantly told in "Sam's for the hills" revealed their secret and that was to toughen up. Tyrone never had the bulk of these teams so they made up for it with fitness and intensity. Colm O'Rourke once famously said "You small skilful Tyrone lads need to come down to meath and mate with some Meath girls"..All very true, so dare I say it we were taught "Assertiveness" not by ourselves but from the peaceful 26 counties?

Attached is an article from an excellent tyrone Gaa website which gives another point of view to the weight of media described yesterday.
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12329

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 25/01/2012 16:13:04    1100226

No club was thrown out after the club connacht final not near the same hysteria there was trouble at that game also punish the players involved not the team.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 25/01/2012 18:08:54    1100308

happens in junior football up and down the country almost every week! difference is that there was the media spotlight on this

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 25/01/2012 18:10:50    1100310

Agreed

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 25/01/2012 18:13:06    1100315

Will yis all give over about this for God's sake, it was nothing at all !!
I often got hit more trying to put a child to bed !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/01/2012 18:32:40    1100333

ok daddy

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 25/01/2012 18:35:13    1100335

many of the posts on here are way over the top....colm o'rourke got it spot on yesterday...there was more peacemakers involved in that fracas than people throwing punches...he was right in pointing out the bias of the media, who are striving to work an agenda. dromid should be careful what they are asking for....numbers 10, 4 and 5 look to be in serious trouble according to that video clip..the anti-derrytresk brigade are very conveniently ignoring this!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 25/01/2012 18:42:14    1100342

People keep talking about this youtube video.I saw it myself,it wasnt too bad,but it lasted for 69 seconds.The game itself lasted for over 70 minutes,and after that seventy minutes,there were players leaving the pitch with concussion etc. This youtube video could well be the tip of the iceberg,compared to what happened during the other 70 minutes,so lets all stop using it as the barometer.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 25/01/2012 18:50:44    1100347

And I dont buy these comparisons with the connacht final.The Corofin fans were angry because they felt,rightly, that the referee had robbed them of a deserved victory.There was a sense of injustice.Certain Derrytresk fans,players seemed to have it in their head to attack the Dromid players before a ball was kicked.Its no coincidence that Dromids three best players received particularly heavy attention.I believe that it was premeditated.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 25/01/2012 19:03:59    1100350

I was at the game too and plainly saw the Dromin full back punch our full forward when our guy went to shake hands at the start of of the game. The video I saw plainly sees the Dromin player punching our no 4 in the chest then ends up against our selector who he then punches. This will be seen by the CC as well. Our guys did jump in over the small fence and will be delt with according to what they did then, some tried to break it up as the stewards were to busy taking money at the gates to be bothered.

I don't condone anyone who got involved in the fisty cuffs but don't punish the whole team.

There were saints and sinners on the field on Sunday but 11 yellow and 2 red v 2 yellow tells it's own story of aggression.

Tyrone_Hill_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 25/01/2012 19:13:34    1100356

Who won the game?

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 25/01/2012 19:33:57    1100361

Tyrone Hill Man if you were at the game I would have thought you'd at least know the name of the team you were playing.
It's 'Dromid' not 'Dromin'.
I hope you weren't one of the lads jumping the hoardings.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 25/01/2012 20:15:55    1100377

Sorry my spelling and I'm to unfit to jump even that high

Tyrone_Hill_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 25/01/2012 20:23:09    1100381

Having re-watched the incident, all 1 minutes and 11 seconds of it, I am disillusioned at the over reaction to the incident, you'd swear that there was all out war. There should be punishments handed out to the couple or three from each team that threw fists, but I'll expect to see worse in the next few weeks as clubs start to play a few friendlies.

In the meantime, I propose that we introduce the following rules:

> Ban cameras from all games or else make them compulsory;

> Do not conduct interviews with certain Dublin based or British media, or anyone else with a non GAA agenda;

> Where there are possible investigations pending, either all of the footage to be made available to the masses, or none at all;

> Clubs given a fixed window to air their views through the relevant GAA and/or Police, after which a media shut out, or face club sanctions;

> Match ticket holders to be given a forum to air their views, separate from the bandwagon do-gooders.

The talk of disqualifying teams is ridiculous; tackle the guys throwing punches with bans, heavily fine the clubs for those subs who entered the field.

muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 25/01/2012 20:54:36    1100404

Jaysus this thread will give the "friday jokes" thread a run for its money at this rate

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 25/01/2012 21:01:00    1100413

Spot on Muffin.

Tyrone_Hill_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 25/01/2012 21:04:19    1100417

Tyrone hill man and others just dont get the point. The point is that the Hill subs' players' supporters and mentors attacked and targeted Dromid players. What happened during the game is down to the ref or the CCCC. THATS THE REASON WHY THE HILL SHOULD BE THROWN OUT AND CLONBUR AWARDED THE TITLE. THAT BEHAVIOUR CANNOT BE REWARDED WITH A TRIP TO CROKE PARK .OTHERWISE IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN.

keelman (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 25/01/2012 21:07:50    1100420

No need to shout Keelman, we're mostly reasonable people here. The subs have to take their punishment if that is what is dealt out but the rest of the team should not be on trial.

We were the best team and fully deserve the trip to Croke Park where we will have a sporting game with a Galway team who will no doubt be as happy as we are to get there.

Tyrone_Hill_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 25/01/2012 21:15:18    1100425