fortyfive County: Tyrone
[i[b]]"A lot of Louth lads on here mouthing off and saying Tyrone teams bringing shame on the GAA , the most high profile indecent of a disgraceful scene involved Louth fans attacking a County referee in one of the most important games in the GAA calendar the Leinster final in front of Thousands and a world wide audience to boot , so people in glass house's should butt out and so should the southern media who seem to be leading this witch hunt and let those in charge of running the game weigh up any evidence and dish out the appropriate punishment. Tir Eoghain abú."
fortyfive,
Where are all these Louth lads you talk about, who are they ?.
The incident you talk about where a match referee was jostled, has resulted in three spectators being charged with assault.
The referee at the centre of that incident didn't receive a broken cheek bone nor was he concussed due to a kick or a blow to the head yet three men face assault charges in the courts.
Surely the civil authorities are obliged to charge all the assailants in Sunday's game as a president has already been set.
I doubt this will happen however given that it's Kerry and Tyrone that are involved, it's only the small and weaker counties that the powers that be are interested in enforcing the full rigors of the law on.
It'll be very interesting to see how Croke Park and the authorities wangle they way out of not pressing assault charges.
ps I've nothing personal against either Tyrone or Kerry, I'd just like to think that the laws applied to one should apply to everyone, that's all.
squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 24/01/2012 21:30:17
All of the offending people who jumped in to this 30 second outrage will have to be dealt with severly it's unacceptable behaviour
This happens at other sports across the world, which does not make this any better or any more acceptable, quite the contrary
The moral outrage is probably even more hysterical that the reaction of the people in the half minute brawl
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/01/2012 21:42:26
fortyfive a wee difference between the guilford 4 the birmingham 6 and Derrytrask you failed to mention...The Guilford 4 and Birmingham 6 were innocent !!!!
juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 24/01/2012 21:45:57
The scenes shown at this game seems to have given vent to every form of personal prejudice, against the GAA, against Tyrone people in particular which is even worse. So what has happened in the past, has the GAA done nothing previously? What of clubs invoved in these incidents and others? Do they discipline their members? Few media commentary has added anything at all to the debate other than tut tut'ing. We can all see for ourselves the postings on YouTube and the vitriolic comment associated with the clips. There was other incidents I am sure in this match and I do find it particularly strange the yellow/red card tally. I hope the GAA do the right thing here and I see no reason why they won't. But what of the clubs, surely to god they should sanction their own members? if they don't they are condoning this behaviour. But why did no one ring the police? If that happened on the street we would have the emergency response unit deployed, but somehow its OK on a pitch? I do worry because clearly there are people playing/watching games with a very low tolerance level and little or no personal restraint, in that culture its merely a matter of time before we will be discussing a really serious injury. There is only so much the GAA can do, clubs and county boards need to come down hard on this behaviour. But clubs and people involved have to take a long hard look at themselves, maybe this is not the game for them.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 25/01/2012 08:36:30
Clearly any team from Tyrone will be Villianised by people from Kerry, club or county. Why? jealousy has a lot to do with it. I was once in a Dublin chipper, after hours on the day Kerry defeated Mayo in the semi last year. A couple of Kerry people and mayo people were in the chipper talkin to eachother and the Mayo man says to the Kerry man, well at least you dont have to play those b*st*rds from Tyrone. The Kerry man replied, yeah i hate those Northern....... (explicit). Safe to say they didnt realise a Tyrone man was standing behind them pissed out of his head. We exchanged a few words to say the least. Anyway there is a general hate for all things Tyrone, im not defending Derrytresk they prob did behave badly but the reaction and trying to get them kicked out is ridiculous and stems from this anti tyrone agenda in Kerry and beyond.
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/01/2012 08:43:59
Sick of hearing about northern bias here - both teams were involved but derrytresk are responsible for their subs getting involved and also some spectators. Face up to it guys and take your punishment.
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 25/01/2012 09:00:56
This is so depressing. Instead of admitting that the Tyrone subs officials and "fans" acted disgracefully and the club deserve to be kicked out of the championship, which they do, Ulsterman and his anti-southern posse have just decided the easiest way to defend this is to attack everyone and call them partitionist west brit unionists I would wager that if a Northern player were to literally beat someone half to death on the pitch this summer, the same posse would be on here saying the victim is a whinger and its a witch-hunt in the southern media to get another good northern gael banned....
This isnt even about GAA anymore, its about Us v Them in you lads eyes and so long as this prevails, we havent a hope lads.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/01/2012 09:28:10
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2856
1099928 This is so depressing. Instead of admitting that the Tyrone subs officials and "fans" acted disgracefully and the club deserve to be kicked out of the championship, which they do, Ulsterman and his anti-southern posse have just decided the easiest way to defend this is to attack everyone and call them partitionist west brit unionists I would wager that if a Northern player were to literally beat someone half to death on the pitch this summer, the same posse would be on here saying the victim is a whinger and its a witch-hunt in the southern media to get another good northern gael banned....
This isnt even about GAA anymore, its about Us v Them in you lads eyes and so long as this prevails, we havent a hope lads.
You've taken your side anyway Liam.
Get beyond the violence. HOw many times has it been said that nobody condones it? Park the violence for for a minute and maybe even try to acknowledge that there is another side to this story, like every stories. You are completely refusing to accept any other idea than "I hate violence, why don't you people hate it too?" when this is not even the issue, that is your own argument that you want to have.
"I would wager that if a Northern player were to literally beat someone half to death on the pitch this summer"
COP ON. What a straw man argument. Why are you so eager to see northern posters as some kind of callous violent beasts?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 25/01/2012 10:42:36
I am amazed at the reaction or should I say over-reaction re this match. I agree with Colum O Rourkes sentiments on this match and think its a commonsense attitute..
As a proud Down man everyone will know Tyrone would not be my favourite county but the nonsense on here re the Derrytresk team borders on insanity. I have watched the video about 10 times now and from what I have seen a Dromid Pearses player took out a young lad along the sideline. He was lying on the ground, obviously hurt when a member of his management team went to assist. This man was then attacked by TWO of the Dromid Pearses team players and this lead to the fisticuffs and handbags along the sideline. Those subs etc... who came onto the field were completely wrong and deserve to be punished for their actions but to suggest the winning team should be thrown out is incredible, the Dromid Pearses team instigated this row and they and others now are behaving appallingly in the media. You need to grow up lads, deal with those who are at fault both on and off the pitch and let Derrytresk enjoy their day in Croker as they well deserve it
An dun abú
bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 25/01/2012 12:49:59
bigtomsbreeks County: Down Posts: 69
1100041 I am amazed at the reaction or should I say over-reaction re this match. I agree with Colum O Rourkes sentiments on this match and think its a commonsense attitute..
As a proud Down man everyone will know Tyrone would not be my favourite county but the nonsense on here re the Derrytresk team borders on insanity. I have watched the video about 10 times now and from what I have seen a Dromid Pearses player took out a young lad along the sideline. He was lying on the ground, obviously hurt when a member of his management team went to assist. This man was then attacked by TWO of the Dromid Pearses team players and this lead to the fisticuffs and handbags along the sideline. Those subs etc... who came onto the field were completely wrong and deserve to be punished for their actions but to suggest the winning team should be thrown out is incredible, the Dromid Pearses team instigated this row and they and others now are behaving appallingly in the media. You need to grow up lads, deal with those who are at fault both on and off the pitch and let Derrytresk enjoy their day in Croker as they well deserve it
An dun abú
Finally some sense, well said there big tom
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/01/2012 13:05:00
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2857
1099928 This is so depressing. Instead of admitting that the Tyrone subs officials and "fans" acted disgracefully and the club deserve to be kicked out of the championship, which they do, Ulsterman and his anti-southern posse have just decided the easiest way to defend this is to attack everyone and call them partitionist west brit unionists I would wager that if a Northern player were to literally beat someone half to death on the pitch this summer, the same posse would be on here saying the victim is a whinger and its a witch-hunt in the southern media to get another good northern gael banned....
Fair play Liam, rock of sense as usual, 100% correct.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 25/01/2012 13:09:30
have to agree totally with Big Tom, have watched the video a few times an its teh Kerry lads that started the bother, one lad in particular. The subs coming in was wrong granted but to have them thrown out for this would be a joke. And looking at it again all that really happened was a bit of pushing and shoving, I couldn't see too many punches been thrown. Not that long ago a brawl was when all 30 players were getting stuck in throwing punches. To be fair to the GAA they have done a lot to eradictae that sort of incident in teh game. I do not condone what happened on Sunday but it does seem to have been blown out of proportion. (btw I am only going by what I have seen on the video)
Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 25/01/2012 13:16:40
This isnt even about GAA anymore, its about Us v Them in you lads eyes and so long as this prevails, we havent a hope lads
Of all the 20 pages of this nonsense this is the one post that actually gets to the core of the issue, hit the nail on the head there liamwalksonstown
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 25/01/2012 13:18:02
Excelent post Liam, any criticism and you must be a 'West Brit, unionist, ..etc. yawn'. Noticed they didnt reply to the views posted by Dick Clerkin, a real GAA man....
If a teams subs/supporters come on the pitch and assault opposition players then that team deserves to be kicked out of the tournament. Its that simple. Whatever happens between the players on the pitch be it brawl or otherwise can be handled by the ref and match officials. Derrytresk subs/supporters crossed a line and must deal with the severe consequences
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4652 - 25/01/2012 13:23:28
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 6738
"Park the violence for for a minute and maybe even try to acknowledge that there is another side to this story"
That maybe what you're trying to achieve for whatever warped reason, but the violence is the issue here - nothing more nothing less.
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 25/01/2012 13:30:21
Can i just say for the record, I am not and never have been anti Ulster or anti tyrone and I think the older posters here from Tyrone such as TC, GF and a few more would back me up on that. This is not an anti -Tyrone vendetta. I just think what happened was absolutely wrong, I think it happens with more regualrity involving teams from the North which is extremely disproportionate to their size, and I think this is a genuine issue that needs addressing.
If any Northern posters are taking offence and seeing it as me out to get "them up North", i really am not lads.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/01/2012 13:35:04
Lads i have to ask, at gaa games do subs not have to stay within a specific area?
Its just at a lot of rugby games, there is a "technical area" which is a rectangle area marked off if theres no dug out and only the coach, doctor, physio and 1 other person can be in this square, the rest including all subs have to be behind the barrier surrounding the pitch and subs can only leave this area to warm up.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/01/2012 13:37:58
'That maybe what you're trying to achieve for whatever warped reason, but the violence is the issue here - nothing more nothing less.'
Correct and those that instigated the violence, in this case the Dromid players, need to have the book thrown at them. Hopefully the GAA do what is right and hand out lengthy bans to these Dromid players who started the whole shameful incident
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 25/01/2012 13:39:33
Derrytresk are a tight unit of players, the Kerry man was daft enough to start the row close to their sub bench. What the subs are gonna sit there and do nothing while their man gets levelled. Come on! get a grip
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/01/2012 13:39:36
Well sai bigtom - a sensible post.
Armagh like to see tyrone loose etc, but there needs to be a sense of reality, what big tom says is right, Dromid instigated the event, derryresks behaved inappropriate by entering the field of play from their subs bench, this match has been blown out of proportion...
Dromid had 2 men sent off and 6/7 men cautioned - which in normal cirumstances would suggest that the have a disipline problem also...
To call on Croke Park to have another team expelled from a competition seems to be acting like sore loosers .... lets face it Kerry beat Cork in an All-Ireland final 2 years ago when T. Kennelly deliberately used violence to take his oppontent and influencial player 'out of the game'. Cork were incised with this action - but they didn't call for kerry to be stripped of an all-ireland title.... In the All-Ireland Final of 1995 Charlie Redmond remained on the pitch for a period of 3 minutes after being shown a red card. This action annoyed the Tyrone team but they didn't call on Dublin to relinguish Sam. Yes, the 'brawl' looked bad................. but the media reaction and its impact could have a more damaging effect on our game. It appears that there are many here on Hogan Stand, in the media and in general are trying to use this 'match' to stirr ' up a north v south agenda... which if it did exist i don't remember it growing up...
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 25/01/2012 13:44:57