Didnt say it dosent happen anywhere else,I said it was a particularly bad problem in Tyrone.I will once again say also that I will not defend the actions of the Corofin supporters just because Im from galway.Ive a funny feeling that had the Derrytresk players been from a different county/province you guys wouldnt be so vociferous in your defence of them. TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 24/01/2012 19:25:57 1099763 Link 0 |
Lets be honest theirs no love lost between Tyrone and kerry, so their is not going to be a rational debate on the matter ,more of people standing up for their own,not giving an inch and dragging up previous instances by other counties as a counter arguement. We give out about rugby reporters and ANTI GAA comments ,now they have great ammunition. This is far from exclusive to tyrone or ulster teams ,only a couple of months ago i watched a brawl between two teams and the people from the sideline were involved as well and neither club was from ulster. Bottomline is this carry on is from the stoneage, and this bravado and pushing out chests stuff is cowardly .I think the gaa will be left with no choice but to come down hard on the culprits. THIS IS A GAA PROBLEM not a north v south problem as some people think. Its peoples mind set that has to change and understand that kids are watching this, and its not ok to give someone a punch or jump in for one of your own as if it was outside a pub at night. Laws have to be enforced where you will end up with jail time for assault at a sporting event. Unfortunately there is gonna have to be more of a garda presence at these matches . AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/01/2012 19:29:11 1099765 Link 0 |
Agree with Pinkie both Teams should be thrown out, GAA has to take strong action and let the Munster and Ulster losers play each other next weekend to see who play the Galway team in the final. The subs and supporters jumping the barrier is the problem,incidents happen in every match and the ref tries to deal with them but he hadn't a hope in hell. If the derrytresk subs didn't get involved dromid 10 and 4 shown yellows if not a red for 10 couldn't see it fully and free for Derrytresk. The mentor with the clipboard was trying to hold the ball because his player was injured and to get the referees attention,a natural thing to do,Kerry number 4 lashed out as he wanted the ball. The ref would have dealt with it if he was given the chance. The subs and supporters coming on is the issue, CCC have to throw Derrytresk out as they failed to control their subs. andhuglas (Cork) - Posts: 26 - 24/01/2012 19:33:33 1099772 Link 0 |
wise_guy I dont agree with your assesment that it wasnt anything major. If that is normal then we have gone down a bad road in the GAA, This is not Tyrone v Kerry, Dromid are Dromid and Derrytresk are Derrytresk. I was at the match for Intermediate Semi Final which was physical but fair. The junior was violence throughout the match. See my previous comment, I think all players subs and officals in the brawl be banned for a period of time from BOTH sides. County Boards fined heavily and clubs fined heavily. Then that would give a warning. I think Sunday is the day the GAA should start cutting this crap out. This is a Dromid Derrytresk issue and let it be those clubs who everyone refer to not county milltownsupport (Kerry) - Posts: 85 - 24/01/2012 19:36:14 1099778 Link 0 |
The Road.. Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 19:39:07 1099780 Link 0 |
Its hard to beat a row at a GAA match to raise the ire of the people of Ireland. Even if the republic is going bananas and the weather is bad this topic is sure to engage the whole of society. For anyone studying the sociology, politics, culture, history and beliefs on the island of Ireland in 2012 this thread is sure to be a very valuable resource. BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 24/01/2012 19:54:05 1099793 Link 0 |
Very nice post BIG SACKS.Very articulate.Well done.But who are you to judge what constitutes "right thinking",when you trivialise players being grabbed in the groin area,being stamped on and having their jaws broken,as well as supporters attacking players and mass brawls breaking out.Mountain out of a molehill my backside.This is a big problem and needs to be treated as such.Maybe if people like you had stopped trivialising these incidents long ago we would have had the problem sorted out by now. TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 24/01/2012 20:06:56 1099801 Link 0 |
ok let me be the first to apologise to all the scum who drag our game down to the gutter be it they are from dublin , kerry , cork or down , we are so sorry to have offended yous and the likes of yous who hit off the ball , abuse other teams , referees , and opposing supporters oh and even their own when seen fit , we are so sorry to have seen wrong when players and opposing supporters and referees have been subject to physical abuse ,we have also been wrong when we defend fair play and sportsmanship , yous and the ones that defend it are not gaa men yous are bullies hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/01/2012 20:07:38 1099802 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 24/01/2012 20:17:09 1099812 Link 0 |
The fact its a Tyrone team will mean people will jump to conclusions faster but the facts are that Tyrone clubs are making headlines for all the wrong reasons on a frequent basis and therefore bring this national outrage on themselves. The ladies club final , the mens league final and now this. Its time sport got a chance and sportsmanship is missing from many Tyrone clubs it appears. Lets hope Croke park acts this time because we dont need clubs like this involved in our sport. georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 24/01/2012 20:19:46 1099817 Link 0 |
Seems 3 Derrytresk players grabbed their opponents by the testicles at the pre match match handshakes, kick them out and ban them. there is no place in the GAA for these types of people Shin_kicker (Dublin) - Posts: 50 - 24/01/2012 20:28:28 1099827 Link 0 |
The Road... BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 24/01/2012 20:33:32 1099830 Link 0 |
'Seems 3 Derrytresk players grabbed their opponents by the testicles at the pre match match handshakes, kick them out and ban them. there is no place in the GAA for these types of people' pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 24/01/2012 20:36:01 1099831 Link 0 |
A lot of Louth lads on here mouthing off and saying Tyrone teams bringing shame on the GAA , the most high profile indecent of a disgraceful scene involved Louth fans attacking a County referee in one of the most important games in the GAA calendar the Leinster final in front of Thousands and a world wide audience to boot , so people in glass house's should butt out and so should the southern media who seem to be leading this witch hunt and let those in charge of running the game weigh up any evidence and dish out the appropriate punishment. Tir Eoghain abú. fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 24/01/2012 20:40:52 1099834 Link 0 |
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v954WVzDfMg&feature=youtu.be mayoman007 (Mayo) - Posts: 159 - 24/01/2012 20:46:32 1099843 Link 0 |
watching the video on youtube and alot of credit should be given to the Derrytresk fans who prevented others from entering the fray ! something that seems to have gone a miss in this sorry mess, it was all over in a blink of an eye with both teams at fault . Goodluck Derrytresk in the final it will be the biggest miscarriage of justice since the Birmingham six and Guildford Four if they were to be denied a place in the final. fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 24/01/2012 20:55:36 1099849 Link 0 |
Shin_kicker fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 24/01/2012 21:01:18 1099859 Link 0 |
When is the final anyway,assuming therell be one? TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 24/01/2012 21:05:35 1099862 Link 0 |
I have watched the video clip 10 times and whilst it is quite clear there are a number of subs and supporters from Derrytresk who entered the pitch and got involved where they didn't belong, I'm not sure if any of them did much. The video evidence is very inconclusive unless there is another camera angle. That said if the evidence shows that Derrytresk's behaviour was completely unacceptable then the ultimate sanction should be considered. MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 24/01/2012 21:13:35 1099867 Link 0 |
Fortyfive georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 24/01/2012 21:16:12 1099868 Link 0 |