Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Ulsterman

If that's true dell then EVERY Ulster team left in the club Championships should pull out and EVERY Ulster county side should withdraw from the National League. Many Ulster Gaels have had enough of Croke Park sidelining us, blaming us for all the ills of the game. We must now take a stand as a province.

Off with ye. Ye had no problem with Corke Park let ye play the Ulster final there did ye? Or when they let Antrim into the Leinster hurling championship

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/01/2012 17:21:51    1099626

Trial be media..it has already happened

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 17:24:20    1099628

Dont let the door hit ye on the backside on the way out Ulsterman.The Gaa CANNOT sit back and allow violence like this to prosper.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 24/01/2012 17:24:47    1099630

this is just typical intimidation and then the innocent tone remember lads they are masters at it , the gaa is at a low they should throw this club out of the of the championship and reinstate the team they beat in the ulster final , this has to be stamped out its a cancer of our game and its getting worse

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/01/2012 17:38:24    1099643

Moomoo The Road

Nice bit of partiality there. What two fine balanced gentlemen you are.
No sanctions called for Dromid then?

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 17:41:50    1099646

Trial by media? How's about trial by video? How anybody can possibly try condone or defend what happened in this game is beyond me, how can you defend subs jumping over the fence like that? The GAA needs to start to act harshly on such disciplinary matters, unfortunately the precedence of all who have went before and got away scot free is completely wrong.
One thing Kerry teams have always done is won by being the better footballers. Unfortunately for some other counties they dont seem to have the ability to do that and have to resort to such tactics.
If the GAA do right, they will be decisive here and throw both teams out. It will set down a marker very early in the year.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/01/2012 17:44:25    1099650

Any Dromid player involved should be sanctioned too but as I said it is the Dromid selectors who want the video of the game to be investigated.It wouldnt make sense for them to want a video investigation if their players were at fault.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 24/01/2012 17:45:08    1099651

Tyronetim

Ciarrai36 - read the opening post and the whole way through the dialogue since and tell me that this is not Anti-tyrone or anti-northern. Just read the post beside yours from a fellow Ciarrai man. Don't confuse history with politics either ..I drew on the historical importance of Tyrone to Ireland in general and the ridiculous attempt to stignatise people form this part of the world. The Battle of Kinsale should remind people who choose to do so the role played by Ulster and Tyrone men in your part of the world and erradicate forever this ridiculous trend of xenophobic hatred to "Nordies".
I agree that this should be a discussions on the match and the unsavoury aspects of it. A balanced view would be that Dromid were equally culpable though the subs getting involved has no place whatsoever. In the spirit of fairness i hope you'll concede that the Dromid players cehaved badly and should not have got involved with a Tresk official.

I agree 100% that they shouldn't have. and i dont dispute there is an anti tyrone / anti "nordy" tone to this thread. you will find that I criticised that tone.

Ciarrai36 (Kerry) - Posts: 3 - 24/01/2012 18:11:08    1099680

I think this incident has been blown out of all proportion in the sense that I'd say (regrettably I must add) that there has been at least over 100 similar incidents to that within the GAA over the last 12 months, however not all get as much publicity. It's something we all agree needs to be stamped out however I believe that it's extremely difficult to stamp out unless serious fines and suspensions are handed out to teams. And then if that does occur, that's extremely unfair IMO to teams, especially Derrytresk and others who take the punishment on everyone else's behalf.

I wasn't at the game however the fact that Dromid got 2 red and 9 yellow cards against Derrytresk's 2 yellow's seriously puzzles me for Dromid to be complaining about the nature of the game. The video on youtube clearly shows a Derrytresk player getting hit first, however you can't condone the behaviour of Derrytresk Subs and Supporters after that incident. Players get hit off the ball often in most games, that was no way to react. All this seems from Dromid is a case of sore losers, even though their manager may have came out and said they were beaten by the better team, I don't think they really accept that. He is now looking Derrytresk to be thrown out of the competition.Who does he intend to replace them?

This is has ended up a Tyrone/Kerry debate, not interested in that really, both have a serious chip on their shoulder regarding each other, we should let them at it. However what does annoy me is this mentality from counties within Ulster whinging about treatment from "them" regarding counties down South. Absolute cring worthy IMO and it's two ways because some of our southern posters at it to. There is no us and them within the GAA, we are 32 counties and for our southern posters if they are in any doubt, a Derry man is every bit as Irish as a Kerry man and vice versa.

unclederry (Derry) - Posts: 67 - 24/01/2012 18:24:59    1099699

does anyone know a video link to the full match? I'd love to see it all.

Gman14 (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 24/01/2012 18:26:30    1099701

An excellent article in teamtalk

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 24/01/2012 18:30:07    1099706

If it was 15 against 15 it would have been sorted out quickly. The Derrytresk subs should not have entered the pitch along with 1 Dromid sub. Lenghty Bans on all subs and players from all sides in the scuffle is a must. Fine the Clubs then a heavy fine for county boards would sort it all. County Boards would then come down heavy and cut out these antics.

milltownsupport (Kerry) - Posts: 85 - 24/01/2012 18:37:27    1099714

Pinkie..Trial by media? How's about trial by video? How anybody can possibly try condone or defend what happened in this game is beyond me, how can you defend subs jumping over the fence like that? The GAA needs to start to act harshly on such disciplinary matters, unfortunately the precedence of all who have went before and got away scot free is completely wrong.
One thing Kerry teams have always done is won by being the better footballers. Unfortunately for some other counties they dont seem to have the ability to do that and have to resort to such tactics.
If the GAA do right, they will be decisive here and throw both teams out. It will set down a marker very early in the year.

If you want to comment on posts make it informed. Not once have I condoned what happened. I have condemned however the cult of selective condemnation.
I like most people here have commented on the small video clip we've seen on the news/you tube. An investigation should take place and be appraised of all the facts including the Cahirciveen video. Of what I have seen BOTH clubs are culpable. Derrytresk substitutes shouldn't have entered the fray though they will contend Dromid players shouldn't have assaulted their slector tending to an injured player. Some posters have sought to narrow the debate by attributing blame exclusively to Derrytresk on the grounds solely that their subs joined the melee. In that all things are possible and above rebuke on the field of play? I'm assuming you are directing the "Unfortunately for some other counties they dont seem to have the ability to do that and have to resort to such tactics" is directed at Tyrone.
Well I would contend that Tyrone were great fella's until they started winning. They continue to beat Kerry teams of all grades since the early 1990's. In that time they beat them on those days because they were the better teams..though frequently people try to excuse that away by being "Hungrier, dirtier, advocates of puke football". Another much cited reason is the Mickey harte factor..when Mickey himself lauds the great players he has had custody of.
So I'm hoping justice will be done and that blame is apportioned on the basis of the facts not deep seated contempt for a particular county.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 18:37:30    1099715

Agree with superglue and cute-kerry-hoor, lock the
thread, its getting out of hand, let the authorities
take control of it.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 24/01/2012 18:49:17    1099731

TyroneTim - hate to burst your bubble but Kerry teams have beaten Tyrone teams at this grade and Intermediate grade.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/01/2012 18:51:39    1099734

Tyronetim, I mean throw both teams out of the year ahead's competitions. I did not mean it in an anti-Tyrone way, but it it time the GAA got tough on such incidents. I dont mind hard play or even borderline on dirty play (the best players always play on the edge), but squeezing balls, subs entering the playing area simply should not be acceptable. Nor should the Dromid player fighting with the official attending to the injured player.
It is merely the latest in a litany of discipline issues which the GAA has brushed under the carpet. Referees are regularly hit, brawls are common (and there are plenty of unreported ones), hell they even tried to brush a Fermanagh player ending up in a coma in San Francisco under the carpet (the clubs would not name the player involved). The only way this element of the game will be eradicated from the game is by using decisive and forceful action. Somebody will be made an example of, I hope it is this one.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/01/2012 18:52:41    1099735

Very annoying that people on this thread who are complaining of the unacceptable violence at Sundays game are being forced to defend themselves from accusations of anti Northern bias.Any teams who engage in such behaviour need to be reprimanded.Its not our fault if Northern teams have a bad record in this department.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 24/01/2012 19:07:46    1099752

No argument there Pinkie..as long as this is impartial I won't complain

Superglue..I don't live in a bubble sure you wouldn't be able to have any strut with some of the attitudes that abound in this country.
neither was it a boast. I was referring to the comment that Kerry teams win because they are better and that Tyrone win alot these days is that not because we are better or does that get excused away...with all the myriad of reasons I attempted on the last post
Tyrone since 1990's have excelled at schools, minor, u-21 and senior level - beating Kerry teams more often than not...can't be a fluke always can it be?
At club level it could be said Tyrone clubs underachieve.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 19:10:23    1099756

NavyNBlue

Take a look at the video..it's nothing major!

IF a child had of been hurt or caught in the crossfire, that would be terrible. We do have feelings in Tyrone. Stop trying to exaggerate everything!

The other incidents you refer to are just that, other incidents and nothing to do with this one!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 24/01/2012 19:10:48    1099757

The Road....... how can you start pontificating about onfield violence in any other county after the behavior of Corofin and Mullagh in the not too distant past?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 24/01/2012 19:19:47    1099760