Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

A melee at a game involving a Tyrone team?? What a surprise, Tut Tut.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 24/01/2012 14:35:49    1099438

It takes two to tango 8-)

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 24/01/2012 14:36:27    1099440

Tim, this is the problem here. According to EVERY SINGLE REPORT you read, Dromin were 100% NOT as culpable. Thats reported in every national paper today, they were not as culpable.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 14:42:43    1099451

Kerry boys started it and couldn't finish it, tough luck.

Comment above is the most stupid thing I have heard. How can you be 100% not as culpable that doesn't make any sense. Alot of bitter southerners on here who jump at anything ulster teams do. Look at the crap surrounding the way donegal played last year.

If derrytresk got thrown out then I think tyrone should pull their teams out off every club competition next year in protest absolute joke.

Good luck to the hill in the final, you deserve it!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 24/01/2012 14:49:00    1099457

That sh*t won't fly with the hard men from Connemara. A few Tyrone lads will be put back on arses if they try that in the final.

Gman14 (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 24/01/2012 14:52:48    1099462

I was there over the weekend lads. Dreadful carry on from Tyrone, dreadful. Ban them or we risk losing everything we stand for. The Kerry team were not anywhere near as bad and thats a fact. If a mob attacks you you have to fight back fellahs.

Sempleton (Tipperary) - Posts: 4 - 24/01/2012 14:56:00    1099465

"they (Dromid) were not as culpable"

Thats like me and my mate robbing a bank, but because he kept more of the money then I should get off.

Dromid played a part in this and should stand up and take a punishment as much as Derrytresk, instead of their "we lost fair and square, but..." line

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 24/01/2012 14:57:13    1099468

On video evidence it was Dromid who started it - the number 4 and 5 the main culprits, the Derrytresk subs/supporters are at fault for jumping the fence, but Dromid are poor loosers

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 24/01/2012 15:02:23    1099480

Enola if one lad attacks another lad and the lad who was attacked defends himself........are they both to blame? Or surely the lad who instigates it is more to blame?
Maybe the incident on the pitch was 50/50 blame wise, but when the subs fans and officials got involved, Dromid cannot be blamed atall for what happened after that
This was not a 50/50 incident!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 15:05:16    1099483

MOST OF THE POSTERS SEEM TO MISS THE MAIN POINT. THIS IS NOT A KERRY V TYRONE ISSUE. ITS A GAA ISSUE. THATS THE PROBLEM. IVE SPOKEN TO PEOPLE THAT WERE THERE, NEUTRALS. AND THEY SAY THAT 'SOME NOT ALL' DERRYTRESK SUPPORTERS WERE SHOUTING ABUSE NON STOP AT PLAYERS AND SUPPORTERS INC WOMEN AND CHILDREN. TYRONE CANNOT BE BLAMED FOR DERRYTRESK. I'VE FOUND THEIR SUPPORTERS TO BE DECENT PEOPLE IN THE PAST. BUT FROM WHAT I'VE HEARD IT WAS ALL ONE SIDED. PS I'M IN MAYO.

keelman (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 24/01/2012 15:11:56    1099491

One thing is for sure, at a time when are games are struggling to compete with other sports this is just another reason for someone to decide not to send their child to a GAA club. On the incident itself both clubs were guilty, the Kerry club did appear from the evidence on the web to instigate it, this was then followed up with the disgraceful incursion onto the pitch by supporters etc. It does seem that the Tyrone Men were adhering to that old rule- one in all in, be cause at the end they seemed to outnumber the Kerrymen 2 to 1.

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 24/01/2012 15:12:56    1099492

From looking at the video Dromid certainly started the fight. From there on you have Derrytresk players coming in from everywhere. Now most of it seems to be pushing and shoving as far as I can see because there are so many boys on the field but obviously a couple of the fights something serious has been done as there were a couple of bad injurys. Players involved in that are the ones who need to be singled out. I do think Dromid are trying to claim to be whiter than white which is clearly not the case. Nobody wants to see this and it shouldn't have happened both teams have done wrong.

Fermanagh09 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 72 - 24/01/2012 15:14:35    1099493

Was there as a neutral as I live beside O'moore Park and I have to say the Tyrone club did not do themselves or their county any favours ,They were niggling all over the pitch and some of their supporters were just shocking..It was something I wouldn't like to see repeated at a Gaa match...The Kerry lads got dragged into it and the row but who could blame them...Delcan O'sulliavan must have felt like Osma Bin Laden the treatment he recieved from them was just childish and it has no place in GAA....

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 24/01/2012 15:16:23    1099494

Liam, I'm not saying that this was 50/50 and I agree that the video shows Derrytresk in a worse light than their opponents. But Dromid can't take the moral high ground on this, using self defence as their explanation. I know ye had yer laws changed recently down there, but they are every bit as guilty as Derrytresk. The degree or proportion of guilt can then be divided between the two. T

o kick one side out of a competiton, as Dromid seem intent on doing, because they had the upper hand in a bit of a row is ludicrous. What if Derrytresk had lost the game? Would Dromid seem so intent on persuing the course of self declared justice? I severely doubt it

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 24/01/2012 15:17:46    1099496

I was not at the game so I will not comment on who is to blame (unlike many others here!).

I would say that the drip feed of accusations to the media reflects poorly on Dromid. If they feel aggrieved the proper way to deal with the matter is for the club to report any incidents directly to the GAA authorities who can take the appropriate action. Instead we now have a GAA bashing media witch-hunt were all sorts of unverified accusations are flying about. It does nothing to help the GAA in any way and reflects badly on the 99% of games which pass off without any violent incident.

Whilist it would appear that Derrytresk subs etc lost their discipline at the match, the club can at least be commended for maintaining a dignified silence on the matter thereafter. Dromid on the other hand are coming across as poor losers with a chip on their shoulder.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 24/01/2012 15:26:22    1099503

Enola
2 points
First one, when you use "ye down there had ye're laws changed" .........how is that different to some so called seperationist free state unionist saying "you lot up there" referring to NI as seperate to Ireland?
second point is your argument that Dromid are just as much to blame simply because they were basically attacked from all angles by subs and "fans" implies that a lad walking home on a saturday night who gets a beating from a few lads for more or less nothing makes him just as culpable simply for being "involved" atall..??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 15:27:24    1099506

Cant agree with you on this one GF and I think, even tho u may not agree, had it been a club from say, Galway and club from ...Roscommon..you wouldnt be making the same point my friend.
Sorry but I cant agree with you here. I usually would :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 15:29:12    1099508

Liamwalkinstown

1099506 Enola
2 points
First one, when you use "ye down there had ye're laws changed" .........how is that different to some so called seperationist free state unionist saying "you lot up there" referring to NI as seperate to Ireland?
second point is your argument that Dromid are just as much to blame simply because they were basically attacked from all angles by subs and "fans" implies that a lad walking home on a saturday night who gets a beating from a few lads for more or less nothing makes him just as culpable simply for being "involved" atall..??

Jaysus Liam, no harm, but thats awful drivel

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12410 - 24/01/2012 15:31:32    1099510

Liamwalkinstown

1099508 Cant agree with you on this one GF and I think, even tho u may not agree, had it been a club from say, Galway and club from ...Roscommon..you wouldnt be making the same point my friend.

Neither would you Liam!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12410 - 24/01/2012 15:32:33    1099511

It does not matter who started the row. what matters is that Derrytresk players subs and supporters attacked Dromid players. Dromid players, managers and supporters all admit that Derrytresk deserved to win so how can they be called bad losers. But this type of behaveour. has no place on a GAA pitch. The reward for this is to play in Croke Park. Let us all start this if it is to be rewarded like this.

keelman (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 24/01/2012 15:39:43    1099518