Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Liam you are ignoring all the posts up to now that are not treating this as an isolated incident and going straight for the Tyrone/Northern generalisation discussion. Read back the thread from the start and stop simply ignoring the stuff that's not convenient for your generalisation.

Very few, if any, posters have actually condoned the violence in this incident yet some of you are very keen to accuse people of doing this, jumping on a high horse and assuming a generalisation is fact.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12410 - 24/01/2012 12:12:06    1099261

I just watched the video of the 'incident'; such a hullabaloo about very little. Yes there are a lot of people on the pitch, and a dodgy looking fella with a hoodie who should get the book thrown at him, but there's not a lot else happening (on camera at least), shepherding for the most part. Maybe I should watch it with the sound on, might be more terrifying? I'm not condoning violence, I hate seeing it, but I've been involved in a lot worse on GAA playing fields, not least in Leeds where noone gets booked.

What is disturbing though is that a whole heap of people seem to think the hoodie guy = Derrytresk = Tyrone = Ulster. My advice, when you have the same opinions on GAA in the wee six as the Ulster unionists, it's time to have a word to yourself. Both sides were as bad as each other, from what can be seen in the 60 second video only.

Also, it is interesting that Derrytresk have not commented on injuries they sustained in the game. That's common practice I would say.

Nobody seems to have mentioned about the 'testicle tugging', so I'll bring it up: remember when Ryan McMenamin was 'pulled up' (pardon the pun) for this a few years ago, on Paul Galvin. Is that a Tyrone thing? Anyways, it's a petty thing for Derrytresk to do, and a petty thing to complain about; could it be a novel way to beat a blanket defense?

muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 24/01/2012 12:12:09    1099262

Bref, answer this honestly now
Do you think had there been absolutely no stewards or police at the Munster match, be honest now, do u think, in that instance Munster fans would have been on the pitch clattering NH players......be honest now, Do you.

And, can you name me one single incident of Munster fans attacking players of an opposing team on the pitch? Even one?
Now I said Munster, you used Munster as your example here. So I dont want you giving me "Shannon did this and Old Crescent did that"
It was you picked out the Munster Rugby comnparison

By the way i take genuine exception to your saying I am always at this anti-northern stuff

i would like to think most long standing Northern posters here would agree I have never been "anti-northern" and have often sided with the lads on issues in the past

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 12:14:19    1099264

Liam, you know what your at there, If their not reported how can I proove them, but we all know they go on. Are you telling me if two players attacked a selector in Dublin, the closest people from his team(subs included) would just stand by and watch it.

Fans often get involved as emotion run high when they see their children, brothers, cousins, fathers etc getting unfairly set upon. The issue with Sunday's incident is the first punches thrown were by Kerry men, yet the tone of the southern media is "them up north at it again".

Take for example take Dellboy for your proof, he's a referee in Meath and has repeatedly said that these incidents are not uncommon, but after each event there is not the witch hunt that ensues if a Northern team is involved.

I am not condoning what happened, some of it disgusting, especially the fella in the grey hoody, but also many of the Dromid players. I am condoning the way it has been reported.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 24/01/2012 12:20:31    1099268

Breff.....my point is this
It seems to me when these incidents occur to the extreme of this latest one, more often than not, a team from the 6 counties is involved

Now simply put do you think I am wrong? And if I am not wrong, should I not be allowed to point this out without being accused of being a west bit unionist?! (not by you I accept Bref)

Its a fair question if you ask me, why do these incidents more often than not involve teams from a small part of the country

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 12:22:36    1099270

Derry_Ledd, valid and decent points there
would you agree tho that the reason people give it the "them up there again" is cos it just happens so often with teams from Tyrone etc?
And whats what prepetuates the possible Myth in that case?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 12:26:52    1099275

A lot of this stems from the unprofessional approach we have to our games. There are so many incidents that take place on the field that are illegal or not in the rules but are considered nonetheless to be part of our game. They include players tussling with each other when the ball is 100 metres away. This is against the rules but goes unpunished and commentators call it (getting to know each other). Then when a sub is introduced he will frequently run onto the pitch and drive a shoulder into his marker, again with no ball in sight. Or the sub will be met with several shoulders as he comes on to the field, commentators call this "welcome to the Ulster final or whatever the game may be" Then you have the man who kicks a score and as he runs back to his position is given the elbow in the ribs for his trouble. All this has to be stamped out from our games. We need to learn from Rugby. When a ref gives a decision he should indicate clearly what it is for, but there can be no room for descent let alone abuse.
Abuse hurled at match officials by supporters should also be punished. The way our games have gone in recent years is somewhat strange. Surely players are there for the love of the sport, but it is now rare to see a player smiling, even after taking a great score, indeed, he is more likely to be goading his marker. The win at all costs mantra has come at a price. Over the years refs have been letting more and more questionable challenges go unpunished, presumably, to "let the game flow". Add to this the rise in "negative tactics" and the chance of games boiling over increases. All that said, incidents like those witnessed last Sunday should result in clubs banned from all senior competition for 2-3 seasons.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1287 - 24/01/2012 12:28:44    1099277

Liamwalkinstown

1099264 Bref, answer this honestly now
Do you think had there been absolutely no stewards or police at the Munster match, be honest now, do u think, in that instance Munster fans would have been on the pitch clattering NH players......be honest now, Do you.

Well it was mainly subs, so yes I would expect Munster subs to get involved if it was a particularly bad-tempered Heineken Cup semi-final and one of their backroom team was in an altercation. Yes.

And, can you name me one single incident of Munster fans attacking players of an opposing team on the pitch? Even one?
Now I said Munster, you used Munster as your example here. So I dont want you giving me "Shannon did this and Old Crescent did that"
It was you picked out the Munster Rugby comnparison

No I can't think of one, well done to the thomond park stewards

By the way i take genuine exception to your saying I am always at this anti-northern stuff

would like to think most long standing Northern posters here would agree I have never been "anti-northern" and have often sided with the lads on issues in the past

Ok sorry, but this isn't the first time you've made these generalisations and then got humpy when people had the cheek to disagree with you

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12410 - 24/01/2012 12:36:04    1099283

I've search Hoganstand (not the forum pages, actual stories from the main page) for the word assault and picked the first 10 returned by google (omitting the Curran assault outside a bar). It shows that it's a country wide issue that needs to be dealt with. I, in no shape of form, would ever try and defend what happened at the weekend but a large proportion of posters have turned this into an us and them debate, not just the Tyrone fans. It has become a North/South argument with Liam going a step further and turning it into a northern Ireland issue. From the 10 stories below only 1 is from a northern Ireland county, with 3 from Ulster.

Full investigation" promised into alleged ref assault - London - Aug 2010
Sludden assault case adjourned until July - Leinster Final - May 2011
Monaghan Gardai launch ref assault investigation - Monaghan - May 2011
Antrim CCC to investigate alleged ref assault - Antrim - Oct 2011
Louth ref takes legal action after assault - Louth - Aug 2010
Man arrested following ref assault - Monaghan - June 2011
Garda probe launched into Offaly club assault - Offaly - July 2011
Probe launched into Roche assault - Tipp - Oct 2010
Connacht Council meet to probe ref assault - Galway - Nov 2011
Galway launch probe into assault - Galway - July 2010

And for your information the first five returns for "brawl" are
Tyrone (the weekends game)
Waterford (Oct 2011)
Limerick (Oct 2011)
Westmeath (Aug 2011)
Tyrone (Nov 2011)

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 24/01/2012 12:37:40    1099284

Seem to be alot of Northern lads on here blighting their political belief rather than accepting the cold facts that are clear for all to see! No matter what happened D. O'Sullivan yet again only proved himself to be a class act and gentleman not only on the pitch but in every walk of life by refusing to give a statement against those who physically assualted him from the stand, its just a shame the same cannot be said for many others involved yet again!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 24/01/2012 12:38:01    1099285

Liamwalkinstown

would you agree tho that the reason people give it the "them up there again" is cos it just happens so often with teams from Tyrone etc?
And whats what prepetuates the possible Myth in that case?
______
Liam, no I wouldnt agree with that. I think it is unbalanced reporting, prepetuated by a biased media who give the public what they want, and nothing sells like a good witchhunt.

It has to be said, everyone has their turn at it, Im sure you'll agree Dublin fans have had their fair share of unwarranted criticism in the past, because of the actions of a few and overreaction in the press. People latch onto generalisations and love having a common enemy.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 24/01/2012 12:38:01    1099286

Yeah Dell has alluded to events like this in Meath and Lowerormond spoke of an incident in a minor match, Not sure how nordies can be blamed for thaat or whether Joe Dufffy discussed them.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12410 - 24/01/2012 12:38:40    1099287

Wasn't at the game,i've watched the footage of the brawl and some Derrytresk people won't be proud when they look back on it but it's amazing that Dromid are being absolved of any blame for this row.It takes two to tango lads.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 24/01/2012 12:40:55    1099289

At 7pm on Sunday we had the first post by, 8pm we had another 3. It was only the next day when rte and others ran with the story did it take a 'story'of its own,

yes it looked bad - but there is much worst in kerry and tyrone each month,

at the end of the day kerry lost...... much said

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 24/01/2012 12:46:05    1099293

cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

At 7pm on Sunday we had the first post by, 8pm we had another 3. It was only the next day when rte and others ran with the story did it take a 'story'of its own,

how did Kerry lose in a game they weren't playing in?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/01/2012 12:50:30    1099301

through out the tyrone team, simple as that, up kerry

fonejacker (Kildare) - Posts: 315 - 24/01/2012 12:50:55    1099302

Liam - why do you presume that only Derrytresk have a case to answer?
Clearly both teams do?
The fact that you make this presumption invalidates consideration of your views as objective and fuels the clear and abhorrant anti-tyrone/northern rubbish being peddled here.
Generalisations are convenient, lazy, and extremely dangerous in fuelling xenophobia.
There are many such distasteful stereotypes of Dubliners but i wouldn't give them any headroom as they are notions of sick minded people.
So northerners are exposed to violence so regularly that we are neccesarily violent? The troubles did not sweep all areas equally some areas were more badly affected than others.
What is proven is that mothers smoking and drinking during pregnancy is extremely harmful to the childs well-being. I think some mothers have obviously been on the gargle.

Clearly we are a very fractured organisation.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 12:59:39    1099310

cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

No. Dromid lost, Kerry werent even playing nor were Tyrone.

Ciarrai36 (Kerry) - Posts: 3 - 24/01/2012 13:00:03    1099311

I wonder will the Garda and the DPP be bringing assault charges against anyone in the video.

Three Louth supporters are facing assault charges for merely jostling Tyrone referee Martin Sludden at the end of the 2010 Leinster final.

Lets see will the authorities deal with the assailants (clearly visible in the video clip) the same way they did with the aforementioned Louth supporters.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 24/01/2012 13:00:53    1099312

If, as has been stated in a national newspaper, Dromid players were grabbed by the testicles and other unsightly incidents well before they reacted and huge brawls took place. Then it is the responsibility of every player and mentor of the Dromid side to ensure the safety of their own players. If it is dangerous to the extent of a player being kicked on the ground and having his jaw broken, players fearing for their safety from substitutes and non-players entering the field, then they should refuse to continue to play that game on that day. It is very unfortunate that the standard of refereeing we have now means that referees refuse to send off more than 3 players in any match. If a player breaks the rules then he gets red. If there are repeated incursions into the field of play by non-players, mentors, subs, then referees should abandon that game immediately. Since we know that referees are too weak to do this, it is the responsibility of mentors and players from the team who feels they are being sinned against, to leave the field. I walked off a field once myself- I soloed the ball from my own 21 to the opposite one and was kicked by 5 different players from the opposition without a free being awarded- ref said there was advantage. So I left. There is no sense playing on against people who are out to hurt you for no reason other than they are cowards. Why stay to have players concussed, jaws broken and so forth.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 24/01/2012 13:02:40    1099314