Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

24/01/2012 10:44:29
ochonlir

1099162 Ormond go to YouTube and search for Rugby brawl and you will see page after page of results, no hysterical reporting of these so whilst I can't give you examples in print You tube has all the examples you want

It's notable that you defend the player, so what does that say about your acceptance of what goes on on a rugby field v what happens on a gaa field

Quinnys actions were unacceptable nut what happened was accidental, he didnt go out onto the pitch to delibritely do that to leo cullan

And ocho, if you go on to youtube and do the same for GAA you will get fairly high results, not as high as rugby but rugby is played worldwide so there will be more incidents. And of those incidents on youtube how many are actually in ireland?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/01/2012 10:58:31    1099186

Shocking post from Liamwalkinstown. Shocking preducjice in this day an age.

The fact is that the Southern media dislike all things as Tyrone, ALMOST as much as BBC NI & UTV. Just look at the treatment of Jerome Quinn and the BBC??
For Gods sake - even many of the publically elected representatives in Tyrone openly support "whoever is playing Tyrone" and profess their joy / despair when we win / lose.

Any story were Tyrone can be put in a negative light, or indeed Ulster GAA - they run it and they run it BIG. Take last nights BBC newsline coverage - we were treated to highlights of Linfield & Dungannon, some daft soccer goal scored from a corner was repeated 3 or 4 times with an interview to suit- yet coverage of Derrytresks triumph was limited to the 1min 10sec brawl. No mention or coverage whatsoever that such a small club had qualified for a historic first All Ireland Final.

The problem as I see it as too many people in this country - have for so long hoovered in everything they have been told by the media & political world - that they have lost the ability to think for themselves & come to a rightminded conclusion.

redhandmacca (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 24/01/2012 10:59:05    1099187

ringo
County: Wexford
1099116 I see the Unionists have now got their hands on the footage and are having a good laugh at ye up there. I'm sure you needed that.
In rugby, if a team's supporters or players acted in this fashion, they are thrown out of competition for a year.

Ringo - I would recommend you give no credence whatsoever to Unionist involvement in this. They have an appalling record of bias towards the Gaa.
Likewise I give no credence to their views on people from the 26 counties either.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 11:03:22    1099191

Derrytresk should be feeling awful stupid and ashamed . They have won a semi final but the actions of their subs and some idiotic supporters should cost them their place in the final.
The Kerry team and posters should stop feeling sorry for themselves and stop playing the victim in an effort to gain some sort of leniency and support. They were just as guilty for starting the scrap.
The Galway team that is in the final should be awarded the All Ireland title. Never the way they'd want to win a title but Its the only fair solution and sends the right message .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 24/01/2012 11:04:34    1099193

Superglue

As there's an investigation going on this thread should be locked.
Both sides are at polar opposites with the other so opinion isn't going to change.
Derrytresk should be afforded something along the lines of innocent until proven guilty as they have a final to prepare for.
Coverage of it is bordering on the hysterical

Well said Superglue, the Gardaí are now involved so the thread should be locked.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/01/2012 11:07:16    1099199

All I can say is I have always ALWAYS been a fan of Tyrone but lads defending anyone in Blues actions should be a ashamed of themselves. Derrytresk players should be ashamed and if there is any justice they will get thrown out of the competition. Playing with an edge is one thing but that is bordering on the criminal. As I said i hope they get a ban for this and a number of backroom team get a nice ban from GAA matches.

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 24/01/2012 11:14:43    1099206

I think there has been a totally over the top reaction to this incident, fuelled by a media - predominently Northern based - who take any chance they get to stick the boot in the GAA. Yes, what happened wasn't pretty and should rightly be condemned, but it's comical to listen to people ridicule and give off, when if the shoe was on the other foot they would be a total opposite. The reaction of the Dromid Pearses manager isn't helping matters, he's quoted in every paper you lift this morning. I think everyone should just calm down a bit..

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 24/01/2012 11:14:54    1099207

I agree that certain media sources are using this to attack the GAA. However, they did not employ actors to create the scenes!

It is also clear that Derrytresk sideline were the main culprits. If GAA are serious about tackling this sort of stuff - which is way beyond anything that night happen ON the field - then they have to throw Derrytresk out of the competition.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/01/2012 11:15:06    1099208

No one in the right mind condones violence but in all reality this episode has well and truly been blown out of all proprotion. Okay there were some unsavoury scenes between two Dromid players and a Derrytresk Official and the subs were wrong to enter the scuffling before it really descended into handbags (no pun intended) at six paces.

For years Derrytresk have been demonised by the crown and their enforcers because of their loyalty to the GAA. We in Tyrone do not accept the border and I dare say if the shoe was on the other foot then many gaels in the state would have similar sentiments. Back to sunday it has to be said that the Derrytresk player floored was playing juvenile football last year and the bulk of the team have barely left school. Out of the entire panel there are only three or four of the Derrytresk squad over the age of 24 or 25.

Given the fact that the Drmid players who decided to act upon the youngster in question it is not surprising to see a reaction. The official was standing up for a player who was still at school (not Higher Education) SCHOOL last year. It boiled over and it is regrettable. But for posters who were not at the game to slate us for coming from the North is unjust and highly lauaghable. Ulster is every bit as Irish as the wee six in munster and thise from Dublin, Galway Meath etc who have used the incident to heap further criticism of the North should be ashamed.

The CCC authorites will take appropriate action based on fairness. It will not be based on the demands from people who were not present at the game. For a community of less than 120 families it is a magnificent achievement for Derrytresk to have defied the odds to reach the biggest stage of all - An All-Ireland Club Final. It doesnt get any bigger for a club player and for this small club to have such a momentous day stripped from them because they stood up for a juvenile member of their team would be wrong.

I can name many high profile games were opposition "reportedly" singled out the best players. Meath vs Tyrone - O'Connell in particular while Mayo were involved in worse scenes in an All-Ireland SFC Final.

But for now accept the incident for what it was - handbags nothing more. It should not have happened. It did and the CCC will act accordingly.

lomanaiochtabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 24/01/2012 11:25:12    1099218

Breff, remind me how many subs and "fans" got involved in the brawl in the NH Munster match again? And remind me which NH player was it has to be hospitalised or for that matter was assaulted coming off the pitch...??
Apples and Oranges Breff

Lads its far too easy to scream "anti northern" at fellas who dare make a comment on something involving a team from the North. Once again, I ask, is it not fair comment to say that the MAJORITY of these incidents making the head lines these days involve teams from the North.

I am not trying to sensationalise or wind people up here, I am merely asking the question. Why is it that so many of these incidents involve teams from such a small area of the country?

And as I said Breff, comparing an incident where subs and fans get involved and 2 lads end up with serious injuries to a rugby match where a brawl between lads on the pitch than only involved lads on the pitch, is , for a lad of your intelligence, ridiculous!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 11:30:28    1099227

i'm posting this link on the page as it clearly shows how the malee started: i hope the moderators put it up!!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/16689009.stm

now to evaluate this, the dromid pearse man hit derrytresk official starting the row which the subs got involved with this is pretty clear to see.. out come is also pretty clear suspension for official and player from dromid pearse and heavy fine for derrytresk for control of subs..what else happened in game is meaningless and for the dromid pearse manager coming out saying his players were grabbed in the privates is pathetic.. different tactics are being involved throughout the COUNTRY to provoke opposition players this is were opposing players need to be the bigger person and not retaliate which DROMID obviously did.. for the manager to come out and ask for expulsion from competition is ridiculous yes what happened was unsavoury but both teams were at it.. END OF.

magic_johnson (Cork) - Posts: 181 - 24/01/2012 11:30:42    1099228

well said MAGIC JOHNSON

the most accurate & realistic post i have seen here

redhandmacca (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 24/01/2012 11:41:17    1099237

@Tyronetim

My point is that they are looking at any opportunity to have a go at ye, and you keep giving them the opportunity. They must love incidents like this.

ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 24/01/2012 11:47:44    1099242

TheGateKeeper

The hypocricy on this message board are laughable,
judgements being carried out by those who weren't at the game!
Moomoo, your the worst offender, cut back on the kerrygold mate! ,
Lets see the evidence before sentences ae handed out!
Some of the posts on here from the anti-tyrone brigade
are akin to internment! (imprisonment without trial, to you lads in the south)
That is the reason Tyrone lads are defensive!
Provide the evidence to back up your accusations!
Innocent till proven guilty!

Will you ever go away with you anti tyrone bulls*** you could just as easy say its people pumping on the anti kerry bandwagan but i suppose there isn't one of them. Also way is it only Ulster people that seem to be defending it?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/01/2012 11:52:51    1099243

Seen Sean Cavanagh on italk sport a few weeks back and said correct me if im wrong said he was hit by a fan at an under fourteen game years ago. H said that kind of thing has been happening in Tyrone football for years. Joe McMahon broke his jaw last year by some thug in a club game and wast hinhing about quiting after same as incident happen to Brian Dour. im sure ill get slated for this. But i have played against Dromid numerous times at junior level and have been hit hard, one of the toughest teams in Kerry, but i can honestly say no dirty off the ball stuff. the end

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 24/01/2012 11:55:01    1099247

Liamwalkinstown

1099227 Breff, remind me how many subs and "fans" got involved in the brawl in the NH Munster match again? And remind me which NH player was it has to be hospitalised or for that matter was assaulted coming off the pitch...??
Apples and Oranges Breff

Lads its far too easy to scream "anti northern" at fellas who dare make a comment on something involving a team from the North. Once again, I ask, is it not fair comment to say that the MAJORITY of these incidents making the head lines these days involve teams from the North.
_________

Liam, read your question again carefully and you will understand Tyrone peoples grievances with how this has been reported.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 24/01/2012 11:57:00    1099250

magic_johnson

Ridiculous post you add a link that shows a Derrytresk official hit a Dromid player who retaliates and claim the Dromid player started it. This is a national forum not a childish 'I'm from Cork and I hate Kerry because they usually beat us' thread.
Even had your claim been true there would be this video and an adjacent umpire and referee, the CCC and more to cite and punish the Dromid player. I've hit and been hit on a field, it would sicken me to think the few lowlifes at a game jump a fence to get involved with or against me. You don't seem to have any opinion on them or their actions.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 24/01/2012 11:58:57    1099251

lomanaiochtabu ..... Well said.

Derrytresk should not be thrown out of the competition. Both clubs will have to face the music. The majority of the Derrytresk players did their best to stop the situation from escalating as did some of the supporters. The invasion by subs, the involvement of the mentor, is a matter for the GAA to put right.The green hooded monster should be banned for life.
I myself ,although I don't live in Kerry anymore , have been at club matches in Kerry over the years where county players were singled out for special attention. I'm sure Declan will survive this.

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas
No matter what words are said or written on this i think it just re-inforces what everyone thinks of Tyrone football and people unfortunately!

Abu who gave you the right to assume that everyone thinks as you do!

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 24/01/2012 11:59:22    1099252

Liamwalkinstown

1099227 Breff, remind me how many subs and "fans" got involved in the brawl in the NH Munster match again? And remind me which NH player was it has to be hospitalised or for that matter was assaulted coming off the pitch...??
Apples and Oranges Breff

Yeah so the Heineken cup game, one of the highest profile sporting events of the weekend, with ten of thousands at it, professionals every where you look, was stewarded better. Imagine that?

Liam you regularly trot this stuff out to justify your generalisations. You're like Ricky Bobby, just becasue you say "with all due respect", doesn't entitle you to say what you want without being contradicted

I am not trying to sensationalise or wind people up here, I am merely asking the question. Why is it that so many of these incidents involve teams from such a small area of the country?

Neither am i and i merely answered and disagreed with you, you are escalating it into something else.

And as I said Breff, comparing an incident where subs and fans get involved and 2 lads end up with serious injuries to a rugby match where a brawl between lads on the pitch than only involved lads on the pitch, is , for a lad of your intelligence, ridiculous!

Refer to the first point, compare how they are reported.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12409 - 24/01/2012 12:01:34    1099254

Derry-Ledd are you telling me there are incidents where fans and subs have assualted players in club games "down south" that havent made the news is it?
Ok, well have you any proof of that?
I am not saying your wrong or making it up, I just want to see the proof of this?

I mean seriously lads ye are taking a serious serious issue where lads have been left genuinely badly hurt and turning it into a "them versus us" issue. This is not an "out to get ye". Its a very real issue

And my saying it was mainly a Northern Problem is not me out to get ye. Its a very genuine and I think very fair observation that the majority of these incidents involve teams from a very small part of the island. Its very disproportionate.

And for Breff and co to compare it to the Munster match does their defence no favours atall! No comparison!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 12:05:04    1099257