after watching the incident on Tv and utube numerous occasions last night - it wasn't pretty to watch - 1. yes there was a 'melee' but we have all seen much worst - but that doesn't make it right... 2. What looked particularly bad was the Derrytresk 'supporters' jumping the fence to get involved..... one can't blame the lack of stewards because supporters or 'normal' people shouldn't behave like that - and these people should face the full wrath of the gaa authorities 3. As the incident itself it was caused by the Dromid number 4 and number 5 following in on the Derrytresk selector after a derrytresk player was felled on the ground 4. What is really worrying here is a 'galvasing of the minds' they are worse than us and we are the victims - very clearly demonstrated by certain sections of the media - 5. Nobody can clearly state what happened before the game or during it... both sides are clearly biased... 6. If Dromid were that incised with the opposition, did they report said incidents to the ref. - as a referee you can report such'serious incidents even though you have no proof, 7. still unhappy with said incident could have walked off the field of play...... 8. Kerry are not the victims - both parties were guilty and trying to use the media is a disgraceful agenda attempt to distorth the truth
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 24/01/2012 09:41:19
You are in complete denial and are trying to minamise eye gouging etc. Ormond
Many rugby players have been banned for eye gouging some even gouged their own international team Mayes and missed out on a lions tour When a melee happens on the rugger field you ignore it but go doo lally when a hand is raised in the gaa You see fit to criticise the gaa but get ultra when anything is said about the new Rugby set up
As i said this will be dealt with Eye gouging is not part of our game thankfully
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/01/2012 09:45:03
Let's hope Dromid Pearses receive their Justice in time unlike this lad from Monaghan.... You would have to wonder why the Ulster Council took so long to finally admit their officials got it wrong!!
Cremartin win appeal 20 January 2012
"It will be of little consolation to the Cremartin club or Niall Flanagan that they won their appeal against the sending-off of Niall Flanagen on a second yellow card in last year's Ulster club junior football championship final but it will reopen old wounds that had barely healed following their controversial defeat in the decider. Cremartin experienced delays in getting a copy of the referee's report and the DVD of the game which would enable them to lodge their appeal against what they saw on the day as a gross injustice and a decision that they believed, along with some other controversial refereeing decisions, ultimately cost them the match. Having eventually obtained a copy of the referee's report and the DVD of the game recently their appeal was heard by the Ulster Hearings Committee on Thursday night and the DVD evidence was conclusive showing that Niall Flanagan was at least 25 yards away from the incident that saw him issued with a second yellow card. Cremartin were not seeking to have the outcome of the game overturned but merely to get the point cleared up that a gross injustice had been done to the Cremartin player and the team. Despite that setback Niall Flanagan was named as Junior Player of the Year in Monaghan"
kingdom2012 (Kerry) - Posts: 2 - 24/01/2012 09:46:58
i am a great admirer of tyrone football over the years and love the steal and commitment that they brought with them in the inter county championship but this is not about what county your from and who you follow this is simply about football and the gaa!! there have been a number of incidents this year involving fans and players in altercations with supporters and referees and this has been in different counties across the country! but having watched the video yesterday there is no doubt in my mind that derrytresk should be removed from the competition and a hefty fine placed on them!! also the gaa have video of the brawl that took place and should impose bans on those involved!! the number of mentors and fans from derrytresk that ran on the pitch is disgraceful and i am sure that a number of their other fans and some of their players are deeply embarrassed by these people actions. If there is a scuffle on the pitch it has to be left on the pitch for the for the referee and officials to deal with and should not require a bunch of idiots to jump onto the pitch to make the situation worse!! their is a degree of hooliganism sneaking into the gaa and this will kill the sport and the tradition of the sport where fans can sit beside each other and enjoy a good match unless hard-lines are taken in situations like this!!
ozbound (Galway) - Posts: 74 - 24/01/2012 09:59:27
Dreadful scenes at the game and if you watch the video above the majority of the people who climbed the fence were subs. You can see quiet clearly during the footage that there were a number Derrytresk fans preventing others jumping the hoardings so I think the blanket accusations being posted on this thread are what has got most people's backs up.
There is no defending the actions in the video but would say that it was a small minority of the Derrytresk fans that got involved. The guy in the navy and grey jacket with the green hood seems to be the worst of the fans and should be easily identified by the authorities, he was held back by a Derrytresk player.
So yes the scenes are terrible and any sub who got involved should get a long suspension and any fans identified should receive an even harsher punishment however the majority of Derrytresk fans didn't get involved and the Derrytresk players removed their fans from the pitch or intervened.
I think a lot of arguments on this thread lose their merit because they are wrapped in an anti Tyrone/Ulster/Nordie sentiments.
spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 24/01/2012 10:02:32
24/01/2012 09:45:03 ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 3636
1099095 You are in complete denial and are trying to minamise eye gouging etc. Ormond
Many rugby players have been banned for eye gouging some even gouged their own international team Mayes and missed out on a lions tour When a melee happens on the rugger field you ignore it but go doo lally when a hand is raised in the gaa You see fit to criticise the gaa but get ultra when anything is said about the new Rugby set up
As i said this will be dealt with Eye gouging is not part of our game thankfully
Im not in complete denial, and in relation to the quinny case that was accidental. Do you have proof of big melees happening in rugby, as in newspaper articles? Or maybe you or someone else will come back and say the "rugby influenced" media hush up every story that is any bit anti rugby.........
How can i go "doo lally" about when a melee happens on a rugby pitch when there never seems to be any or at least big enough to make the front pages of national newspapers. Il criticse rugby for the right reasons like selection policys, stadium selection, the colour of a teams socks(joke-you wont understand...) not as some here like to do because its a "upperclass sport" or its only played by "d4 people loike"
Great to see eye gouging isnt a part of the GAA but its a great pity that every year there is storys similar to what happened sunday
Im not anti GAA, i dont play any more but i still am a member of my local club and go to as many games as i can that my club are playing in and go to as many inter county games as i can go to and afford to go to
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/01/2012 10:07:00
I see the Unionists have now got their hands on the footage and are having a good laugh at ye up there. I'm sure you needed that.
In rugby, if a team's supporters or players acted in this fashion, they are thrown out of competition for a year.
ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 24/01/2012 10:08:28
well i am not anti tyrone, i like them, but this is not about who we like or dislike, this is about stopping violence at the games we all love, the club should be banned from playing in the final, and life bans for anyone involved in the incident that would send out a clear message
Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1711 - 24/01/2012 10:09:56
I have not seen the incident and I can only go on what I hear, but it does seem that the Tyrone team are being roundly accepted as the agressors here? Matt Cooper, Newstalk, BBC NI, Ireland AM, 2FM Sport all laid the blame squarely at the feet of the Tyrone team.
Is this fair lads? Is this accurate? I have not seen it so I can only go on what I heard.
Would Northern, not Ulster, but Northern posters accept that their teams/fans are involved in a very disproportionate amount of this kind of stuff over the last few years? I am not trying to generalise here or wind anybody up, but when this happens, more often than not at least one Northern team are involved lads.
Fair comment?
Could this be down to a more naturally aggresive enviornment growing up in the North as opposed to the South perhaps?
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/01/2012 10:11:02
As there's an investigation going on this thread should be locked. Both sides are at polar opposites with the other so opinion isn't going to change. Derrytresk should be afforded something along the lines of innocent until proven guilty as they have a final to prepare for. Coverage of it is bordering on the hysterical
Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/01/2012 10:15:46
Wasnt at the match, however on watching the clip maybe a dozen times, super-slow mo on the sky+ etc, I feel that:
A. Dromid no. 10 started the melee with a late full frontal challenge. (Straight Red)
B. Dromid no. 4 was the first to raise his fists. (Straight Red card, along with the Derrytresc selector who retaliated)
C. Dromid no. 5 was the third man in. (This ought to be a straight Red card offence in my opnion) His body was practically in a swimming motion, fists trying to connect to anything (missed everything!) .Mainly aimed at the same Derrytresc selector who was only trying to protect himself at this point.
D. The Derrytresc bench emptied in order to protect the selector who had been a target of 2 separate assualts from Dromid players.
E. At this stage the whole incident becomes very unsightly, as their are more derrytesk men on the field of play - it reflects very badly on them. Mainly pushing and shoving, but their is a Derrytresc fan in a hoodie who would need identified and given a life ban from GAA grounds. He attacks a dromid player from the side in a shameful cowardly manner.
F. Many of the derrytresk men are trying to break up the melee in the absence of proper stewards
G. In summary it would seem that the individuals responsible for the row are the Derrytresk selector, and the Dromid no. 10, 5 & 4.
The actions of the said 3 Dromid players clearly demonstrates that they were more interested in assualting their opponents that playing football. it looks as if the Dromid lads wanted a bit of a row, and when Derrytresk inevitably turned up the heat - they all wanted to run back to the convent!
redhandmacca (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 24/01/2012 10:21:11
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2833
Would Northern, not Ulster, but Northern posters accept that their teams/fans are involved in a very disproportionate amount of this kind of stuff over the last few years? I am not trying to generalise here or wind anybody up, but when this happens, more often than not at least one Northern team are involved lads.
Fair comment?
No
I know you specifically weren't asking anyone from Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal for whatever reason, but I'm answering anyway.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12409 - 24/01/2012 10:24:02
No right minded person would support a pitch invasion (the subs piling in). Likewise no right minded person would try to apportion blame unilaterally.
I won't get into it was a player from Dromid getting involved with Derrytresk official that was the incendiary..because I've lived through the politics of selective condemnation here for decades. What happended was wrong - both are culpable with special punishment for subs entering the melee.
The important point that truly repulses me is the level of vitriol, bigotry, and prejudice directed at Tyrone people generally. The comments on this board and on Youtube below the video make me ashamed to call myself an Irishman. I have relatives on both sides of the border but this villification of all things "Northern" popularly demonised through the modern term of "Nordy" is disgraceful. If you have a reasoned opinion on the matter then great but if your using social media to p[eddle your hatred then you should be thoroughly ashamed of yourselves. Northerners have played there role in Southern liberation and none more so than Tyrone people. Acquaint yourself with Irish history and hang your heads low.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 10:28:55
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2833
Would Northern, not Ulster, but Northern posters accept that their teams/fans are involved in a very disproportionate amount of this kind of stuff over the last few years? I am not trying to generalise here or wind anybody up, but when this happens, more often than not at least one Northern team are involved lads. Fair comment? No I know you specifically weren't asking anyone from Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal for whatever reason, but I'm answering anyway
Good man Breffni Liam you should be ashamed of yourself. If I were to list the bahaviour of Dublin and Kerryfans that I've experienced we'd be here all night. Bury your prejudices somewhere deep. Unfortunately we have some uncouth supporters all over Ireland. You've been on this board a long time and I've assumed you to be a genyuine Gaa supporter but this they are different becuase they are from the north runs totally against the tehos of the Gaa and of any right minded irishman.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 24/01/2012 10:35:19
Ormond go to YouTube and search for Rugby brawl and you will see page after page of results, no hysterical reporting of these so whilst I can't give you examples in print You tube has all the examples you want
It's notable that you defend the player, so what does that say about your acceptance of what goes on on a rugby field v what happens on a gaa field
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/01/2012 10:44:29
Anything that happens during the game should be dealt with by the referee and officials. Any assaults that happened after the game is up to the victim how they want to deal with it. So if the Dromid or the Tyrone people want to make an official complaint then they should do so to the gardai and use the footage of the game as evidence. That lady with the handbag or anyone else who came onto the pitch commiting assaults won't do it again after a day out in court and a conviction
unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 24/01/2012 10:47:51
Brawls and fans getting involved in a Rugby match... surely not...
kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 24/01/2012 10:54:14
No matter what words are said or written on this i think it just re-inforces what everyone thinks of Tyrone football and people unfortunately!
Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 24/01/2012 10:54:51
Northerners have played there role in Southern liberation and none more so than Tyrone people. Acquaint yourself with Irish history and hang your heads low.
Tyronetim. this has nothing to do with politics and they should be left well out of it. but nor does it have anything to do with tyrone or kerry and those seeking to make it that issue are wrong too. I am from the parish of Dromid and I can honestly say that while i feel derrytresk's antics went way overboard it is not a tyrone v Kerry issue. they are a club within tyrone, as Dromid, is one within Kerry. They are not "Tyrone" or "Kerry". for the sake of proper discussion and argument lets leave the anti Tyrone / anti nordi bias out of it and debate it on its own merits.
Ciarrai36 (Kerry) - Posts: 3 - 24/01/2012 10:55:14
ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 3637
1099162 Ormond go to YouTube and search for Rugby brawl and you will see page after page of results, no hysterical reporting of these so whilst I can't give you examples in print You tube has all the examples you want
It's notable that you defend the player, so what does that say about your acceptance of what goes on on a rugby field v what happens on a gaa field
There was a lengthy brawl in the Munster Northampton game on Sunday. I have yet to see any coverage of it at all let alone headline news or back pages. two brawls at the weekend and Munster teams involved in both. Is it a Munster problem? Are Munster teams involved in a disproportionate amount of incidents like these. All I can say is there is no place for this Munster thuggery in sport and shame on those who condone it.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12409 - 24/01/2012 10:56:10