Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Disgusted looking at the footage of yesterdays incident. This kind of carry on is obviously par for the course in Tyrone club football but it is certainly not something that is condoned in more civilised footballing counties. The same thing happened a couple of years ago in the Dromore match shown on TG4 where a selector threw a headbutt at one the players on the opposing team. I am all for a good hard contest but some Tyrone teams and supporters bring out a brand of pure thuggery that is definitely not helping the game. I am an ardent Munster Rugby follower as well and the IRFU must be loving all this negativity around discipline. After seeing what went on yesterday who would want to see their children being assaulted and abused by supporters???????? of another team. Another horrible stain on Tyrone GAA

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 23/01/2012 21:19:26    1098987

Typical kerry taking the moral high ground, it's a bit ironic considering their own hurling championship was responsible for some of the most vicious incidents ever encountered in GAA!
Notwithstanding their severe indiscipline on the pitch in recent years, the GAA media(Top heavy with former Kerry players) continues to analyse them through rose tinted glasses!

An_Capall_Dubh (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 23/01/2012 21:20:54    1098989

I agree with the sentiments expressed above, Derrytresk should be kicked out of the competition and suspended by their own county board from all competitions for a year. That type of behaviour is criminal. How people can justify the intimidation and assault of Declan O'Sullivan is mind boggling. What did he do to deserve this treatment? Train hard to become one of the best players in the country?

thefence (Westmeath) - Posts: 88 - 23/01/2012 21:30:07    1099000

If this wasn't a Kerry team i wonder what people would be saying?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 21:31:58    1099002

Jaysus just seen footage of the incident there.Savage behaviour hope these tugs get everything they deserve...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 23/01/2012 21:34:00    1099004

After looking at the clip looks to me as if the guy from Kerry shouldered and ploughed into the Tyrone lad, the mentor on the line reacted and gave and got a belt and then the lads piled in. Still think people like this shouldn't be playing sport, they should try boxing or something else a bit safer.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 23/01/2012 21:35:13    1099007

A few heckles raised on here in relation to this incident it seems. Going by the TV3 footage without doubt the Dromid player No10 was the initial agressor when play had actuallt stopped and thus it wasn't a fair shoulder as one of our Kerry posters allued to earlier and the first punches were thrown by No. 4 & 5 from Dromid. However, this is not the main issue. The referee could have well sorted that issue out quite easily if it wasn't for the whole of the Derrytresk subs bench deciding to hurdle the advertising hoarding and getting involved. In fact it is quite likely that at least one would have got their marching orders only for the fullscale melee. Every substitute that entered the field of play should be suspended full stop. As there is no footage of events afterwards it is more difficult to ascertain what happened however it is readily accepted that Declan O'Sullivan was assaulted be it by a woman and male. The fact is that both should be ashamed of themselves and thankful that O'Sullivan refused to give a statement to Gardai despite the fact that the Guards had apprehended both.

I find it incredible that some Tyrone posters on here fail to see the growing trend in our games whereby violence from off the field and in the stands is seen as passion. It is not passionate to come on to a field of play and strike a player it is cowardly. I'm sure most players can stand up and take a belt from their opponent and give it back and in a competitive game this will happen. However it is not acceptable for spectators to become involved and this appears to be the only issue from Dromid. Not the initial melee nor anything that went on during the game but the fact that one of their players was assaulted by a supporter and I fully agree with them. I am passionate about my club and my county and on occasion I amy overstep the mark with my choice of language but I would never ever consider going on to the pitch and striking an opposition player, nor another supporter for that matter. The Tyrone CCC abdicated their resonsibilities after the Carmen/Dromore game and failed to send a message to others. In fact the suspensions handed out for an on field altercation between Ardboe and Omagh were more severe than that handed out recently. The bottom line is what goes on the pitch stays on the pitch and let the ref sort it out and spectators act up to their name and spectate.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 23/01/2012 21:37:24    1099008

The hypocricy on this message board are laughable,
judgements being carried out by those who weren't at the game!
Moomoo, your the worst offender, cut back on the kerrygold mate! ,
Lets see the evidence before sentences ae handed out!
Some of the posts on here from the anti-tyrone brigade
are akin to internment! (imprisonment without trial, to you lads in the south)
That is the reason Tyrone lads are defensive!
Provide the evidence to back up your accusations!
Innocent till proven guilty!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 23/01/2012 21:39:03    1099011

Tyronetim

moomoo - the point being made is the 17 year is a child...there for football ability but would not be physically able...in essence it's about "Bullying".
Take the Derrytresk man's point of view for what it is ..he was actually at the match...

Tyrone is a boil on Ciarrai's 36 AI's that they just can't seem to lance.

The Dromid player hits him with a shoulder, hard but fair, meant to be a skill of the game not his falt if the other lad wasn't able to take it is it?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 21:39:22    1099012

I thought it was mighty craic, they're hardy men (and women) in Derrytresk

Byrne (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 23/01/2012 21:40:08    1099014

I think the video didnt catch the whole thing at the start. I was at the match for my club in Intermediate Semi Final Milltown/Castlemaine. I have to say Craigbane of Derry were a credit to there County and Province. There players managment and supporters done the Lilly Whites Jersey proud and I for one will look out and hope they will go on to be successful in future. Another day they could have won it. Im sure Derrytersk are the exception in Tyrone, but as a GAA Fan we need to put a stop to this in GAA as a whole. No better place to start than yesterday.
Another point the stewarding was non visible and lack of Gardai. We all paid money to get in and at a minimum there should have been stewards.
In the upcoming Crossmaglen Dr Crokes match there will be too many steward I bet after this

milltownsupport (Kerry) - Posts: 85 - 23/01/2012 21:54:37    1099031

Well done Derrytresk on reaching the all-ireland final an amazing achivement for a small club to win the Tyrone JFC let alone get to the all-ireland final

On the highly publicised incident on the news it looks to me like Dromid started something they couldnt handle no.4 in particularlooked to be the instigator. Derrytresk finished it and that seems to be the problem

If Declan O'Sullivan get a smack with a handbag shouldnt have happened but come on a woman with a handbag if that happened me I would be trying to keep it quiet

And for all the Kerry whinners: Dont start it if you cant handle it, and glass houses.....

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 23/01/2012 22:00:00    1099040

Seen the footage on BBC News last night.
Whoever the Derrytresk sub with the hoody was, was an absolute scumbag and should never be let near a GAA pitch again.
Its one thing standing toe to toe with a man and going at it, but its quite another thing to hit a man from the side when he isnt even looking at you. Id imagine this is how the Dromid fella got the fractured cheekbone. Absolute scumbag, probably one of the most treacherous and cowardly actions ive ever seen on a pitch!

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 24/01/2012 08:17:58    1099052

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/players-hit-in-the-testicles-before-match-even-began-2997225.html

Good detail given in the article above on the Tyrone thuggery.

"I don't think I will ever go to a football game again if they are not thrown out. The GAA has to make a stand now."

I'd agree and will back this up. If the GAA supports this Tyrone thuggery, I can see a lot of genuine supporters being turned off the game.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8965 - 24/01/2012 08:31:03    1099055

Kingdom fan you say you are an ardent fan of Munster Rugby and you go on about children watching etc
Do you apply the same standards of outrage when you witness the regular malees that occur at Rugby games, which are ignored by commentators. Do you have the same outrage when prominent Players rake their studs on fellow players heads, do you have the same outrage when Rugby players including your beloved Munster players target their fellow professionals eyes as they gouge them.

Our sport will deal with this inacceptable episode you should worry about your own sport And if what you say is true about them loving this then shame on them( or you since you are one if them)

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/01/2012 08:32:54    1099058

I seem to be gagged on talking about the Tyrone thuggery. Surely it's fair comment?

"I don't think I will ever go to a football game again if they are not thrown out. The GAA has to make a stand now."
I agree with the above, if the GAA accept thuggery, a lot of genuine supporters/GAA people, will be left disillusioned with the game.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8965 - 24/01/2012 08:57:55    1099066

I was involved is a brawl very similiar to this in a minor game when I was only 15 only it was a lot worse...not a nice thing to be involved inb and like derrytresk did the other team subs and supporters piled into it and we got outnumbered about 4 to 1...they were thrown out and we procedded to the next round...some similiar action should be takin here.

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 24/01/2012 09:01:10    1099067

Watched it on the news - the actual initial altercation was quite normal for a tough championship match.

Bottom line is that the guys who jumped out of the stand caused the whole thing to get out of hand and should all face lengthy bans for their behaviour.

Any supporter involved should face the gardai and explain their actions. Simple as.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 24/01/2012 09:01:12    1099068

24/01/2012 08:32:54
ochonlir

1099058 Kingdom fan you say you are an ardent fan of Munster Rugby and you go on about children watching etc
Do you apply the same standards of outrage when you witness the regular malees that occur at Rugby games, which are ignored by commentators. Do you have the same outrage when prominent Players rake their studs on fellow players heads, do you have the same outrage when Rugby players including your beloved Munster players target their fellow professionals eyes as they gouge them.

Our sport will deal with this inacceptable episode you should worry about your own sport And if what you say is true about them loving this then shame on them( or you since you are one if them)

What regular Melee's in rugby?
Ocho, How often do you hear of big bust ups of the kind that happened this weekend in rugby? You dont,
Eye gouging is thankfully a very rare event, and i admit it does happen. Nearly all of the time the culprit is caught and severely punished.
Just because the GAA has problems in its discipline process, it doesnt give anyone the authority to have a go at rugby.
Generally someone getting raked by studs is accidental and its a legal form of the game as long as the moion of your foot is totally downward in motion and your studs are facing towards the ground at all time

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/01/2012 09:18:04    1099077

The full unedited video has been handed over to Croke Park. Gardai investigation also. No further comment neccessary until it is dealt with by both authorities.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 24/01/2012 09:19:31    1099079