Labour MP makes racist comment, doesn't resign

Despicable remark by well-known Labour MP, Diane Abbott. In the past, Diane has complained that there were too many white nurses in the NHS, she has referred to Cameron and Clegg as "two posh white boys", she has excused her son's attendance at a private school (she had earlier criticised politicians like Tony Blair for sending their children to selective schools) on the basis that "West Indian mums go to the wall for their children".

What would have happened if a white politician had said that "black people love to divide and rule"? Would he or she be allowed to continue in office? Why is racism acceptable when the person who is being racist is black?

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 06/01/2012 08:36:02    1089327

She was told she needed to apologise or she would be sacked, she apologised.
What more do you want?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/01/2012 09:25:23    1089333

What would have happened if a white politician had said that "black people love to divide and rule"? Would he or she be allowed to continue in office? Why is racism acceptable when the person who is being racist is black?

Tell us Seamas.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 06/01/2012 10:21:58    1089354

This isn't the first time Abbott has made racially charged remarks, nor is it the first time she has played the race card, which is pretty much the only card in her deck. Why is this tolerated? I'm against racism of all kinds, black and white. She should resign her seat in the Commons and change her attitude.

If a white politician had made remarks like that, I think it's likely that Aodhan O'Riordain would have headed down to the Gardai to report that person for incitement to racial hatred, even if the 'offense' (I don't think you can legislate stupidity or ignorance) had taken place in another jurisdiction.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 06/01/2012 12:48:06    1089432

Diane Abbot is hilarious. What she really meant to say was if the little old white trash can go to private school then so can my children. This racism and ethnic stuff is getting out of hand. I am expecting the literary watch dogs to [1 ] ban the rhyme "Ba ba black sheep". The music watch dogs to ban "A whiter shade of pale", "Black magic woman","Black is black I want my baby back", "Nights in white satin" and "ebony and ivory". The advertising watch dog to edit all adds with the phrase "whiter than white" The television watchdog to ban all weather forecasters from using the phrase "black clouds",dark is to be used instead. And it will go on. The "black economy" will become the "underground economy". Black forest Gateaux will become German forest Gateaux. The Black country region of the U.K be ranamed "Old Smokey". If that offends the Travelling community it will be further renamed "The "Dark country". Of course the phrase "Black humour" will never be heard of again. It will simply renamed "Cruel humour"

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 06/01/2012 12:48:23    1089433

Trixy

Diane Abbot is hilarious. What she really meant to say was if the little old white trash can go to private school then so can my children. This racism and ethnic stuff is getting out of hand. I am expecting the literary watch dogs to [1 ] ban the rhyme "Ba ba black sheep". The music watch dogs to ban "A whiter shade of pale", "Black magic woman","Black is black I want my baby back", "Nights in white satin" and "ebony and ivory". The advertising watch dog to edit all adds with the phrase "whiter than white" The television watchdog to ban all weather forecasters from using the phrase "black clouds",dark is to be used instead. And it will go on. The "black economy" will become the "underground economy". Black forest Gateaux will become German forest Gateaux. The Black country region of the U.K be ranamed "Old Smokey". If that offends the Travelling community it will be further renamed "The "Dark country". Of course the phrase "Black humour" will never be heard of again. It will simply renamed "Cruel humour"

you are not a Daily Mail reader by any chance... it always amuses me how irish people can say any racist comment they like about the english and think it is fair game. (or americans) yet the minute an engklish person even hints at something that be be offensive to an irish person and all hell breaks loose. take a good hard luck at yourselves.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 06/01/2012 13:00:01    1089445

S Goldrick you dont get the point. The point is that Diane would be likely to request the "changes" I outlined in the so totally politically correct and over the top society she,I,and you inhabit.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 06/01/2012 13:09:41    1089455

s goldrick - 100% correct. These things aren't about race, they're about colour. The Irish can openly saying anything about the English, as can the English about the Irish (I worked in England for a long period and was often the butt of Irish jokes) or the French. However mention colour and the political correct brigade go into over drive.

Comments are either wrong or they're not. When working in England I sat next to a Pakistani guy and facing and Indian guy. Both good lads but they would constantly say things to each other that I as a white person would have been sacked for if it was overheard. I could say things to these guys (as I considered them good friends) that wouldn't offend them but the same thing said by others would have done. I believe a comment is either racist or it's not regardless of the person delivering the comment.

As for Ms. Abbotts comments, she's right, the white man does like to divide and conquer. Just look through history.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 06/01/2012 13:16:27    1089458

She has lost all creditibility as an oppponent of racism towards blacks. I do believe that racism and what is seen as racism is gone way over the top but as a public figure who opposes racism (obviously only against blacks) it is completely stupid for her to say what she did. Imagine if Cameron had said that 'blacks love to fight among themselves imagine what the out cry would have been.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 06/01/2012 14:33:26    1089528

if only people knew the history behind this woman and they way she fuels racial hatred around especially in her stomping ground of hackney ye would not be as quick to defend her , this is not the first time she has made comments like this in reference to other minorities frankly other communities ethnic ones that is are getting tired of her racist rants and she keeps getting away with it , she should have beee sacked a long time ago , i do feel however her time is coming soon becaiuse people are sick of the same old rhetoriic that she is spouting

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/01/2012 16:42:38    1089677

i cant see the issue to be fair, she was being honest

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 06/01/2012 17:20:32    1089700

very true ta32 I was taken in by her once a few years ago I thought here's someone refreshing in Labour politics but her Mask has slipped a few times recently now I can't stand the sight of her on t.v. I hope the BBC drop her from their political shows as Labour don't seem to have the (Ed Balls) to.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 06/01/2012 17:23:17    1089704

stranmillis29

1089700 i cant see the issue to be fair, she was being honest
How exactly was she being honest here, she was generalising about the white race as a whole, thats you, me, my friends and family, apparently, according to Abbott we should all shoulder some collective guilt just because we are white, much like original sin. Diane Abbott is a racist, a Black racist, but thats not really news worthy though, is it?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/01/2012 18:09:52    1089726

fortyfive.
glad you seen that side to her , the people of hackney are fed up now and london as a whole cannot really stand the sight of her everytime she appears on national t.v.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/01/2012 18:41:17    1089752

hi brend, i agree it was probably a bit unwise of her to generalise but the reaction to it has been totally over the top. Read the below article to give some perspective on the whole thing.

http://33revolutionsperminute.wordpress.com/2012/01/05/racism-vs-racism-why-diane-abbott-was-right/

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 06/01/2012 19:10:06    1089777

Stranmills29 Im not sure that the reaction has been over the top.I believe that this woman is a racist,and only works with white people because well,she dosent really have a choice.This isnt the first racist remark she has made,and i find it worrying that the reaction has been so muted,in fact many white people are actually defending her (how she must be laughing)It will be forgotten about by Monday,while the John Terry row will drag on for months.You can also be sure that BNP leaders are loving this as well as it will further convince white British people that a rapidly growing black population is a threat to them,and they may well turn to the BNP.
She should resign.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 06/01/2012 21:38:57    1089862

Seamus, you asked a question and I answered it. If you wanted to include other instances of comments she had made then you should have put them in the initial post. You are changing the goalposts.
I am with stranmillis29 on this, clegg and cameron are two posh white boys. That isnt generalising anyone, she is only talking about 2 people. Personally, I am not offended by that comment. People need to stop this racism hysteria.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/01/2012 21:59:20    1089878

I have no problem with people criticising white colonialism,but I do have a problem when I get blamed for it,as one day it will be mine and your children who get blamed for it too.You can look back at divide and conquer policies and there is no denying that it was an extremely effective and sinister tactic,but this racist politician is holding ALL OF US responsible, which is fine,so long as I can hold the Muslim kid in my little sisters class responsible for 9/11.Does that sound fair to ye?No,didnt think so.
For the record I believe that multiculturalism itself is actually a tactic that Western governments employ to divide people living here,and therefore make them easier to control,so as I said its not like this woman is talking TOTAL rubbish,but by holding ALL white people responsible she is, in my opinion,displaying the characteristics of a racist.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 06/01/2012 22:00:34    1089879

TheRoad

Stranmills29 Im not sure that the reaction has been over the top.I believe that this woman is a racist,and only works with white people because well,she dosent really have a choice.This isnt the first racist remark she has made,and i find it worrying that the reaction has been so muted,in fact many white people are actually defending her (how she must be laughing)It will be forgotten about by Monday,while the John Terry row will drag on for months.You can also be sure that BNP leaders are loving this as well as it will further convince white British people that a rapidly growing black population is a threat to them,and they may well turn to the BNP.
She should resign.

RAPIDLY growing?

Between 2001 and 2009 the Black population in England actually dropped slightly.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 07/01/2012 12:15:06    1089906

boo hoo boo hoo life is so tough being white

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 07/01/2012 12:45:35    1089921