A friend and I were discussing last week about some of the effects of the afore-mentioned substances. We agreed that alcohol had the capabilities to make normally-calm people go mad when taken in excessive amounts and do things that they would never dream of while sober. We speculated that if alcohol were a new drug discovered only recently, it would be prohibited. Cannabis on the other hand has the typical image of making people calm, sleepy, relaxed and "spaced-out" and there are never any stories I've ever heard of people causing violence while under the influence of this drug. So, should cannabis be legalized and alcohol banned? Discuss... spiderpig123 (Down) - Posts: 175 - 30/11/2011 15:39:17 1077934 Link 0 |
Alcohol banned in Ireland...... Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 30/11/2011 15:49:23 1077946 Link 0 |
More should be done to discourage the use of alcohol.Its ridiculous how insidious alcohol is within Irish society.Cannabis should be at least decriminalized and ultimately taxed and regulated to squeeze out the scumbag drug dealers, who often sell the harder gear such as heroin,that causes so much real harm. seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/11/2011 15:59:59 1077953 Link 0 |
Well...eh..I've thought about this and...um...yeah....whatever Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 30/11/2011 16:00:27 1077955 Link 0 |
I agree with seanie that there is a significant problem with alcohol in society. Plus if cannabis were legalized in Ireland then there would be certain legal standards that it would have to adhere to and therefore it would be safer than some cannabis that people may be taking now. Also it could potentially be a booster to the economy, if people come over from Britain etc for a weekend to Ireland spiderpig123 (Down) - Posts: 175 - 30/11/2011 16:16:52 1077965 Link 0 |
Is that what we want though, for Ireland to become like the Netherlands and full of drug tourists. Why not go the whole hog and legalise prostitution as well sure pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 30/11/2011 16:21:45 1077970 Link 0 |
We already have 10's of thousands of drug tourists - that visit this country every year JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 30/11/2011 16:33:16 1077977 Link 0 |
pplocal seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/11/2011 16:34:59 1077980 Link 0 |
pplocal Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 30/11/2011 16:39:26 1077984 Link 0 |
pplocal bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 30/11/2011 16:46:27 1077991 Link 0 |
i think 100% canabis should be legalised, and no i dont smoke the stuff as i hate smoking generally. i have been to amsterdam a few times and i believe other countries around the world could learn a lot from the dutch model. and its not only their attitude to canabis but other drugs also. i think its a win win if it is legalised, the smokers can smoke it without the fear of the law, and the government stand to make a fortune from taxes if they control how it is supplied. one could argue and say about the taxes being offset by possible health costs, but those health costs are already there as it is the most common recreational drug of choice, other than alchohol. it may well lead to a boost in "drug tourism" also as pomeroy pointed out, and that doesnt have to be a bad thing. any of the times i have been to amsterdam i havent witnessed a lot of trouble, no more than any busy city at the weekend, as the cops there are on every street corner, without being noticeable, and they dont take any nonsense. but as has been pointed out before, people who are "stoned" wouldnt really be bothered anyway. the current legislation on drugs in most countries in the world is no good. its no different to prohibition in america at the start of the 20th century. "bootleggers" as they were called, were just drug dealers. their drug was alchohol and as that is the drug of choice of the legislators then that is ok. again back to holland, its legal over there, but controlled so not any thomas richard or harold can sell it. pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 30/11/2011 17:00:25 1078001 Link 0 |
Bosch will these hen/stag parties stop if cannabis is legalised? You'll still have people taking drink except you'll be throwing drugs into the mix as well. If we're talking about the danger that it causes then alcohol is more dangerous than heroin and crack cocaine. Should these be legalised as well? The argument seems to be alcohol is more dangerous than some drugs and therefore these drugs should be legalised. Would it not be better trying to address the problem of binge drinking, have stricter policing on underage drinking and on alcohol related assault, criminal damage etc. I've been to Amsterdam and it's so seedy, good craic for a weekend but that's it. I'd hate our cities to end up like that pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 30/11/2011 17:05:37 1078007 Link 0 |
A friend of mine nearly killed himself years ago becasue the started smoking cannabis and then got into mushrooms etc....was spaced out and hear toughts in his head do do crazy things......nobody I know has had that effect on drink. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11602 - 30/11/2011 17:11:35 1078014 Link 0 |
I'm totally opposed to the legalisation of drugs while they are still outlawed in the UK. If we did that, we'd be swamped every weekend with an influx of ignorant, loud and stoned Brits. Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 30/11/2011 17:19:54 1078022 Link 0 |
yew_tree MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 30/11/2011 17:20:31 1078023 Link 0 |
yew_tree Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 30/11/2011 17:32:33 1078038 Link 0 |
Breffni Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 30/11/2011 18:10:29 1078066 Link 0 |
ALRIGHT BAN DRINK, one of the last pleasures left in this country, close the entire country down, what the hell sure we are already on the road to a dictatorship. You can have ONE pint and be deamend not safe to drink, yet be stones of your head and who has ever been trsted for drug driving in this country? yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11602 - 30/11/2011 18:19:57 1078072 Link 0 |
seanie_boy dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 30/11/2011 19:05:45 1078113 Link 0 |
Good thread, yes athe demon drink should be drive from our shores, socially acceptable, kills people, wrecks marraiges, the only thing I've ever seen from lads having a joint is a lot of laughter, no brainer!!! realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8760 - 30/11/2011 20:55:49 1078210 Link 0 |