90's v Noughties.. Which was best?

Lads as much as it pains me to say it , colm o rourke was probably the greatest forward of the 90's , that man was unreal he had it all, he's up there with the gooch n canavan.

I don't know about that Clondalkin, I'd say Maurice Fitzgerald and Mickey Linden would have something to say about that.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/11/2011 20:55:49    1074721

Peter Canavan was the greates forward of the 90s and 00s

laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 23/11/2011 20:58:40    1074722

Mo fitz had unbelievable skill but lacked pace to be considered the greatest , don't forget he was a sub for the last few years of his county career, o rourke was still starting at 38 and still running amok. Mickey linden was class but I dont think he could kick the scores o rourke kicked from all over the park. Just my opinion lads .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/11/2011 21:04:51    1074731

Mo fitz had unbelievable skill but lacked pace to be considered the greatest , don't forget he was a sub for the last few years of his county career, o rourke was still starting at 38 and still running amok. Mickey linden was class but I dont think he could kick the scores o rourke kicked from all over the park. Just my opinion lads .

But sure O' Rourke wasn't blessed with any pace either. Actually, Fitz was quick in a sprint, it may not have appeared that way because of his languid style but he was. Also Fitz was only a sub in 2000 and 2001, neither year in the 90's, and he did something special in each of those years too. Fitz was running amok since 88, by far and away the greatest forward of the 90's, but of course, that's just my opinion and I'm biased!!! :)

O' Rourke was special though.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/11/2011 09:25:33    1074807

We are all blessed to have saw all these great players play.M fitz was a very special player i ofton thaught the ball was glued to his foot he was blessed with skill and grace lacked pace abit but a seldom seen player.Gooch i slag on the forum but another true great of the game all the artistry and skill of fitz but i can,t say he,s better because m fitz played in mostly poor kerry teams in his youth.I honestly can,t seperate them.The only think about them is neither liked close attension
and i don,t mean dirt in that regard.Now the warrior o,rourke the man you,d go into the trenches with.Never has a player with so much heart played the sport of gaa,he could mix it with m tyson he never shirked a tackle never a ball was lost till it was gone scored some of the most vital scores ever.When heery and barr took him out in 91 all of ireland thaught he,d never rise he was down about 3 mins the rest is history.In the early days of aussie games they coun,dt knock him and they tried his srenght was outstanding.He also played on a crooked knee his whole career where he is way ahead of my kerry friends is mo or gooch would not last in the games that colm was in.Cooper shots normally close to goal colm could kick from 40 or more.Canavan to them that seen him before 02 for instance is the best but.He had all that mo and gooch had but more pace and was braver.Simply the greatest player in the gaa,s history

mickeylinden (Monaghan) - Posts: 587 - 24/11/2011 16:00:00    1075096

I would think that consistently, Peter Canavan in '95 gave the greatest individual performances I have ever seen. Even greater than the heroics of Linden in '94 which I enjoyed in a different way, but seriously Canavan was turning people inside out and kicking outrageous points with both feet. They kept trying to take him out, but he would just dust himself off and point the frees all day.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 24/11/2011 22:03:46    1075441

I think they were both as good as each other as Mayo lost 2 AIs in each decade.

farmer2 (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 25/11/2011 20:37:28    1075852

You've got it in one, Mr. Farmer.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1702 - 25/11/2011 21:16:22    1075869

for variety the 90s was much better with 6 different teams winning compared to 3 in the last decade, down donegal and derry winning all irelands paved the way for armagh and tyrone, it's incredible really that 5 counties from ulster have won all irelands in the last 20 year

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1711 - 26/11/2011 12:41:05    1075952

id much rather win through the provincial, mainly because i value the leinster title to a high regard! but if dublin won through the back door it would still mean as much to me as any other all ireland. they are like two seperate competitions are the qualifiers and provincials. four teams from each go on to contest the all ireland series so i dont see where the issue of 'tarnished medals' lies.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 26/11/2011 13:26:32    1075966

Barrowsider
County: Carlow

for variety the 90s was much better with 6 different teams winning compared to 3 in the last decade, down donegal and derry winning all irelands paved the way for armagh and tyrone, it's incredible really that 5 counties from ulster have won all irelands in the last 20 year

am i reading this wrong or what? was there not 8 winners in the 90's cork down donegal derry dublin meath kerry galway? and 4 in the 00's kerry galway armagh tyrone?

the 90's win out as the best decade by far

late_and_high (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 26/11/2011 13:30:50    1075968