God I love the Dubs :) Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 16:11:42 1073827 Link 0 |
1990s all the way Boys...Was only a chap in the decade but was some time for GAA, football in particular for me personally...1st day out in Croker went as a neutral to the Leinster final in '96 where Meath beat Dublin. That Meath team were some hardshaws!! Remember a row breakin out at the canal end of the Cusack and by jesus did lads get some belts, they all took them too!!...The following year was seen as a missed oppertunity for many kildare fans, It took 3 matches to seperate Kildare and Meath (A-I champs) and that fecker Jodie Devine coming off the bench to kick a points like a man possesed :(... Offaly went on to win Leinster beating a weak Meath team that had a hill of suspensions and injuries after... Was also the year that I got bitten by the kildare bug (caused some hardship ever sice tho :P) Then '98..... awww '98......Always be a great memories but it still hurts, like that gf that you just never got over, the one that got away haha.... Such a class football team, bar Graven (14 yard free specialist??..Passanger).....To beat the previous three A-I winners in a row was unbelievable but to come up so short was devestating!! redsash (Kildare) - Posts: 31 - 22/11/2011 16:14:26 1073834 Link 0 |
Cute_Kerry_Hoor JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 16:24:40 1073846 Link 0 |
Jaysus lads.. there's some amount of petty name calling coming from the culchies... pathetic stuff really. JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 16:41:39 1073855 Link 0 |
Jinx you fail to see that if the backdoor existed in the 80s then that great Kerry team would have probably come back and won the 83 All-Ireland. Or better still, what about that Cork team of the 70s. They would have benefited too, I have no doubt about that. In the modern era it was clear that Tyrone and Kerry were peaking for August/September as they knew they had a second chance. And if there was not a second chance I have no doubt they would have been on the ball straight away and would have won the All-Ireland anyway. Simply because they were the two best teams. And Tyrone would still have probably beaten us!! lol Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 16:42:10 1073856 Link 0 |
JinxyPoop Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 16:43:51 1073858 Link 0 |
Well not really man... when you think about it. JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 16:54:32 1073868 Link 0 |
But I do hear what you are saying, it's just irrelevant in my eyes. If ye were to lose in Leinster next year but go on to beat us in the Final, you will have changed your tune, and you would hear no excuses from us down here. JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 17:25:53 1073887 Link 0 |
Jinxy when Dublin win an AI through the qualifier route, see how you feel then is all I can suggest. As that has never happened before, I don't see how you can make those comments about tarnished All Irelands, they are the baseless comments in my view gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 22/11/2011 17:34:37 1073895 Link 0 |
haha fair enough Jinxy, you seem steadfast on this one, I respect that. Each to their own and all that. Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 17:35:47 1073896 Link 0 |
would bemoan or tarnish their team an AI just because they didn't win a provincial along the way Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 17:41:59 1073902 Link 0 |
Id rather win it through the provincial route,but I wouldnt say no the an All Ireland medal,no matter which way we were to go.I think I heard John Henderson say that when Kilkenny last lost a Leinster game,there wasnt the same buzz or enthusiasm throughout the county for the team,even though they got to the final that year. TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 22/11/2011 17:50:59 1073908 Link 0 |
Whatever Snuf gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 22/11/2011 17:52:07 1073909 Link 0 |
You can conceivably win the champions league without winning a game (if it goes to a shootout in the final).Very improbable,but can still happen. TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 22/11/2011 18:09:33 1073925 Link 0 |
I think the All-Ireland winners of 2000 Kerry, Galway, Armagh and Tyrone were all great champions and all were involved in some great matches. The backdoor was a great addition with the likes of Fermanagh, Sligo, Wexford and Down featuring on the national stage. Agree that the hurling in the 1990's was more exciting but the standard did not match up to the Kilkenny, Tipp and Cork teams of 2000. Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 22/11/2011 19:48:40 1074021 Link 0 |
The 90's was a vintage era for hurling & football. So many different counties came to the fore. Naughties was dominated by KK/Cork in the hurling and Kerry/Tyrone in the football. Not denying they werent great teams but everyone remembers the great games of the 90s deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 22/11/2011 19:54:02 1074027 Link 0 |
For football and hurling the 90s were as good as it ever got in terms of the amount of teams challanging for honours. It really boosted the profile of the GAA throughout the country with different teams winning provincial and All-Ireland titles. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13816 - 23/11/2011 16:49:48 1074478 Link 0 |
Id have to say the 00's simply because i'm too young to remember the 90's waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 23/11/2011 17:11:56 1074498 Link 0 |
early 90's by a long way! the four D's Down, Donegal, Derry and Dublin! fine teams with a lot of fight! haven't seen the like since! wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 23/11/2011 20:04:46 1074672 Link 0 |
Lads as much as it pains me to say it , colm o rourke was probably the greatest forward of the 90's , that man was unreal he had it all, he's up there with the gooch n canavan. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/11/2011 20:32:15 1074694 Link 0 |