90's v Noughties.. Which was best?

Let us all just remember that an AI 'won' via the back door is not an AI 'won' at all!!!

Ya cant be masters of all if somebody beat ya along the way and are masters of your actual Province ahead of ya!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 15:07:32    1073762

yes it was more exciting in the 90tys but i believe that was because it was proper championship knockout the qualifiers have taken that feel away from the provincial championships.but i recently watched the dublin v meath games on dvd from 1991 and if your being honest the skill level was far below the present day there was an awful lot of aimless long balls just being sent in and coming striaght back out of defense and there was a lot more sideline balls as passing was nowhere near as good as today,at the time it wasnt noticeable as the game was like that but the present day football skills are far greater and i think its the qualifiers that has taken the cut and trust out of the last decade,but in fairness there were some meorable games in the 00tys too,dublin v kerry in thurles,armagh v kerry in 02,tyrone v kerry,
dublin v tyrone 05,dublin v mayo 06 that game had it all drama skill cut and trust

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/11/2011 15:08:20    1073764

moomoo

I suppose the back door has made it easier for teams to win an All Ireland. In the 90's the All Ireland champions could be out after there first game wheres as now they get another chance. In the 90's Down could have won 1 or 2 more All Irreland had there been a back door. That said there was a back door in hurling in the 90's and only one team won by it so maybe it was just a more open championship then

agree but you could also say if there was no back door in the 00tys kerry and tyrone would not have won half of there hauls and i feel dublin would have won at least 1 between 05 and 09

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/11/2011 15:10:20    1073766

Ah yes, but Snuf, what if you beat the team that beat you previously when it matters most??

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 15:10:22    1073767

Nah... either you're Chanmpions of ALL or champions of nothing...

It's a shame that the true meaning of being All Ireland champions has been lost with this back door stuff...

I'd say the same thing if we ever win one through the back door...

especially if we lost to Meath or Kildare along the way...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 15:18:56    1073775

Snufalufagus

Let us all just remember that an AI 'won' via the back door is not an AI 'won' at all!!!

Ya cant be masters of all if somebody beat ya along the way and are masters of your actual Province ahead of ya!!!

So if Dublin had won the hurling All Ireland this year it wouldn't have been an All Ireland win at all so is it?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/11/2011 15:19:21    1073777

Of course the Kerry boys would stand up for it... sure they'd have a few less medals without it...

Ahh yes... great to see that the lesser counties did so well out of the back door... aheeemmm

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 15:24:45    1073784

JinxyPoop
County: UK

Nah... either you're Chanmpions of ALL or champions of nothing...

It's a shame that the true meaning of being All Ireland champions has been lost with this back door stuff...

I'd say the same thing if we ever win one through the back door...

especially if we lost to Meath or Kildare along the way...

God I love the Dubs :)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 15:30:11    1073789

JinxyPoop
County: UK

Of course the Kerry boys would stand up for it... sure they'd have a few less medals without it...

Ahh yes... great to see that the lesser counties did so well out of the back door... aheeemmm

And remind us how many All Irelands Dublin have won since the back door came in?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/11/2011 15:32:37    1073790

And remind us how many All Irelands Dublin have won since the back door came in?
moomoo , 22/11/2011 at 15:32
--------------------------------------
We havnt won any since it came in because we had the good graces to acknowledge that 'when yer beaten yer beaten' and not go chasin after what has then become a tainted trophy!!

Like I said before: "An AI 'won' through the backdoor is like a red headed step-child....its not exactly how you wanted things to work out but its yours now so you might as well try to love it"!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 15:45:56    1073801

Ah yes, but Snuf, what if you beat the team that beat you previously when it matters most??
Cute_Kerry_Hoor , 22/11/2011 at 15:10
---------------------------------------------------
The part of the above sentance that seems to be lost on kerry folk is this: "the team that beat you previously"!!.....The competition used to be known as the 'championship' lads!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 15:49:13    1073803

Listen lads... I know the truth hurts... but just face up to it.

Either you're an All Ireland champion or you're not... the great Kerry teams never needed a back door - this current set up very much did... very much.

That would also explain why they lost a fair few All Ireland Finals... the back door made the previous decades Kerry and Tyrone look far better than they actaully were... in previous decades they wouldnt have had half of the plaudits... but thanks to an unequal and unfair system - well the rest is history

Two very good teams but they had plenty of 2nd chances... if you applied the same to a marriage - Then Kerry and Tyrone would have been thrown out of the house Years ago... The Great GAA teams never needed 2nd chances. All or nothing... that was when the Championship was truly something else.

Pat yourselves on the back all you want... I personally wouldnt be taking the same amount of glory.. but whatever makes you happy.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 15:50:28    1073804

Snufalufagus

moomoo , 22/11/2011 at 15:32
--------------------------------------
We havnt won any since it came in because we had the good graces to acknowledge that 'when yer beaten yer beaten' and not go chasin after what has then become a tainted trophy!!

Like I said before: "An AI 'won' through the backdoor is like a red headed step-child....its not exactly how you wanted things to work out but its yours now so you might as well try to love it"!!!

ya thats its alright.....

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/11/2011 15:52:50    1073808

So if Dublin had won the hurling All Ireland this year it wouldn't have been an All Ireland win at all so is it?
moomoo , 22/11/2011 at 15:19
-----------------------------------------
Exactly moomoo,

The lads this year were beaten fair and square....hammered even, in the Leinster Final but played on with their heart not really in it for the further games just to get the bit of practice in for next year!!

.......There is no way the honourable people of dublin would have accepted a 'backdoor' Liamo!!.....It just wouldnt sit right with us!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 15:53:06    1073809

What are you ranting about jinxy, are you having an Esperanto conversation with yourself there?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 22/11/2011 15:54:45    1073812

The 90s was by far the most enjoyable decade for football for anyone not from Tyrone or Kerry. Every year there were at least half a dozen serious contenders for the all-Ireland and lots of new teams made major breakthroughs. 8 counties won Sam, including Donegal and Derry for the first time ever and Down and Galway for the first time since the sixties. Kildare reached their first all-Ireland since the twenties and Cavan, Leitrim and Clare all won provincial titles. No county won more than 2 all-Irelands and none managed to put titles back-to-back. The oughties were mind-numbingly monotonous by comparison.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1035 - 22/11/2011 15:56:00    1073814

Snufalufagus

Cute_Kerry_Hoor , 22/11/2011 at 15:10
---------------------------------------------------
The part of the above sentance that seems to be lost on kerry folk is this: "the team that beat you previously"!!.....The competition used to be known as the 'championship' lads!!

And it's lost on you mo chara that the word "Championship" does not imply knockout. The only team that would've beaten us was Cork and sure they couldn't raise a gallop in Croker the craters. Fair play Snuf, you're a gas man, your Kerry lady must be keeping you on your toes!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 15:57:22    1073815

Liars. Liars & hypocrites.

An AI through the back door is no AI at all - BULL. You'd be filling us with the same amount of crap now whether it was back door or not & infesting every thread as though no other county existed, especially you Snuf

There is no way ye'd have considered that AI after 16 years tarnished had it been by a qualifier route and eventually when Dublin win an AI through the qualifiers (which will probably be the hurlers in the next year or 2), that will never be mentioned because it won't suit your own agenda come the time.

I'd be surprised if anyone here is fooled by that

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 22/11/2011 15:58:45    1073817

Ah Jinxy you're letting yourself down now child. Buck up and enjoy your win, don't be worrying about us until next September.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 15:59:30    1073818

Jinxypoop,
Snuf will never accept you as a son, no matter how hard you try.
You will always be second fiddle to his real children.

You need to stop worshipping him, he is just a man, even if he is a hero of the lucan junior b scene.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 22/11/2011 16:09:13    1073825