As an Offaly man, I would have to say that the 90's were the best regarding hurling. The emergence of Offaly, Clare, Wexford, Limerick and Waterford in that decade was a breath of fresh air compared to the dominance of Kilkenny and Cork in the following decade. It is probably be a long time til I see the great Offaly years again but the 90's will be fondly remembered. I remember a story of how relaxed the players attitude was in 1998. After Offaly had got through to the All Ireland final of 1998, one of the players told a reporter that he was thrilled to be in a final again, and that the players were now training twice a week, and had been off the beer since Tuesday lol.
Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 22/11/2011 10:14:46
Now lads dont be having a pop at mickeylinden about Monaghan - Because without Monaghan we wouldnt have had...
The one famous person of worth from Monaghan - Patrick Kavanagh
Added to the fact that he couldn't wait to get out of that "stony grey place" and move to Dublin to be reborn and write some of the most beautiful poetry the world has ever seen.
All because he left Monaghan and was inspired so powerfully by the streets and Canals of our wondrous Dublin - His words sang by the greatest Irish singer of all time - a Northside Dub named Luke Kelly
So we have a lot to be thankful - Thank you Monaghan for being such a terribly dire and uninspiringly dank place - and sending Patrick Kavanagh to Dublin - Think of it without Monaghan being so awful… we wouldn't have Raglan Road - So thank you again Monaghan
Canal Bank walk Leafy-with-love banks and the green waters of the canal Pouring redemption for me, that I do The will of God, wallow in the habitual, the banal, Grow with nature again as before I grew. The bright stick trapped, the breeze adding a third Party to the couple kissing on an old seat, And a bird gathering materials for the nest for the Word Eloquently new and abandoned to its delirious beat. O unworn world enrapture me, encapture me in a web Of fabulous grass and eternal voices by a beech, Feed the gaping need of my senses, give me ad lib To pray unselfconsciously with overflowing speech For this soul needs to be honoured with a new dress woven From green and blue things and arguments that cannot be proven.
Says it all...
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 10:20:24
Oh for Christ's sake, can we all just pretend for a moment this is a discussion board? Please?
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 22/11/2011 10:33:18
"Commemorate me where there is water, Stilly, greeny, at the heart of the summer!!"
There is no doubt that Kavanagh loved Dublin! Sure arent we a UNESCO World Heritage City of Literature!!.....No such tiny a city in all the world brims with such legends of the written word as the 'Town of the hurdle ford'!!.....who could blame Kavanagh!!
Monaghan gave us 'Big Tom' aswell!! Ahemmm!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 10:39:49
Give it a rest lads will ya, every bloody thread is the same now. Jinxy in particular, you should know much better than to be dragged down to the idiot level of some dub posters. Banter and all is great, but the the exact same stuff on every single thread. The barrell is well and truly scraped.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 22/11/2011 10:52:49
it depends what county your from i suppose if your county was more scuccesful in which decade. the 90tys as gigoer said already had much more exciting unpredictble matches which threw up some fairytales but the 00tys saw gaa move to another gear in terms of fitness and skill and is all but professional now. i thuaght the leinster football championship was realy exciting in the 90tys with dublin v meath,dublin v kildare,meath v kildare,rivalries standing out but in the 00tys with croke park being redeveloped the atmosphere shot up a few notches as you cannot beat an 82 thousand full house.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/11/2011 10:58:33
90's for both football & hurling. More over football, back then teams still played football insteed of trying to stop eachother from playing like most teams do now days
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/11/2011 11:08:22
Jaysus Breff... Mickey has been spewing stuff regarding the Dubs for long enough... I didn't see you coming to the rescue then... not a word... zilch.
I come back with something and you're all over it... taking the time to actually have a go at me... ha-ha… Gas stuff…
Says it all... it's alright for the culchies to give it out... but give it back and you're the bad guy and Breff the Culchie Crusader is all over you with his wordy condemnations.
Perhaps for once Breff - you could actually just keep your nose out of posts that have nothing to do with you whatsoever and perhaps at least try to remain a little objective.
I won't hold my breath…
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 11:12:37
True for you hill
I would go along with what you're alluding to there, in that the 90s had fairytale results & excitement in there alright & in the noughties, the game has definitely gotten a lot more professional as you said, cerainly in terms of the player's & management approach
I just think that professional element has taken over and for me, has taken something away from the game and it has led to rivalries getting downright nasty instead of friendly & a certain animosity exists in the game now, in my opinion.
Maybe I'm being old-fashioned, but that's just how I see it
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 22/11/2011 11:13:57
mickeylinden as ever can pick a hand full of games when Ulster players play well and thinks thats enough to prove his point
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/11/2011 11:21:26
Be careful Jinxy,
Breff is like a hump on my back from carrying him around this website for so many years now!!
A culchie can spew all he likes and not a word, but a single quip from a Dub and he is all over it!!.....Thats why he is such a two faced pain!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 11:28:57
90s with out doubt.
OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 22/11/2011 11:35:46
Yep... Tis a pity… because I do find a lot of his one lines to be very good... tis a pity as I said that he chooses to ignore certain elements and then has a misguided attack on my good self.
...just does his usual and stumbles into something that has nothing to do with him whatsoever. Missing the content that has come before it… missing the whole point of it. Yet having the arrogance to make sweeping statements... As if he hasn't just butted into a bit of ongoing bit of banter... in order to bolster his own grumbles - namely you Snuff…
He's just not objective enough…
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 22/11/2011 11:41:25
Well many would say of course a Meath man would say the 90's but overall it was a far better decade of football, seemed to have a bit more flair and swagger about it and it brought many new teams to the fore, Clare, Leitrim, Donegal as well as Kildare and Offaly coming in from the cold and providing plenty of exciting football, overall the 90's without question.
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3764 - 22/11/2011 11:43:26
JinxyPoop County: UK Posts: 885
1073548 Jaysus Breff... Mickey has been spewing stuff regarding the Dubs for long enough... I didn't see you coming to the rescue then... not a word... zilch.
I come back with something and you're all over it... taking the time to actually have a go at me... ha-ha… Gas stuff…
Says it all... it's alright for the culchies to give it out... but give it back and you're the bad guy and Breff the Culchie Crusader is all over you with his wordy condemnations.
Perhaps for once Breff - you could actually just keep your nose out of posts that have nothing to do with you whatsoever and perhaps at least try to remain a little objective.
I won't hold my breath…
Yeah ignore him, like I'm ignoring him and snuff. My point is that you should know better. If this has nothing to do with me whatsoever, what exactly has it got to do with you? Keep on ranting if it makes you feel any better. Ye are all-ireland champions, you'd think you'd be happy about it but no. Rise above the nonsense or stoop to that level and take the abuse that comes with it.
Every thread on this board is currently being destroyed by the same nonsense. It really is not worth contributing in an honest fashion any more.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 22/11/2011 11:43:49
JinxyPoop County: UK Posts: 886
1073574 Yep... Tis a pity… because I do find a lot of his one lines to be very good... tis a pity as I said that he chooses to ignore certain elements and then has a misguided attack on my good self.
...just does his usual and stumbles into something that has nothing to do with him whatsoever. Missing the content that has come before it… missing the whole point of it. Yet having the arrogance to make sweeping statements... As if he hasn't just butted into a bit of ongoing bit of banter... in order to bolster his own grumbles - namely you Snuff…
He's just not objective enough…
Oh give over
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 22/11/2011 11:45:48
The 2nd game between meath and kildare in the 90's has to be in top 3 games of all time.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/11/2011 11:46:34
has to be the 90's some proper men in this decade compared to the rolling around you see now when a fella gets hit a dig, the Down teams were great to watch and it was football being played not this rubbish being seen today of just surrounding players when they have or catch the ball
dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 22/11/2011 11:46:52
It depends on what you like best. The 90's was cut and thrust knock-out Championship football with about 7 or 8 teams capable of winning the All-Ireland in any given year, and with 8 different counties winning Sam during that decade.
The Noughties saw the game change dramatically with the emergence of a fantastic Tyrone team and only for them, Kerry would have won 6 or 7 in a row. The pace of the game is faster now but with skill levels down.
Easy for me as a Kerryman to say the Noughties were best as we had very barren years in the 90's. However, I would say that the 90's were best as it was better for football and the GAA as a whole.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/11/2011 11:50:15
It really is not worth contributing Breffni39 , 22/11/2011 at 11:43 ------------------------------------------ Can we have clarification on this please??!!.....or do you just need to be reminded of it next time you feel the need to 'contribute' to a discussion I am involved in which has nothing got to do with you!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2011 11:51:28