waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 6779
1433502 In my opinion Limerick should be cautioned either by fining or by smaller allocation of tickets for the semi-final or whatever. Otherwise it shows the inconsistency of the organisation. Every other county respected the decision to cease pitch invasions.
Well seeing we will bring 30-35k plus with us to Croke Park they will be very happy for the Limerick shilling, per ratio of population we have a massive following, enjoy it mate.
Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 16/07/2013 17:57:41
Pitch invasions are all very good till the day someone get injured!
Then watching the media and internet forum outcry against the poor game management etc of the GAA. The GAA will be nailed to the cross.
So the GAA are right to ban them! And its even the GAA its the insurers and the Guards
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/07/2013 18:25:04
waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 6783
1433502 In my opinion Limerick should be cautioned either by fining or by smaller allocation of tickets for the semi-final or whatever. Otherwise it shows the inconsistency of the organisation. Every other county respected the decision to cease pitch invasions.
I agree with you Former Poster. 16/07/2013 17:37:37
Hey? What are ye on about, supporters always go on the pitch at provincial grounds.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/07/2013 18:37:19
I think keeping in GAA tradition pitch invasions should be aloud. But the moments after the final whistle players get with themselves is special and should be for them only. Hold off 5 mins and then open the gates.
crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 16/07/2013 21:39:57
Hey? What are ye on about, supporters always go on the pitch at provincial grounds.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 16/07/2013 21:44:30
Players don't like them, end off. Yes it looks good but it's the players who are important here. Parkinson's said Laois players couldn't celebrate with their Mates because they couldn't find any. Why do we have to wait until somebody gets injuref
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 16/07/2013 21:46:52
16/07/2013 21:39:57 crossfieldball I think keeping in GAA tradition pitch invasions should be aloud. But the moments after the final whistle players get with themselves is special and should be for them only. Hold off 5 mins and then open the gates. How would keeping supporters in for any period work? How would that be enforceable. That's even more dangerous than doing things straight away. Traditions change so no I think pitch invasions should not be aloud(sic)
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/07/2013 21:49:37
Players don't like them, end off. Yes it looks good but it's the players who are important here. Parkinson's said Laois players couldn't celebrate with their Mates because they couldn't find any. Why do we have to wait until somebody gets injuref
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 16/07/2013 21:53:05
Mr_Pundit County: UK Posts: 91
1433468 15/07/2013 15:07:52 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5166
1432413 i have to say i think its a disgrace lsitening to the rte panel praising the pitch invasions
A disgrace.. really? fair play to RTE they said what the rest of us was thinking.
how can you say this? the gaa and the players playing in finals have been at pains over the last 3 years with adds on the big screens and all to ask supporters not to come on the pitch and then these former players themselves fly in the face of what the gaa is trying to clamp down on by promoting it!!! i didnt hear loughnane mention anything about the incident involvin a limerick player after the tipp match who was almost ruled out of the munster final after recieving a blow to his eye from a supporter resulting in an ulser.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/07/2013 09:50:16
Hoover78 County: Limerick Posts: 100
1433752 waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 6779
Well seeing we will bring 30-35k plus with us to Croke Park they will be very happy for the Limerick shilling, per ratio of population we have a massive following, enjoy it mate.
yeah only when ye get to finals that is,where are all your supporters in the league? only two months ago the limerick county board were making the decision to not play any of their league matches in the gaelic grounds next year as it was costing them too much money to open the ground when they were getting less then 2 thousand attending.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/07/2013 09:53:47
this thread seems like alot of people want to give out for the sake of it, i was on the pitch sunday as i know 6 or 7 of the lads on the limerick panel and would be close firiends with 4 of them having played harty cup with
Everyone of them were delighted with the invasion
i think everyone here needs to grow up build a bridge and get over it because in Limerick sunday you would have put the great wall of china arounbd the pitch and it would not have made a difference
GreenandWhite13 (Limerick) - Posts: 37 - 17/07/2013 10:34:05
Pitch invasions create a visibly exciting spectacle,however in reality after the initial outpouring of euphoria,the satisfaction to be derived from being on the pitch, in my opinion, would be less than if one were in the surrounds of the pitch.Safety, better viewing and more comfort for both players and supporters are some of reasons I think the GAA should continue with their policy of controling pitch invasions at major GAA events.
realisticpaddy (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 17/07/2013 10:41:36
I hate to say it but I think that it's only a matter of time before we see our own Hillsborough. While I appreciate the passion that goes along with running onto the field someone is going to get seriously injured. The scenes at the presentation were a throwback to the old days which was a great spectacle but at one stage the crowd surged forward behind the goals. Remember that most of the deaths or serious injuries are not from being trampled on but from suffocation. I don't think barriers are the way forward from a safety point of view and aesthetically. More stewards and adequate training needs to be brought in.
d_hurler (Dublin) - Posts: 77 - 17/07/2013 10:50:01
realisticpaddy County: Cavan Posts: 2
1434167 Pitch invasions create a visibly exciting spectacle,however in reality after the initial outpouring of euphoria,the satisfaction to be derived from being on the pitch, in my opinion, would be less than if one were in the surrounds of the pitch.Safety, better viewing and more comfort for both players and supporters are some of reasons I think the GAA should continue with their policy of controling pitch invasions at major GAA events.
Good post realisticpaddy & welcome to HS. I was on the pitch after the Ulster final last year & once the euphoria of getting there was over we just sor of hung around for a while. In comparison staying in Hill16 after the AI final was fantastic, the team did a lap of honour & got to enjoy the moment properly & we all had a whale of a time singing away. No comparison in the two occasions.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 17/07/2013 10:54:47
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1696
No comparison in the two occasions.
Yes one was great viewing the other in (Croke park) was as dull as dishwater.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3733 - 17/07/2013 17:33:58
So ye want to keep pitch invasions because they look great on TV forget what the players want great attitude that is
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/07/2013 18:58:54
A number of Limerick players were interviewed after the game and they all fully praised the pitch celebrations it's scenes like that has made the 16 year wait worthwhile.
Invasion is dirty word for this topic it should be dropped.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3733 - 17/07/2013 19:29:17
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5193
If you are so concerned about it maybe you should try to ban all outdoor concerts that has large crowds on the field?
Coming onto a field to attack someone is very different to the joyful scenes we all saw on Sunday. As former player myself i had no problem with supporters joining in, afterall it's their county/team some forget it's amatuer sport and scenes like last Sunday make our sport special.
Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 17/07/2013 19:44:04
Mr pundit
Regardless of if its right or wrong the Gaa has banned them under health and safety rolling, they have done their best and got players opinions and players have done campaigns asking supporters to stay off and allow them enjoy the moment with each other.now when you have guys on rate past players applauding people for doing what the Gaza are trying to stop how cab you not see where they are in the wrong
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/07/2013 21:29:32
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5203
1434976 Mr pundit
Regardless of if its right or wrong the Gaa has banned them under health and safety rolling, they have done their best and got players opinions and players have done campaigns asking supporters to stay off and allow them enjoy the moment with each other.now when you have guys on rate past players applauding people for doing what the Gaza are trying to stop how cab you not see where they are in the wrong
you can give out and be grumpy all you want, banned or not after a big match theyn wont be stopped in Limerick, thurlas or any other provincial ground let the gaa do what they want in Croke park, its a sport that thrives on its localness and clossness to fans, i was on the field sunday as i know several of the players and have been talking to them since they all agreed that the fans coming onto the pitch was great
you just seem to be looking for a reason to give out (a badger is what we refer to people in the gaa that seem to only want to give out above everything)
GreenandWhite13 (Limerick) - Posts: 37 - 18/07/2013 15:15:27