sorry the road i was , but it annoys me when people come out with statements like genuine fans ,real gaa fans all the usual
hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/11/2011 15:09:44
To be honest, I was against the ban on pitch invasion like many others. But now that we've had 4 AI finals with no pitch invasions, I would consider the idea to be a considerable success.
Look at the celebrations when Tipp overcame KK last year, the lap of honour with Cummins, Corbett & many others getting rapturous applause from every section of the crowd in turn. Look at how the Cork footballers were entertaining the fans on their lap of honour diving towards the sideline. And as another poster insinuated, I doubt those Dublin players will ever have an experience quite like the lap of honour on September 18th again - even if they retain it next year, I doubt it will reach them in quite the same way. Look how long they were on the pitch & the fans in the stand, it was really good to watch such joy & celebration at the end of the game while Kerry took their defeat with grace & that's the GAA is about at the end of the day
I think we should all resign to the fact that pitch invasions are a thing of the past & that's not a bad thing
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 21/11/2011 14:12:09
I agree completely with the above post , Pitch invasions are definitely a thing of the past now
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 21/11/2011 14:16:18
I dont think that the losing teams on all Ireland final day are too upset that the fans arent allowed onto the pitch either.Heard the gooch got a bit of abuse from some Tyrone fans coming off the pitch after the 2008 final.I doubt hes the only one.Not on.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 21/11/2011 16:25:48
Agree with gig... pitch invasions after All Irelands are now a thing of the past... and I think that is in the best interest of all involved in the game, the players and the fans.
After attending some of the last few All Irelands its clear that the players now enjoy their moments together and can now also meet up with the opposition for a few moments before they leave the field too. Its a special moment when you win your medal and players should not have their backs slapped into numbness.
The whole focus of the aftermath is now changed and fans now play a different role in the whole experience. Being able to do a lap of honour is now possible and enjoyable.
Just look at yesterdays game and its aftermath when the referee in the Connacht final had difficulty in leaving the pitch.... this is unacceptable and we had these similar scenes in Croker not too long ago. Such scenes should be guarded against and players and officials should not have to worry about their physical well being as the final whistle blows.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 21/11/2011 18:14:52
Two killed in Jakarta stampede. One fighting for life.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1122/jakarta_malaysia_indonesia.html
The key sentence: But 5,000 police were unable to control the crowd when a gate was momentarily opened and there was a crush to get in.
Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 22/11/2011 19:11:06
There were so many folks on here absolutely dying to see the Dubs invade the pitch and the cameras showing mayhem breaking loose so as they could use it as just another 'fake' stick to beat us with just like all the other fake comments and lies that had been told before about our fans (which somehow seemed to end very abruptly when signing in of usernames was introduced, hmmmm)!!
But guess what?!.....the Dubs behaved with grace and dignity in our celebrations and the stewards had no drama with fans trying to jump barriers/orange netting at all!
I can only imagine that those who were furious at us winning must then have been absolutely livid not to see us breaking the rules and invading the pitch and stewards getting punched etc so they could get off on it!
As Dubliners, we are honourable people and fair people from the 'Fair City' and respect the wishes of the organisation! I will bet that HQ breath a hugh sigh of relief when the Dubs stood manfully in the stands and terraces to celebrate as it was going to be the 'acid test' of the barriers/orange nettings future and to see if the point had got across that the no pitch invasions rule was there to stay and thats final! As honourable folk we knew that the 'acid test' was never going to be our behaviour and you just have to look at the mill from Tipp scenes last year trying to get on the pitch to see that its elsewhere that HQ had to look to get the acid test of fans behaviour over the barrier/orange netting and an AI win!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/11/2011 11:45:06
Snuf, does your mouth get jealous of your arse when you talk?
Stupid brainless post thinking everyone wanted Dublin to do this & just so we could have a go at them. Dublin fans behaved impeccably just like but no more than Kilkenny, Tipp & Cork supporters did
Yet you still invent this BS trying to showboat Dublin at the behest of others
This forum does not exist for the Snuf Advertising Dublin campaign (SAD for short) so why don't you just take a break and go hire some billboards or walk around O Connell Street with a sandwichboard sign and a loudspeaker?
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 24/11/2011 12:31:24
Onlyhurling -
That is an interesting comparison with the USA sports. I think you have made a strong case to bring back the pitch invasion, and do it in a safer way(not that it was ever unsafe before).
A lot of you now accept the ban on pitch invasions and treat them as a thing of the past, and maybe you are right, but I'll never forget running on to Croke in '94 among thousands of others. I think it is unfortunate for those who will never get to do this, to run straight to your club players who have just represented the county on the biggest stage of them all.
I understand the argument that the winning players can enjoy the memory better but I do not feel that the supporters, which are the real life blood of the GAA, should be left out of the traditional celebrations either.
Maybe something needed to be done because of idiots attacking referees etc but I preferred the old way.
Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 24/11/2011 12:35:20
Suas Sios
Thank you for being the first person who seams to have actually read my post.
onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 26/11/2011 20:57:55
Irish people are more rude and aggressive nowadays (see all the Hate threads/posts elsewhere on this forum). You have to factor that in. Plus there's the obesity issue. Being trampled by a giddy 14 stone 10 year old would be a major concern
Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1071 - 27/11/2011 18:39:08
I had a genuine fear of a pitch invasion on the morning of the match against kerry and hoped the fans wouldn't give people a reason to slate us and say sure what would ye expect from the dubs..Or god forbid in case a small child got injured during a crush to get on.It was the best and proudest moment in my life as a dub supporter to watch the hill packed to the brim (i was in the cusack) singing and everybody staying where they were,same for hogan ,canal and cusack. players could take in all the atmosphere and what all that hard work was for through the year. they could go to all corners of the ground and take the applause,although unlikely didn't have to worry about some lunatic running at them in an invaded pitch. understand the feeling of being able to run on to hug a clubmate as was said,but it is a small price to pay so that all of the crowd can watch the players celebrate. which includes young,elderly and people with difficulties.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/11/2011 21:17:23
Onlyhurling, I have to agree about the invasions, in this day and age they should be able to do it properly. People only pushed and shoved when it was not allowed but still not stopped. If it was regulated and people knew they will get on, there shouldn't be any aggro and it would be easier.
I have to say I was watching the Iowa Oklahoma game and it was great. There was genuine emotion there and it was more like a big party for them, they were not expected to beat Oklahoma and they went crazy when they did. I have to agree with most of your points about college ball, I'm addicted to it on ESPN at the minute, some of it is great. In fact, I'd rather watch some of those games than NFL at the mo.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2480 - 28/11/2011 21:05:04
pretty torn on this to be honest. I understand that safety wise, pitch invasions shouldnt happen. And by what some of the dubs said above, yous rathered it when the team got to go around the pitch with sam & still celebrate with fans from the stand. Fair enough! But I have to say theres something thrilling about running out and hugging the men that just did you proud. like when we won ulster I would have hated not to get out onto clones pitch, and be with all my friends, family, neighbours & hero's celebrating :D
up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 28/11/2011 21:34:08
Onlyhurling - No probs, this is a good topic
AthaCliath - I would be interested to hear from any Dublin supporter who was lucky enough to have tasted victory and invaded the pitch back in '95, and also was there for this years win. Which was best? Maybe the age you are at the time is a factor too.
Are there any Cork/Kilkenny people that can remember victory both before and after the pitch invasion ban?
Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 29/11/2011 09:31:35
There is one point omitted. The ban on pitch invasions is not all down to the GAA! The Health and Safety as well as the Insurance boys have a say on this more and more.
And the day something happens (injury or worse) you can imagine the media run on this afterwards.
Looking at the Dubln win this year I really enjoyed it more at the end rather than the previous one's were we invaded the pitch. The players themselves had time to enjoy it ad it seemed to add so much more to the occasion that they could run down to the Hill etc. (although SNUF is a WUM he has a point, many people around me thought the Dubs would destroy the pitch after we won).
Been able to see the players, their joy, the lap of honour etc only made the day better for me.
So in my opinion I think the GAA are right........and lads they cannot be wrong about everything.
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/11/2011 10:28:08
suas sios, I was at 1995 and in the hill ,when you are a lot younger nothing matters just celebrating ,only a one point win also and my memory is of mayhem in the best possible sense. This year was special, manner of the win, opponents, and watching over at a full hill after the whistle went and everybody staying put and dancing and singing and nobody doing anything stupid, felt a huge sense of pride. maybe in truth some of it has to with people saying beforehand if any county is going to invade the pitch its gonna be the dubs .Being able to watch every one close to me hugging and crying(some only met at start of match) ,some just standing there taking it all in, others wondering what just happened ,did we really do it. Then when you realised the importance of it,you could watch everyone of the players and what it meant to them on there face's and watch them celebrate.you were not looking out for any scuffles or people falling over in the excitement to get on the pitch or police stopping people .nothing negative could take away from the victoy. OR MAYBE IM JUST GETTING OLD.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/11/2011 11:37:36
It is a pity to see tradition lost because of our overly letigious society. Sure if a health and safety issue were to arise we can always count on Croke Park to employ PLAN B :)
Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 29/11/2011 14:03:55
lets not forget however that fans were not allowed onto the pitch in 2002,but when they won the Armagh crowd forced their way onto the pitch,and they too were fantastic celebrations,better than anything the previous years had to offer when the fans stayed in the stands.There were 50 000 dubs in Croke park on all Ireland final day this year.It was the exception.Cast your minds back 2 weeks previous when the Kilkenny fans remaining in the stadium led to pretty tame celebrations.The joy on the fans faces on September 18 was wonderful,but imagine had Kerry won.They would have done their lap of honour on front of 25 000 people,in an 82 300 seater stadium.The place would have looked deserted. Its nothing to do with letting the fans see a lap of honour,its nothing to do with allowing the players to celebrate with eachother (they have 4 months afterwards to do that).Its all about health and safety and the overly letigious, ambulance chasing mentality that has crept into our society
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 29/11/2011 17:51:29
29/11/2011 17:51:29 TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 257
1077382 lets not forget however that fans were not allowed onto the pitch in 2002,but when they won the Armagh crowd forced their way onto the pitch,and they too were fantastic celebrations,better than anything the previous years had to offer when the fans stayed in the stands.There were 50 000 dubs in Croke park on all Ireland final day this year.It was the exception.Cast your minds back 2 weeks previous when the Kilkenny fans remaining in the stadium led to pretty tame celebrations.The joy on the fans faces on September 18 was wonderful,but imagine had Kerry won.They would have done their lap of honour on front of 25 000 people,in an 82 300 seater stadium.The place would have looked deserted. Its nothing to do with letting the fans see a lap of honour,its nothing to do with allowing the players to celebrate with eachother (they have 4 months afterwards to do that).Its all about health and safety and the overly letigious, ambulance chasing mentality that has crept into our society
Why shouldnt the players be allowed celebrate with one another then and there, the winning teams fans have 12 months afterwards to do celebrate with the team Below are a few comments from tyrones Sean Cavanagh after the 2008 final and Con Hogan after the same game "I remember I was around the 14-yard line in front of the Hill and for about two seconds I think I got to hug Philip Jordan and Kevin Hughes but that is all you get - two seconds - and then all of a sudden there were floods of people around us and we were on our knees, surrounded," says Cavanagh.
"After that we were pushed and shoved for the next ten minutes while we tried to make our way to the presentation area, which obviously took the shine off that first initial reaction that we had just won the All-Ireland."
Cavanagh had spent the afternoon, like a bumper car, evading the tackles of sturdy Kerry men. He never flinched. But, when the crowd poured onto the pitch at the end, he felt genuine fear for the first time that day. "Hand on heart it is quite scary. At that stage your legs are tired, your body is tired and all you want to do is go and lie somewhere or even just take a minute to yourself," Cavanagh adds.
"I know now that you can't afford to drop to your knees because if you do, you got knocked around like a rag-doll. It's a recipe for disaster and if something doesn't change there will be a tragedy and it will be forced to change after that."
Con Hogan, the Chairman of the GAA's Pitch Invasions Committee, argues that the safety of the players - on both winning and losing sides - is of paramount importance. Mr Hogan says that the GAA is conscious of the unique connectivity that exists between the Associations's players and supporters, but ensuring the safety of both - and avoiding a potential tragedy - remains the primary concern.
"The reason people will advance to you for invading the field is that they want to be with their local heroes in their moment of triumph - and that is very understandable," Mr Hogan says.
"But the problem is that the only way to accommodate them safely is for people to stay off the pitch, the cup presentation to take place in a more public way down on the pitch and then a lap of honour, where the players can go around the field and connect with their supporters in a safe way."
He adds: "I know from the point of view of supporters, they do it (invade the pitch) for the best reasons. But it's simply not safe. That must override all other considerations from our point of view.
"The safety of our players, the safety of our patrons and the safety of the people who are charged with running the game in an orderly way is key. It must be the primary consideration and everything else must come secondary to that."
The views of the players on an issue like this are most important and i think many would have similar views to Mr Cavanagh
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/11/2011 18:37:11