He is a dub. He is our leader. He is................Snufalufagus. TheRoad , 13/11/2011 at 21:22 -------------------------------------- Well said TheRoad,
The penny is beginning to drop all round!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 13/11/2011 21:49:57
Well the numbers weren't in our favour as it were for de Dubs in 1916. There were half a million Billy Boys standing on the other side of our fence, actually on our land and in our homes; ye didn't have that in Dublin where by the way the traders in Moore Street spat at the rebels and mocked them as they were marched away by the Brits in 1916.; didn't the market stallers and holiday shoppers ridicule them until the executions began? Revisionism and nostalgia do funny things to the memory. Anyway I bid thee good night, aren't we all Irish anyway Pierre or is that Nigel?
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 13/11/2011 21:55:48
I notice Snuf isn't giving out that the Ballyboden wasn't go TG4 i wonder why that is?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 14/11/2011 09:39:57
I notice Snuf isn't giving out that the Ballyboden wasn't go TG4 i wonder why that is?
Probably because he spends most of his time talking nonsense about non GAA related matters instead of taking an interest in the games. He wouldn't have even known there were games on yesterday.
Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 14/11/2011 10:49:12
The earliest reference to Dublin is sometimes said to be seen in the writings of Claudius Ptolemaeus (Ptolemy), the Egyptian-Greek astronomer and cartographer, around the year A.D. 140, who refers to a settlement called Eblana. This would seem to give Dublin a just claim to nearly two thousand years of antiquity, as the settlement must have existed a considerable time before Ptolemy became aware of it. Recently, however, doubt has been cast on the identification of Eblana with Dublin, and the similarity of the two names is now thought to be coincidental.
It is now thought that the Viking settlement was preceded by a Christian ecclesiastical settlement known as Duiblinn, from which Dyflin took its name. Beginning in the 9th and 10th century, there were two settlements where the modern city stands. The Viking settlement of about [1] 841 was known as Dyflin, from the Irish Duiblinn (or "Black Pool", referring to a dark tidal pool where the River Poddle entered the Liffey on the site of the Castle Gardens at the rear of Dublin Castle), and a Gaelic settlement, Áth Cliath ("ford of hurdles") was further up river, at the present day Father Mathew Bridge at the bottom of Church Street.[1] The Celtic settlement's name is still used as the Irish name of the modern city, though the first written evidence of it is found in the Annals of Ulster of 1368.[2] The modern English name came from the Viking settlement of Dyflin, which derived its name from the Irish Duiblinn. The Vikings, or Ostmen as they called themselves, ruled Dublin for almost three centuries, though they were expelled in 902 only to return in 917 and notwithstanding their defeat by the Irish High King Brian Boru at the battle of Clontarf in 1014. From that date, the Danes were a minor political force in Ireland, firmly opting for a commercial life.[3] Viking rule of Dublin would end completely in 1171 when the city was captured by King Dermot MacMurrough of Leinster, with the aid of Anglo-Norman mercenaries. An attempt was made by the last Norse King of Dublin, Hasculf Thorgillsson, to recapture the city with an army he raised among his relations in the Scottish Highlands, where he was forced to flee after the city was taken, but the attempted reconquest failed and Thorgillsson was killed.
Did you know all of that history Snuf and by the way did you see where the first written evidence of the gaelic settlement's name was found,it was found in the Annals of Ulster in 1368
Ilovejam (Monaghan) - Posts: 479 - 14/11/2011 17:14:15
Game this weekend
Live AIB Connacht Club Football Final St. Brigid's (Roscommon) -vs- Corofin (Galway), 14.00
DEFERRED
AIB Munster Football Semi-final Dr. Crokes (Kerry) -vs- Kilmurry-Ibrickane (Clare)
Hopefully the weather stays good as we ahould have two good games.
ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 14/11/2011 17:20:52
Good choice by tg4.Theres no hurling this weekend as far as I know.Looking forward to the two games.Kilmurray are no mugs.All Ireland finalists a few years ago.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 14/11/2011 18:06:13
ispeakwisdom County: Roscommon Posts: 703
1068814 Game this weekend
Live AIB Connacht Club Football Final St. Brigid's (Roscommon) -vs- Corofin (Galway), 14.00
DEFERRED
AIB Munster Football Semi-final Dr. Crokes (Kerry) -vs- Kilmurry-Ibrickane (Clare)
Hopefully the weather stays good as we ahould have two good games.
Looking forward to seeing St. Brigid's play again. There a good team and play some nice football. The other game should be a good one too and a hard one to call Kilmurry wont fear anyone
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 14/11/2011 18:19:23
Yeah good choices i'd fancy the Kerry,Galway men to prevail.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3668 - 14/11/2011 18:27:02
Don't bother them with facts Ilovejam it'll do their heads in. I have always told snuf, galling, dhorse and the rest that Ulster was the hub of the Irish nation but they are in denial. The language, music, clans and religions in modern day Ireland all have their roots in Ulster which was the original Gaelic, Irish province. WE ARE INDEED THE PEOPLE!
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 14/11/2011 19:31:24
Gaelic settlement, Áth Cliath ("ford of hurdles") ------------------------------------------------------------------- Ilovejamrags,
The above line of text from your passage is all that counts!!.....the original settlement!.....long before any invader came, thank you!!
As for if I know the history of my own city and county!!!.....Ehh, lets just say that a newbie like you doesnt know me at all and you should know your station before trying to even engage with a HS heavyweight like Ol Snuffy!!.....Im surprised Im even entertaining a minnow like you!!
Ehh, I might bring back my two history threads to HS for your perusal!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/11/2011 21:40:18
How are these last few Snufalufagus posts getting through the mods & what have they got to do with this thread??
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3668 - 14/11/2011 21:44:49
Thanks for your beautiful comments Snuf and I have filed your comments in the top drawer of my filing cabinet and I look forward to putting you down with arguements in the future.
Good Night and Don't let the bed bugs bite.
Ilovejam (Monaghan) - Posts: 479 - 14/11/2011 21:52:23
Wont it be nice when Snuf suffers the same fate thurlesblues did after Tipp were beat
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 14/11/2011 21:57:27
How are these last few Snufalufagus posts getting through the mods & what have they got to do with this thread?? ------------------------------------------------------ GAA_lover,
You have a lot to learn lad!!
The mods on here will do what they are told by Ol Snuffy!!.....they realise the revenue value I bring to this site!!
They have lads like moomoo, breff, ulsterman etc specially log onto this site just to read my comment, not to mention the jurnos who take their lead for their articles from what I have to say on here, and hence they get sucked into the advertisements on this webpage!!
Ehh, as for what my comments on this thread have to do with anything!.....why dont you ask others who have posted here the same question!!....at least my posts are educational for all the great unwashed!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/11/2011 13:39:02
moomoo,
thurlesblues is a culchie and a tipp man, hence the inglorious exit stage left from this website after his teams anihilation!!.....no Dublin man would do such a thing!!....we are this countries 'fighting men' and the ones with the courage!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/11/2011 13:48:15
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 3686
GAA_lover,
You have a lot to learn lad!!
The mods on here will do what they are told by Ol Snuffy!!.....they realise the revenue value I bring to this site!!
They have lads like moomoo, breff, ulsterman etc specially log onto this site just to read my comment, not to mention the jurnos who take their lead for their articles from what I have to say on here, and hence they get sucked into the advertisements on this webpage!!
Ehh, as for what my comments on this thread have to do with anything!.....why dont you ask others who have posted here the same question!!....at least my posts are educational for all the great unwashed!!
I pity you. I feel genuine sorrow in my heart when I see just how deluded and simple you are.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 16/11/2011 13:50:18
I pity you. I feel genuine sorrow in my heart when I see just how deluded and simple you are. Breffni39 , 16/11/2011 at 13:50 ----------------------------------------- Breff, your first post in days comes as a reply to me the moment I mention your name!!......Explain why??!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/11/2011 14:20:59
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 4509
1068931 Don't bother them with facts Ilovejam it'll do their heads in. I have always told snuf, galling, dhorse and the rest that Ulster was the hub of the Irish nation but they are in denial. The language, music, clans and religions in modern day Ireland all have their roots in Ulster which was the original Gaelic, Irish province. WE ARE INDEED THE PEOPLE
_____
Your ignorance is insufferable. Ulster was the most powerful Gaelic province for a few hundred years, but not the only one. Furthermore, all the Gaels in Ulster loved their country so much that they abandoned it 400 years ago, 'dooming' our country to English rule. Ulster was, and remains, a wonderful province, rightly proud of its Gaelic past. It is though, far from the only area which is proud of same. As for the language, religion, clans and music having their roots in Ulster, that is one of the more ridiculous things I've ever heard. No one area can lay claim to any of those, they are of all of the country.
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 16/11/2011 14:32:52
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 3693
1069965 I pity you. I feel genuine sorrow in my heart when I see just how deluded and simple you are. Breffni39 , 16/11/2011 at 13:50 ----------------------------------------- Breff, your first post in days comes as a reply to me the moment I mention your name!!......Explain why??!!
I posted yesterday and the day before. Only got on here in the last hour to see you are talking about me again. I've made several posts in the last hour so, I know this is hard for you, don't flatter yourself.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 16/11/2011 14:49:08