Parents do the right thing....

Snuff, don't worry, we Connacht people will always stick together. There is no need to hide who you are, we won't abandon you now we know your one of our own.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 22/09/2011 17:52:16    1040573

Question for you delordub... What age did your lad start playing for his Dublin club ? At 7 years of age kids are barely able to kick a football or use a hurley.You're telling us that your son didn't want to leave his club at 7 and start with a new club in Kildare. I'd say he wasn't allowed to leave by Mammy & Daddy and for that very same reason he supports the Dubs.All kids should be encouraged to play with their local clubs , good, bad or indifferent. If he is good enough he could win Sam with Kildare someday.

Well he played with his Dublin club for 2yrs before we moved....and you don't know me or him, so you can presume all you want, I would never or have never forced my son to play sport, or stay in a club if he 100% didn't want to be there....totally his choice, and his Dad is not a Dub anyway....he played for his school in Kildare, was approached by a local club to play, was adamant that he was not leaving his club in Dublin...he won't even support the county his dad is from, went to a provincial final with him wearing his dubs jersey...that's who he is...all he wants is to play for the dubs, and if he is not good enough, then so be it...no amount of encouragement by anyone to do otherwise, is ever going to change that. So I suggest people just accept that some children have minds of their own, they can support whoever and whatever they want. End of story!!!

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 22/09/2011 18:43:18    1040603

so what do we think of children of irish parents, claiming to be irish and potentially playing for ireland. should they be british or irish. if you moved to england would you like your children to support Ireland or England. just a question.... I am not expressing an opinion....yet

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 22/09/2011 20:14:47    1040661

its great to be involved and my kids shout for both down and armagh,

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 22/09/2011 20:23:49    1040667

I have got to say, I feel a little bit like Barrack O'Bama!!
I mean, just like him I am rather famous, powerful, wealthy, handsome, charismatic and the HS proletariat hang out my every word!

I do indeed have the west of Ireland connection and must admit that the welcome you guys outside of Dublin have rolled out for me has been brilliant here!!
The parallels with O'Bama are uncanny as people clamber to make the 'connection' with Ol Snuffy and claim him as 'one of our own'!!

This connection outside the Capital is indeed a connection I cherish!.....and the connection with Snuffy is one you guys outside of Dublin seem to cherish also!
Like O'Bama, im happy to advertise that connection and help you guys out with whatever you need!

"Is feidir linn!"

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/09/2011 21:13:40    1040718

Careful Snuf, they'll be looking for the auld birth certificate next.....

FloridaDub (USA) - Posts: 64 - 22/09/2011 21:50:59    1040747

Ah come on Snuf this is just not fair on Obama. Try as he might he wasn't able to come up with a West of Ireland ancestory. It's enough for him to have to deal with the US debt crisis, world hunger and peace without having to be put under extra pressure being compared to you. Just accept you are one of the chosen Connacht people and stop putting down those who can't live up to us..

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 23/09/2011 09:28:17    1040771

Snufalufagus:

The phrase of the day is "plastic dub" it means a person who pretends to be a dub but isn't really.... now I'll show ye how to use it in a sentance.

Snufalufagus is a plastic Dub!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/09/2011 13:30:31    1040955

Listen you are from the county you were born and reared for life, that's just the way it is. If you move from one county to another it makes no difference. You can get away with moving from a club in one county to a club in another but not from one county to another. There is a Cavan man involved in our Meath club, in fact he is twice as long involved with our club as his 20 years in Cavan. But he will always be a Cavan man, he has his flag up for the Cavan girls on Sunday but he will be in Navan at the club games. It's the way the GAA is once kids start playing with their local Club they start going to county games and supporting the county team. I remember been at the Meath V Offaly game in 97 and then the following week being at the Cavan v Kerry and there was plenty of families for Oldcastle , Moynalty, Mullagh and Kingscourt at both games shouting for Meath the first day and Cavan the second.

antomeath (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 23/09/2011 14:21:19    1040992

Sam Maguire was in Crokes the other day and is making his rounds to clubs and schools!

Dont worry, he will soon make his way outside the county to schools and clubs in Kildare and Meath where the kids wear their Dublin colours with pride!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/09/2011 10:38:25    1042721

Snuf: will you get a chance during the year to bring it to your home club in the West

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 27/09/2011 13:33:20    1042835

Dont worry, he will soon make his way outside the county to schools and clubs in Kildare and Meath where the kids wear their Dublin colours with pride!!!

It will also give the Meath and Kildare fans a chance to see the cup as it may be a while before they get the chance again.

FloridaDub (USA) - Posts: 64 - 27/09/2011 14:03:38    1042867

onlyhurling,

I will get the lads to bring SAM around to every club in the west so that the kids can get to see their heros that they try to emulate every time they play!

It will be fantastic for everyone in the west to finally get to see some fantastic players on that side side of the Shannon cos they have had nothing but average lads to look at for so long now the kids are biginning to lose interest!

Word of warning for those living in East Galway around the Tuam district!!.....Sam Maguire will not be visiting that town because he has bad memories of that town after Galway were put out of the championship in 2002 and he had to be sent to the jeweller in Dublin to be patched up and get some 'TLC' in the good Capital....where he rightly belongs and will be staying for a long time to come!!

As I told the lad in America that copies me for charisma and intrigue to say: "Is feidir linn!"

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/09/2011 14:36:19    1042897

is this really what we argue about???? whom young kids follow..... mind boggles. for me i couldnt care less if i saw a wexford kid in a dublin jersey a new york one or a god damn ireland gaa one.. there showing an intrest in gaa and that should be the point and as be stated earlier there kids the first thing is getting them intrested in the sport after that age would see them come more into local gaa and starting to follow there county in 90 percent of cases.. as for the other ten they surly have the right to follow what team they want

katcha (Wexford) - Posts: 110 - 27/09/2011 14:54:58    1042906

katcha
County: Wexford

is this really what we argue about???? whom young kids follow..... mind boggles. for me i couldnt care less if i saw a wexford kid in a dublin jersey a new york one or a god damn ireland gaa one.. there showing an intrest in gaa and that should be the point and as be stated earlier there kids the first thing is getting them intrested in the sport after that age would see them come more into local gaa and starting to follow there county in 90 percent of cases.. as for the other ten they surly have the right to follow what team they want

Good post Katcha. I've gotten a bit of stick from some heads up where I live because my son chooses to support Dublin rather than Derry. At the end of the day he's interested in the game and that should be the main thing. He's only 9 and may end up reverting his choice and have Dublin as his second team , if so then that's his decision. If he stays with the Dubs and ends up being good enough to be asked to play representative then he may be in bother but even if that does happen it's years away yet.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 27/09/2011 15:12:03    1042913

Bottom line is once they have an interest in gaa and are wearing the jerseys and going to matches thats half the battle. ye cant blame a parent for bringing their young son or daughter to watch their own county play. keeping the childs interest in gaa is the most important thing,this hopefully will benefit their local club as they get older and get more involved,when they are in their teens most will support the county they grew up in and given a choice will represent them if good enough. Bettystown is unfortunate because like areas in kildare close to dublin, people moved en masse to get on the property ladder but still drove every day back to dublin for work got home late and only were around on weekends. because of this their wasnt the same level of support for the new county. Still think although your not happy now ATTA yous will reap rewards in future.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/09/2011 20:29:00    1043098

I think you'll find a lot of kids who live in Dublin but who's parents arent dubs will start supporting them because as an earlier post said kids like winners. I grew up in Dublin but was always a Donegal fan but as a 6 year old in 95 I got sucked in2 the euphoria. My Dad even brought me 2 the celebrations in the city and he would have been quite happy had myself or my sisters supported Dublin. We didn't and I moved home and played my club football in Donegal but for years I was a Donegal fan who spoke with a Dublin accent!!

gael_in_exile (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 27/09/2011 21:02:45    1043121

why don't kids wear Dundalk soccer club jerseys or Drogheda or monaghan united or longford town jerseys instead of Man utd or Arsenal or liverpool jerseys.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 27/09/2011 21:34:11    1043139

Was in my local on All Ireland final day when it was invaded by Dubs 80% of the locals cheered for them aswell.Last sunday Westmeath were in the inter womans final a lot of the same dubs were there with there young children drapped in marroon and white faces painted etc. thought it was a nice touch,these kids will know where home IS not where there parents home WAS,

DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 28/09/2011 11:26:38    1043231