Parents do the right thing....

Htaem

Now on the other hand what I do find a bit stupid are the ones who have been living in Meath (or Kildare, or Westmeath etc etc) since day one going around in Dublin jerseys, I mean they're completely deluding themselves.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Exact same story in Kildare. Plenty of Dublin blow in's all over south Kildare towns, and i'm sure its the same in the north of the county. From what I have seen, most are die hard Dublin supporters and hate the Kildare team. Its silly. If you were born and reared in Kildare and have an interest in GAA, you should be shouting for Johnny Doyle and the likes, not the Brogan brothers because your parents are Dubs.
My mother is from Limerick and my father is from Galway, I wouldn't be caught dead in either of their county jerseys never mind shout for them. I might have connections with these counties, but i'm a Kildare man and will only shout for Lilies.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Snufalufagus

I have been in Lucan Sarsfields club since I was 6 years old and was never once brought to a Dubs game by my father but had to endure being brought to the once in a blue moon occasions when his west of Ireland county made it to croker to lose or a Connaught final just because it was a day out!
I loved being at the match!....but was never brought to see the Dubs!.....my first time to see Dublin was a league game with my club going!
So there you go!....I was that soldier so to speak!
--------------------------------------------------------------

Same story as myself, brought to many Galway matches down in Connaught till around 98. After the 98 final I never went to a Galway match again!

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 21/09/2011 18:40:36    1039909

Jimmy90 it is the same in the north of the county to, Neighbours of mine as true blue as the come, their young lad was born in hollies street but raised in Kildare, He now plays football with my little nephew for the local GAA club, anytime the my nephew would sport the lillywhite jersey on him for a kick about he will run home and put on the Dubs jersey. I even asked him who was he shouting for when we played Donegal. The parents had it beat in to him to shout for Donegal. Sad really in my opinion the little lads a lillywhite. He was raised hear and plays for a Kildare GAA club but he and his family have a hatered for the kildare team and do not like to see them doing well at all. No joke. I do wonder if they will the move back to their beloved Dublin with house prices fallen and obviously sam is their, I am reminded of this everyday since sunday..I fear all the blue bunting will be up till next year heaven forbid..:D

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 21/09/2011 19:02:17    1039930

Well Lillywhite. I'm obviously a dub living in Kildare...My son too supports Dublin, yes he goes to school in Kildare, but he still plays GAA for a Dublin club, he didn't want to leave when we moved from Dublin...he spent the first 7yrs of his life in Dublin...has just done trials for Dublin...no blue bunting anywhere near me...first comment I got when I was coming home after a great night in Dublin on Sunday, was from a Kildare lad, who shouted at me was "up the lillys, you robbed us"..prob wouldn't be shouting had I been a man though....and furthermore, my son gets terrible stick from all the school lads too..and all his Kildare friends were shouting for Kerry on Sunday...makes him love the dubs even more...he has a mind of his own..and by the way his Dad is not a Dub,...see it works both ways you know...and we are not suppose to celebrate either...it shouldn't bother anyone who children shout for...I was at a Tyrone v Dublin game, first one under lights in Croker, there was a group of boys from a club in Naas, they were all shouting for Tyrone, when asked why, they responded, "our parents told us to"...need I say more..

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 21/09/2011 19:18:01    1039937

Delordub not the same thing. Your son has spent 7 years of his young life in Dublin thats a long time, My first ever Kildare match was when I was 9 years old and the love for my team was sealed then. Your son obviously Loves Dublin and wears his blue jersey with pride because that is what he was exposed to. My point was my neighbours son was reared in the shortgrass county from 0 months. He has only ever attended School in Kildare, has never lived in Dublin and now plays for a Kildare Gaa club. To me that makes him a so called "cluchie" and a lillywhite. My Grandmother was from Offaly and My grandad was from scotland. They moved to Kildare with my mother brought her up here and she is a true lillywhite, Theres never to be a bad word spoken about Kieran decisions Johnny or Emmet bolton. The hatered for the Kildare team comes from the parents influence, I just dont think its right when he was brought up here to have an "anyone but Kildare" mentality. Maybe its just this family I dont know, I just think that the parents are kidding themselves as I said above in my opinion he is a lilly.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 21/09/2011 20:01:07    1039963

I was born and bred in Longford and have supported them through thin and thinner years. I have been all over the country supporting them.
I met my husband and moved to Dublin 10 years ago and got involved with a Dublin GAA Club and now I go to most of their matches (I still go to as many Longford games as I can - if the fixtures are for the same day, we travel to whichever one is nearest us) The only time I will NOT support Dublin is when they play Longford.
If we have children, they will know their mother is from Longford and their Da is a Dub and they can decide who to support. I would prefer they wear a GAA jersey than a Liverpool or Arsenal one.

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 21/09/2011 20:22:09    1039980

I have been in Lucan Sarsfields club since I was 6 years old and was never once brought to a Dubs game by my father but had to endure being brought to the once in a blue moon occasions when his west of Ireland county made it to croker to lose or a Connaught final just because it was a day out!

the evidence continues to mount up i would say, i think if you couple the above with what has already been suggested about snuf and ballboy being one and the same a clearer picture starts to emerge, does it not.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 21/09/2011 20:24:42    1039986

Jeez lads. It's almost unbearable to listen to this posturing. My father a Kildare man who in his 70's, after 50 years in Dublin, still goes to the Kildare matches, Took me to them to until Heffo's Army came along and I made my way to the Hill with my pals.
As a kid growing up and spending my summers in both the north and the south of the county I was constantly bombarded "with the anyone but the Dubs" mentality. And it still goes on when I visit family down there even today . To say it isn't true is crazy. Now all of a sudden anyone who puts down roots in another county is supposed to toe the line lock step behind the team of their new home. Didn't work for me Da and won't work for others either. Maybe when these new kids take a slagging from their country pals it makes them even bigger Dub fans . Just sayin'.

FloridaDub (USA) - Posts: 64 - 21/09/2011 20:27:24    1039991

It's similar to the throngs of country folk living and working in Dublin who'd support everyone except the Dubs. Doesn't bother me at all. Each to their own. However I will say this. I lived in Navan for years in the late 90s. I purposely had my daughter in the Rotunda as I knew it would be easier to get her into a school in Dublin as o was still working in Dublin at the time. I also enrolled her in my club in Dublin once she was old enough even though Simonstown Gaels was my local club. I only did this as I didn't see my future in Meath. However all of my neighbours bar 2 were Dubs and they got their kids involved with Simonstown. However the kids chose to support Dublin as that's who their parents supported. I was the same myself. My dad is a royal and used to bring me to croke park with him and I'd be shouting for Meath until such time as I was old enough to make up my mind who I wanted to support. For me it was when I stared playing under 12s camoige that I started to support Dublin.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/09/2011 20:27:36    1039992

Well my auld fella is from Galway. He used to bring me to Dubs matches. Although the first match he brought me to early 80's, not sure if it was 83 all -ireland football
final. but it was definitely Dublin v Galway. He told me I could not go to the match unless I shouted for Galway! Since I was only small I believed him and shouted for Galway. Galway lost, and I said I would never shout for Galway again cos I am a Dub.
I have never shouted for Galway since unless they were playing Me*th or Kilkenny!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 21/09/2011 20:42:58    1040003

atta

1039668 Pleased as I was to see our near neighbours winning the All Ireland on Sunday I feel it's time for some exiled dubs to examine their roles in their local GAA communities. In this weeks Meath Chronicle a Navan resident of eight years is pictured with his house emblazoned in blue. That's fine by me however this fella has a twelve year old daugther who is following in daddies footsteps in being as a true blue dub, thats where the problem exists. On Sunday Cian O Sullivan played for Dublin despite the fact his parents are Kerry people yet with the attitudes of some exiled dubs children living as far from the capital as Carlow and beyond are wearing the sky blue shirts and dreaming of representing Dublin.
What is wrong with theses so people.
It's like this, my grandfather was from Tipperary and by all accounts a fierce Tipp man he was but through his work his sons grew up in Kilkenny as Kilkenny lads. While he still adored Tipp and totally despised Kilkenny he wasn't so short sighted as to rear his sons as Tipp fans.
So all I am saying is Parents please show some common sense and try and go by the ethos of the GAA - that is for club and for county

I know exactly what you mean I have neighbours up here who have lived in Derry for almost 500 years and they think they are from over the water and dont talk to me about the flags and bunting!!!!!

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 21/09/2011 20:52:46    1040016

I do understand lillywhite, but I have seen both sides of the same coin...think if I had a baby tomorrow, chances are they would grow up supporting the dubs..not that i would be making them, It is what it is...and much prefer that GAA was the preference over soccer any day...I spend alot of time in Dublin, I still consider it my home, and always will...I don't have any hatred towards Kildare, I shouted for them against Meath, when we played a double header in Croker, (no offence to Meath either)...but for some people where I live, it would be a cold day in hell before they shouted for the dubs...I just think we should accept it, it's far worse when people have no interest in GAA at all. To me that is a much sadder prospect....

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 21/09/2011 21:01:28    1040028

I started reading this thread but had to stop in Shock. Snuf is not a Dub at all but a blow in who is only in it for the glory! It all makes sense now!

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 21/09/2011 21:05:02    1040033

Derryman...That's good, I like it....:) fair play

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 21/09/2011 21:06:42    1040040

onlyhurling:

Aren't you lucky he left your own fair county.... must have been thrown out hence the issues ;)

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 21/09/2011 21:33:19    1040083

It is indeed Delordub.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 21/09/2011 21:43:40    1040091

Dubs on here trying to justify their actions enrolling children with dublin clubs despite living in meath
I guess now that the championship is over the majority of dubs
can go back to following there heroes at liverpool man utd etc.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 708 - 21/09/2011 21:45:17    1040094

Atta, you're just being really silly now, and there is no need for it............

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 21/09/2011 21:57:41    1040105

Atta, English soccer is as popular elsewhere as it is in Dublin. Indeed it is counties where they are not competitive in hurling or football that you will see more Man U and Liverpool jeersies than you will in Dublin. Most of the soccer 'heads' in my local had little or no interest in the Dubs and same goes for most of us 'gah' lads regarding soccer. We get on famously apart from that!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/09/2011 08:46:30    1040118

It's a thought provoking idea that perhaps one could like both sports and perhaps even a third!? Poor attempt Atta. Must. Try. Harder.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2011 09:20:15    1040129

I mentor a girls camogie team in large Dublin northside club and the breakdown and make up is much as reported here. All six mentors 3 are dubs and 3 from the country, Kilkenny, Derry and Galway. Of 32 girls about 12 have completely non-Dublin parents and about a further 12 with 1 parent from the country. We even have a girl whose parents are from Meath who bring their daughter in to play camogie!! But to a girl, all support Dublin even when playing against parents counties, their loyalties revert to their parents counties when Dublin are not involved. Remember you don't get your accent from your parents but from your classmates - same with your county loyalties. I can't imagine anyone in Dublin decking their house out last weekend in Kerry colours.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 22/09/2011 09:24:51    1040131