Parking at Croke Park

For the semi final I took my chances in Summerhill (it reminded me so much of dear old Glasgow town). A lot of hassle afterwards getting through the traffic. I was thinking of parking at Red Cow and getting the Luas in. I was wondering if anyone has tried this. By the time you walk to Luas and wait for it do you save much time? And do you beat much of the traffic going whesht? On a similar theme you often here people talking about the policemen getting younger. It's seems to be working in reverse when it comes to the unofficial parking facilitators on the north side of Dublin on match days. In the old days it used to be old men with bus conductor caps and then for years it was kids in the early teens, not now. On my past few visits I have seen groups of organised grown men taking on the contract. They seem to be very diligent at parking the cars, but don't spend too much time looking after them once the euros are handed over.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 14/09/2011 13:47:03    1034231

Its the way to go..........

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 14/09/2011 14:15:20    1034275

I'd say thats the right way to go, jaysus don't come within a few miles of Croker - with a car!! The clampers will see this as a cash cow and milk it for what its worth.
Don't get a bike either you'll be killed by pedestrians looking at their phones for GPS co-ordinates, or just us Dubs rushing to the turnstiles after the obligatory 30 minute delay.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 14/09/2011 14:31:31    1034304

14/09/2011 13:47:03
thistle_harps
County: UK

1034231 For the semi final I took my chances in Summerhill (it reminded me so much of dear old Glasgow town). A lot of hassle afterwards getting through the traffic. I was thinking of parking at Red Cow and getting the Luas in. I was wondering if anyone has tried this. By the time you walk to Luas and wait for it do you save much time? And do you beat much of the traffic going whesht? On a similar theme you often here people talking about the policemen getting younger. It's seems to be working in reverse when it comes to the unofficial parking facilitators on the north side of Dublin on match days. In the old days it used to be old men with bus conductor caps and then for years it was kids in the early teens, not now. On my past few visits I have seen groups of organised grown men taking on the contract. They seem to be very diligent at parking the cars, but don't spend too much time looking after them once the euros are handed over.

Go round the M50 in the M1 - Through the Port Tunnel (€3 on a Sunday) Park along the quays Spencer Dock or anywhere along there (free on Sunday) - About a 5 min walk to Connolly (IFyou don't wand to risk the car on the street park in Jurys at the IFSC)
and another 15 to Croker - When you get back - back out through the port tunnel will get you to the red cow in 15 minutes -
20 minutes walk saves you 60 minutes in traffic
After you get to the red cow junction you are on your own

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/09/2011 14:37:54    1034313

Do not come in the N4, islandbridge, parkgate street, infirmary road, NCR route as every culchie in the country thinks this is some sort of 'secret route' that only they know about!!
There is nothing worse than a culchie who thinks he "knows the city"!!!

God didnt allow for stupidity when he created the first mullah!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/09/2011 14:49:46    1034324

I had a laugh at that one as I have experienced it on numerous underage trips in Ireland over the years.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 14/09/2011 14:57:17    1034340

Funny, a hell of a lot of dubs only really know their own village and the bus route into town. I certainly know Dublin better than most dubs I know my age.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12451 - 14/09/2011 15:04:30    1034349

park in ikea- then get the bus down from there, its simple and your right on the M50, thats what i would advice people to do. personally i just fly to games, the sooner croker gets a helipad the better, close the nally stand/ terrace part and put in a helipad, that would benefit people alot more i think

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 14/09/2011 15:05:09    1034350

14/09/2011 14:49:46
Snufalufagus

God didnt allow for stupidity when he created the first mullah!!
--------------
I'd say he knew he would to keep plenty in reserve as he moved East

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/09/2011 15:10:11    1034355

Ah yes Snuff, I remember the day the Dubs tried to find Thurles back in 2001. They all looked at the map, obviously incapable of understanding the 'near, far' exercise from Sesame street and Bosco. En-masse they came to the same conclusion that Thurles must only be about an hour down the road. I suppose it ties in with the fact that you think people from Kerry and Tipp would be driving up the N4!

Oh and arock, - "Don't get a bike either you'll be killed by pedestrians looking at their phones for GPS co-ordinates". - Won't be the Kerry boys who'll be looking for GPS directions for Croker. What, at this stage over the last 10 years we must have played more games at HQ than ye? Close anyway.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 14/09/2011 15:16:10    1034360

thistle_harps- park in meath and walk in- i mean how stupid are some people

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 14/09/2011 15:16:51    1034362

14/09/2011 15:05:09
liathroidboy

1034350 park in ikea- then get the bus down from there, its simple and your right on the M50, thats what i would advice people to do. personally i just fly to games, the sooner croker gets a helipad the better, close the nally stand/ terrace part and put in a helipad, that would benefit people alot more i think
________
Even if it had a Helipad - You wouldn't be able to land in Croker without landing at the airport first as you are too close to the flight path - But I'm sure you already know that.

You can land in the freight yards in the Docks - just opposite the O2 - and for €50 you can get an S500 to collect you to Croker - Half price for yourself seeing as you only own half the chopper.

Do you have to leave sharpish after the game or is there somewhere in Westport that you can legally land a Chopper after Dusk ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/09/2011 15:18:40    1034364

Ya can't beat All-Ireland Final day atmosphere around Clonliffe College (until 5 o'clock and Mayo have lost another one). Its a serious spot to park for the craic.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 14/09/2011 15:23:55    1034372

thy,

Please try to understand the perfect English I wrote in my post!

The N4 inbound is peoples little 'secret route' I refer to!!!......ehh, as opposed to the route they travel up on which is not secret!!!.....Buhh!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/09/2011 15:31:29    1034383

You're right Snuff. In perfect, faultless English you wrote:-

Do not come in the N4, islandbridge, parkgate street, infirmary road, NCR route as every culchie in the country thinks this is some sort of 'secret route' that only they know about!!

And just to reiterate as you don't seem to get it, Kerry and Tipp people will not be using this route as a short cut, long cut, medium cut or any other type of cut. If you think the N4 is a 'secret route' for us southern culchies then you are sadly mistaken. We will be travelling in the N7 and can get to Islndbridge a lot quicker than travelling up the M50 and down the N4.

Check it out on a map. (A map of Ireland).

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 14/09/2011 15:53:13    1034424

On the few occasions that i have been to Croker i've always parked in the free car parks on the road up to North Bull Island in Clontarf. Tis about a 15-20 minute walk, but tis an opportunity to take in some of the atmosphere and gather one's thoughts.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 14/09/2011 16:02:47    1034436

Snuf:

That was the little secret before the M50 was built, your showing your age now!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/09/2011 16:17:39    1034462

kingdomecome

we have more then likely had more supporters at the semi final against donegal then ye had in the last 10 years coming to croker.
get off your high horse with your inferior behaviour towards dublin people,i know my way to any part of ireland so get your facts right bud,the traffic going to thurles was mayhem as was 40 thousand dubs heading that way and also was a bank holiday weekend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/09/2011 16:18:16    1034464

and breffni yes a whole 3 dublin people posted before you so that means you know your way around dublin better than the people that live there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/09/2011 16:19:31    1034465

hill16no1man

1034465 and breffni yes a whole 3 dublin people posted before you so that means you know your way around dublin better than the people that live there

In a lot of cases it's true, deal with it. Its nothing got to do with who did or didn't post before me. I'd certainly know my way around Dublin better than the likes of snuff who lives way out in Lucan with his mammy.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12451 - 14/09/2011 16:33:23    1034487