to all our northern friends (lose term) please foward i believe it is 165 euro to pay for a tv licience and then we may listen to you until then you havent a leg to stand on, typical thinking they have an entitlement to everything for free, they dont pay travel tax entering this country, they dont want to pay the tv licience but still want the tv chanell for free. Yet at the same time these people call foul on the GAA yet no a red cent of their tax payers money is spilled in gaelic games in this country yet they want everything for free- typical!! I hope this continues as im sick of subsidising those from the north, pay income taxes (which is used to fund teh gaa) , pay liciences (to fund the tv stations), pay travel tax (like everyone else in the world to fund the economy) and then you may have an opinion- until then not a chance!
Well done to the gaa and to TV3 on this! Should i get sky sports for free cause i want to watch the Aviva Premiership in England? ye have some neck on ye folks ye really do, why arent ye prepaired to pay like teh rest of us. TV£ should immediately go pay per view in the north- it would be a great money bosters and would create employment in theis country- everyone would benefit!
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 11:40:30
.......well if ye fought a bit harder up there in the twenties ye might have been able to watch it on TV3 today!!!!!.....Jeez!!!!
Sorry, couldnt resist that one!!!
......................................................................................................................................................
......well Snuf, if ye freestaters had fought a bit longer instead of taking your 30 pieces of silver we may all be watching the game on TV3 today!!!!
ye didn't exactly spend your silver well either>>>>>>>> :)
26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 09/09/2011 11:47:24
use a proxy if in the north to access tv3 google it and you will fin plenty of proxys to let you watch tv3 or any channel anywhere on your computer
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/09/2011 11:48:01
as the advert says 'You can now pay your tv licience, online, at the post office, with savings stamps, by cash, by debit card or credit card'
Dear northern posters- please forward on the appropriate fee and we will consider your complaint, until then i must inform you the the people of the republic of ireland do not owe you anything despite what you may think. pay your way like everyone else or get left behind. The nerve of some posters on here is laughable the phrase 'ya have some neck on ya' really springs to mind! we dont get to see your national sports for free so why should you see ours?
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 11:51:45
26plus6equals1 County: Tyrone Posts: 294
1030452 .......well if ye fought a bit harder up there in the twenties ye might have been able to watch it on TV3 today!!!!!.....Jeez!!!!
Sorry, couldnt resist that one!!!
......................................................................................................................................................
......well Snuf, if ye freestaters had fought a bit longer instead of taking your 30 pieces of silver we may all be watching the game on TV3 today!!!!
ye didn't exactly spend your silver well either>>>>>>>> :)
-------------------------------------
fought harder? we brokered the deal and got rid of the north, please get over your romaticism that the people of the south cared then or even care now about the north. 30 pieces of silver, i actually wish we got 30 pieces of silver, wishful thinking that ye were actually worth something. if ye are not part of ireland you must look to your relations at the time of partition in the north their action and behaviour obviously caused offence to us good people so we simply got rid of the north. i am happy that there is that devide as i firmly believe the irish people have affinity with the english then they do with the people of northern ireland and the queens visit etc. has all shown this. who do the irish people perfer lizzy or gerry? ye have made your bed folks....
if anyone is looking for the link to information about paying for tv in ireland here it is below:
http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/tvlicence250108.htm
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 12:25:30
ye didn't exactly spend your silver well either>>>>>>>> :) ------------------------------------------------------------------
It was origionally actually 26 pieces of silver, one for each county, but your right it was increased to 30 pieces because Dublin is worth more than the 25 peripheral sponger counties!
But listen, ye had no problem being part of the north until 1969 because ye did nothing between '22 and '69 to show that ye were against it!!! .....and if you dare to mention the 'border campaign' of the 50's then you will be aware that the lads that did the fighting in that campaign were all southeners who used to go up and run riot at the weekends!! Sure look at the Sean South episode, that was all southeners, northeners were few and far between cos they were too cosy up there to care!!
We're all Irishmen indeed, but northies have always been a bit 'different' to the rest of us!!......There are three types of people in the country: Dubs, Culchies and Northies!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/09/2011 12:31:55
To little ball boy,
your analysis is full of flaws - 1. i live in the north and work in the south and pay my taxes in the south - no complaints 2. since when did taxes have to do with minor football 3. we all pay our membership regardless of weather we are in armagh, cork, or australia - a percentage goes to croke Park 4. we all attend match in the qualifiers, 1/4 and semi and finals - and this revenue goes to central council to be distributed appropriately round the country 5. if this continues where will it end, munster hurling final on SKY chanell 319 or GAA channel 327 - the gaa are looking at the long term view - 20/25 years from now 6. By televising a minor final which potentially could have had a northern team in it ( ulster usually does well at this age group) we are saying the revenue is more important than the the grass route membership of our organisation.... 7. Where will this end?
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1687 - 09/09/2011 12:43:27
Gas man liathroidboy. My other half is a Mayo woman and manys the time her mother has commented on how the numbers of visitors form the North over the decades has helped the Mayo economy so much. In fact, every time I'm down there are nearly as many Northern cars going around Westport, Castlebar and the likes as there are southern ones. But don't let these facts get in the way of your anti-north rant.
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/09/2011 12:51:46
cuchulainn35 County: Armagh Posts: 283
1030520 To little ball boy,
your analysis is full of flaws - 1. i live in the north and work in the south and pay my taxes in the south - no complaints
ANSWER: should you be thanked? unless you beam into work, you will consume your tax while you are here so by means of roads etc. etc. the list is endless.
2. since when did taxes have to do with minor football
ANSWER: they have load to do with it, have a little look on all irelan day (if you can get tv coverage) at that fine stadium in druncondra, it would be there withot tax payers money. neither would the ground that these kids play on all the way until the final, so to say tax payers money has nothing to do with it it laughable in the extreme!
3. we all pay our membership regardless of weather we are in armagh, cork, or australia - a percentage goes to croke Park
ANSWER: we also pay tax which also goes to croke park and other venues, you may pay some tax, but 99% dont, your government contributes nothing to croke park. if they give money to UK teams for their ground that is nothing got to do with the republic pof irelan and thefeore is irrelevant.
4. we all attend match in the qualifiers, 1/4 and semi and finals - and this revenue goes to central council to be distributed appropriately round the country
ANSWER: I am seriously struggling to find a point, you go to matches do you want a clap on the back or something????? if those matches are in croke park- you do not pay the travel tax to enter this country, tax money again that the gaa get a share of.
5. if this continues where will it end, munster hurling final on SKY chanell 319 or GAA channel 327 - the gaa are looking at the long term view - 20/25 years from now
ANSWER: the above just shows your arrogance, we pay for the right to watch it, ye dont pay anything, i mean what part of that do you not understand, its really is very basic indeed.
6. By televising a minor final which potentially could have had a northern team in it ( ulster usually does well at this age group) we are saying the revenue is more important than the the grass route membership of our organisation....
ANSWER: if there was a northern team, then a northern channel could have bought the rights to show it- your grip is with BBC. we certainly are not paying your way.
7. Where will this end?
ANSWER: it will end when people in the north cop on and realise that we in the south do not owe them anything and in future refuse to subsidise their hobbies.
I think this is a great development, pay your way or go without. this to me is like some fool standing outside croker on final day wanting in but does not have a ticket and refuses to pay face value for one. not a chance people like thios should even be entertained. Hope that helps, moral of the story is pay up or shut up!
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 14:29:24
Imagine someone trolling all the way from N.Z. !! That's dedication for you !! Ha ha i didn't know they had a New Zealand on Achill Island !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/09/2011 14:29:56
Jeez..........why people still reply to snuff or ballboy is beyond me....haven't you copped on, they are just winding you up...ballboy is always slagging the dubs about absolutely everything...all just a complete wind up...sure if they believe themselves even 1% of what they post, they wouldn't really be true GAA fans..............It's Ireland...it has 32 counties.......END OF
delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 09/09/2011 14:31:59
Offside_Rule County: Antrim Posts: 198
1030529 Gas man liathroidboy. My other half is a Mayo woman and manys the time her mother has commented on how the numbers of visitors form the North over the decades has helped the Mayo economy so much. In fact, every time I'm down there are nearly as many Northern cars going around Westport, Castlebar and the likes as there are southern ones. But don't let these facts get in the way of your anti-north rant.
------------------------------
well now if mammy said who am i to argue.... oh dear god folks this is actually getting worse around her, it has resorted to mammy said... :D
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 15:00:50
so the northern gaa turn their back on the queens visit but call foul when the gaa and tv turn their back on them- ye have make your bed folks :)
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 15:37:38
Offside,
Yer a newbie to the board and need to know your place and respect that fact!
Like I told another poster, veiled abusive language and threats are very working class and should be avoided!!....yer not on the Ardoyne now!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/09/2011 16:02:42
Lads dont be tempted to bight at a certain posters wind ups - it is a bacteria on this site and if ignored it will go away. It also can't spell which is hilarious!!
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/09/2011 16:07:22
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 2980
1030753 Offside,
Yer a newbie to the board and need to know your place and respect that fact!
Like I told another poster, veiled abusive language and threats are very working class and should be avoided!!....yer not on the Ardoyne now!!
--------------------------------
here here Snuffy, admin should have a word with our little meathead from ardoyne. the word IP address and big brother is always watching prop mean nothing to you, but threats like that can have you in front of a judge just so you know....
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 16:42:44
Oh there's no doubt we are different and thank goodness. I mean snuf and ballboy must be grateful that our Nordie taxes bailed them out or it would have been a European Zimbabwe by now down Mexico way!
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 09/09/2011 19:23:39
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 4144
1030933 Oh there's no doubt we are different and thank goodness. I mean snuf and ballboy must be grateful that our Nordie taxes bailed them out or it would have been a European Zimbabwe by now down Mexico way! _____________________________ I really wish snuffy and his ilk could see things from where we are sitting Ulsterman, we have a failed state on our doorstep, potentially thousands of impoverished economic migrants flooding across our now unprotected border to take our jobs and soon we wont be able to get into our supermarkets with the car parks chocca with southern regs. Yes, we have plenty to concern ourselves without worrying about a poxy TV3 reception.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 09/09/2011 19:49:09
A new peaceline brend, from Newry to Derry, with (Crossmaglen) snipers, alsations and searchlights? After Christmas of course, we can't let our traders down.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 09/09/2011 19:57:23
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 4144
1030933 Oh there's no doubt we are different and thank goodness. I mean snuf and ballboy must be grateful that our Nordie taxes bailed them out or it would have been a European Zimbabwe by now down Mexico way!
--------------------------------------------------------------
whats best is we havent a notion of paying it back, we wined and dined lizzy so all is good, she was secretly told that we will never even mention the north again if she write off the debt- she agreed, so we got a few billion and have got rid of any links with the north- a masterstroke by all concerned, sooner we get the travel tax set up on the border we will never even have to acknowledge the extistence of the north again- this makes me happy!
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 20:00:27