Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

Here listen. He pushed his 2 fists in to the lads face followed quickly by a left to the shoulder. The later is nothing. Fair enough, maybe donegal lad did go down easy enough but yous take same fists to your jaw region as see what yous do!! Very simple, its a ban, never gonna change and the quicker yous accept it the better prepared yous will be for the final.. I personally think yous are better off!!! Hope dublin hammers kerry....

81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 30/08/2011 10:34:09    1022576

Corkcelt, that is not true. Everyone in any walk of life has a right to a hearing in discipline matters and the GAA is no different. I posted on the last page what happens.

The CCCC receive the ref's report
They propose a suspension
The player either accepts this and that's the end of the matter or he asks for a hearing
If he asks for a hearing then the hearings committee hears it and they decide whether or not to rescind his red card.

Cilldara_2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 57 - 30/08/2011 10:41:24    1022588

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHuU3EdJ1NQ

A simular incident in another all ireland semi final with a striking action as some like to call it! Donncha O'Connor had his red card resinded allowing him to play in the replay!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 30/08/2011 11:00:03    1022616

maybe donegal lad did go down easy

Yes he feigned injury (Some call that cheating) in order to get a man sent off. There's no maybe about it... lets get that clear. Aidan O' Mahony part II

He would not have got sent off if it wasnt for the Donegal players reaction - Aidan O' Mahony part II

Connolly received a far more severe lunge after the incident but didnt go down... enough said it was hand bags stuff - why would he go down? Well perhaps he's made of far better stuff! The evidence is fairly clear to indicate such a conclusion.

and as Joe Brolly, Colm O'Rourke and Pat Spillane said after the game - It was a "shameful" incident - when describing the Donegal mans reaction

There is no maybe. Now fair enough if Connolly misses the final he misses the final... but at least he can hold his head up.

So much for Ulster hard men... pfffhhhh

Anyway we have plenty of cover for the man... and all sorts of differnet options can now be looked at.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 30/08/2011 11:01:39    1022621

The Irish Times - Tuesday, August 30, 2011
Connolly and Flynn face anxious waits

GAVIN CUMMISKEY

GAELIC FOOTBALL: THE AVAILABILITY of Diarmuid Connolly and Paul Flynn, key components in the Dublin attack, for the All-Ireland football final against Kerry on September 18th looks unlikely.

Flynn appeared to tear his hamstring with 13 minutes remaining in Sunday's 0-8 to 0-6 All-Ireland semi-final defeat of Donegal at Croke Park. "Yes, there would be concern," said Dublin county board chairman Andy Kettle.

"It seemed to be a hamstring injury. By his own reaction when it happened, he did thump the ground with his fist, it would seem to me that he himself felt that it wasn't good." The Dublin panel gathers again this evening when the results of Flynn's scan will be revealed.

The situation with Connolly is, initially at least, more clear-cut as he was shown a straight red card on 58 minutes following an altercation with Donegal's Marty Boyle. Maurice Deegan's referee's report may be irrelevant, however, as it was the intervention of the linesman that prompted the dismissal. A red card carries an automatic four-week, one-match suspension but Kettle confirmed the county board will go through the full appeal process to try and have Connolly exonerated.

"We are awaiting a copy of the referee's report. Central CCC (competitions control committee) will meet and there will be a proposed suspension. I would suspect that would be a four-week suspension. The system then is the Dublin County Board and Diarmuid will be informed as to whether he wishes to accept or appeal the suspension.

"Having listened to quite a lot of analysts and pundits, I didn't see the incident, it seemed to have been a harsh decision. If that is the case, we will back Diarmuid fully."

Bryan Cullen was the second Dublin player on the scene as Connolly was surrounded by several Donegal players. Kettle spoke with him after the match.

"Bryan's opinion was that it was handbags at dawn. Two players pushing, possibly double yellow card sanction but not, in his opinion, deserving of a red card."

Should Connolly seek to contest any suspension from the CCCC then he must go before the Central Hearings Committee. There is also an appeals committee and, after that, the Dispute Resolution Authority.

"There would be grounds to challenge it on the basis of natural justice but there would also be grounds to challenge it on the actual video recording of it," added Kettle.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 30/08/2011 11:12:33    1022636

Posted this on another thread but it probably belongs here:

Now the red card (I watched this incident again), I don't want to sound priggish in any way but I've seen our own Brian Farrell getting sent off for something just as harmless and his suspension was upheld so if thats the standard, if they're the rules then Connolly shouldn't get off, its as simple as that.

My own opinion on the incident is that both players should have just got yellow no more, none of us want to see football or hurling turning into bloody fairy sports but thats unfortunately whats happening. So if theres any justice then one of two things has to happen = a) Connolly gets off or b) Connolly's suspension is upheld but the Donegal player gets the exact same suspension (I know it won't affect him as much but an example needs to be made of these)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/08/2011 13:00:40    1022788

Htaem

1022788 Posted this on another thread but it probably belongs here:

Now the red card (I watched this incident again), I don't want to sound priggish in any way but I've seen our own Brian Farrell getting sent off for something just as harmless and his suspension was upheld so if thats the standard, if they're the rules then Connolly shouldn't get off, its as simple as that.

My own opinion on the incident is that both players should have just got yellow no more, none of us want to see football or hurling turning into bloody fairy sports but thats unfortunately whats happening. So if theres any justice then one of two things has to happen = a) Connolly gets off or b) Connolly's suspension is upheld but the Donegal player gets the exact same suspension (I know it won't affect him as much but an example needs to be made of these).

Spot on. Simple as that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 30/08/2011 13:32:42    1022815

so the dublin county board chairman hasn't seen the incident yet. where was he on Sunday and why has he not made it his business to view the incident since.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 30/08/2011 13:33:27    1022817

Thanks cute Kerry was just wondering that's all.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2011 13:49:46    1022835

mlcollins

1022218 omaghredfist oh sorry hand i dont think the dubs need your patronising post i think they have been in alot more finals than you could dream of so know what to expect maybe not recently but however

Given the nature of the BS you have posted on the other threads I have read I'm not sure your balderdash is worthy of a response, however. What a wonderfully humourous change of my username, you should be on stage! Secondly whatever gives you the notion that I was being patronising? I was replying specifically to a Dublin poster who I have posted to on a number of occasions. I merely wished him a good few weeks leading up to the final. Maybe in Kerry there is no buzz leading up to the final but I know in our county and most there is. Considereing that in the last 30 years (fairly recent history) Dublin have been in 6 finals and Tyrone in 5 with Tyrone winning 3 and Dublin 2 then I would suggest that it will be a big few weeks in Dublin. I think what is patronising is your immediate jump to the defence of the Dubs, is it because you nearly always beat them? or is it because since 1986 you can't beat our boys?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 30/08/2011 13:58:17    1022847

s goldrick

1022476 once again the usual story of a linesman or umpire getting involved and giving the ref wrong info or only half a story. the correct decision was a yellow card for both players. referees allow far too much of this harrasment of players who are trying to take frees. clearly connolly had the ball in his possesion ready to take the free.

the donegal player came from yards away and shoulder charged him (an offence that incidently Michael Murphy was red-carded for against cavan). If connolly had laid down at that juncture, probbly boyle would have been carded but he chose to stand his ground and push /prod/punch boyle away. it wasn't a clear striking action
as he had the ball in his other hand. he was trying to make room for himself to take the free which he is entitled to do. Boyle should have been yellow carded by the ref before connolly even had a chance to retaliate. look what Taidhg Kennelly got away with against Nicholas Murphy in the 2009 all-ireland final (and even wrote about it in his book) The red card should be recinded. no-one would argue with it. he got enough punishment already by been sent off.
>>>>>>>>>>>>
diarmuid connolly didn't have the ball in his other hand, he off loaded it just before he was charged by donegal's boyle. also he did strike, and did so more than once so that is going to be a difficult situation to get out off to be fair. we could have a situation similar to that threatened in sligo (referee's strike) if connolly's red card is quashed. the big issue as far i'm concerned is not whether connolly's dismissal on sundays was justified because it was if you are to apply the rules, the big issue as far as i'd be concerned was how the third man in who struck connolly stayed on the field as he was equally as guilty of striking as connolly. connolly can have no gripe with his red card, but dublin could argue their case as to why their player was the only one to see red, it wont help connolly i'm sure of that but i'm equally sure they'd like an explanation nevertheless.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 30/08/2011 15:03:34    1022950

Girls and Boys...

The relevant section from the 2011 Official Guide reads:

1.2 DUTIES OF THE REFEREE
(x)
(c) To order off a player who commits an ordering off foul/infraction by taking his name (if not already taken) and showing him a red card.

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/publications/official_guides/Official_Guide_2011_Part_2.pdf - Page 19

Deegan did not take his name, or even write it down, check the replays.
You cannot retrospectively ask a player his name after giving him a red.
(taken from a mate below)

The argument here is that by the letter of the rule, Connolly wasn't actually sent off on Sunday and is therefore not due any suspension. History shows that in GAA disciplinary matters, procedure takes precedence over all other factors, even fairness.

We already benefitted from this once this year when the charges against Philly McMahon and Kevin Sheils for throwing digs in the tunnel in the League Final were dropped because they'd been charged under the wrong rule - 'disruptive behaviour' which seemingly doesn't cover anything that happens at half time. So despite the CCCC having video evidence showing the pair of them going at it hammer and tongs (Philly won by a unanimous decision by the way), instead of charging them under the correct rule they themselves threw out the charge, apparently without Philly having to even open his mouth. That the world and its mother knew the two players had struck each other repeatedly was irrelevant, the fact that correct procedure hadn't been followed was all that mattered.

In the crazy world of GAA administration, this is Dermo's strongest card and one I feel is very likely to see him available to play.

So regardless what went on, it was irrelevant when the referee didnt follow proper procedure, Connolly will 99% be availible for selection.

Maybe, just maybe the GAA will rip up the outdated rule book and start fresh!!!!!

glenquagmire (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 31/08/2011 11:45:03    1023719

Quagmire,

The scary thing is that you're probably spot on here. What a ridiculous disciplinary system. One simple solution - RUGBY!

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 31/08/2011 11:57:14    1023734

I would suggest that Quagmire is grasping at straws. The rules of the game have to be written so as they apply to all. However, it is quite common at senior intercounty level that the referee will know the name of the player especially in an All Ireland Quarter final. I would suggest that Quagmire would also be unaware if the referee noted Connolly's name whilst consulting with the linesman. A red card is a direct indication that a player has been sent of the field. It's a pity they were not around in Charlie Redmond's time ;)

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 31/08/2011 12:39:24    1023799

Quagmire... love that name ... every time I see it I think of family Guy :)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 31/08/2011 13:46:14    1023870

I would suggest that Quagmire is grasping at straws. The rules of the game have to be written so as they apply to all. However, it is quite common at senior intercounty level that the referee will know the name of the player especially in an All Ireland Quarter final. I would suggest that Quagmire would also be unaware if the referee noted Connolly's name whilst consulting with the linesman. A red card is a direct indication that a player has been sent of the field. It's a pity they were not around in Charlie Redmond's time ;)
Whether he kbnows the name or not, or noted the name or not, the fact is HE DID NOT ASK THE NAME which according to the RULE he is REQUIRED TO DO SO.

Put it to you this way, if a GARDA arrested you, never asked you your name and then tried to press charges, would you get off? You bet your barney you would get off! Why? Cos he (GARDA) did not follow the law! I'm telling yiz, this is a classic scenario once again of the bullockology that is the rules of the GAA regarding discipline!

glenquagmire (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 31/08/2011 14:05:28    1023904

PJ, connolly punched the guy on the chin; closed fist and with real force. O'connor's fingers barely connected with o'mahony. It is disingenuous to suggest that they are one in the same. These things have to be judged on their merits, and fair enough the donegal lad did try to make the most of it, but that doesnt chagne the fact that he was hit with noticeable force in the face with a closed fist. How can he be let away with that? This notion that any connection with the face must now be treated robotically with a ban is garbage, each has to be treated on its merits. He could have broken his teeth or even his jaw with that force, can the same be said of o'connor? I can tell you now if it was the gooch who done it in the final the dubs would be calling for him to get the line, and quite rightly.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/08/2011 14:09:54    1023914

It's the highest profile final for a long time so the GAA is obviously going to consider its options carefully for this and draw as much attention as possible, even bad press is good press as the media moguls like to say. Connolly's card will probably be rescinded even though it shouldn't be, by an organisation that just does what it wants.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 31/08/2011 14:22:33    1023929

glenquamire, put it plain and simple its always separate rules when it comes to Dublin players, if anything the Donegal man should have been made walk, what he did was dispicable and so unsporting. No place for it in our game, leave it to the Soccar players..Nothin wrong with him, made a big drama to get the player sent off, to me that in itself should be a serious sending offence.....there was nothn nice about Donegal on Sunday and nobody from any county in the country admired their so called tactics or behaviour....Atha Cliath Abu and best of luck to Dermo with havn decision reversed or rather JUSTICE done....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 31/08/2011 14:25:01    1023934

Mollymalone

glenquamire, put it plain and simple its always separate rules when it comes to Dublin players, if anything the Donegal man should have been made walk, what he did was dispicable and so unsporting. No place for it in our game, leave it to the Soccar players..Nothin wrong with him, made a big drama to get the player sent off, to me that in itself should be a serious sending offence.....there was nothn nice about Donegal on Sunday and nobody from any county in the country admired their so called tactics or behaviour....Atha Cliath Abu and best of luck to Dermo with havn decision reversed or rather JUSTICE done....

He's right lads Dublin are angels they would never be caught doing anything unsporting...

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 31/08/2011 14:34:51    1023946