Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

Jayus lads were Irish were hardmen , what is going on with you all? To miss an all Ireland for that is a joke. If your man stays on his feet nothing comes of it. Surely everyone wants to see dublins best 15 against kerrys best 15? Where becoming like the english prem league. And the Brian farrell red card was a disgrace against kildare.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2011 20:18:12    1022277

Here's a fair point. Review the Karl Lacey incident where Donegal's best player was deliberately taken out by Dublin and then review Connolly's. Lacey going off changed the game, Donegal would have won with him still on.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 29/08/2011 20:23:39    1022287

god is these the same so called hardmen dubs who spent weeks on here berating o mahoney and galvin from kerry re their much publicised altercations with authority over the past two years. you got every refereeing decision going yesterday on the back of connollys sending off so id be careful what you wished for in fact if he hadnt got lined id doubt very much youd have won the game as the ref made some very lenient calls thereafter.

weebox (Tyrone) - Posts: 272 - 29/08/2011 20:31:09    1022298

Break_er

1021959 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

Please point out where Boyle 'punched' Connolly? All I can see is a shoulder and a push to the chest/lower throat? I may have blinked and missed it though.

Good thing he didnt get him in the upper throat. That could have been extremely dangerous!!!!

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 29/08/2011 20:33:24    1022303

Corrxxx - as long as you got a good laugh out of it. Makes a change of being laughed at yourself sure.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 29/08/2011 20:43:52    1022314

This tread was started shortly after the end of the match...... In real time the incident looked very soft and it was the Donegal player that caused the sending off by making such a meal of it. I wonder sometimes if we all didn't have the benefit of "slow motion replays" on TV would the opinions differ. Another question...... if Donegal HAD of won and with the benefit of tv footage would their midfielder been red carded for his follow up resulting on him missing the final????? I know this has been done in the past but would it have been so in that instance. I have seen many players been yellow carded for a lot worse. I still think Connolly deserves his place in the final or at least be an option for Gilroy.

PROUDLILY (Kildare) - Posts: 7 - 29/08/2011 20:48:05    1022319

Lads, where is the line? Consistancy has to play a part here. Firstly As a big gaa man, I feel sorry for Connolly his actions were born out of frustration, some of his colleagues sailed very close to the wind also, namely MB McCauley, Cahill and McCarthy. The bottom line is Connolly raised both hands, his fists were closed and he pushed out twice if not three times, the strenght of the action is immaterial, he raised the hands. If this was a league game, O;'Byrne cup or first round championship nothing would be taken of missing one game, the same rules apply for the full gaa year, he saw red, In my opinion the ref was right, do i feel sorry for Connolly, christ yes very much so, but his actions cannot go unpunished because of the title of the one match ban opposed upon him, All Kerry gaa people would rather we play Dublin's strongest 15 and that includes Connolly.

If this was Paul Galvin there would not be half the uproar they would be constructing the noose and swinging it from the upper Canal end so everyone could get a good view, Be a man Connolly take your punishment like a man, your raised the hand got caught unfortunately you will pay the highest price possible. I do feel however if he only pushed/lashed out once he would have got away with it but 2 or 3 attempts cannot see it being overturned especially considering Paul Farrell and Meaths ban from earlier in the year

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 29/08/2011 21:23:02    1022366

First off let me say this...
I personally don't think that Connolly deserved to be sent off but strictly by the rules the sending off was correct.

He won't get off and let me try and make it simple for people to understand why. The referee is likely to put him down for striking. Connolly did close his hands into a fist and made contact with the players face. Was it minor and "soft"? Yes, but that makes little difference. In order for the CHC to overturn it, they will have to look at the video and answer the question - "Did he strike him with minimal force?" and the answer to that question sadly for him is yes he did strike him with minimal force. The only way the CHC could turn it over is to say that irrefutably the referee was incorrect and he was not incorrect.

As much as its not fair the following is irrelevant:
1. The importance of the game
2. That its as close to not getting sent as you could get
3. That he was provoked and the donegal player was at fault.

All that is relevant to the appeal is
Can the CHC say that the referee was incorrect and that Connolly did not strike with minimal force?

Sadly no they cannot.

nager (Cork) - Posts: 2 - 29/08/2011 21:24:52    1022372

Nager/Cork

Correct, the fuss is over the match he is going to miss, just like I said above, and again you correct he'll be cited for striking and the CCC cannot say that No striking action occured.. teh red will stand.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 29/08/2011 21:36:20    1022397

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHuU3EdJ1NQ

A simular incident in an all ireland semi final with a striking action as some lads like to call it, Donncha O'Connor got that red card rescinded and was allowed to play in the final. Connolly should also have his red card rescinded as boyle went down holding his face after a push to his shoulder.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/08/2011 21:53:15    1022426

shocking display the lad just trying to take a free and provoked in doing so fair enough he raised his hand but a player of his quality doesnt deserve his punishment,he is an inspiration to all the young an up and coming talent and perfect role model for them,and its totally out of character what went on yesterday on the pitch hopefully it can be overruled and its seen as no malice involved in it .....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 29/08/2011 21:58:25    1022438

Question, if a Kerry player had of got sent off against Mayo and got a months suspension we he been able to play in the final.?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2011 22:02:51    1022448

And people wonder what is wrong with football these days???, if you raise your hands like that then you derserve everything you get end of.

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 758 - 30/08/2011 08:57:12    1022466

The way the game is going, Connolly would have been better off diving on the ground, rolling in agony and he would have got the Donegal player a red or yellow card, and he still would have his free. Instead he stood up to the intimidation and got sent off.

Drummerboy2 (Dublin) - Posts: 36 - 30/08/2011 09:04:32    1022471

once again the usual story of a linesman or umpire getting involved and giving the ref wrong info or only half a story. the correct decision was a yellow card for both players. referees allow far too much of this harrasment of players who are trying to take frees. clearly connolly had the ball in his possesion ready to take the free.

the donegal player came from yards away and shoulder charged him (an offence that incidently Michael Murphy was red-carded for against cavan). If connolly had laid down at that juncture, probbly boyle would have been carded but he chose to stand his ground and push /prod/punch boyle away. it wasn't a clear striking action
as he had the ball in his other hand. he was trying to make room for himself to take the free which he is entitled to do. Boyle should have been yellow carded by the ref before connolly even had a chance to retaliate. look what Taidhg Kennelly got away with against Nicholas Murphy in the 2009 all-ireland final (and even wrote about it in his book) The red card should be recinded. no-one would argue with it. he got enough punishment already by been sent off.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 30/08/2011 09:06:28    1022476

Clondalkin what are you on about?

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/08/2011 09:18:43    1022489

Ulsterman

Says the Ulster hard man... "Traditional treatment" and such.... hahaha... Dublin has Ulster in our pocket! Get used to it... :)

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 30/08/2011 09:47:35    1022510

Question, if a Kerry player had of got sent off against Mayo and got a months suspension we he been able to play in the final.?

No, you have to miss at least one game.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/08/2011 10:05:09    1022529

There is no appeal process and the disciplinary Committee cannot even ask the Ref to review the incident. The only hope that Connolly has is if Ref himself has a rethink and says in his report that on reflection he feels that Connolly did not strike his opponent and the red card was not merited. I agree its highly unlikely that this will happen and its almost definite that the lad will miss the final.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 30/08/2011 10:20:35    1022548

Its time to start preparing for the final against Kerry without Diarmuid Connolly. No doubting his ability but he can be flakey too and Kerry would have figured out that if you keep him quiet for first ten fifteen minutes, he won't bother you for the rest of the game.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 30/08/2011 10:26:20    1022562