Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

hurlingdub

1021868 Breaker - Donegal tried to drag Dublin into the gutter, but like Oscar Wilde (another great Dub) we kept our eyes on the stars while doing the needful

Nicely put hurling Dub. We dare to dream while attending to the profane

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 29/08/2011 16:01:43    1021977

Joxer

Break_er

1021849 Considering the 'treatment' Lacey was getting off the ball it was justice that Connolly was sent off. Unfair on Connolly but such is life.

I presume you agree that the Donegal player that then rushed in and punched Connolly should have been sent off also? At least Connolly didn't hit the ground and roll around like a baby and he having been hit in the head and not the shoulder like Boyle. What's good for the goose and all of that.
____________________________________________________________________________________

Ah now lads this is getting silly. I dont care if you think Kavanagh should be sent off or not but it wasn't worse than what Connolly did.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

The proof is there, Connolly's left fist hits Boyle on the jaw, he then hits him on the shoulder and then in the face again on the way down. Yes Boyle made a meal of it...the first strike could have been painful but his delayed reaction until after he was hit in the shoulder suggests that he realised he had been hit in the face and thought to go down when he was hit the second time. Kavanagh did not then hit Connolly in the face, it was more the throat area. Yes you could give a red for it of course. When you are watching the video pause and hit 7 to see where Kavanagh made contact with him.

Take the blue-tinted glasses off and stop blaming everyone but Connolly

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 29/08/2011 16:07:20    1021985

doublehop

hill16no1man, so do you still think Roley Sweeney should've been sent off for Kildare against Dublin? That was another case of minimal contact resulting in a player going to ground holding his face.

that is my point if there is a rule there why is connally the only one out of the 3 incidents to be sent off sweeney got away with it and hegarty the same amazing how a linesman can see in the space of 15 seconds two doengal men attack a dublin player but yet only pick out the dublin player for any sort of punishment

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 16:12:20    1021989

Break_er

1021959 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

Please point out where Boyle 'punched' Connolly? All I can see is a shoulder and a push to the chest/lower throat? I may have blinked and missed it though.

Who said anything about Boyle? I said the player who rushed in and punched Connolly with two fists on the chin. What's your definition of a punch?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 29/08/2011 16:25:36    1022007

omaghredhand

haha cheers buddy hope you have to collect off paddy power in three weeks time

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 16:29:58    1022014

benjyyy

The proof is there, Connolly's left fist hits Boyle on the jaw, he then hits him on the shoulder and then in the face again on the way down. Yes Boyle made a meal of it...the first strike could have been painful but his delayed reaction until after he was hit in the shoulder suggests that he realised he had been hit in the face and thought to go down when he was hit the second time. Kavanagh did not then hit Connolly in the face, it was more the throat area. Yes you could give a red for it of course. When you are watching the video pause and hit 7 to see where Kavanagh made contact with him.

Take the blue-tinted glasses off and stop blaming everyone but Connolly

I agree Benjyyy. If Break-er is saying that Connolly deserved to go, all I am saying is that so did Kavanagh. Fair play to Connolly for staying on his feet after that as well. Unlike Boyle who went down like a tonne of bricks after a tap to the shoulder, not the fist to the chin. The initial contact was from Boyle anyway who shoulder rushed Connolly. Is that also allowed? Come on take off the green and gold blinkers.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 29/08/2011 16:47:06    1022033

Listen mistakes happen and the referee and linesman got the call wrong.

What should have happened is that the two players should have received a yellow card each, but as i said mistakes happen.

As regards to boyle, there have been bigger men that him to hit the ground for a lot less contact over the years and he wont be the last. Do i like it, NO but its part of the game now.

All this negative talk about Donegal and there tactics, Dublin are in the final and i for one hope they beat Kerry. Donegal are thinking about next year and will hope to improve on the attacking side of things.
And on another note, the banter with most of the dublin support was great and that is one of the reasons i hope they win it.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 29/08/2011 16:50:23    1022036

I've learned over the years not to agree with a Dub benjjj. They ar never wrong and know everything. The amount of whinging from them about this DESERVED red is unreal. I dread to think what they would have been like had they lost the game.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 29/08/2011 16:57:14    1022042

The initial contact was from Boyle anyway who shoulder rushed Connolly. Is that also allowed? Come on take off the green and gold blinkers.

Ah now a bit of shoulder to shoulder stuff....happens at every level of the game. Connolly was well ready for it. Like I said if Kavanagh had got a red I wouldn't have complained. Get over it you're in an All-Ireland final like!!!!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 29/08/2011 17:02:53    1022049

This was not a desreved red much like Murphys against Cavan

Boyle's reaction was disgraceful and indefensible, as it turned out, it didn't affect the outcome

I hope its recinded but i doubt it will be

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 29/08/2011 17:06:50    1022056

Can we talk about Paul Galvin again?? haha

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/08/2011 17:07:50    1022061

the first "strike" was a open hand and the 2nd "strike" was on the shoulder,the 3rd "strike" nothing more than what you would see 2 drunk girls at over some fella. a strike is a strike and its a red card. but it was one of the most hash red cards that i have ever seen. the donegal man who came in too connelly after he done that should have also been made take a early shower. wasnt right,but thats the way it goes i'm afraid. would be class too see him in the final,if he played like he played aginst us,he could destroy the kerry full back line on his own..

FaceThatBall (Tyrone) - Posts: 140 - 29/08/2011 17:22:01    1022085

Definite red card.
If Paul Galvin did that he'd get 7 years hard labour breaking rocks on Spike Island.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 29/08/2011 17:22:42    1022086

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

1022061 Can we talk about Paul Galvin again?? haha

Lol and Ciaran Whelan should get a mention too!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/08/2011 17:34:35    1022105

Thought it was very harsh, merited a yellow, more pushing then punching. I hope its rescinded it would be terrible on the lad to miss out on an All Ireland Final for an incident like that.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 29/08/2011 19:20:29    1022196

omaghredfist oh sorry hand i dont think the dubs need your patronising post i think they have been in alot more finals than you could dream of so know what to expect maybe not recently but however

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 29/08/2011 19:44:23    1022218

Connollys red card may have been harsh, and the donegal player seems to be getting a lot of stick about it. Funny how Bernard Brogan didnt get the same stick when he "engineered" a free against Kildare. It all amounts to cheating and is something that the GAA need to look at

Bobkelso (USA) - Posts: 32 - 29/08/2011 19:50:03    1022230

hope he is allowed to play, dont know what linsman was doing ,the way gaelic is going it willsoon be like basketball where you are not allowed to touch

johndoherty25 (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 29/08/2011 20:05:02    1022248

You raise your hands not once but THREE times you deserve to go for stupidity alone. It doesn't matter if you don't connect, intent is enough. Connolly will not win any appeal, if he does they may as well do away with officials.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 29/08/2011 20:09:51    1022258

hope he is allowed to play, dont know what linsman was doing ,the way gaelic is going it willsoon be like basketball where you are not allowed to touch
johndoherty25 , 29/08/2011 at 20:05

it already is basketball

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 29/08/2011 20:16:11    1022274