Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

Red card offence pure and simple.Connolly could also have seen red for leaving his brain in the dressing room such was the stupidity of his act.He had been awarded the free he should have left it at that.Agree that the Donegal player made a meal of it and should be ashamed of himself but that really has no bearing on it.You cant punch your opponent end of story and you are no use to your team if you get sent off.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/08/2011 14:12:13    1021763

Barnowl94

'.You cant punch your opponent end of story'

You obviously need to watch the incident, Boyle went down holding his face after a PUSH to the shoulder!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/08/2011 14:32:45    1021799

What is happening to these young fellas?

___

Cristiano ronaldo and other cheats in the game of soccer is whats happening to these young fellas.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/08/2011 14:50:45    1021831

Considering the 'treatment' Lacey was getting off the ball it was justice that Connolly was sent off. Unfair on Connolly but such is life.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 29/08/2011 14:58:59    1021849

what some are saying here is

1. he 'over-reacted ' and didn't mean to do it
2. he'll miss an all-ireland final
3. others did much worse
4. donegal man's at fault

at the end of the day the rules have to be implemented weather the person plays u-13 or in an all-ireland semi, without the implementation of rules and consequences, what would we have,

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 29/08/2011 15:07:43    1021865

Breaker - Donegal tried to drag Dublin into the gutter, but like Oscar Wilde (another great Dub) we kept our eyes on the stars while doing the needful.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2011 15:08:55    1021868

I THINK SOMEONE HAS 1 SIDED VIEW AS CLUXTON WAS BARELY LET TAKE A FREE WITH THE AMOUNT OF VERBALS AT HIM WHEN HE WAS PLACING THE BALL

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 15:09:12    1021869

Couple of things:

Connolly struck, amazed at the amount of people who are denying this. Its a sahme he'll miss the final, but it is down to his own stupidity

Secondly, Dublin can be mightily relieved that they finished the first half with 15 men after the sustained assault on Karl Lacey. It was a cynical ploy, but it worked, as the defence wasn't the same after he was taken out of it.

Finally, best of luck to the Dubs in the final, hope youse win it

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 29/08/2011 15:15:07    1021889

but cuchalinn if the rules were implemented correctly should the donegal player hegarty not have been sent off too as he did the same thing or do you have to fall on the ground for somebody to be sent off?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 15:21:01    1021901

Could have sworn I already posted in here.

Everyone is entitled to a hearing so the article posted from the examiner further up is incorrect. The procedure is as follows:

The CCCC receive the ref's report
They impose a suspension (or not)
The player suspended always has the right to seek a hearing or to accept his suspension
If he seeks a hearing, the hearings committee hears it and they decide to uphold it or rescind it.

Cilldara_2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 57 - 29/08/2011 15:21:31    1021903

@ PP Local

How would justice prevail if Connolly plays in the final? Surely justice is when someone who breaks the rules is punished for it, is it not?

PJ

I watched live, I watched the Sunday game and have watched it 4 times on You Tube. Connolly initially struck with two closed fists to the jaw area and then with closed fist pushed/punched in the throat area and was in the midst of having a third go when the player was on his way down. Is a punch not a push with a closed fist?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 29/08/2011 15:22:58    1021908

hill16no1man, so do you still think Roley Sweeney should've been sent off for Kildare against Dublin? That was another case of minimal contact resulting in a player going to ground holding his face.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 29/08/2011 15:23:46    1021910

RenardRedHand

1020794 Am I right in saying you cant get a straight red downgraded to a yellow . It's either a red or no card
-------------------------------------------------------------------
You are correct. As there was an intend to strike it is a red card. It's a soft one and he hit the Donegal player in the neck who then goes down clenching his face and 3 Donegal men impromptu start pushing Connolly but it still a punch/strike so there's no way the CCCC can stop the red card.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 29/08/2011 15:23:53    1021911

I was reading an article where it said according to the new rules Connolly
cannot appeal red card ref made his decision on the day case closed is this
the case

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 29/08/2011 15:24:41    1021913

omaghredhand

@ PP Local

How would justice prevail if Connolly plays in the final? Surely justice is when someone who breaks the rules is punished for it, is it not?

PJ

I watched live, I watched the Sunday game and have watched it 4 times on You Tube. Connolly initially struck with two closed fists to the jaw area and then with closed fist pushed/punched in the throat area and was in the midst of having a third go when the player was on his way down. Is a punch not a push with a closed fist?

but did hegarty not do the same thing to connally after the other guy fell like a tonne of bricks?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 15:26:50    1021918

Break_er

1021849 Considering the 'treatment' Lacey was getting off the ball it was justice that Connolly was sent off. Unfair on Connolly but such is life.

I presume you agree that the Donegal player that then rushed in and punched Connolly should have been sent off also? At least Connolly didn't hit the ground and roll around like a baby and he having been hit in the head and not the shoulder like Boyle. What's good for the goose and all of that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 29/08/2011 15:40:28    1021940

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

Please point out where Boyle 'punched' Connolly? All I can see is a shoulder and a push to the chest/lower throat? I may have blinked and missed it though.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 29/08/2011 15:51:34    1021959

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

He shouldn't have been sent off, it was the pathetic "tough" man from Donegal diving that caused it. IF YOU HAVE A LOOK AT THE LINK HERE, provided by an earlier post you'll see just after the push to the face by connelly that a Donegal fella comes in and does the exact same offence to connelly except he stayed on his feet. The red card can't be recinded but the Donegal pathetic diver should serve a year long ban.

It actually appears to me that the diver's hands were very high on connelly too except connelly is honest...Actually the Donegal team should be excluded from the all ireland next year, that might get the cheats to rethink tactics!!

TIME TO STAMP OUT DIVING

changingtosligo (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 29/08/2011 15:55:45    1021966

Hillman,

If you read my initial post you will see that I stated that the Donegal man should also have been sent off. I note your previous posts regards Ger Brennan. I can't agree that the man attempted to gouge his eye or made a deliberate attempt to strike but it was slightly high and deserved a yellow card. I do feel Cahill should have walked in the first half for his aggressive frontal charge on Lacey especially as Lacey was in no position to defend himself. However as I also stated previously, Dublin had the character or "balls" if you wish to really go for it after the sending off and fully merited the victory. They will provide I feel a better game against Kerry than Donegal and do have a fighting chance of winning. As I told you on Friday I backed the Jacks at the start of the year and will be the beneficiary of a nice few pound if Dublin win. Enjoy the build up to the final, there is nothing quite like it, except maybe the week or two after it if you win :)

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 29/08/2011 15:56:38    1021968

And Joxer, I would agree that the Donegal player should have been sent off as well. Striking is striking.

How tough a place is Dublin in the recession where a guy getting hit not once, not twice but three times is considered a gentle push?? I'd hate to see what a "shamozzle" would look like!

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 29/08/2011 15:59:28    1021973