Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

Lily, i think your misunderstanding my point... I'm all for the physical game, big hits, getting in peoples faces, but i do draw a line. Believe me, i do play and only for the physical aspect of the game, i wouldn't be an effective player, and i do get in the odd scuffle now and then. Go way beyond what happened on the pitch my friend, picture yourself going in front of the CHC or whatever they are and argue that you didn't strike out!!! That must have been some presentation!! Thats what i can't get over, on pitch antics out of the equation... Anyone who's tried to get a ban over turned and failed will feel a bit agrieved although nobody would begrudge any man an all Ireland final!!!

81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 08/09/2011 15:39:51    1029953

"just more of your typical favouritism towards the dubs- connolly striked an opponent and also attempted to strike an opponent- both red card offences both clear as day. it just shows the typical favouritism towards the dubs- how many tickets are the kerry county board gonna get- they would doseriously well to get 10k as the rampant favouritism towards the dubs is becoming actually a farce at this stage. but anyways the dubs will be on a hammering similiar to 1978 and i will walk away with a nice few grand of dublin supporters money like i do every year :) I cant wait, ive 8 tickets guarnteed from suppliers and i will be putting them all on ebay as i believe in a recession this is the fairest way to distribute the tickets seen as they are so cheap at face value- the gaa really would want to get its house in order- a hill ticket for the final should be 200 euro and stand tickets then should range up to 400.

Anyways, after yet more disgraceful favouritism, and the arrogance of the dublin county board in thinking that they somehow are above the rules in appealing just make me think- the sweetness of this cummupance will be equal to 06 semi final, dublin luck has finally ran out, they have avoided any decent team until now, 10-15 point hammering with kerry out of reach by half time. i hope the gardai are ready for the trouble makers after this hammering when they go on the rampage"

Yawn, the return of the voyeur, should you not be on your way to NewZealand with the goys?

Kenjg80 (Dublin) - Posts: 228 - 08/09/2011 15:50:03    1029963

Jaysus Ball boy even for you... that has to go down as one of the best rants I've ever seen on this site

and thats saying something.....

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/09/2011 15:52:53    1029967

Hey listen, the GAA will do what they're told by Dublin and rightly so!

Dublin pull the strings and these puppets dance to our tune! (HQ, CCCC, CHC, ha ha ha was a gas craic, we will do as we please!!).

The GAA are afraid of their lives of us and what we have the power to do if we ever get the hump with them!
Remember when Dublin V Tyrone open the league under lights in Croker?? There were a lot of people in Dublin suggested a boycott of the game due to the fact that Sean Kelly had slapped the Dubs with one hand suggesting pubs close early to get us into croker on time (eh yeah right lad, since when did you become a district judge or dictate to publicans their business habits) and yet then he begged us to come to croker an fill it for him under lights??!!
Only for Kelly quickly adjusted his position and began to laud us as the only supporters capable of filling croker under lights and making a great spectacle of the occasion, that could have been a right slap in the gob for the association from the Dubs who will not be dictated to!

The GAA knows that Dublin is its overlord and 'Paymaster General' and that it will do whatever we tell it to, because if it doesnt, then some day its gonna pay dearly for it where it hurts the GAA most!......in its pocket!.....that we keep full of money for it!

Where Dublin leads, Ireland follows!.....and the country will always look to the people of its capital to be the ones with the courage just like they have all through Irish history and we deliver every time!
.........Just look at the thread on the Hill16 barriers, already people throughout the country are looking to us to be the ones to consign them to the history books and smash the things!!.........(They wont do it themselves, rather look to the Dubs to do it for them)!!

Connolly got off!
Of course he did, let alone the unmanly conduct of the donegal man, A DCB official went into that CHC hearing, stood before the suits and said to them "now listen here, Mr Connolly is going to walk in here and immediately you are going to tell him that the red is overturned, because we are Dublin and ye are just the GAA!"...OK!!!
.....and thats what happened!!

The GAA, reminds me of the scene in 'Sgt Bilko' when the Commanding Officer is retiring and he comes up to Bilko (the real master) and shakes his hand and says: "Thanks for letting me believe I was in charge all these years!!"

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/09/2011 16:11:35    1029983

I don't agree with the people on here saying Marty Boyle should be ashamed of himself. He made a decision in the heat of the moment and that's it. He's not the first person to go down easy and he won't be the last. Anyway, players are told nowaday that if you get hit, go down. Unfortunately, it's now part of the game.

numbers1_15 (Donegal) - Posts: 62 - 08/09/2011 16:11:54    1029985

Snuff .. Brilliant .. Absolutly brilliant my friend

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/09/2011 16:21:34    1030001

81DLSAM - I can easily see how Connolly went in front of the CHC and presented a reasonable arguement. Any sane individual, even those who sit on the CHC, can see that what Connolly did was not a serious striking offence. It was a scuffle the like that you would see at a local minor match. They must also have considered that Connolly was also struck in the head/neck region TWICE, once by Boyle and then again after Boyle Drogba's impression, yet Connolly managed to stay on his feet. I know if I was sitting on the CHC, I'd realise, correctly, that Connolly received the same treatment that he dished out during that incident, yet only one party, in this case Connolly, was being punished. And the only reason being that Boyle dropped as if shot by a sniper, and Connolly just stood his ground. In reality, nobody should have been punished in the first place. I feel justice has been done.

But I do agree with you in regards to other player's who have failed to have their ban's overturned feeling aggrieved. Meath's Brian Farrell being a case in point. Some consistency is needed from the GAA. But this decision, taken in isolation, is correct.

LilyDownUnder (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 08/09/2011 16:29:29    1030009

Leke I said before waynol, as a Dublin man there is no use taking a balanced view on things because it will always be a case of 'give a dog a bad name' and all that!

I abandoned balanced views back in 2001 in favour of 'telling it like it is' in every single post!!
So as I also said before "ye might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb".....so dont hold back me oul mucker, cos yer gonna be hung either way!!
There are ones on here who have the typical schleveen 'speak out of both sides of yer mouth' mullahs trait, smile on one side and grit their teeth on the other side at ya!
To quote two of my favourite lines from macbeth, that I always associate with schleveen culchies:
"...but one can smile and smile and be a villan!"
"...the false face doth hide, what the false heart doth know!"
Shakesphere was absolute class at summing up country folk!!

Along with 'telling it like it is' what also gets on some of the more linguistically challenged peoples wick is my superior Dublin education, mastery of the written word (no wonder Dublin is a UNESCO world heritage city) and my Trinity mouth! Some people ask me why I sign off all my posts and that it annoys them!......methinks I can spot the ones with the hedge school education very easily then!!!.....they just have no class!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/09/2011 16:38:32    1030022

Snuf , I think your absolutly spot on . I prefer to be balanced with other balanced fans wether they wear blue and navy , Red and Black , Green and Yellow , Green and Red .... But I always get a bit of a laugh when people do come on here and speak badly of Dublin , Because i do believe honestly that most intelligent Dublin fans here , Dont rise and fight back. We have the ability to actually agree and cause a stir , And in fact when its country folk throwing us the bait , we simply pick it up , throw it back in their direction , And they foolishly are the ones that get "caught" shall we say

So instead of winding us up , We have the ability to turn it back on them , which annoys and frustrates them more cause we rarely fall for it. I Think alot of people like ballboy there thinks he is really annoying and upsetting dubs here with his posts , Frankly i find him very entertaining and its funny to hear peoples obsession with the greatest city in the world.

Anyone , especially those manly fans in green and yellow just north of Dublin who say they want Dublin to win sam for leinster are lying !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/09/2011 16:54:58    1030036

Very funny Snuffy. And to think we have 10 more days of this my friend! :D

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 08/09/2011 17:00:22    1030039

Just look at poor ballboy

That poor fella tries so hard to annoy us and provoke us and very rarely does he succeed in his attempts.

Like Tom the cat in Tom and Jerry.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/09/2011 17:05:08    1030043

waynol,

Welcome to my world!....a world of enlightenment!!

You have got it spot on lad!.....absolutely spot on!.....its like I wrote the words myself!!!

Only the weak rise, the enlightened, pick up the ball and run in the same direction as the instigator!!......confuses the hell outta them and provides the wiley Dub with endless ours of craic watching them get all flustered!
A single 'one liner' reply from Snuffy is all it takes to see some mullah foaming at the mouth and lose a days work replying to me while I sit back giggling!!.....but that said, my one line comments always 'tell it like it is'!!!!!!!!

On a serious note, my fingers get sore from juggling all the puppets I have on here!!!

......The fun I have!!!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/09/2011 17:17:33    1030063

Ah Snuff your a gas man you really are.

And its funnier that so many people take everything you say so seriously.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/09/2011 17:26:05    1030083

waynol,

Thats why I have always had a good relationship with ball (hyphen) boy on here all down through the years where others get so flustered with him!!

.....He might would probably agree that him and I have one thing in common......................'we realise that this is the internet'!!!!!!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/09/2011 17:33:15    1030095

Ballboy ive 8 tickets guarnteed from suppliers and i will be putting them all on ebay as i believe in a recession this is the fairest way to distribute the tickets seen as they are so cheap at face value-

Good and fair but i suggest you have a very high reserve as i wouldnt like to see any unemployed folks spending their dole on tickets when the money should be spent on food, soap, coal etc...

so long as its sufficiently high they shouldnt be able to cobble enough together (given the price of players and dutch muck these days)

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 08/09/2011 17:37:48    1030098

yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn think its about time this thred was closed

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 08/09/2011 17:54:30    1030112

After reading all the masterful insight and mystique posted by some of the 'in love with thy self fest minded' Dub supporters, it makes me kind of but not really, wish I too was a Dub. Should I have Dubbed the sentiment of that remark ? Ye are a cute shower of bucks, ye make the Kingdom boys appear meek in comparison! C'mon the 18th!!!

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 08/09/2011 18:04:33    1030120

I agree dellboydub,

Its time this thread was left to fall off the page!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/09/2011 10:21:57    1030391

Snuf- youhit the nail on the head, people get flustered with people like us but as i always have said around here, what do these posters expects when as lightweight they take on heavy weight like ourselves :D

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 10:49:59    1030409