CapitalGains (Dublin) - Posts: 40 - 08/09/2011 10:28:33
Good first post Lily.
Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 08/09/2011 10:37:04
LilyDownUnder County: Kildare Posts: 1
1029652 I'm a long time reader of these boards and I've finally decided to sign up and give my opinion. Firstly I'm disgusted with people on here declaring that Connolly "deserved to go" and it was a sending off offence. This kind of thing happens up and down the country every week and no red cards are shown for it. Its a physical sport, emotions sometimes run high, all it was was a bit of handbags, which incidentally was started by the Donegal man. And to hear people say that "Connolly raised his hands, he had to go, the reaction of the Donegal man has no bearing on the matter"...What a load of Bull!! If the Donegal man hadn't fallen like he'd been hit by Tyson, nothing would have been made of the incident. Simple as. Connolly, like a good honest sportsman, didn't dive like a fool when he was hit with much more force following the initial incident. And people here declaring that he threw 3/4 "punches", come off it!! If you think they're punches you wouldn't last 2 minutes on a Gaelic Football field!! I'm delighted he got off, the final will be a better spectacle with him playing.
100 per cent correct!!!
PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 08/09/2011 10:39:34
Well said lily,
Cant beat a man who 'tells it like it is'!!......Me and you are going to get on famously!.....welcome to the board!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/09/2011 10:59:56
Good man lily :) Not bad for a flourbag :)
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/09/2011 11:04:53
Great post lily.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/09/2011 11:47:30
Great first post Lily, whatever, if indeed its not just another alias. I agree with most of what your saying, rite, but take the same incident, not connolly, dublin, boyle, donegal, nor all ireland semi final.. The rules are simple, strike out and your gone, if your seen and you did elude to it that boyles reaction made the decision easier... Off course it happens up and down the country, at every level but there's a time and place to do it, and all ireland semi is not the best time... Just answer me this, considering it's generally accepted that yes he did strike out and going by the letter of the law, he should be suspended, how can croke park justifably overturn the decision, thats what is making this an issue as such for me....
81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 08/09/2011 12:12:15
Jesus Wept. Its not about how good the punch was - the rule is there for a strike or attempted strike. The fact was his attempts to stike were feeble but because hes a bit girly with his punches doesn't mean he should get a get out of jail free card.
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/09/2011 12:18:38
Bloody hell... this thread was over and done on Tuesday morning...
The top brass has spoken lads - the proprietors of the very rule book that you are pointing at... I've yet to see one former/current player that doesn't agree with Connolly having his card taken back off him.
Even the Donegal man in question - apparently wrote a letter saying as much! So really… I mean who are yiz trying to convince here?
It's a non story... and it's not a new story either…
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/09/2011 12:39:21
offside rule
do you go to matches with a rule book and weigh up every encounter with regard to that book? Ambiguity, playing on the edge and sportsmanship are part of our games it's not a game for pedants like you but for fair minded passionate souls who like to see the best 15s playing each other. Unfortunately your type held sway for the past few years and banned our best players for sod all and you were all as happy as pigs in ***te. But normal service seems to have been restored and cheats falling over to get others sent off are being exposed as such. I applaud the decision to reinstate Connolly and look forward to an improved all ireland spectacle as a result.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/09/2011 12:41:01
Well sorry ochonlir. Sorry that I'm questioning the application of the rules of the games. Sorry that I'm questioning the ability to enforce such rules which we all had to abide to when playing. Sorry for being of the opinion that I'd like to see everyone treated the same and getting the same punishment and not having special treatment for certain high profile teams/players. Sorry for the fact that you feel then need to judge me without knowing a thing about me. But since we're getting personal here, maybe its people like you that contribute to the problem i.e. ach, sure its Johnny Superplayer so we'll turn a blind eye.
You say playing on the edge is part of the game and I fully agree with that. However, playing on the edge within the rules of the game is completly different to doing things which are outside the rules. Many people on here have come out with "Its a mans game" and the likes. Well, let me put it another way. If you're stupid enough to do something which is in violation of the rules and get caught then you should be man enough to accept the punishment instead of going crying looking for a reprieve. I missed our county U-21 final years ago because I was sent off in the semi-final for hitting an opponent. Did I go looking for the decision to be overturned? No, I accepted that I was stupid for retaliating and learned my lesson having missed one of the biggest games of my playing career - something that I still regret to this day.
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/09/2011 13:25:26
Correct decision. The inconsistency of the CCC in repealing Connolly's decision and not Brian Farrel's is another issue worthy of discussion, but much more important is the dismal fact that the tough, hard, but ultimately honest culture of sportsmanship that used to be prevalent in Gaelic Football has gone. For ten years now it has become acceptable for players to feign injury and pretend that they were the victims of an off-the-ball incident, in an attempt to get an opponent sent off. The despicable cynicism and cowardice that defines the sporting ethics of professional soccer has now become a seemingly acceptable and accepted part of Gaelic football.
Not so in hurling, where honesty and integrity, are largely intact, and the fair shoulder charge remains a valued and integral part of the game. I will never forget how Tommy Walsh, having been felled by an outrageous and wreckless blow to the back of the head and neck by Benny Dunne in the 2009 hurling final, jumped to his feet and ran around in order to make it clear to the referee that he was okay and that he did not want Dunne sent off. Dunne rightly got his marching orders, but the sportsmanship of Walsh should never be forgotten.
It puts the latter day Premiership culture of Gaelic football to shame.
Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 08/09/2011 13:37:44
look, i think people are missing the main point altogether, nobody really wants to see Connolly miss the final and he's not going to now!! Thats accepted.. Its how CHC could overturn what can only be described as a strike. I can see several cases being put forward next year and being turned down flat, and then we'll hear sour grapes and this incident will be cited as the hallmark to be judged upon!!! Time will tell....
81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 08/09/2011 13:40:48
By the laws of the game , A strike (Open handed , a slap , a closed fist , Etc etc.) IS a sending off offence.
I think we can all agree that that is what the rule book states , Yes ?
However , The rule book on this is absolutley moronic to say the least. Absolutly send a player off if he turns around and completely unprovoked , Decides to upend someone with an uppercut. Of corse a red card and common sense should prevail in said situation
However , a little bit of handbags and a bit of a tit for tat is not a sending off offence. I do think Diarmuid was very very foolish in the situation because (i) He didn't need to get involved and (ii) He knows the rules (well he should) and he would have known that if the referee sees it or his linesmen or umpires etc , That he could run the risk of being sent off , However i suppose i can make an excuse in that It was a spur of the moment (or heat of the moment if you like) and he did lash out.
Marty Boyles reaction to it is not important , While its poor sportsmanship , Unfortunatetly there is no offence in the rule book which says feigning an injury is a red card offence. At the end of the day. Common sense has prevailed
But it does open a big can of worms here. The rule needs to be looked at..
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/09/2011 13:58:50
Well I wasn't expecting such a positive response to my first post!! Cheers for the welcome to the board anyway!!
81DLSAM - First things first, this is not just another Alias. Please don't be so paranoid. I am a kildare man and have no bias towards any other county other than my own. In regards to the Connolly decision being overturned, for once common sense has prevailed in Croke Park. Its not all about this famous "letter of the law" that people keep refering to. If we were to go by the letter of the law in GAA there would multiple sending off's in every game. Take last weeks Hurling All Ireland Final, if we were to go by the letter of the law then 3 or 4 players could have been sent off. That was sport the way it should be played, belts were being given and taken, lads were flying into tackles, there were some minor confrontation similar to the Connolly incident, yet as I said before, the officials simply applied a bit of common sense and no needless yellow or red cards were handed out. Which brings me to my next point, if any of those Kilkenny or Tipperary players (or the referee for that matter!!) had the same mentality in regards to diving and feigning injury as Donegal's Marty Boyle did, then that game and many others would be reduced to a farce. Marty Boyle should be ashamed of his actions.
And finally 81DLSAM, put a Donegal player in Connolly's position. Would you feel the same way? I seriously doubt it. Far too many posters on these boards let their anti-Dublin bias cloud their opinion. No player from any county would have deserved to have been sent off for the "offence" commited by Connolly. Wheter he be from Dublin, Donegal, Kildare or any county. It just wasn't the right call and it's a wise decision to overturn it. And before people start thinking I'm a closet Dublin fan, I'm not!! Im just looking at this incident from a neutral point of view, like everybody should. In saying that I will be cheering on my neighbours come Sunday week!!
LilyDownUnder (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 08/09/2011 14:27:56
Offside, so you gat banned for a final, and now you want others to suffer too and you are using HS to vent. Thats cool its just another use for these forums.
Diarmud got involved, stupidly, i agree, but to ban him from the biggest game of his career, because some playactor did an impression of the dying swan, would have been scandalous.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/09/2011 14:28:20
I think it is time we got recent ex players to be on a disciplinary committee. Who sit on on maybe the Tuesday after each Championship weekend and hand out the suspensions.
Most of the GAA rules were being up of stubborn white haired men and need to be worked on. What we need is a where punishment fit the crimes.
We are amateur players and the training is too much to warrant match banns for a little touch of a face with a hand.
woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 08/09/2011 14:39:10
ochonlir County: Cavan
Offside, so you gat banned for a final, and now you want others to suffer too and you are using HS to vent. Thats cool its just another use for these forums.
lol - not at all ochonlir. I'm merely mentioning it as its a personal experience very relevant to this debate. I'm not venting anything and although its a regret I have I accepted it from the moment I headed for the sideline during that game. Most right thinking people on here realise what the issue is and aren't trying to twist it round trying to blame everyone but those who took the decision to rescind the red card.
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/09/2011 15:01:45
just more of your typical favouritism towards the dubs- connolly striked an opponent and also attempted to strike an opponent- both red card offences both clear as day. it just shows the typical favouritism towards the dubs- how many tickets are the kerry county board gonna get- they would doseriously well to get 10k as the rampant favouritism towards the dubs is becoming actually a farce at this stage. but anyways the dubs will be on a hammering similiar to 1978 and i will walk away with a nice few grand of dublin supporters money like i do every year :) I cant wait, ive 8 tickets guarnteed from suppliers and i will be putting them all on ebay as i believe in a recession this is the fairest way to distribute the tickets seen as they are so cheap at face value- the gaa really would want to get its house in order- a hill ticket for the final should be 200 euro and stand tickets then should range up to 400.
Anyways, after yet more disgraceful favouritism, and the arrogance of the dublin county board in thinking that they somehow are above the rules in appealing just make me think- the sweetness of this cummupance will be equal to 06 semi final, dublin luck has finally ran out, they have avoided any decent team until now, 10-15 point hammering with kerry out of reach by half time. i hope the gardai are ready for the trouble makers after this hammering when they go on the rampage
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 08/09/2011 15:27:38
PJ County: All Posts: 2116
Where's Gigeor when you need him/her to point the finger at the whingers... or does that aul finger only come out when it's pointing at the Dubs?
Oh PJ, you're gas. Where are you going with this little misguided vendetta of yours?
Obviously, the Connolly red card was a divided issue & I like many others, including some Dubs, thought it was deserved & should not have been rescinded but the decision was made anyway so that's that.
If you bother to look, you'll see I've wished Dublin well many times on this forum and hope they win the AI as Kerry have enough and it would be great if Dublin were to finally make it over the line.
And yet here you are hilariously trying to paint me up as anti-Dub to everyone. You should know it's really amusing to read.
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/09/2011 15:33:59