Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

For all those being critical of Boyle, it was gamesmanship and any player that tells me they wouldn't do the same to help their team progress is not fooling me. The fact that Boyle wrote a letter to the CHC outlining his backing of the red card to be overturned and let Connolly play speaks a lot about the fella - fair play Marty Boyle.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 07/09/2011 13:22:02    1029077

The precedent was set when Donncha O'Connors red was revoked v Aidan O'Mahony in 08 which everybody is forgetting about. Also Michael Murphy benefited this year as did Clerkin. It's not just reserved for Dublin. Brian Farrells card should most definitely have been revoked IMO. Softest red ever.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2011 13:26:00    1029084

It's gas... and us Dubs we're accused of whinging... dry your eyes lads. ;) Build a build etc etc...

Where's Gigeor when you need him/her to point the finger at the whingers... or does that aul finger only come out when it's pointing at the Dubs?

Hmmm

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 07/09/2011 13:39:20    1029095

"Gamesmanship"......a soft word for 'unmanliness' in this instance!!!....and quite embarrassing!!

That said, if it is true that he wrote a letter, not just stating that Connolly should get off (because anyone could do that) but wrote a letter stating that Connolly should get off the red because it was unwarranted and caused by his dramatic antics then I have a rekindled respect for him!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 07/09/2011 13:43:57    1029102

Well jackeen, maybe the president was set by O Connor, but you have to admit that was an absolute joke if ever there was one.. O Mahony brought the game into complete disreput. I dont believe that was a stricking action at all either. And your rite we benifited from it earlier also but again completely different because it certainly wasn't a stricking action.. Answer this, if you strike out at anyone on a pitch, face or not, is it a sending off????

81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 07/09/2011 13:48:30    1029106

I dont want to see any player miss AL final i would just ask the Dubs on here what there opinions were when a Kerry lad was sent off.....
You boys were screaming from the rooftops!!
Let the lad play in the All Ireland final infact ye can bring back Heffo's men it wont rattle us....

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 07/09/2011 14:01:28    1029123

The fact that Boyle wrote a letter to the CHC outlining his backing of the red card to be overturned
Any source on that Tir Chonaill? If true then fair play to him, gives him a huge reprieve

As for those of you suggesting that the reason he got off was because he comes from Dublin - thats absolutely spot on but it doesn't end there. If you're from Dublin it depends on what side of the liffey you live on - (northsiders are always treated favorably), then which part of the northside you live on, then which estate, then the road you live on, then the number of the house/apartment and then which room you sleep in.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 07/09/2011 14:12:19    1029132

If a Kerry lad was sent off in the semi, it would not matter as the 4 week ban would have been up in time for the final....

Kevins_man (Dublin) - Posts: 56 - 07/09/2011 14:22:38    1029139

JinxyPoop
County: UK

Where's Gigeor when you need him/her to point the finger at the whingers... or does that aul finger only come out when it's pointing at the Dubs?

Yes it does Jimbo, well spotted there lad!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 07/09/2011 14:50:33    1029159

I'm not arguing that he struck Boyle at all and yes he did strike so going by the strict code of practice it should have been upheld. My argument is that it's not cos he's
From Dublin that he got off. IMO he's lucky he did.
Donncha O'Connor did strike but this is the reason he got off. I dunno if Connolly got off for the same reason.

Rule 146 (cc)
"(cc) Subject to the Rules of Evidence above, the Hearings
Committee may make a finding that the facts proved
disclose an Infraction, but one less serious than that
alleged in the Notice of Disciplinary Action, and may
make a decision accordingly."

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2011 14:52:10    1029160

If there was a letter - then hats off to Boyle.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 07/09/2011 14:55:56    1029164

westkerry

I dont want to see any player miss AL final i would just ask the Dubs on here what there opinions were when a Kerry lad was sent off.....
You boys were screaming from the rooftops!!
Let the lad play in the All Ireland final infact ye can bring back Heffo's men it wont rattle us....

Anybody that knows me on this forum ( in as much as ye can know someone on an Internet forum) know that i love Paul Galvin. I always stick up for him when I feel he is being picked on cos of his reputation like in the mayo game.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2011 14:58:49    1029166

lilywhitemagic

Ditto dubbydave never heard of it before, Id say many players will also bring forward video footage/evidence to help with their case now.

well lad if its a genuine case and you have the evidence by all means,id say we will see more of this next year as i said if its genuine case and it helps in the appeal cant see what the harm is only time will tell if it will have a knock on effect....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 07/09/2011 15:05:16    1029176

---

Lads,
Doesn't matter where the guy came from - the card should have stood. End of.

In fact, if Galvin had done it I'd say throw the book at him for being so stupid as to take the bait. Connolly was stupid to get involved, so lets hope he's just as silly on All-Ireland final day

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 07/09/2011 15:07:27    1029178

If he wrote a letter then respect from me. But I havnt heard or read anything to suggest he did wrote one? Can this be proved or is it just hearsay ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/09/2011 15:14:51    1029186

The precedent was set when Donncha O'Connors red was revoked v Aidan O'Mahony in 08 which everybody is forgetting about. Also Michael Murphy benefited this year as did Clerkin. It's not just reserved for Dublin. Brian Farrells card should most definitely have been revoked IMO. Softest red ever.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2011 17:09:44    1029321

Kevins_man

If a Kerry lad was sent off in the semi, it would not matter as the 4 week ban would have been up in time for the final....

I'm not sure if in that situation the player would have been able to play Kevins Man. I would have thought a 4 week suspension meant just that but according to the rules you miss the next game in the competition which you're sent off in even if it falls outside the 4 week time period. Is this correct or am I reading it wrong?

Rule 7.2 - Infractions, Official Guide, Part 1.
As a guide, the suspensions, in part, are outlined
below:
Category II
Minimum: 4 weeks Suspension in the same Code and
at the same Level, inclusive of the next Game in the
same Competition of that Competition Year, even if
that Game falls outside the Suspension time period.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 07/09/2011 20:51:32    1029527

it was a red card offence but I'm glad it was over turned decent lad and didn't deserve to miss the biggest game in football because of that.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 07/09/2011 21:06:22    1029557

I'm a long time reader of these boards and I've finally decided to sign up and give my opinion. Firstly I'm disgusted with people on here declaring that Connolly "deserved to go" and it was a sending off offence. This kind of thing happens up and down the country every week and no red cards are shown for it. Its a physical sport, emotions sometimes run high, all it was was a bit of handbags, which incidentally was started by the Donegal man. And to hear people say that "Connolly raised his hands, he had to go, the reaction of the Donegal man has no bearing on the matter"...What a load of Bull!! If the Donegal man hadn't fallen like he'd been hit by Tyson, nothing would have been made of the incident. Simple as. Connolly, like a good honest sportsman, didn't dive like a fool when he was hit with much more force following the initial incident. And people here declaring that he threw 3/4 "punches", come off it!! If you think they're punches you wouldn't last 2 minutes on a Gaelic Football field!! I'm delighted he got off, the final will be a better spectacle with him playing.

LilyDownUnder (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 08/09/2011 09:00:50    1029652

Good opening post LilyDownUnder, we need more common sense on these boards.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 08/09/2011 10:23:27    1029685