Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

I didn't read yet why actually the red card was rescinded so if the rumours are true that it was a cock up by the referee then Connolly deserves to get off. Its about time the GAA trained their referees to at least apply the proper porcedures during the game. They have no one else to blame but themselves. However if its for any other reason it would only enforce what I've thought all year.

Kerry posters have no right to moan about red cards being rescinded. I recall Dara O Se getting a red in a club game several years ago and it magically turned to a yellow a few days later.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 06/09/2011 14:33:34    1028353

It was always going to be over turned once its DUBLIN , but hopefully it will make no difference , they dont have the standard of players kerry have , Kerry to win by 5

nemo1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 48 - 06/09/2011 14:33:44    1028354

waynoI

1028343 Fact is , connolly raised his hands , The referee made a decision based on the advice of his linesman and thats the way it should have stayed. Luckily he got off and while i am delighted for him that he wont miss the final , I would have been very very angry if it had of been Gooch Cooper who got a red in the semi and was then allowed to play
If Goochie would have done the same I would also believe the card should have stayed because the rules are clear. I think though that with clear diving like that there's no need for any card at all as there's no way we can tell how serious the high push was.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 06/09/2011 14:38:02    1028363

It was always going to be over turned once its DUBLIN , but hopefully it will make no difference , they dont have the standard of players kerry have , Kerry to win by 5

It will make a massive Difference , Dublin by 10+ ;-)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 06/09/2011 14:40:48    1028369

The referee and linesman completely undermined themselves:
They never took the guys name - lord god!!
They missed the Donegal players "strike" - a red card if you feel Connolly deserved one
They never punished the blatant play acting with a yellow as required by the rules.

They certainly made a complete horlicks of the whole incident and have only themselves to blame.

Anyway justice is served - or not, looking forward to the final already.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 06/09/2011 14:41:02    1028370

I think he did commit an offence but it was handbags stuff and the incident as it was shown was borderline red.
The fact though is that Boyle dived and that should be a red card just like I will admit O'Mahony dived and should have gotten a red card in Noelie-gate.
If Goochie would have done the same I would also believe the card should have stayed because the rules are clear. I think though that with clear diving like that there's no need for any card at all as there's no way we can tell how serious the high push was.

______

Yes im not denying that , Definitely an offence there. It was handbags as you say and pathetic really that stuff like that is a red card offence , However , It is , and it should have stood

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 06/09/2011 14:43:38    1028377

sedico

Kerry posters have no right to moan about red cards being rescinded. I recall Dara O Se getting a red in a club game several years ago and it magically turned to a yellow a few days later.
Hardly magic....The ref agreed he did not see the accident clearly and this was before the rule came in that it is either a red card or no card. So hence the card was downgraded. Hardly magic though. But even then I would not have complained if it was a fair red card.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 06/09/2011 14:45:09    1028379

arock

1028370 The referee and linesman completely undermined themselves:
They never took the guys name - lord god!!
They missed the Donegal players "strike" - a red card if you feel Connolly deserved one
They never punished the blatant play acting with a yellow as required by the rules.

They certainly made a complete horlicks of the whole incident and have only themselves to blame.

Anyway justice is served - or not, looking forward to the final already.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 06/09/2011 14:46:31    1028381

1028379 sedico

Hardly magic....The ref agreed he did not see the accident clearly and this was before the rule came in that it is either a red card or no card. So hence the card was downgraded. Hardly magic though. But even then I would not have complained if it was a fair red card.
06/09/2011 14:46:31

The referee agreed with who? The Kerry Co Board? The Kerry manager? The baying mob outside his front door?

Come on now lets be realistic here. I'm sure the powers that be had a word with the ref to 'not have seen the incident clearly'. It was cute hoorism at its best.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 06/09/2011 15:09:33    1028417

nemo1
County: Monaghan

NO county has the players that Kerry have. Also, your own Dick Clerkin benefited from an overturned red himself so I wouldnt be so quick to assume just the Dubs get all the decisions.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2011 15:17:08    1028426

Ah well, not a big surprise really; GAA justice is inconsistent-poor old ref got some pressure on him.....was Frank Murphy up there too;-)......anyway I am glad that Connonlly got off-in practice it was a silly red card; he was only reacting and Mr Gavin wouldn't have noesed his way into it. I am also glad cos we don't want any excuses afterwards.........bring it on!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 06/09/2011 15:24:46    1028431

that a boy dermo
whats odds on him to be the first goalscorer now and dublin to win by that goal and then at least ye would have something to complain about haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/09/2011 15:35:31    1028442

The OFFICIAL reason for rescinding the red card!

HC explain reason for Connolly's clearance
06 September 2011

The GAA's Central Hearing Committee decided to clear Diarmuid Connolly on the basis that the offence he committed was not serious enough to warrant a four week suspension.

The St Vincent's man struck out at Donegal substitute Marty Boyle and was issued with a straight red card as a result.

The CCCC recommended a four week suspension after match referee Maurice Deegan reported the player for 'striking with the hand.' That ban would have ruled the full forward out of his county's first All-Ireland SFC final appearance in 16-years.

Dublin county board presented video evidence which they argued showed the incident was not a stiking action.

The CHC agreed and a Croke Park statement today outlined their conclusions.

"The Central Hearings Committee found that the evidence presented disclosed an infraction but one less serious than that alleged, that is to say, 'To engage in any other form of rough play.' Accordingly no suspension was imposed on Diarmuid Connolly," explained the GAA.

Originally when news of the decision not to impose a ban on the player came through, it was thought that he had been cleared on a technicality.

ExilEd1014 (Mayo) - Posts: 280 - 06/09/2011 17:43:58    1028524

""Dublin county board presented video evidence which they argued showed the incident was not a stiking action.""

Apparently some clever Dublin lad was able to 'photoshop' and edit the video to show that Connolly was only holding a feather up to Marty Boyles face to tickle him!!!......the CHC bought it!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/09/2011 17:52:05    1028528

If that is the case then the GAA disciplinary system is a joke. Disgraceful decision. I'm in no way anti Dub but the GAA are doing everything in their power to aid Dublin in their quest for Sam. No doubt I'll get abuse from the Dubs here but its so obvious at this stage.

Tis over with now. Lets get on with the game. Best of luck to both teams.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 06/09/2011 18:04:29    1028534

I'm suprised he has got off, in my opinion he struck, and did so more than once, the flipmside is he will not miss the finalwhich is good as no player deserves to miss out on such a big day. However in saying that the CCCC are a joke with no consistancy what so ever are they not accountable to any higher organisation. I sure players that have served suspensions must feel fairly hard done by, paul Farrell comes to mind from Meath.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/09/2011 18:20:30    1028547

Bringing in evidence of your own... Is this the first time this has happenend or can other players do the same in such circumstances??

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 06/09/2011 18:44:50    1028576

lilywhitemagic

1028576 Bringing in evidence of your own... Is this the first time this has happenend or can other players do the same in such circumstances??

would be interest to know this also as its also the first time ive heard it myself too mate ????

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 06/09/2011 18:51:55    1028587

cant believe the response to this post, the boys isnt all that great a player like!! granted he had a great gameagainst tyrone but was put under minimal pressure from their defence, he has poor in all the other games he has played in to date!!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 06/09/2011 18:54:13    1028589

thebear10

1020873 Ya cant throw punches in the direction of someones face anywhere

Ya can in the National Stadium Bear!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 06/09/2011 18:57:30    1028590