Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

Thankfully Connolly hasn't been denied the chance to play in an All-Ireland final, that would have been a criminal thing to happen on a young man for such an innocuous incident, fairplay to the GAA for over-turning the straight red.

But on another note its still two fingers directed straight back at us Royals and the poor aul Dubs think they're hated??.......cry me a river lads, you's don't have a patch on us.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/09/2011 12:55:56    1028196

gigoer
County: Wexford

1028175 No whinging here PJ, just making a point, one you're apparently unable to address

No need to address now Gigoer! Case closed! Justice has been done! You can carry on whinging!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 06/09/2011 13:02:11    1028208

i've come to the conclusion that a great number of the dublin posters on here would be very hard to listen too should dublin beat kerry. it's obvious that there are very few genuine dubs supporters posting on this forum because some of the crap that people are posting on this topic is designed to simply annoying others. diarmuid connolly should not have had his red card overturned. he stuck out at another player more than once and that is a sending off offence. it's not relevant how the other played acted or the amount of force he used, the fact is he broke the rules, he was caught, he correctly received a straight red and now he has avoided a four week ban. somebody is definitely pulling strings somewhere.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 06/09/2011 13:03:37    1028211

Lads Connolly isn't the first to have his ban shelved. Donncha O'Connor in 08, Michael Murphy this year, Clerkin this year. I do believe though that Galvin gets unfair treatment because of his reputation which is not on IMO.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2011 13:08:00    1028216

No need to post that twice Jackeen.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 06/09/2011 13:12:24    1028220

Disgrace he got away with it,yet another sign of how the powers that be favour the Jacks,he clearly struck out and deserved to be sent off and suspended,if a Donegal player had done it you can rest assured it would have been penned as an assault in the following days papers!

smallballs (Monaghan) - Posts: 151 - 06/09/2011 13:14:06    1028222

Good call,
sending off was not justified at all, most neutrals will welcome the outcome.

shrewdjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 290 - 06/09/2011 13:19:27    1028228

Another absolute farce from the GAA.

The first of the 3 strikes by Connolly was a two-fisted strike to the face.

The Donegal player decided to go down holding his face after the second strike which was to the shoulder.

I hate diving and playacting but the fact that the Donegal player took a dive shouldn't change what Connolly did in the first place.

The fact that he would miss the All-Ireland final if suspended shouldn't change it either.

The fact that the Donegal player started it shouldn't change it.

The fact that a Donegal player hit him after shouldn't change it.

The fact that he got off because apparently the ref didn't take his name is a complete f***ing joke.

I have nothing against Connolly or Dublin but I have a huge problem with the inconsistency of the GAA regarding disciplinary issues.

lessbull (Kerry) - Posts: 177 - 06/09/2011 13:19:55    1028229

Better make that obviously, not apparently unable to address a point PJ, I guess you're too thick to understand

Anyhoo, what's done is done, Good luck to Connolly & Dublin in the final one way or another

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/09/2011 13:23:46    1028234

I'm glad it was overturned as it wasn't a red card in my opinion but I fail to understand what their reasoning for it is.
I'm quite sure that earlier this year we were told that the referee's decision is final.
So if the ref says strike is it a strike or not?
Or are we nog going to get a dual system where some get off and some don't depending on the influence of the county board or Mr. Cooney's preference for final winners?

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 06/09/2011 13:26:05    1028240

flemishgael

1028240 I'm glad it was overturned as it wasn't a red card in my opinion but I fail to understand what their reasoning for it is.
I'm quite sure that earlier this year we were told that the referee's decision is final.
So if the ref says strike is it a strike or not?
Or are we nog going to get a dual system where some get off and some don't depending on the influence of the county board or Mr. Cooney's preference for final winners?

Bizarre really. I can only guess that the linesman was dismissing Connolly (calling for him to be) on the basis of the push to the shoulder. From where the linesman was this may have looked like contact to the face. Boyle's oscar performance probably only further convinced the linesman that it was contact to the head. If that action was what he was sent off for then it had to be overturned on review. So if you look at that particular incident in isolation then no red card. If you look at the whole act in full then Connolly could have gone for the fist push, Kavanagh could have gone for punching Connolly and the full-back could have gone for punching Connolly in the neck.

However, there are 10+ incidents of "striking" like this in any game because opposition are crowding frees or whatever. If the exact letter of the law was applied each time then every game would finish with 5 a side.

On the balance of things, justice has prevailed and Connolly has not been denied the chance of a place in the final.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 06/09/2011 13:40:11    1028256

I'm glad it was overturned even though it shouldn't have been as it would only give some of the blue goggled Dublin posters on here an excuse after Kerry beats them in the final. I was actually going to support the Dubs after we got beat in the semi as I always had a soft spot for them but the drivel that some posters from the capital spout on the site turns me right against them!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 06/09/2011 13:40:37    1028259

The GAA over turn an injustice for a big county ? No surprise there.

What about Louth.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2929 - 06/09/2011 13:43:37    1028267

I think Boyle's dive had a lot to do with the appeal and the card being rescended.
I thought it wasn't a real strike when I saw it and it was more some stupid pushes. Handbags stuff.
At least when Kerry now bate the shojt out of the Dubs they can't say it was because of the red card.
Can't wait for the final like. Ticket on it's way so all I needf to do now is book the train and wash the jersey, pack the hang sandwiches and the flask of tae and we're off.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 06/09/2011 13:55:49    1028282

Whether the card being rescinded is justified or not, inconsistent or not is a good debate as this thread has shown, both sides have valuable points but the decision has been made now one way or another

Now that it has, how important is Connolly for the final?

He was great against Tyrone, not so great against Donegal (sending off aside, I mean) but in fairness, it was difficult for any forward to have a good game against Donegal's tactics, even though Brogan had a good game nonetheless. I've read some posts from Dubs followers that amounted to Connolly having a great game against Tyrone but not much else this year

Curious to know what the Dubs fans think....

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/09/2011 14:05:32    1028297

Come on kerry

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/09/2011 14:06:29    1028299

1028299 Come on Kerry
--------------------------------------------
Thanks. Think a lot of neutrals will be shouting for Kerry.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 06/09/2011 14:17:28    1028321

And listen , if Kerry loosed the AI final, I suppose it'll be Diarmuid Connolly's fault,.....lol........its just amazn the way the rest of the country are against us, but keep it up cos all it'll do is drive the lads on!!!!!yahoo!!!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 06/09/2011 14:23:03    1028333

Mollymalone

1028333 And listen , if Kerry loosed the AI final, I suppose it'll be Diarmuid Connolly's fault,.....lol........its just amazn the way the rest of the country are against us, but keep it up cos all it'll do is drive the lads on!!!!!yahoo!!!!!

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 06/09/2011 14:27:30    1028342

Fact is , connolly raised his hands , The referee made a decision based on the advice of his linesman and thats the way it should have stayed. Luckily he got off and while i am delighted for him that he wont miss the final , I would have been very very angry if it had of been Gooch Cooper who got a red in the semi and was then allowed to play

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 06/09/2011 14:27:35    1028343