Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

2 players get up in each others faces
One raises his hands making minimal contact in what could hardly be described as a 'punch'
The 'victim' hurls himself to the ground holding his head as if he'd just been hit with by Mike Tyson knowing full well that his play acting might just get his opponent sent off
The referee is conned by the 'victim' and a red card is dispensed
Some time later, video evidence backs up a successful hearing and gets the innocent party off - justice is done.

And that was the story of Aidan O'Mahony and Donnacha O'Connor boys and girls!!

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 06/09/2011 11:16:01    1028098

is an automatic sending off and carries a 4 match suspension.

4 weeks that should have been

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/09/2011 11:20:02    1028102

In defence of the Kerry lads, they have a point. Didn't Galvin get a lengthy suspension last year when there was that finger in the mouth incident? That wasn't a punch with a fist or open hand either, just handbag stuff and still he had to serve his punishment

And now people are saying Connolly shouldn't have been sent off because it was handbag stuff. Ye can't tailor incidents like that just to suit your own ends, even though we know ye will anyway

If you ask me, it's because it's the final really, that all this has come about. If the upcoming game were a semi I doubt this would have been rescinded, it's the GAA beefing up the final as it's the biggest money spinner of the footballing year

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/09/2011 11:21:27    1028105

And they all lived happily ever after, the end.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/09/2011 11:22:16    1028106

Handbags or not the strike was committed. As offsiderule explained, its there in black and white.

Of course I can't quote the rulebook and then claim that he should not get off on a technicality, but the lack of consistency in refereeing and disciplinary procedures is a serious negative for our games.

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 06/09/2011 11:24:40    1028110

Amen!

Laughing.Gravy (Dublin) - Posts: 404 - 06/09/2011 11:32:00    1028119

the end.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 06/09/2011 11:39:43    1028126

The Brian Farrell incident was very similar, goes to show the inconsistency of the GAA.

I don't believe for a minute that it's Dublin bias or anything like that, it's just a pure lack of any kind of consistency.

I think incompetence is the word

FriesianRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 06/09/2011 11:42:32    1028129

But what about the.....................

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 06/09/2011 11:47:41    1028133

There was never a doubt in my mind that he'd get off.. I said it the night of the incident. Common sense has prevailed...

You can grumble all you want... but who's whinging now.

Case closed

Up the DUBS

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 06/09/2011 11:57:44    1028143

I actually fin it hillarious that people are STILL ARGUING he got off cos he is from Dublin, he defended himself, it was downgraded etc.....

The fact of the matter is this:
1.2 DUTIES OF THE REFEREE

(c) To order off a player who commits an ordering off foul/infraction by taking his name (if not already taken) and showing
him a red card.

The referee on this occasion never took the players name, so by sending him off without taking his name was wrong, you can argue aboutt he punch till the cows come home, but because of the above simple error he was never in trouble.

There no precedence being set here, as I have never said he did not hit the Donegal chap, but the fact the referee did not carry out his duties was the main reason the player walked away scot free yesterday.

Incidentally, its usually referee's reports and they way in which they are worded that 9/10 times gets players off. Very few counties I know argue that a player did or did not carry out the crime, they argue that because of the anomylies in the rules (loopholes) he shouldnt be suspended. Works almost everytime. So in summary: The players getting sent off is usually correct (as was the case with Connolly), its the procedure, fuddy duddy language and the way its intepretated that is the problem.

At this stage arguing that its a disgrace that he got off cos he is from Dublin, All ireland Final appearence, setting precedence is in my own opinion without substance.

glenquagmire (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 06/09/2011 11:58:56    1028145

gigoer
County: Wexford

1028105 In defence of the Kerry lads, they have a point. Didn't Galvin get a lengthy suspension last year when there was that finger in the mouth incident? That wasn't a punch with a fist or open hand either, just handbag stuff and still he had to serve his punishment

And now people are saying Connolly shouldn't have been sent off because it was handbag stuff. Ye can't tailor incidents like that just to suit your own ends, even though we know ye will anyway

If you ask me, it's because it's the final really, that all this has come about. If the upcoming game were a semi I doubt this would have been rescinded, it's the GAA beefing up the final as it's the biggest money spinner of the footballing year

Who's whinging now Gigoer eh??????

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 06/09/2011 11:59:58    1028146

so we have yet another poor call by a match referee, what action if any will be taken against referee deegan and his linesman ?.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 06/09/2011 12:00:59    1028149

D.C. TO WEAR THE JERSEY FOR THE FINAL GET IN THERE!!!!!!!
the lad must be delighted and now living for the final

COME ON D.C. TOP PERFORMANCE REQUIRED TIME TO PLAY AGAINST THE BIG BOY'S AND SOME *SS WHIPPING NEEDED SO BRING THE SCORING BOOTS THIS ROUND..................;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 06/09/2011 12:12:21    1028156

Whats the big deal with him getting to play anyway, he's not a match winner, subbed against Kildare, done notin against Donegal, kicked a few against Tyrone when they were all over the shop. He wont have a big influence on the final.

carburycastle (Kildare) - Posts: 203 - 06/09/2011 12:34:56    1028171

Yay , Connolly , we all know theres a BIG game left in ye!!!! brill brill news that hes available..and a great lift for the entire team......cmon ye dubs.....me nerves are gone just thinkn of the 18th!!!!!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 06/09/2011 12:35:46    1028173

No whinging here PJ, just making a point, one you're apparently unable to address

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/09/2011 12:38:34    1028175

up the kingdom

brianfitzsimons (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 06/09/2011 12:45:01    1028182

Lads Connolly isn't the first to have his ban shelved. Donncha O'Connor in 08, Michael Murphy this year, Clerkin this year. I do believe though that Galvin gets unfair treatment because of his reputation which is not on IMO.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2011 12:47:57    1028186

glenquagmire

I actually fin it hillarious that people are STILL ARGUING he got off cos he is from Dublin, he defended himself, it was downgraded etc.....

The fact of the matter is this:
1.2 DUTIES OF THE REFEREE

(c) To order off a player who commits an ordering off foul/infraction by taking his name (if not already taken) and showing
him a red card.

The referee on this occasion never took the players name, so by sending him off without taking his name was wrong, you can argue aboutt he punch till the cows come home, but because of the above simple error he was never in trouble.

There no precedence being set here, as I have never said he did not hit the Donegal chap, but the fact the referee did not carry out his duties was the main reason the player walked away scot free yesterday.

Incidentally, its usually referee's reports and they way in which they are worded that 9/10 times gets players off. Very few counties I know argue that a player did or did not carry out the crime, they argue that because of the anomylies in the rules (loopholes) he shouldnt be suspended. Works almost everytime. So in summary: The players getting sent off is usually correct (as was the case with Connolly), its the procedure, fuddy duddy language and the way its intepretated that is the problem.

At this stage arguing that its a disgrace that he got off cos he is from Dublin, All ireland Final appearence, setting precedence is in my own opinion without substance.

Great post and thanks for showing us how it was possible........Well done

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 06/09/2011 12:49:35    1028189