Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

Would the rest of ye get over yourselves, play back the video tape and make sure ye head to specsavers first....there was NO intent or NO malice in what Connolly did, its the Donegal player who should have been redcarded for such a dispicable act as abbey acting, Fair Play Dermo, would have been a disgrace had the decision not been overturned...

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 06/09/2011 10:19:36    1028035

Officially on what grounds was it rescinded?

ExilEd1014 (Mayo) - Posts: 280 - 06/09/2011 10:20:34    1028037

Although there was little or nothing in the Brian Farrell incident the fact that he changed the trajectory of his run in order to make the slap was his downfall in my opinion. Connollys was different in the sense that he was set upon and when he raised his hands to defend himself the upward motion led to his open hand brushing against Boyle face which then close after contact which can be clearly seen in the slow mo footage on YouTube followed by another two pushes to the chest before Boyle threw himself to the ground definitely not a red, Connolly was the defendant not the attacker . More worrying for the game though would is the feigning of injury, players pleading with refs to get opposing players sent off and managers and selector encroaching on the pitch claiming incidents that haven't happened.

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 06/09/2011 10:20:42    1028038

He deserved to get off. It was a nothing incident.
The amount of cribbing that goes on over the smallest incidents is sickening.
Rules might be rules but it was handbags.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/09/2011 10:25:24    1028044

The only precedent that the GAA has set here, is that unmanliness from the dungall players will not be tolerated!!!

As for mcgee leaving Dublin lads on their arses.........eh, well done, he'll be the only lad left on his arse two weeks from now........sitting at home watching Dublin in the All Ireland Final!!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/09/2011 10:26:17    1028048

Yes very true Bernardmessi - The GAA has always prided itself on being a mans game and you would NEVER let your opponent know that he hurt you, no matter how bad the pain was. This is the first time I have ever seen an inter county player feigning injury, like in the way you would see an overpaid premiership soccer player in England do. Justice was served but like you say but I really hope this isn't the beginning of such cowardice.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 06/09/2011 10:28:18    1028050

The gas thing is it was worth overturning it just to shut some of you Dubs posters up, whingeing & griping about a sending off offence and how somehow the rules shouldn't apply to you

This is done now so try & concentrate on the atmosphere, build-up & excitement that should be a great final instead of moanin' & groanin' like a bunch of old grannies..

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/09/2011 10:29:07    1028051

I can't believe there are still some people out the who believe Boyle was the guilty party in all of this and Connolly was merely a little lamb defending himself ffrom a Donegal onslaught.
Sure, the first incident where Boyle ran into him MAY be deemed a defensive act, but the two digs that followed were definitely red card offences. That Boyle went down like a sack of spuds is irrelevant.

Seriously lads, stop trying to defend a crime that was seen on TV by everyone who watched the game. Defending himself, retailation - whatever. He still struck an opponent at least 2 times which is a red card.

He's no good anyway. O'Gara or McMenamin would have been much more dangerous to Kerry than Connolly so in a way, this is a win for Kerry too. In fact, I'm gonna go out on a limb and say he won't even start in the final.

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 06/09/2011 10:31:21    1028053

it proves are just a bunch of money grabbing ............ , they would give anything for dublin to be reaching/winning all irelands like kilkenny do in hurling, would mean more money for them...

lookback (Kerry) - Posts: 185 - 06/09/2011 10:32:17    1028054

He didn't even make contact with the face did he? It looked more like a push to the shoulder if you ask me, almost friendly even.

cmondetown (Longford) - Posts: 122 - 06/09/2011 10:33:35    1028056

to all ye peolple who belive it was right he got off, ask ye selfs what will ye and the gaa heads be saying if paul galvin does the exact same thing in the final? i guarantee ye will all be calling for the book to bethrowing at him, dont try and deny it, cause its all true...

lookback (Kerry) - Posts: 185 - 06/09/2011 10:39:11    1028062

Obviously the correct decison has been made by the CHC here. There should be no place in the Gaa for players who wish to Feign injury!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 06/09/2011 10:40:35    1028066

if paul galvin or any other kerry player does something similar to him, i bet he will go down.....

lookback (Kerry) - Posts: 185 - 06/09/2011 10:46:10    1028072

I have to agree if this was Paul Galvin or Tomas O Se I don't think this would have been overturned.

But in fairness I am glad Connolly can play..it's better to see both teams at full strength.
To be honest the sending off was harsh in the first place and it would be shocking to see someone put in so much effort over the year and then to miss the final for something not more than a hard push.

But I do hope Connolly learns from this, his silliness could have cost his team a place in the final. Remember they had a free and then was thrownup in a match where scores were hard to come by

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/09/2011 10:46:53    1028073

lookback

1028062 to all ye peolple who belive it was right he got off, ask ye selfs what will ye and the gaa heads be saying if paul galvin does the exact same thing in the final? i guarantee ye will all be calling for the book to bethrowing at him, dont try and deny it,

Dont be daft son. if a dublin player took a cowardly dive the knives would be out for him 10 times more than they were for marty boyle.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 06/09/2011 10:47:35    1028076

Drop it lads, this thread has run it's course in all fairness.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 06/09/2011 10:52:45    1028079

If Paul Galvin does the exact same thing in the final then of course he should get oiff aswell as he should have got off numerous times. What has happened in the past is irrelevant though. Yes, there have been loads of Kerry red cards in the last 10 years that should have been rescinded nd other counties will say the same. But lets forget that, move on, and urge the GAA to get it right from now on. Just cause our lads have seen unwarranted reds doesn't mean that every judgement in the future by the CCCC should be worng to make up for those.

It was hand bags, there was no intent and it would have been an awful awful shame for anyone to miss an all ireland final over such an incident. Maybe it was a technicaity that got him off, I don't care.

We all knw what a punch looks like, we all have a fair idea of what a red should be. A clear example would have been the Mayo knee on Darran o'Sullivan in the Semi. Not what Connolly did for crying out loud.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 06/09/2011 10:53:37    1028081

Cute Kerry Hoor is right lads,

This thread has run its course now!

The Dubs are in the final, Donegal have got their cumuppance, justice has been done, unmanliness and cowardice have been the ones who have really been shown the red card........and all is well with the world again!!!

......so lets leave it at that!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/09/2011 11:07:56    1028091

I love Paul Galvin I do :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2011 11:08:12    1028092

The point about this decision isn't about who was involved, what county/club was involved or at what level of the game the offence took place. The rules clearly state:

RULE 5 - AGGRESSIVE FOULS
Category II Infractions
5.1 To strike or attempt to strike an opponent with
arm, elbow, hand or knee.

PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Order offender off.
(ii) Free kick from where the foul occurred
except as provided under Exceptions of
Rule 2.2.

For Information Purposes only
Suspensions for above Infractions are governed by
Rule 7.2 - Infractions, Official Guide, Part 1.
As a guide, the suspensions, in part, are outlined
below:
Category II
Minimum: 4 weeks Suspension in the same Code and
at the same Level, inclusive of the next Game in the
same Competition of that Competition Year, even if
that Game falls outside the Suspension time period.

Regardless of how hard the opponent was hit (or if contact was even made) the rules say that a strike or attempted strike is an automatic sending off and carries a 4 match suspension.

Now, Ive trawled through the rules and cannot see any caveat that says if the opponent feigns injury or drops like a sack of spuds then the strike/attempted strike can then be dismissed and the decision reversed.

As I said earlier, I think this is a dangerous precedent to set and no doubt this case will be referenced up and down the country in future sendings off.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/09/2011 11:12:40    1028093