Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

Brian farrells red card was a joke. If your man stays on his feet then there's no red care. How he hasn't come out in the press to back connolly il never know.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2011 15:24:26    1025591

Coylers Elbow

What match were you watching? He raised his hands to defend himself against the aggression of Boyle who had no business being there. Shame to see so many anti-Dubs coming here to gloat. Jealousy? Think so!

Laughing.Gravy (Dublin) - Posts: 404 - 02/09/2011 16:02:16    1025633

s goldrick

and if a Dublin player had dived in an attempt to deny a man a place in an All-Ireland final,

I don't think Marty was thinking that far ahead. because at that stage none of the dublin players were going to be playing in an all-ireland final. at that stage Donegal were the most likely winners. so whatever you accuse boyle of doing he certainly wasn't deliberately trying to get connolly banned from the final. Wise up keith Barr.

Agreed. Poor aul Marty only dived to get his opponent sent off stupidly believing that his team would easily finish off a 14 man Dublin. I don't think he was thinking about depriving Connolly of a place in the final.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 02/09/2011 18:05:30    1025749

why do most dublin people here think that every1 is jealous of them?jealous of what exactly?sick of reading about the whole country being against yous and 'if it had of been a dublin player...'!liams threads and comments are the most annoyin!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 584 - 02/09/2011 18:46:44    1025761

LAds, Connolly WILL get off! It will have nothing to do with the punch or lack of punch etc, but the fact the ref never took his name! I'm telling yiz!

glenquagmire (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 02/09/2011 19:07:36    1025776

Well well well glenquagmire looks like you were right after all

[url=]http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=154482

looking at the incident again I wonder could it be that the ref actually knew quite well what he was doing!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 05/09/2011 12:17:12    1027229

I would expect that the rule as written is intended to apply to the GAA as a whole in that it is unlikely that a referee will know the name of every player he referees. At senior inter county level and more exactly and All Ireland semi final I would find it incredible that the referee does not know every player. The rule is written so as to be able to identify the player and that shouldn't really be an issue in this case. I have no doubt however that Croke Park will acquiesce to the Dublin County Board for one reason or another

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 05/09/2011 12:35:29    1027256

omaghredhand
I have no doubt however that Croke Park will acquiesce to the Dublin County Board for one reason or another.

Yes, the process to free up DC to be available to play on the 18th is irrelevant. It's a simple case of right and wrong and justice should prevail... good to see you recognise this.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 05/09/2011 12:46:34    1027268

I wouldn't say that exactly Floops, its a technicality of the highest order. I would expect Dublin CB to back their man to the hilt, but just because he gets off does not mean that justice prevails. In my view the referee was right to send him off according to the rules. On a personal level however I would feel sorry for the lad if he missed out

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 05/09/2011 13:42:16    1027326

Connolly and the Dubs may feel aggrieved but he lifted his hand three times in a striking action and that is a sending off offence. What the Donegal player did or didn't do is totally irrelevant to the outcome. What is particularly nauseating is the campaign started by certain Dublin sports journalists, and one newspaper group in particular, to influence any appeal outcome. They are disgustingly using terms like 'Miscarriage of Justice', "Free the Dublin One', 'Justice should prevail' etc etc. If this was a Tyrone or Armagh player or even Kerry's Paul Galvin there wouldn't be a dickybird said in their defence. The Dublin sports media are truly a horrible shower.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/09/2011 13:59:33    1027350

Cough cough.....

glenquagmire (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 05/09/2011 14:48:19    1027418

Yeah omaghredhand I know where you're coming from - just a little tongue-in-cheek from me there.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 05/09/2011 14:58:40    1027440

The Dublin GAA sports media is made up almost entirely of "country folk."

CapitalGains (Dublin) - Posts: 40 - 05/09/2011 16:05:14    1027506

Delighted for Diarmuid Connolly now he has been cleared to play, personally for him what a relief it must be. But this is all becoming tiresome, we either have rules and regulations or we don't. I don't believe he deserved a red, a yellow max, but along with the Donegal player for feigning an injury and the other Donegal player for doing exactly what Connolly did - that would have been the end of that. Instead after every game know we get a circus, maybe controversy is what the GAA wants. But officiating football games is now a complete shambles.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 06/09/2011 08:04:53    1027896

Typical the GAA overturn the decision in favour of Dublin. Had that been a Kerry player the suspension would have been doubled.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8820 - 06/09/2011 08:29:27    1027906

Great news for Dublin dermo got the all clear to play in the final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/09/2011 08:33:12    1027907

To those non believers that are still arguing he only got off because he is from the capital is madness. The dublin following rarely dissagreed with the actions of Connolly, but most knew fairly quickly that getting him off was a foregone conclusion. Why? The rule book is farce at this stage and should be withdrawn. "If he was from Kerry" it would have been doubled? Yawn, theres no rule saying that if you lose your appeal then the original punishment is doubled, maybe there should be.
I would certainly agree with the poster whp said "we either have rules and regulations or we dont", in this posters opinion, it's quite clear we dont have proper rules and regs and the "wiggle room" to get players off should be watertight. Match Officials must share some of this blame, but more so the people who make up these procedures and rules on committees behind closed doors should be releived from duties. Way too many incidents of loopholes being used. I am not saying that Dermot was innocent, but if any county worth their salt spots a loophole, they should exploit the b'jesus out of it, we all would, regardless of the upcoming game or where the players are from.

glenquagmire (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 06/09/2011 09:16:23    1027935

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

ochonlir

Diarmud Cleared to play

Imustbsay I didn't expect it but Connolly is cleared to play. It's the proper decision in my view good luck to him.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 06/09/2011 09:18:24    1027938

So Dublin players can strike out now and get away with it? Although Marty Boyle did dive, he would not have done so if Connolly did not strike out at him.

Ridiculous decision!

He will not have a good game against Kerry anyway - he is only good when he is given space... ie against Tyrone. He was poor against both Tyrone and Donegal.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 06/09/2011 09:24:18    1027945

Not surprised. Common sese prevailed. Maybe it should prevail a bit more often.
As for Diarmuid, personally delighted for him. Would have been a shame for him to miss the All ireland.
Certainly makes Dublin a lot stronger and far more complete and balanced on an attacking front.
Gonna b a great game.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 06/09/2011 09:25:08    1027947