hill16no1man:
I'm not bloody complaining your taking this as Dublin bashing again (get over yerselves) If you've seen my post on this forum you'll see praised dublin.... my point here is that the way dublin have succeeded is different in context to other non-traditional counties and if just stank a bit of arrogance they way snuff said it basically saying we've done it and all everyone else has to do is copy us.... that is not the case and I tried to explain why.
You've just weighted in on this and the only thing I had an issue with you here was you were making out that dublin didn't get any funding from croke park leinster council and other that is simply not the case and this funding is one of the reasons for the revival.
"the gaa have spent money well in dublin unlike the waste of stadiums in cork and kerry and limerick that are not used and have far" Your also forgetting that dublin get use of croke park which they don't need to develope the counties down the country do not have this luxury and need to develope grounds. But I do agree with money being wassted on these ground but a lot of this came directly for the leinster and munster councils
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/08/2011 16:16:14
I think Westmeath have taken a leaf out of Dublin's book with their secondary schools hurling & they produced an excellent minor team this year on the back of it. Only for Dublin have an exceptional team this year also, who knows, they might well have won Leinster?!!
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 16/08/2011 16:20:38
dublin have only used croker this year,my point is the gaa would be better spending money on things like developing the game then wasting money in stadiums in munster you seem to think its unfair how much there spending on dublin well if you weigh it up is what im saying there has been far more spent in other countys on club grounds and county stadiums then has been spent on coaching hurling in dublin
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/08/2011 16:45:48
hill16no1man:
An expense dublin have note to content with seen as ye get free reign of croke park they don't have to worry about developing grounds and also the grounds you mentioned are in counties that generally wouldn't be classed as weaker counties.... major developement have happened in counties like tipp, cork, kilkenny and limerick maybe others too but these are not the counties suffering.
If the dubs had to develope parnell park to accomidate crowds you see a fair bit taken out of their developement budget...... wonce again I make the point the "blueprint" that dublin used cannot be used down the country to the same degree when you do not have the number or resources do you agree or disagree!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/08/2011 17:25:39
HAG,
Wake up! Still you are on here telling folk that I was slagging other counties for copying KK when I was simply pointing out the 'crawl before you walk' as I said before! Still you say that I said, "every team should copy the Dublin blueprint" when I clearly stated to you in NUMEROUS posts where I have quoted myself that they should take our blueprint as its is one that has worked and 'chop, change, twist, turn, tweek' as they see fit to suit them but...."do something"!!!! At no point have I insisted that they 100% make an exact copy of what Dublin did!! Wake up and acknowledge that fact and get diwn off your considerably misguided high horse!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/08/2011 19:22:09
Spot on Hag_And_Cheese.
Lads on here gloating about success with population bases of 1.5 million (then drafting lads in to play and manage them at that). Patronising indeed.
I'd call it abject failure that it's taken so long to put anything tangible together.
Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 537 - 16/08/2011 20:06:08
This weekend sees the All-Ireland u-21 hurling A and B semi finals, does anyone know or care, Rosscommon play kerry to tomevera at the same time i think that the galway v limerick game is on, while armagh play their game in leitrim, in a obscure ground, while at 4pm when this game finishes antrim play dublin in newry, i'm not advocating double heafers for the sake of it, but this fixtures could have been doubled up, for maxium exposure, or be held in Croke park as a treple header with the matches last week,
we are all talking about money in these posts which is of course very important, but publicity is equally important, 2 weeks ago sligo played cork in JFC match in croke park as a curtain raiser to the dublin v tyrone game, it was good for these set of footballers, but a minor 'B' or U-21 B game would be been more beneficial
in 1974 derry won the all-ireland u-16 B title in croke park, with kevin Lynch as captain, much is made of the captain contribution and his subsequent life path but is always shown is a young lad from derry holding aloft a cup in croke park not some small club ground a a forgotten backwater,,,
these things matter and can help the develoment of the game...
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 16/08/2011 20:07:26
Cu,
I care about one of those games and will be in Esler with bells on!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/08/2011 21:02:27
Hill 16 back to my point about 3 pages ago, you are talking about football there, look at the attendances in the hurling in Munster. There is no comparison and when Cork get back on track which will be sooner rather than later in the hurling and with Limerick and Clare coming through with strong underage teams I can guarantee you that nearly every Munster hurling champo match will have 50,000 at it, how many games in Croke park this year have had higher attendances than that?
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 16/08/2011 21:32:10
There were 2 hurling league finals played the same day a couple of months ago, one in Longford (Wicklow V Derry) & the other (Roscommon V Mayo, I think) 20 mins west on the N4 in Carrick-on-Shannon. How difficult would it have been to come to the conclusion that a double header might have been appropriate?
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 16/08/2011 21:36:06
tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 343
1012809 Hill 16 back to my point about 3 pages ago, you are talking about football there, look at the attendances in the hurling in Munster. There is no comparison and when Cork get back on track which will be sooner rather than later in the hurling and with Limerick and Clare coming through with strong underage teams I can guarantee you that nearly every Munster hurling champo match will have 50,000 at it, how many games in Croke park this year have had higher attendances than that?
haha are you for real 50,000 at all munster hurling championship matches the final doesnt even get that.there was only 15 thousand at limerick v waterford and cork v tipp only 30 thousand nowhere near 50 thousand.the two all ireland quarter finals played as a duouble header had 2munster teams involved and only got 33 thousand your a bit off predicting there will be 50 thousand. dublin v kildare had 59 thousand and dublin v tyrone officaly had 52 thousand but yet they said 67 thousand tickets were sold so somewhere in between you can find the real attendance.the same as dublin v wexford said to be 45 thousand but yet there was 43 thousand on sunday for the hurling and the hill was only half full compared to the wexford game. you seem to be predicting when the recession ends and do you not think all dublins matches will be as they were be for the recession started full houses again
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/08/2011 21:53:58
Snuff:
"I was slagging other counties for copying KK when I was simply pointing out the 'crawl before you walk' as I said before!"
That's exactly what Dublin did they saw what was being done in kilkenny and copied it (O'donell with the colleges started it when he observed st. kierans and how they got the best hurlers together he did the same with the dublin college) then the focus was on training young players something the likes of kilkenny have been doing for donkeys years... dublin have the money to do it and they have a club structure in place with the acess to players to make it work.
Just seems you looking down on other counties becuase they are not making the brake throught that dublin are the truth is that their are many working just as hard but they are not being supported and money is one of the big supporting factors here which they do not get...... count yerselves lucky that ye have the player and money resources to do that and many people should be critical of dublin as it has taking this long to finally do it!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 17/08/2011 13:02:40
HAG_AND_CHEESE County: Tipperary Posts: 5691
What Dinny Cahill of Antrim says on the hoganstand home page about copying the Dublin "template". And also targetting Belfast City for expansion into hurling is a terrific thing. In Dublin years ago when the orginal ideas where being mooted Kilkenny and the other centres of hurling would have been looked at. But the universal adoption in Dublin of go-games, the embracing of hurling by a lot of clubs, its elevation to EQUAL status with football by a very willing progressive county board and by a huge amount of hard work and yes money. Not an easy slog, lot of elements to it but Antrim have a huge resource and potential in Belfast.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 17/08/2011 14:09:29
arock,
Belfast is not Dublin and alot of gaa clubs in the city don't even have a field of their own and rely on poorly maintained council pitches, some of which are in are where you don't parade a hurley in July
belfast may be Ireland's second city but there are many in influence both at city and regional government who don't want the game to prosper
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 17/08/2011 15:25:35
Hag, no one involved in Dublin hurling with a whit of sense or modesty is looking down on anyone.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 17/08/2011 15:45:53
arock:
Dublin did not create the template!!! They copied it too so why are they taking credit for it...... they did it on a larger scale.
Take credit for doing what they did but ye should not take the high ground saying everyone should do the same.... their are different circumstances in every county.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 17/08/2011 16:04:23
Hmmm, I have a question,
What 'county' had the original 'we need to develop hurling on a grand scale template' that the Dubs copied so??!!
.......and dont just tell me about Keirans!...thats a school!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/08/2011 17:17:54
regardless of whoever started it it should be implemented in every county from division 2 down and maybe it should be adapted for kilkenny in football
srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 17/08/2011 18:54:29
I remember sometime in the late 1980's Kilkenny were worried about the health and state of hurling ( because they weren't dominating) and they drew up some plan , Brian Cody was involved - didn't work did it............
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 17/08/2011 21:44:06
"Belfast is not Dublin and alot of gaa clubs in the city don't even have a field of their own and rely on poorly maintained council pitches, some of which are in are where you don't parade a hurley in July
belfast may be Ireland's second city but there are many in influence both at city and regional government who don't want the game to prosper"
Again, a development plan over a number of years with long & short term goals is the way to go. All obstacles can be overcome with enough willpower & effort.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/08/2011 11:56:43