Rugby World Cup

Breffni39

Yeah I always liked Wales and they fully deserved to beat us, but I wasn't impressed with AWJ and Philips mouthing at O'Driscoll and O'Connell. No class there.
________

aye and they waited until they were well on top, which constitutes gloating in my book. Phillips is a proven corner-boy but I was surprised at Jones. Fair play to Wales though - they wanted it more and controlled the ball well under poor conditions. Some of our players had t**s for hands on the day and were made to look ordinary. I still think O'Gara should have taken the points early on

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 10/10/2011 16:10:50    1049564

I agree, in a tight game you should always take your points when they're on offer. Especially given how stingy the French defence was, if we played for another 80 minutes we'd be lucky to score another try

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 10/10/2011 16:22:08    1049575

Also, there's not much point picking O'Gara for his goal-kicking when he's not gonna go for the posts. I suppose its easy to say in hindsight

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 10/10/2011 16:25:31    1049579

Cant wait to play Wales in next year's 6 nations, there will be no problem getting fired up for that one!

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 10/10/2011 17:05:22    1049626

CheFinny

I am a GAA fan first and foremost and Rugby threatens our national games. I also find many rugby players and fans odious snobs. Same as people who join golf clubs in the hope that it gives them some sort of enhanced social status.

I'm not saying that you (or anybody for that matter) have to like certain sports because obviously different sports will appeal to different people but to be delighted seeing your country getting knocked out of a huge competition like the RWC??? I'm sorry but you have to hang your head in shame at that and I repeat, don't ever call yourself a sports fan because you simply are not Che and neither is anybody like you.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/10/2011 17:14:49    1049638

10/10/2011 14:59:46
CheFinny
County: UK

1049523 I am a GAA fan first and foremost and Rugby threatens our national games. I also find many rugby players and fans odious snobs. Same as people who join golf clubs in the hope that it gives them some sort of enhanced social status.

Seems like you have a very big chip on your shoulder, you need to get out more.
What rugby players are snobs???? o driscoll ,o connell, sexton, o gara....
Maybe a few people in some schools in dublin think that because of where they live etc it gives them the right to look down on people but that doesnt mean you have to have a childish go at rugby everytime its mentioned on this forum.
Rugby doesnt threaten GAA and while it will get increasingly popular until Rugby has several thousand clubs in the country the GAA will be top dog(and as much as i would like rugby to get that popular i dont think it will ever be that popular). I am a rugby fan first and will always care about how rugby teams like my club Nenagh Ormond, my province Munster and Ireland do more than any GAA team, i will always support my club and county and ireland in the international rules.
G. Football and Hurling are not my favourite sports but i will not drop to your level and have a go at them using stupid outdated stereotypes.

Rugby doesnt threaten the GAA, and surely GAA fans should look to the irish rugby team as their main national team rather than the soccer team. In rugby the vast majority of the players live in ireland and are able to connect with the supporters so much more than their soccer counterparts, many of whom live in a fantasy land of 50 grand a week wages etc and who spend very little of their time in their home country

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 10/10/2011 17:18:15    1049642

I think it's been said before on numerous other threads but i couldn't care less if it was the bog snorkling world championship. If there was someone Irish in with a chance of winning i would back them.

I couldn't care less whether you like the practioneers or not i'd still get behind the team. The Rugby lads did represent a real chance for our country to achieve something never done before and for people to be happy to see them out, will quite frankly it's sickening.

As for Wales in the 6 Nations, i hope we wipe the floor with them after France put them back in their box on Saturday.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 10/10/2011 17:19:22    1049643

much as it hurt to see us outplayed by wales on saturday, id be delighted if they won the whole thing. They are our Celtic brothers across the sea, our brothers who couldnt swim as good as us!

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 10/10/2011 17:25:10    1049653

Well my experience of the rugby fraternity is based on a few 'select' schools round mid-ulster and Belfast where I taught and lived where anyone connected with those schools believes their waste doesnt stench like the rest of ours, it is especially sweeter smelling than GAA players to them. The uncle Toms are the worst. There is also the fella I met in Dublin one day of an England Ireland game who said, in a broad Roysh Goys accent and who was dressed up like that poet that people like to pretend to be, 'that the little half caste chap, Robinson, for England could seal them a grand slam' The gap year crowd in ginger wigs, the Celtic Tiger Brats, in New Zealand and who I came into contact with in London and Dublin also do nothing to dispell my views.

My views wont change until the prove otherwise to me. I know they owe me nothing but until that day my views remain the same.

Eliteist nonsense of a game.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 10/10/2011 19:25:52    1049760

10/10/2011 19:25:52
CheFinny
County: UK

1049760 Well my experience of the rugby fraternity is based on a few 'select' schools round mid-ulster and Belfast where I taught and lived where anyone connected with those schools believes their waste doesnt stench like the rest of ours, it is especially sweeter smelling than GAA players to them. The uncle Toms are the worst. There is also the fella I met in Dublin one day of an England Ireland game who said, in a broad Roysh Goys accent and who was dressed up like that poet that people like to pretend to be, 'that the little half caste chap, Robinson, for England could seal them a grand slam' The gap year crowd in ginger wigs, the Celtic Tiger Brats, in New Zealand and who I came into contact with in London and Dublin also do nothing to dispell my views.

My views wont change until the prove otherwise to me. I know they owe me nothing but until that day my views remain the same.

Eliteist nonsense of a game.

I know their is people who attend rugby schools who are like that but you cannot judge everyone else who follows rugby because of the actions of a small few.
You clearly have a view of rugby as a sport tainted by the idiotic views and actions of a small, tiny minority of followers of rugby. But that doesnt mean you have to use pathetic Ross O Carroll Kelly talk everytime you post in a rugby thread
Your view of rugby is similar to the view many of the people you love to mock have of GAA(bogger, culchie sport bla bla bla)

Ive been a rugby supporter and player since i was very young and only played GAA when i moved to tipperary when i was 7 and stoped playing when i was 14. I stopped because i finally got sick of coaches treating me like crap because i wasnt from "the parish" and neither had my father been.

As you clearly dont like rugby why do you bother the effort of writing pathetic childish replys about the sport, dont bother opening any thread about rugby if your experience teaching these rugby type lads was so bad. You dont have to read the thread if you dont want to

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 10/10/2011 19:44:21    1049782

Htaem

1049638 CheFinny

I am a GAA fan first and foremost and Rugby threatens our national games. I also find many rugby players and fans odious snobs. Same as people who join golf clubs in the hope that it gives them some sort of enhanced social status.

I'm not saying that you (or anybody for that matter) have to like certain sports because obviously different sports will appeal to different people but to be delighted seeing your country getting knocked out of a huge competition like the RWC??? I'm sorry but you have to hang your head in shame at that and I repeat, don't ever call yourself a sports fan because you simply are not Che and neither is anybody like you.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/10/2011 20:17:12    1049807

There was a brilliant article in the Sunday Times about the Irish fans down in New Zealand and how they had truly bonded with the players, something that was all too rare in professional sport. These aren't gap year students, these are people from working class backgrounds who have had to emigrate to find work. The number of people who I personally know who have been forced to leave home is well into double figures and it's genuinely sad that Ireland couldn't supply them with a job. One of my close friends is away on Tuesday and I'll probably join him next summer. So throw out lazy stereotypes all you want Che but it says more about you than it does about Rugby fans

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 10/10/2011 20:28:16    1049818

Semi Finals are this weekend
Wales play france tomorrow and New Zealand play Australia Sunday
Who do people here think will be in next weeks final?

In my opinion it will be a french new zealand final but you never know if the french will turn up and carter out for new zealand creates so many problems for them

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 14/10/2011 12:39:48    1051847

I'd say Ormond, if France turn up, they'll beat Wales. In fact even if they don't turn up they'll beat Wales. It seems the hype machine is well and truly Welssh this week after it was turned on us after the Australia match. I think the Welsh will finally wilt.

It just shows though, what the hell could happen in France if they get a decent manager (might have one with Saint Andre coming in) and actually get all the players singing off the same hymm sheet. If they can get to a Semi-final playing god awful what will happen if Dusatouir gets them to click (cos it aint that muppet Lievremont calling the shots now).

New Zealand and Australia has the potential to be a classic. Out of the teams left i really want the All Blacks to win. Too many superb All Blacks have not got a W/c winners medal and lads like McCaw, Nonu, Smith, Mealamu, Thorne, Reade - warriors of the game deserve one. Only thing is sport doesn't work like that and if there's one thing that does frighten them it's the Australians. I think the Wallabies will nick it, probably right at the death with a drop goal or penalty and then Quade Cooper will go up to McCaw and do his best George Gregan impression, before getting flattened!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/10/2011 13:50:01    1051913

My God is it still on? Thought it ceased when the goys were hammered.Oh damn.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 14/10/2011 13:50:17    1051914

I backed the French from the start even though they were a shambles. Word from France is that Yachvili and Harinordoquy are running the training sessions. Some players aren't even speaking to Lievremont. Yet here they are, one game away from making me a few pound!!! They are still 8/1 lads, any takers, no value with anyone else.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 14/10/2011 14:34:45    1051953

Come on Wales.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 14/10/2011 14:51:46    1051969

I fancy a France v Australia final. Australia are a different proposition with Pocock in the side and fancy them to upset NZ on Sunday.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 14/10/2011 15:36:33    1052016

Allez Les Blues!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 14/10/2011 15:38:55    1052017

I dont know why the image of Ross O'Carroll Kelly seems to represent the national image of rugby to some ignorant people. I played Gaelic football since aged 8 for many years but the narrow-mindedness of some parochial folk have made me see the GAA in a different light. Yes i love the sport itself but its the factors off the pitch. I have recently converted from playing GAA to rugby and i am really loving it, despite not knowing all the rules.

I predict the Welsh to carry on their form and power through France. James Hook to have a big game. Australia will ask more questions of New Zealand's number 10 issue than Argentina and I can see that game going right down to the wire.Judging by how they miraculously kept South Africa out for most of the game despite being dominated in territory, I can see the Aussies sneaking the semi final by 2 or so points.

spiderpig123 (Down) - Posts: 175 - 14/10/2011 18:26:13    1052164