Rugby World Cup

2 evenly matched teams with Wales getting everything right on the day. Too many unforced errors, no excuses.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 08/10/2011 10:06:04    1048583

The keyboard heroes will be out in force.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 08/10/2011 10:07:10    1048585

Roysh goys time to put this rugby nonsense to bed after that stuffing

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 08/10/2011 10:10:22    1048588

Ah lads.

What happened? I thought some of ye experts said we were going to the semi-finals?

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 08/10/2011 10:38:00    1048592

Armchair sportsmen, same rubbish on the Gaa forums, lads who can't kick or hurl telling us whats what, priceless. Yes they were not good enough but give it a rest. Brian O Driscoll deserves nothing but thanks so give it a rest.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 08/10/2011 10:39:29    1048593

Keyboard warriors out in force here as usual, chefinny rugby is actually played in other places in ireland apart from south dublin so leave the roysh stuff out.

We were poor today but the welsh countered our game plan very well

We wont really know how good Wales/bad Ireland were today until after their game next week against france. Did ireland get a bit over confident about todays game? Where was the intensity of the Oz and Italy games?
We never changed the plan, when plan A didn't work try harder seemed to be the motto.
The way we played between their second and third tries was unbelievably bad if wales had another ten points on the board it wouldnt have flattered them. No player stood out as better than his Welsh opposite. Maybe we just had one of those days, however i wasn't expecting it today under Kidney.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/10/2011 11:02:45    1048603

Disappointed to say the least. But on a brighter note France are still in it. I backed them at the start to win it. So come on you boys in blue!

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/10/2011 11:52:01    1048616

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

1048616 Disappointed to say the least. But on a brighter note France are still in it. I backed them at the start to win it. So come on you boys in blue!
--------------------------------
Brave, but then it is France we are talking about here. In some ways its a blessing Ireland were knocked out today rather than have to face our annual pasting by the French, you know, the one where we concede a shed load of points in the first half and then play catch up in the second half whilst the French slip into second gear.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/10/2011 12:29:29    1048634

Very disappointing,best chance ever of a final and no result
The first time the whole country were out of bed supporting and they couldnt deliver

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 08/10/2011 12:29:39    1048635

Still the only tier one nation to have never reached a WC semi final, pretty dire statistic really.

I have to say regardless, I shall be supporting our boys come the 6N and in their tour matches and Autumn internationals

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/10/2011 12:45:16    1048643

Martin Johnston , Mike Tindall, Jonny Wilkinson,Sara Philips, ,David Beckham,Jonny Vegus, your boys took a hell of a beating!! David Cameron can you hear me! your boys took a hell of a beating , Simon Cowell, Dame Judi Dench, Sir Ben Kingsley,Sir Roger Moore your boys took a hell of a beating!!!

Allons enfants de la Patrie,
Le jour de gloire est arrivé !
Contre nous de la tyrannie,
L'étendard sanglant est levé, (bis)
Entendez-vous dans les campagnes
Mugir ces féroces soldats ?
Ils viennent jusque dans nos bras
Égorger nos fils et nos compagnes !
Vive La France!!!!

LesBleus (UK) - Posts: 102 - 08/10/2011 13:26:54    1048662

Cant say I am disappointed that the sport of our bankers and property developers who have wrecked so much havoc on this island who also seem immune from the reach of the law got stuffed today.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 08/10/2011 14:09:35    1048678

If an irish team were playing tidilly winks I would want them to win. I thought the early Welsh try was crucial, it definitely put a lot of doubts into our lads heads. We dominated possession and territory for most of the 1st half after that but just came up with 3 points. O Gara turned down 2 chances to go for the posts instead opting to go for the corner. I don't think he would have done that if the teams were level. Overall a disappointing start to the day but at 11, I was at a girls GAA underage blitz to watch my grand-daughter play (she is 6yrs of age) . There were about 150 kids there and it was heartwarming to see them enjoying themselves and to see the support and community spirit at work. After a couple of hours there followed by tea and sandwiches I wasnt so bothered about the rugby.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 08/10/2011 15:34:11    1048702

Win together, lose together. Very disappointing, the Welsh fully deserved it, they wanted it more; tackling and kicking were atrocious.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 08/10/2011 15:53:56    1048709

was it not obvious that irelands hookers and flankers didn't pull together today like they usually do

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 08/10/2011 16:12:11    1048718

looks like Ireland did the hard work for Wales beating Australia the Welsh really haven't had a hard match they were expecting second place in the group and a show down with Aussies but it was Ireland who they seem to beat quit easy, with the France dispatching Martin Johnson play boys ( I hope its the end of Johnson reign) I can 't see why Wales hold any fear of France . Well done Wales but the winner of the 2011 world cup is coming from the Southern Hemisphere once again and don't be surprised if its not Australia .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 08/10/2011 17:58:35    1048764

Brent Pope just said it as it is folks. The New Zealand players told him the hype over the Irish team would ruin them. Even the Taoiseach was commenting on them after the Italy game, saying we should all take heart from them. Maybe if you bandwagoner fans calmed down a bit, eased off the pressure it wouldnt mess with the players heads.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 08/10/2011 18:42:26    1048781

our lads seems a bit sluggish today. i notice when the ball was given air we were nowhere as fast getting to it as in previous games. wales' tackling was ferocious. that hit by roberts on O' callaghan knocked the stuffing out of him. I don't think it was O' Gara's choice to decline those 2 penalty kicks at goal, it had to have been O' Driscoll's call. crucially we were repelled and the game was over. anywas the 2 penalties were in the one attack so if the first (quite difficult one) was attempted, the second one wouldn't have happenned so in truth there was only really one shot at goal. if O' gara had missed it, that might have ruined the confidence of the team anyway. It was right to go for the corner it was the only way to test the welsh defence. we tested them and the passed with flying colours. they are a different animal than any welsh team in the past 3 years. the team that beats them will win the world cup.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 08/10/2011 20:20:49    1048843

Hard luck lads. We are a small rugby nation albeit professional in the full sense of the word. However we didnt have a bench to change game. The Welsh are into rugby football and sheep. They tend to beat us at rugby and on" One man and his dog"

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 08/10/2011 20:28:44    1048851

08/10/2011 20:28:44
Trixy

1048851 Hard luck lads. We are a small rugby nation albeit professional in the full sense of the word. However we didnt have a bench to change game. The Welsh are into rugby football and sheep. They tend to beat us at rugby and on" One man and his dog"

I agree about the bench to an extent, we had some game changers on it but it was not used properly at all

I dont care who you are, BOD, ROG or POC... if you pass up 3 kickable penalties in the first half of a tight quarter final of a world cup you have no place on a rugby pitch. Choosing not to kick any of those really hurt us

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/10/2011 21:09:48    1048876