a proud day to be Irish North,South,East or West ............. Bring on the Cymry.
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 02/10/2011 12:04:54
well done to the rugby boys. great performance from 1 to 15 and off the bench too. one of the best displays i have ever seen from an irish team. O Gara done the business and it was also great to see sexton come on and give his confidence a boost with those 2 great kicks at the posts. wales are one of the form teams at this world cup. it should be a great match..can't wait.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 02/10/2011 14:06:52
Great win and Ireland have a lot of momentum now. Wales are very good though and as much as we fancy our chances they'll fancy theirs. Two wins against Six Nations teams and we're in a final, all four teams on that side will be thinking they have a real shot at a World Cup final. Really hope Best's injury isn't serious, his influence on an Irish scrum that is beginning to look like a real weapon can't be overstated and he's been fearsome in the loose. Hopefully he'll be grand because having to go down to our third choice hooker would be a big worry
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/10/2011 15:04:51
Great performance, I think they must have read my motivational comments before the World Cup writing them off. Ferris is brilliant, Irish player of the tournament so far, and George Hook's dismissive contempt of him this morning was just ignorant and rude.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 02/10/2011 15:32:47
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 4296
1045249 Great performance, I think they must have read my motivational comments before the World Cup writing them off. Ferris is brilliant, Irish player of the tournament so far, and George Hook's dismissive contempt of him this morning was just ignorant and rude.
That's George Hook to a tee!!
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 02/10/2011 15:35:28
Fantastic stuff from Ireland yesterday. For all Italy's bluster in the lead up to the game we left them broken, battered and bruised at the end. Nick Mallett might want to keep his own counsel in the future about his sides plus points.....
Hopefully Rory Best will be ok as he has ben nothing short of superb in this World Cup (never thought i'd say that). We could be in a spot of bother but i'm sure Sean Cronin will come in and do a great job as his replacement if he is ruled out.
Wales will be some battle next week as they are flying it. They really should have won their group aswell as they should have beat South Africa in the 1st match so we will have to be at our absolute best.
The other quarter finals could be interesting. England v France is going to be tight. Both teams appear to be blighted by off the field issues and France were simply awful against Tonga, so i reckon from nowhere they'll beat England. New Zealand v Argentina on paper should be a routine All Black victory, but with Dan Carter out that might offer a chink of light to everyone else in the competition. New Zealand to win but in a tightly fought battle maybe winning by 10pts in the end. South Africa and Australia will be a belter. The Saffers have been doing just enough to get through so far whereas we gave the Aussies a rude awaking they did not expect. I think the Aussies if they click will have too much and beat them by 7-10 points.
tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 03/10/2011 09:39:43
great stuff folks the heartbeat of the nation rolls on, i mean no other sport could have the whole country out of their beds at 8am on a sunday, jaysus even that God fella couldnt muster that dort of support on a sunday monrning :)
anyways to the game- o gara is king, i am always right and o grara will play the rest of the tournament and rightfully so.
best injury could be a blessing in disguise- i sorry but he is so below the level required its not even funny anymore (very paul mcshane esque) cronin is twice the player and has twice the speed and 10 times the fitness, so i for one am delighted. gald to see heaslip finally got the finger out, and if he is to continue playing for ireland it will be close to the ruck in a 6 kind of mode as he is so far behind the other two in terms of ball carrying, imagine going for possibly the best in the worls to the weak link in 2-3 seasons. anyways i hope he keeps plugging away, im convinced if wallace was fit, heaslip would be on the bench. earls is playing class, never mind the begrudgers. o driscoll, is a national symbol of determination, he shouls go for president nect time round- unquestionably the greatest irish sportperson of all time and easily the best 13 or all time.
wales can be beaten if, their back row is moved into midfiled to defend then murray and earls and bowe can cause havoc near the ruck as the entire welch team will be tracking the irish back row as they will be terrified of the ball carrying ability of the irish.
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 03/10/2011 11:05:57
03/10/2011 11:05:57 liathroidboy County: Mayo Posts: 4760
1045513 great stuff folks the heartbeat of the nation rolls on, i mean no other sport could have the whole country out of their beds at 8am on a sunday, jaysus even that God fella couldnt muster that dort of support on a sunday monrning :)
anyways to the game- o gara is king, i am always right and o grara will play the rest of the tournament and rightfully so.
best injury could be a blessing in disguise- i sorry but he is so below the level required its not even funny anymore (very paul mcshane esque) cronin is twice the player and has twice the speed and 10 times the fitness, so i for one am delighted. gald to see heaslip finally got the finger out, and if he is to continue playing for ireland it will be close to the ruck in a 6 kind of mode as he is so far behind the other two in terms of ball carrying, imagine going for possibly the best in the worls to the weak link in 2-3 seasons. anyways i hope he keeps plugging away, im convinced if wallace was fit, heaslip would be on the bench. earls is playing class, never mind the begrudgers. o driscoll, is a national symbol of determination, he shouls go for president nect time round- unquestionably the greatest irish sportperson of all time and easily the best 13 or all time.
wales can be beaten if, their back row is moved into midfiled to defend then murray and earls and bowe can cause havoc near the ruck as the entire welch team will be tracking the irish back row as they will be terrified of the ball carrying ability of the irish.
Stop the wumming... heartbeat of a nation rubbish. O Gara played well but Sexton has a vital role to play in this tournament yet and will play an important role v wales. Ballboy have you noticed that in our best performances in the past few years(v australia in the world cup, v england in the aviva 2011 6nations, South africa in 2009) all had sexton at 10. Both are important and we will need both ronan and jonny before the tournaments out. They each play a different style of rugby which is great as when one comes on they can change the way we attack which makes playing us more dangerous
I seriously dont think you have been watching irelands games if you think rory best has been poor. He has been unbelievable and if best is out our scrum will be so much weaker with varley or cronin at 2 instead of rory. Wallace isnt fit, so forget about if/buts/maybes and heaslip hasnt been great but the game at the weekend was his best of the world cup so far, he was monsterous in defense as always and showed his ground hog skills as well as always being prepared to carry
To Beat Wales: They have more pace across the three quarters than us so when we kick defensively kick the ball off the park. Get parity in the scrums. Run at Warburton over and over and over and over again - to tire him out and put him on his **** early in the phases. Don't go wide until he's on the deck. Strength of our team is at numbers 6 to 10. Line up Ferris, Heaslip, SOB running off each other's shoulders and off 10 - like Ferris' try v NZ but without the forward pass
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/10/2011 11:52:39
03/10/2011 11:05:57 liathroidboy County: Mayo Posts: 4766
1045513 great stuff folks the heartbeat of the nation rolls on, i mean no other sport could have the whole country out of their beds at 8am on a sunday, jaysus even that God fella couldnt muster that dort of support on a sunday monrning :)
wales can be beaten if, their back row is moved into midfiled to defend then murray and earls and bowe can cause havoc near the ruck as the entire welch team will be tracking the irish back row as they will be terrified of the ball carrying ability of the irish
Stop with the heartbeat of a nation stuff, its not needed and only winds people up O Gara has kicked better but Sexton to start. All our best performances in the last year or 2(australia in world cup etc have had sexton at 10) O'Gara has been flawless in conversions, poor out of hand kicking but has generally done well. Hes consistent, hes experienced but is he limited.
Sexton seems to have put the kicking ghosts to bed, his kicking out of hand was very good against Australia and his defence is superb as was seen today with a try saving tackle. However, he is a bit inconsistent If Sexton can get his kicks, he should start because he offers far more around the pitch. Defensively hes incredible and were going to need a perfect defence against Wales.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/10/2011 12:31:50
Yeah to say you're glad Best is injured shows you actually want this Ireland team to fail, Best has been superb so far and Cronin is a step down. I believe you also didn't want Ferris to even be in the squad which again shows your complete lack of knowledge when it comes to Rugby. Would you make any changes for the game Ormond? As much as I like Sexton ROG is undroppable now and has to start, his accuracy from place kicks will be vital. Can't decide between Murray and Reddan though, Murray isn't the finished article but his size and the runs he makes can cause problems. If ROG starts I'd play Murray. Just really hope Best is fit although it isn't looking hopeful
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 03/10/2011 12:42:56
Hope Best comes through but I'd have confidence in Cronin doing a job lads. He's a serious ball carrier.
It's fantastic that we have two world class 10's to pick from, what would the All-Blacks give to have what we have? We're going to need them both if we are to get past Wales and maybe even reach the final. ROG to start though in my opinion.
killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 03/10/2011 13:06:30
liathroidboy County: Mayo Posts: 4769
Are you back from New Zealand?
paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/10/2011 13:14:44
03/10/2011 12:42:56 pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 3992
1045601 Yeah to say you're glad Best is injured shows you actually want this Ireland team to fail, Best has been superb so far and Cronin is a step down. I believe you also didn't want Ferris to even be in the squad which again shows your complete lack of knowledge when it comes to Rugby. Would you make any changes for the game Ormond? As much as I like Sexton ROG is undroppable now and has to start, his accuracy from place kicks will be vital. Can't decide between Murray and Reddan though, Murray isn't the finished article but his size and the runs he makes can cause problems. If ROG starts I'd play Murray. Just really hope Best is fit although it isn't looking hopeful
To say your glad anyone gets injured is pathetic. I would play sexton, the welsh back row is a much bigger threat than any we have played so far with the obv exception of australia and sextons better defence will be needed. Jonnys kicking when he came on was good and it appears like the jittery way he was kicking may be gone now. Murray and Reddan is 50:50 at the moment, you are correct on if ROG starts murray with him. The half backs shouldnt be reddan and ROG as they are too weak defensively as a pair. Im not sure who kidney will pick for the 10 jersey Hopefully POC and Best are fit as we will need them. The lineout goes to pot without him as leo cullen is not up to it. Interesting to see that when paul went off it was donncha ryan not donncha o callaghan calling the lineouts, they didnt go too bad but paul is really needed.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/10/2011 13:20:10
Delighted with the performance against Italy, I thought we'd struggle for long periods before finishing them off in the last quarter of the game but the lads really came out firing in the second half and put Italy away early giving Kidney the chance to take a few of our top players off before the final whistle.
I think we now have a great chance of making the final, we certainly have earned the right to dream about it anyway and why not. I don't think I've ever been as excited about a Rugby match before (or any match in any sport for that matter) as I am about the Wales game, make no mistake about it this is the biggest Rugby match any generation of Irish players will have ever played in and the best part about it is that its very winnable. I think if Kidney has a full deck to choose from (ok Best is struggling) we will win this game, I know Wales are in form at the moment but I'd rather that than have them limping in to a QF and then causing a shock. I'm gonna go for Ireland by 3pts, C'MON IRELAND.
Just on the other QFs:
I think France are a mess and could fall apart against England (a side which they have always struggled against regardless of form) who are a team which I don't rate at all, they play an awful brand of 10 man rugby and I'd love to see them crash out sooner rather than later. But I still think they will beat the French by about 8pts or so.
I think the winners of the World Cup will come out of the South Africa v Australia QF and straight up for my money I think South Africa will be the first side to retain the Webb Ellis cup although like France they also seem to have big problems with their coach which could be their undoing. Australia would be my favourites but for two things a) losing to us which must have been a blow to their confidence and b) they've been pretty unlucky with injuries throughout the WC and I think this could take its toll on them. SA to win by 4pts.
New Zealand are now desperately trying to throw cold water over Dan Carter's injury being devastating to their teams chances but in fairness I think even though he was struggling with the boot a bit Carter was their main man, you simply can't replace him. NZ will have enough for Argentina but I'm afraid I have my doubts about them after that, they are known for two things in RWCs these days 1) to steamroll their way through the Pool stage and 2) to completely choke when the chips are down in the knockouts.........so then 1 down, another to go?
Just finally a word on our magnificent support down in NZ, it has to be one of the most bittersweet things I have ever seen, on one hand they are doing us proud by bringing such great support and excitement to the tournament. However on the other hand it is a little bit sad seeing so many young Irish people over their knowing damn well the reason why they had to leave their native shore in the first place but I suppose theres no point in being too negative about it, I mean they are helping our team a great deal by making them feel as though they were playing at home in every game so far, well done lads/lassies.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/10/2011 18:23:23
03/10/2011 18:23:23 Htaem County: Meath Posts: 3007
1045826 Delighted with the performance against Italy, I thought we'd struggle for long periods before finishing them off in the last quarter of the game but the lads really came out firing in the second half and put Italy away early giving Kidney the chance to take a few of our top players off before the final whistle.
I think we now have a great chance of making the final, we certainly have earned the right to dream about it anyway and why not. I don't think I've ever been as excited about a Rugby match before (or any match in any sport for that matter) as I am about the Wales game, make no mistake about it this is the biggest Rugby match any generation of Irish players will have ever played in and the best part about it is that its very winnable. I think if Kidney has a full deck to choose from (ok Best is struggling) we will win this game, I know Wales are in form at the moment but I'd rather that than have them limping in to a QF and then causing a shock. I'm gonna go for Ireland by 3pts, C'MON IRELAND.
Just on the other QFs:
I think France are a mess and could fall apart against England (a side which they have always struggled against regardless of form) who are a team which I don't rate at all, they play an awful brand of 10 man rugby and I'd love to see them crash out sooner rather than later. But I still think they will beat the French by about 8pts or so.
I think the winners of the World Cup will come out of the South Africa v Australia QF and straight up for my money I think South Africa will be the first side to retain the Webb Ellis cup although like France they also seem to have big problems with their coach which could be their undoing. Australia would be my favourites but for two things a) losing to us which must have been a blow to their confidence and b) they've been pretty unlucky with injuries throughout the WC and I think this could take its toll on them. SA to win by 4pts.
New Zealand are now desperately trying to throw cold water over Dan Carter's injury being devastating to their teams chances but in fairness I think even though he was struggling with the boot a bit Carter was their main man, you simply can't replace him. NZ will have enough for Argentina but I'm afraid I have my doubts about them after that, they are known for two things in RWCs these days 1) to steamroll their way through the Pool stage and 2) to completely choke when the chips are down in the knockouts.........so then 1 down, another to go?
Just finally a word on our magnificent support down in NZ, it has to be one of the most bittersweet things I have ever seen, on one hand they are doing us proud by bringing such great support and excitement to the tournament. However on the other hand it is a little bit sad seeing so many young Irish people over their knowing damn well the reason why they had to leave their native shore in the first place but I suppose theres no point in being too negative about it, I mean they are helping our team a great deal by making them feel as though they were playing at home in every game so far, well done lads/lassies.
Super post, some very valid points included Interesting to see that the Referee for the welsh game will be Craig Joubert (South Africa) and his assistant referees will be Wayne Barnes (England), Romain Poite (France) 2 poor refs on the touchline but joubert isnt the worst.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/10/2011 18:36:08
Good post, I think the winner of the Ireland/Wales and SA/Australia will meet in the final but I'm hopeful the Six Nations team could spring an upset. Even without Carter NZ are a cut above the rest but they'll get to the semi's without being tested at all and against a battle hardened Australia/SA I think they'll slip up. Argentina are average and NZ really could have done with a tougher game. For me Australia's injuries might be too much and SA will shade it. England/France is interesting, England play horrible Rugby but it's effective while the French look to be in disarray. If we win I'd rather face England though, you always know the French could turn it on and when they do I don't think we could cope. I'm already counting down til the Wales game, the last time I was this excited was the Grand Slam decider. Think it will be an equally tight and absorbing match, hopefully with the same result. Ireland vs. England, SA vs. NZ semi's. Here's hoping
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 03/10/2011 21:14:13
03/10/2011 21:14:13 pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 3996
1045942 Good post, I think the winner of the Ireland/Wales and SA/Australia will meet in the final but I'm hopeful the Six Nations team could spring an upset. Even without Carter NZ are a cut above the rest but they'll get to the semi's without being tested at all and against a battle hardened Australia/SA I think they'll slip up. Argentina are average and NZ really could have done with a tougher game. For me Australia's injuries might be too much and SA will shade it. England/France is interesting, England play horrible Rugby but it's effective while the French look to be in disarray. If we win I'd rather face England though, you always know the French could turn it on and when they do I don't think we could cope. I'm already counting down til the Wales game, the last time I was this excited was the Grand Slam decider. Think it will be an equally tight and absorbing match, hopefully with the same result. Ireland vs. England, SA vs. NZ semi's. Here's hoping
I agree that playing england in a semi would be much better than playing france, in recent years we have always struggled to beat france and we have always raised our game when playing the english and usually have won. The french seem to be in disaray but knowing them theyll pull some magical performance out of somewhere and id rather that not be against us
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/10/2011 21:39:36
a wales win would do a lot to stop this band wagon jumping and protect our national sport, therefore I'm welsh on Saturday morning!!
CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 04/10/2011 08:42:36
Good man Che.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion and if your think it's to the betterment of Ireland that we get knocked out by Wales, then that's your opinion.
I think you'll find though, that after 900,000 woke up last week for the Italy game, there may be a few more this week that disagree with you.
Fair play Htaem, good post. It's getting exciting all right and the news on Best seems to be improving. Hopefully he can start at least and see how he fairs from there. Ireland and Wales games over the past few seasons have been notoriously close and i see no difference on Saturday. Another game for ROG i feel though as the kicking game could again be all important.
This is our chance, we've been harping on about the "Golden Generation" of Irish Rugby for the past few years, but this is it. It's our best chance of reaching a Semi and then daring to dream maybe going further. The boys have been nothing short of superb in this World Cup and hopefully now with another push they can drive on and sort the Welsh out.
Only problem now is finding a hospitable bar keep that will open early doors!!!!!
tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 04/10/2011 09:25:05
CheFinny County: UK Posts: 1218
1045987 a wales win would do a lot to stop this band wagon jumping and protect our national sport, therefore I'm welsh on Saturday morning!!
wash your mouth out!!!
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 04/10/2011 09:27:56