Team picked to get us to the quarters then. tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 30/09/2011 09:19:56 1044283 Link 0 |
O gara is starting, i am delighted, sexton get busy holding them tackle bags as thats going to be the sum of your contribution from here on in liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 30/09/2011 10:30:21 1044327 Link 0 |
Would have to agree with you there tribeinbrum, I'm a little surprised Kidney picked Murray over Reddan aswell but its probably just because himself and O'Gara play together at Munster. Getting nervous now, the Italians are a big physical team and even if we do win (which we really should) it could be at a heavy cost, if we lose the likes of O'Driscoll or O'Connell we're done, no two ways about it, we're done. The one thing which could be a blessing in disguise for us though is that we have to get a result, lose and its game over ball burst, so surely that will spur the lads on. For my money we should have 4 or 5 points to spare at the end, C'MON IRELAND!!! Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/09/2011 10:55:00 1044345 Link 0 |
30/09/2011 10:30:21 ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/09/2011 11:18:51 1044366 Link 0 |
the goysh have got this in the bag. Mario and his pals should stick to feeding northsoiders with pizza, fish and chips and ice cream CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 30/09/2011 11:25:20 1044372 Link 0 |
Sexton and ROG are different types of fly half, and we are truly blessed that we have that strength in depth in that position. I agree with you Ormond that Kidney is rotating both of them depending on who we face next. Sexton's kicking though has let him down a bit, but apart from the South African lad Steyn and ROG everyone is struggling with the boot, even the great Dan Carter....... tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 30/09/2011 11:34:45 1044379 Link 0 |
jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/09/2011 11:56:56 1044391 Link 0 |
Ormond i would have to disagree that Sexton is a bigger threat than Rog. He is stronger defensively in my eyes and has more pace, Rog is stronger in every other aspect, just my opinion. jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/09/2011 11:57:43 1044392 Link 0 |
Htaem s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 30/09/2011 12:01:21 1044398 Link 0 |
this nonsense about a threat with ball in hand with sexton is laughable, when, where and how does he do this, is this hid complete stupidity of running ball out of his 22, or the telegraphed loop around move he is so famous for that has never once came off for ireland. this defensive talk to is complete rubbish, o gara get through twice as much defensive work as sexton in a game. i mean people defendinmg sexton are using his size as some sort of rationale- if it has come down to which person is bigger well then folks ye really shouldnt be talking any more about rugby. personally i think Ian Keatly is playing better rugby than sexton at the minute. but anyways justice has being done and the right man is starting, we cant have a situation like in the 6N where sexton spent the majority of the match doing everything possible to lose the game for us until king ronan saved us yet again. regardless of anythijng else- sexton is at best an average kicker, o gara is world class- need we say anymore- just look at the kicking stats and you will learn all you need to know about who is top dog and who is just messing about, thank god there is a perception out there that sexton is a yound fella when actually he is far from it - because the day isnt far away when he will turn 30 and will still be using the 'im only learning' excuse! liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 30/09/2011 12:18:31 1044421 Link 0 |
I said we need to get a result goldrick and we do, whether thats a win or a draw so whats your point? Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/09/2011 12:48:08 1044446 Link 0 |
my point is. what would the alternative scenario be ?.. we need to lose ? or it's ok to lose.. well if it was Ok to lose then no problem I am sure we could manage that. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 30/09/2011 13:10:40 1044469 Link 0 |
30/09/2011 12:18:31 ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/09/2011 14:33:32 1044534 Link 0 |
Italian scrum coach Carlo Orlandi: Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 30/09/2011 14:42:57 1044543 Link 0 |
Yeah sure, we need to lose, theres a good lad. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/09/2011 14:44:53 1044546 Link 0 |
Hope to god there's not another show of ginger beards and leprechaun hats in the crowd, how embarrassing! sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 30/09/2011 15:54:05 1044612 Link 0 |
Right then. tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 30/09/2011 16:45:19 1044652 Link 0 |
Murray for Reddan is a bit of a surprise but apart from that this is the team I'd pick for Italy. Trimble once again can count himself unfortunate but Earls has done well so far and deserves his place. I still think (and hope) that Sexton is our number 1 fly-half and will be back in for the quarters if we make them, ROG makes sense for this game. Anyone seeing a surprise tomorrow with Scotland - England? Can't see the Scots winning by more than 7 but the Argieswill nick top spot if England lose pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 30/09/2011 17:39:47 1044690 Link 0 |
Ronan, Ronan, Ronan, all the way. Guys the lad is proven class and his decision making is second to none, he will not let the team down. Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 30/09/2011 17:44:14 1044695 Link 0 |
30/09/2011 17:44:14 ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/09/2011 21:53:34 1044819 Link 0 |