17/09/2011 13:55:51 pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 3916
1036770 Where did that performance come from. Great heart and the forwards to a man were absolutely superb. We have the chance now and can't throw it away, if we do what needs to be done we'll end up in a very winnable quarter against Wales. After that who knows
I think most supporters of the team knew they were capable of playing like that. We didnt look like we could play as good as that in the past year, england game apart, but we put in a world class preformance when it was needed the most. We have a super chance of making the semis for the first time ever, with a 1/4 final against wales or samoa. The big southern hemisphere 3 are now prob going to be on the same side of the draw so we are in with a right shot of making the last 4, if not the final and prob not face SA, Aus or NZ until a final
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/09/2011 14:20:13
Let me tell yous one thing, sometimes it great being wrong lads, my favourite Irish result of all time was our win against Wales in 09 to win the grandslam but this has to rank up there considering our deplorable record in the southern hemisphere.
Now I'm generally a bit of a spoil sport who loves to put victories such as this into context, ie Australia were missing 3 huge players, we were coming in under absolutely no pressure (complete underdogs) and the conditions suited us far more so you could say that we done nothing special. But to hell with that, I'm gonna enjoy this one because I genuinely believe that our team under Eddie O'Sullivan (who I'm not trying to defame) would have lost this match 9 time out of 10 under the exact same circumstances, I just think Kidney has got this one right, with a big chunk of luck aswell it has to be said!
Disclaimer: this is not a backtrack, I said a few months that Kidney would have us playing half hearted rugby before the RWC and then we'd spring a few huge surprises but I have to hold my hand up and say that I said those things completely tongue in cheek, I never meant a word of it. But now I'm not so sure, maybe he's done a South Africa on it and sent his players out with marshmallows in their bellies before the WC and reserved the fire for big occasions.......I certainly hope thats the case anyway.
One word of caution for all this though, lets put the game into perspective, it was really only Pool C game 2 out of 4 and we need to stay grounded and win the remaining 2 matches because if these players lose control of themselves they'll surely pay the price and our win today would be completely devalued. Mercifully though there was no huge celebrations from our lads at the end, the last thing I wanted to see was them jumping around like a bunch of wallys when theres so much still to play for.
Lets just keep the fate now, its our best ever RWC result and our best ever chance of reaching a Semi-Final at least, fingers crossed here from a big sceptic anyway.
C'mon Ireland!!!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/09/2011 15:17:49
BTW lets light a few candles for Samoa tomorrow, if they can pip Wales to second spot (which they're more that capable of doing) that would give us a wonderful chance of making or first SF.
What a lift that result was today :-)
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/09/2011 16:27:48
delighted , those eejits from cavan and meath on here that were slating irish rugby must feel stupid now .. anything is possible now lads
healy96 (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 17/09/2011 19:00:19
17/09/2011 15:17:49 Htaem County: Meath Posts: 2975
1036805 Let me tell yous one thing, sometimes it great being wrong lads, my favourite Irish result of all time was our win against Wales in 09 to win the grandslam but this has to rank up there considering our deplorable record in the southern hemisphere.
Now I'm generally a bit of a spoil sport who loves to put victories such as this into context, ie Australia were missing 3 huge players, we were coming in under absolutely no pressure (complete underdogs) and the conditions suited us far more so you could say that we done nothing special. But to hell with that, I'm gonna enjoy this one because I genuinely believe that our team under Eddie O'Sullivan (who I'm not trying to defame) would have lost this match 9 time out of 10 under the exact same circumstances, I just think Kidney has got this one right, with a big chunk of luck aswell it has to be said!
Disclaimer: this is not a backtrack, I said a few months that Kidney would have us playing half hearted rugby before the RWC and then we'd spring a few huge surprises but I have to hold my hand up and say that I said those things completely tongue in cheek, I never meant a word of it. But now I'm not so sure, maybe he's done a South Africa on it and sent his players out with marshmallows in their bellies before the WC and reserved the fire for big occasions.......I certainly hope thats the case anyway.
One word of caution for all this though, lets put the game into perspective, it was really only Pool C game 2 out of 4 and we need to stay grounded and win the remaining 2 matches because if these players lose control of themselves they'll surely pay the price and our win today would be completely devalued. Mercifully though there was no huge celebrations from our lads at the end, the last thing I wanted to see was them jumping around like a bunch of wallys when theres so much still to play for.
Lets just keep the fate now, its our best ever RWC result and our best ever chance of reaching a Semi-Final at least, fingers crossed here from a big sceptic anyway.
C'mon Ireland!!!
The players rightfully didnt jump up and down as nothing has been done(or won) yet, as you said they would look a right bunch of wallys if they jumped up and down. The ozzies were missing a few players, we were missing david wallace and brian o driscoll still doesnt look 100%(and he was very good today as usual despite that)
This in my opinion ranks just below(barely) the grand slam win as it is our first ever win in a world cup against a top tier country and our first win in the southern hemisphere against a Big 3 team since 79
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/09/2011 19:30:08
All you doubters should feel ashamed!!! Yes im talkin to you ballboy and others... On the men!
gaafarmer (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 18/09/2011 12:08:48
healy96 County: Westmeath Posts: 132
1036886 delighted , those eejits from cavan and meath on here that were slating irish rugby must feel stupid now .. anything is possible now lads
Yep, we might even win it now.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 18/09/2011 12:47:21
I'm not a man for i told you so's, but feck it anyway!!!!!!!!!
What a win!!!!!!! Superb performance and to every one who slated the team after the USA match, every one who doubted the lads that result on Saturday proved you all wrong.
Maybe it was all part of Deccy's masterplan from the start!!!! Lull everyone into a false sense of security and then boom!!! Take out one of the favourites.
The front 5 were magnificent. I've never seen our pack be so dominant, Mike Ross, Cian Healy and the much maligned (especially by myself) Rory Best were to a man superb. Paul O'Connell was a man possessed. Ferris and O'Brien to wrecking ball battering rams. O'Driscoll and D'Arcy (before he went off) showed glimpses of why they are one of the finest midfield combinations ever in Irish history. Tommy Bowe brilliant yet again.
Now onto Russia, get the bonus point win wrapped up early and then conserve the energy for what will be a huge battle against an Italian team who will still fancy our chances against us.
tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 19/09/2011 09:25:20
Just when everyone doubted them they go and pull a performance like that out of the bag! Ireland were absolutely outstanding. The pack were incredible and our defending heroic. Lets get the job done against Russia (hopefully most of the team will be rested to give others a chance) and Italy (won't be easy but we should have enough) and then concentrate against Wales in the quarter final. Without wanting to look to far ahead, we have an excellent chance of making a semi final for the first time.
men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2019 - 19/09/2011 14:24:25
I wouldn't say everyone doubted them. I genuinely 100% was confident we'd get something from the game. There was natural caution because it was Australia but I said to everyone at work on Friday that Ireland would win and we'd finally have a big win in the RWC. I know the warm-up games were disappointing and then the poor win over USA. I think it said a fear in everyone that there was going to be a repeat of '07. I was confident that it would not be the case. Kidney and O'Driscoll were making the right noises as well. Thankfully the lads performed. I also have to say I thought Ireland would've done better. I believe they do have a better performance in them. Hopefully there is a better performance in them something which will really rock the world!
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9006 - 19/09/2011 14:34:02
The team that will be picked for the russian game will be interesting After the physicality of saturdays game there has to be some serious changes for the next game and players need to be rested for the Italy game. Court, Cronin, Buckley, D Ryan, Cullen, Ferris, Jennings, Leamy, Boss, ROG, Trimble, Wallace, McFadden, Bowe, Kearney Ross, Varley, DOC, Heaslip, Murray, Earls, Murphy
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/09/2011 14:38:40
And to think some of the "experts" thought Best and Ferris were token selections!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 19/09/2011 14:42:51
What are peoples views on ROG? Hopefully this talk about retirement was in the heat of the moment, you could see on Saturday what he still has to offer. The Ulster boys were superb but so were all the forwards, best bit for me was when Ferris just lifted Genia and carried him back 10 yards. Unreal
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 19/09/2011 14:54:47
I think for the Russia game i'd make a few changes, but not many. We need to wrap up the bonus point as quick as possible so we do need some continuity in selection.
That being said a few men do need a rest before the Italy match. It wouldn't suprise me if Kidney only made about 3 maybe 4 changes at the most, but then if we get going and motoring against Russia early, put the 4 tries to bed, then make a raft of changes when the job is done.
tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 19/09/2011 14:59:50
19/09/2011 14:54:47 pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 3920
1037911 What are peoples views on ROG? Hopefully this talk about retirement was in the heat of the moment, you could see on Saturday what he still has to offer. The Ulster boys were superb but so were all the forwards, best bit for me was when Ferris just lifted Genia and carried him back 10 yards. Unreal
He's emotional up to his eyeballs in that interview. He clearly misses his family and home. What came through in his interviews for me was that he was desperately disappointed not to start this game, directly quoted as saying he felt he deserved to. It sounds like he isn't willing to continue if he isn't first choice.
An unwelcome distraction after a great day
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/09/2011 15:04:32
Re O'Gara, we'll never see his like again. A true great who will go down as the greatest fly half this small island has ever produced.
I do think it was heat of the moment stuff on Saturday as he does offer so much. The only thing is though this may be in a more limited role now, kind of like the way David Humphries was used towards the end of his career. IF he is not happy with that then it may be best that he does step aside.
If he does go out at the end of the World Cup, well he owes us nothing so fair play him. Hopefully he stays on until at least the 6 Nations...
tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 19/09/2011 15:16:51
Hopefully he can be persuaded to change his mind until at least a replacement for him is brought up to standard and with keatley now with munster that could be very soon. Keatleys preformances so far this season with munster have been quite impressive and he looks to be a good talent who will learn lots from ROG
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/09/2011 15:49:31
Will Ireland ever play that well again or was it just a flash in the pan ? Is it at all likely they can reach the final and what price are they to win it ?
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/09/2011 20:07:15
19/09/2011 20:07:15 Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 8631
1038262 Will Ireland ever play that well again or was it just a flash in the pan ? Is it at all likely they can reach the final and what price are they to win it ?
Yes, they are more than capable of playing like that again and under kidneys management look more than capable of making more preformances like that in the upcoming weeks Australia, New Zealand and South africa could now all be on the opposite side of the draw to ireland, and apart from france who would be tricky and are a kind of bogey side for this irish side, reaching the final is a good possibility Ireland were around 16/1 before the tournament started but i dont know what odds they are now
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/09/2011 20:17:35
What odds an Italian win on the 2nd of October?
A big (expected) win for them this morning against Russia will only do their confidence the world of good and Ireland hardly blew them away in the 6 nations opener. I can't see and would hate to see it happen but how often have we had our hopes dashed at the last, like the game against France in 2007.
spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 20/09/2011 12:19:29