Rugby World Cup

Breffni39

1035416 liathroidboy

1035375 its doesnt surprise me that the rugby world cup thread has alot more posts than the all ireland final threads put together- heartbeat of nation!

Are you mental in the head? there are several threads on the All-Ireland FINAL and not a single thread on the Rugby World Cup Final . There is an entire FORUM about the ALL-Ireland Championships, but only one thread on the Rugby World Cup. Honestly, your stupidity knows no bounds. Aren't you in NZ? What time is it?

---------------------------

ah breff there you are, i havent heard from you for the whole of 12 minutes! great job of ignoring, again you sir are playing a blinder at this ignoring craic.

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 15/09/2011 20:04:32    1035590

15/09/2011 18:55:43
BettystownRoyal

1035529 When does the world cup start? Is Ireland's first game on this Saturday? I heard it's on at like 5am?

Are you messing and looking for a rise off someone...
The world cup started a week ago. Ireland played last saturday morning, maybe you were in bed. tomorrows game is at 9.30. last weeks was at 7
the game next week is at 6am and the last game is at 9.30am

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/09/2011 21:54:01    1035717

Just read this on Rte's website.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/worldcup/2011/0916/rwc_nearmiss_1991.html

Feck it, i'm convinced now that something special is going to happen 2moro. I can remember that day back in 91 well. I was a young fella then but my mom and dad ran a pub and i was allowed to watch it down there with a room full of half cut Irish men. Not one between them gave us one ounce of hope, until about 5 minutes from the end when the place erupted like a volcano, only to be doused down 5 minutes after.

2moro is going to be different. I can feel it now. Somehow, we are going to beat the Aussies. We are going to shock the Rugby world. COME ON IRELAND!!!!!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 16/09/2011 09:48:57    1035778

tribeinbrum

1035778 Just read this on Rte's website.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/worldcup/2011/0916/rwc_nearmiss_1991.html

Feck it, i'm convinced now that something special is going to happen 2moro. I can remember that day back in 91 well. I was a young fella then but my mom and dad ran a pub and i was allowed to watch it down there with a room full of half cut Irish men. Not one between them gave us one ounce of hope, until about 5 minutes from the end when the place erupted like a volcano, only to be doused down 5 minutes after.

2moro is going to be different. I can feel it now. Somehow, we are going to beat the Aussies. We are going to shock the Rugby world. COME ON IRELAND!!!!!!!!!

--------------------------

i remember that day as if it were yesterday - i was in the south terrace and the place went completely mental- hamilton took a bloody age to get to the line. That was the only day ever that an irish sporting occasion effected the richter scale in ireland - very ture story, just as that try was scored there were abnormal readings all over dublin. on tommorow am i hearing right that pollock is injured???? please please please

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/09/2011 10:07:28    1035795

liathroidboy

ah breff there you are, i havent heard from you for the whole of 12 minutes! great job of ignoring, again you sir are playing a blinder at this ignoring craic.

Get over yourself, I never said I was ignoring you.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 16/09/2011 10:14:00    1035800

Who's Pollock Ballboy?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 16/09/2011 10:14:35    1035802

16/09/2011 10:14:35
Breffni39

1035802 Who's Pollock Ballboy?

He prob means Pocock, the 7 who would be starting for oz if fit, as he is a doubt for the game

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/09/2011 11:21:45    1035869

Ah yeah I know ormondbannerman, I simply highlighting ballboys constant wrongness!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 16/09/2011 12:03:59    1035916

Breffni39

1035916 Ah yeah I know ormondbannerman, I simply highlighting ballboys constant wrongness!

------------------

oh there you are i thought you went missing i was worried about my number one fan

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/09/2011 12:40:40    1035978

Imagine on all final weekend, the biggest sporting occasion this weekend will be a rugby match played on the other side of the world. the heartbeat of the nation continues on, its a shame that the all ireland is getting no attention, i know its completely one sided but it should get a bit of media attention.

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/09/2011 12:42:36    1035982

liathroidboy

1035978 Breffni39

1035916 Ah yeah I know ormondbannerman, I simply highlighting ballboys constant wrongness!

------------------

oh there you are i thought you went missing i was worried about my number one fan

Wrong again bb, your your own number one fan. Don't be getting narky with me cos you're constantly wrong.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 16/09/2011 12:49:48    1035991

16/09/2011 12:42:36
liathroidboy

1035982 Imagine on all final weekend, the biggest sporting occasion this weekend will be a rugby match played on the other side of the world. the heartbeat of the nation continues on, its a shame that the all ireland is getting no attention, i know its completely one sided but it should get a bit of media attention.

They both will get equal attention, please stop casting all rugby people in a bad light.
The All Ireland will get plenty of attention from the media and die hard rugby supporters. It is one of the biggest sporting events in this country every year
I dont follow gaelic football, in my opinion rugby is a much better sport but many people and nearly every poster on this forum prefer GAA and to most of them gaelic football is their sport. Stop trying to create a divide where there isnt any
Rugby while increasingly popular is not the most popular or most played sport on this island(as much as id like it to be)

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/09/2011 13:07:20    1036010

Ball boy are you getting the six one news and the irish star ok out in New Zeland?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/09/2011 14:18:17    1036125

So then lads, is anyone else as confident as myself that we are going to hand the Wallabies down a beating 2moro????

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 16/09/2011 14:46:06    1036179

16/09/2011 14:46:06
tribeinbrum

1036179 So then lads, is anyone else as confident as myself that we are going to hand the Wallabies down a beating 2moro????
Win the battle in the back row and we have a very good chance,
We are well capable of winning but need all 22 players to give their all as the use of the bench by both sides will be vital in deciding who will win. Ireland by a score hopefully

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/09/2011 14:49:57    1036190

After watching the All Backs demolish Nippon today the whole WC is a bit of a farce time for some sort of Handicap system or just two Groups of FIVE NZ,ENG,IRE,SCOT,ITA AND AUS,SA,FRA.WALES,AGT With the top two in each group advancing with the bottom two in those groups dropping out with maybe a shield comp with the top two moving up into the next world cup...

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 16/09/2011 14:57:27    1036205

That's the fella Ormond.

All i've been reading and seeing all week is poor form this, we're in a slump that. The corner has to be turned sooner or later. Like you said, if the pack can dominate we have a great chance.

I've been his biggest critic in the past but we need Jonny Sexton to have the game of his life and dictate the play the way he sees fit. When he takes responsibility, be it for club or country we do see dividends.....

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 16/09/2011 14:58:38    1036207

16/09/2011 14:57:27
fortyfive

1036205 After watching the All Backs demolish Nippon today the whole WC is a bit of a farce time for some sort of Handicap system or just two Groups of FIVE NZ,ENG,IRE,SCOT,ITA AND AUS,SA,FRA.WALES,AGT With the top two in each group advancing with the bottom two in those groups dropping out with maybe a shield comp with the top two moving up into the next world cup...

No, that means the weaker countries will never get the chance to improve as they will only be playing teams of their standard. If rugby wants to develop further it has to stay at 20 teams.
Take hurling for example there has been outcr when the powers at be have tried to make division1 of the hurling league smaller and rightly so. Teams will learn so much more from playing the bigger better teams than only playing the teams at the same standard as them
What handicap system would you use?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/09/2011 15:05:08    1036222

I think the way the world cup is now is rather balanced. Yes, you are going to get one or two lobsided games but look at what Japan did the week before when they tested France to the limit.

The way it is now, the 8 best teams will make it out of the groups and then the winner will come from there.

And also look at Canada's win the other day against Tonga. It shows that certain weaker teams are improving.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 16/09/2011 15:11:35    1036229

4 top teams...

All the rest filler

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 16/09/2011 15:21:39    1036240