Rugby World Cup

11/09/2011 11:27:08
pplocal

1031577 People said the exact same at the last World Cup as we scraped past Namibia and Georgia. Then looked what happened against France and Argentina. There's no cohesion, no form, no hope. Contrast this with Wales, they came into the World Cup with some form and will be kicking themselves they didn't put SA away

Their was plenty of positives to take away even though we played poorly. As kieth wood said on ITV, we won which is what mattered, players who hadnt much game time got some more before australia next week.
11/09/2011 12:45:07
Cavan_Slasher

1031609 When will people realise that Ireland are a very poor team and stop this nonsense about having a great chance in the W.Cup ? They have NO chance !!

Ireland are not a poor team, do you know anything about rugby, we are tryng to play a fast high tempo game that is very difficult to pull off, if we change how we play the game we should be fine.
11/09/2011 15:28:18
KevHill

1031714 wont be wasting a lie-in next weekend, having watched this morning's offering: poor build up and no excuses on the back of the warm up games the Aussies will have a field day
Good- dont bother get up, if you dont care. dont watch it.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2011 17:03:12    1031774

Didn't I tell you, the Italians will jump all over the Irish line outs and take charge of the scrums; some can't see the wood for the trees. This Irish side has been on the slide for well over a year.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 11/09/2011 18:11:17    1031825

For those in the fantasy league table. the table so far and the amount of points won
1 nenagh ormond 81
2 Basil'sXV 65
3 Popeys Hooks 58
4 The Rampaging Rent Boys 56
5 Kidney's Plan B 55
6 IRAssassins 54
7 Something Else 53
8 Yeovil Town 49

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2011 18:38:16    1031858

Bannerman: I do care but I prefer not to start my day in bad form due to a frustratingly poor performance from a team who are much better than their current form: cant see a big performance on this form

KevHill (Antrim) - Posts: 271 - 11/09/2011 19:55:29    1031962

11/09/2011 19:55:29
KevHill

1031962 Bannerman: I do care but I prefer not to start my day in bad form due to a frustratingly poor performance from a team who are much better than their current form: cant see a big performance on this form

I may be alone in saying this but i have a feeling we could nearly beat the ozzies next week, if several changes are made to the starting line up, subs bench and the players tell kidney that the game plan that they have been playing is not working and that they would be better off playing like leinster were last season.

If it affects that much, go out chill relax....
I went off and was meant to play a rugby match which was called off and went and trained instead.
I am the opposite to you i can easily see a big performance in that team, there is too many top class players involved for a top class game not to be in them somewhere

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2011 20:25:38    1032008

Right then.

First off we didn't lose. We won the match. USA were outsiders yes, a poor and limited team yes. But look at what day it was. Those lads in the USA jerseys will never be as pumped up for any match ever again. Look at their manager, he knew our team inside out. He would have had the yanks fired up like a canon as he had his won axe to grind.

I for one will be waking up early next week. I also fully expect Ireland to some out with a performance that going on the last few comments will be a complete and utter shock to people.

There were some positives, and a few negatives. I'm begining to think D'Arcy's position is now untenable. Be bold Deccie and push Bowe into centre and start Trimble. Reddan will come in at scrum half and i'd actually start with Sexton next saturday. As for the pack well Healy in for Court and Sean O'Brien in for Jennings would be my only changes.

Keep the faith lads. If we've learned nothing at all from following Irish rugby it's that when we're written off, given no hope even from our own, we come out fighting and i think the Aussies will be in for a on Saturday....

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 12/09/2011 09:21:29    1032182

in for it?

in for a bonus point!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/09/2011 10:29:46    1032244

Sorry, should have been shock.....The head ain't working this morning yet....

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 12/09/2011 10:38:28    1032252

Bad news for australia, good news for us.
Digby Iaone is out of the rest of the world cup with a fractured thumb and will need surgery on it
Not good to see such a player miss out on playing any more in the biggest competition in rugby but its another threat we will not have to face next weekend

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/09/2011 19:51:46    1033006

I genuinely think that Ireland are going to deliver against Australia. I have a gut feeling that they have a big performance in them. People are moaning continuously about us having a bad 2011, but if you break it down:

In the 6N, the two games we lost, we actually SHOULD have won! Wales beat us by a proven illegal try, and we out-scored france by 3 tries to 1, so we were close to another Grand Slam! Our 2nd/3rd string team were a few minutes from beating scotland in the warm ups, had we taken our penalty chances against england we could have won that game, and for 50% of the series with france, we were the better team. We are better than what the media and you pessimists are making us out to be! If we happen to go on a run to semi final or final territory (stranger things have happened) then it will be very irritating to be joined on the journey by the begrudgers' bandwagon, who's thoughts on the team will no doubt change drastically.

Ferris and O'Brien to muscle us into victory. Its just this gut instinct i have.

spiderpig123 (Down) - Posts: 175 - 12/09/2011 21:48:49    1033147

Also, in the 2007 world cup, England made hard work in beating the USA in their first game, and South Africa came last in their tri-nations (which was their warm up before the 2007 tournament) and both ended up making the final. Keep the faith!

spiderpig123 (Down) - Posts: 175 - 12/09/2011 21:54:02    1033151

i love this 'performance' nonsense its loser talk, its about results and ireland got the result they wanted and there are no injuries of note (buckleys is a blessing in disguise- get Brett Wilkinson to NZ immediately). what i say to people who talk about 'performance' just look at wales v SA - wales played the best rugby, and most high tempo game i possibly ever seen it was magnificent to watch, you couldnt take your eye off it for a second, but they LOST. this performance talk is just a way for people with agendas to slag a winning team, its completely pointless in reality!

And on the game on sunday- im always right about rugby, sxton was useless as he is useless, o gara from here on in if we actually want to compete at all. if o gara was playing, sexton would have got the second half as the games would have been over, sexton risked the entire team to injury due to his poor decisions of running everything straight into their 7 who is possibly the best tackler bar Burger in the world cup, i mean paddy useless wallace couldnt have being any worse. its time o gara went to kidney and toldhim this is too serious to be messing about with and that o gara cannot always be asked to save us from sexton messing up.

rory best- well words are not enough to describe him.... the name paul mc shane springs to mind

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 13/09/2011 10:34:18    1033259

Why, did McShane once score a vital goal in a World Cup match as well?

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 13/09/2011 11:45:00    1033324

13/09/2011 10:34:18
liathroidboy

1033259 i love this 'performance' nonsense its loser talk, its about results and ireland got the result they wanted and there are no injuries of note (buckleys is a blessing in disguise- get Brett Wilkinson to NZ immediately). what i say to people who talk about 'performance' just look at wales v SA - wales played the best rugby, and most high tempo game i possibly ever seen it was magnificent to watch, you couldnt take your eye off it for a second, but they LOST. this performance talk is just a way for people with agendas to slag a winning team, its completely pointless in reality!

And on the game on sunday- im always right about rugby, sxton was useless as he is useless, o gara from here on in if we actually want to compete at all. if o gara was playing, sexton would have got the second half as the games would have been over, sexton risked the entire team to injury due to his poor decisions of running everything straight into their 7 who is possibly the best tackler bar Burger in the world cup, i mean paddy useless wallace couldnt have being any worse. its time o gara went to kidney and toldhim this is too serious to be messing about with and that o gara cannot always be asked to save us from sexton messing up.

rory best- well words are not enough to describe him.... the name paul mc shane springs to mind

Your attitude to sexton is so wrong it is unbelievable... we are incredibly lucky to have 2 top class outhalfs in our squad, only 2 or 3 of the other teams at this world cup have the same options at 10. Like if new zealand lose carter there is a very big drop in standards and ability to their next outhalf.
You are not always right about rugby your wrong much more than your right...
Sexton is not as good at the tactical management of a game than o gara but offers so many more options as a running threat like the ability to hold a defender rather than the defender being able to drift over onto the centres as they know that ROG wil not be carrying the ball
Sexton is also a much better defender, though ROGs has improved in the last year or so, and with sexton at 10 you will never have to put a back row in the 10 channel to help with defence like what happens with Ronan regularly

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/09/2011 12:06:55    1033358

Ormond why do you give this entity the time of day ? Just ignore it like everyone else does here.
I happen to agree with you I think we will do well against the aussies . The game suits the more experienced. Like in all sports , professional or not , the more experienced you are the harder it is to get up for games against the supposed minnows ..fact of life. I like the idea of Sexton at 12 instead of D'Arcy and Trimble has to replace Earls on the wing. We're very lucky as well to have 2 super ball carriers in Ferris and O'Brien and if the back row play at ther best I fancy us to pull off the upset .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 13/09/2011 12:22:56    1033375

13/09/2011 12:22:56
Finsceal

1033375 Ormond why do you give this entity the time of day ? Just ignore it like everyone else does here.
I happen to agree with you I think we will do well against the aussies . The game suits the more experienced. Like in all sports , professional or not , the more experienced you are the harder it is to get up for games against the supposed minnows ..fact of life. I like the idea of Sexton at 12 instead of D'Arcy and Trimble has to replace Earls on the wing. We're very lucky as well to have 2 super ball carriers in Ferris and O'Brien and if the back row play at ther best I fancy us to pull off the upset .

I feel i have to prove he is wrong in case someone actually goes out of their mind and starts to believe some of his rubbish
Trimble has to start and earls is perfect for the 22 jersey as he covers all the outside back positions except 12 quite well so if a substitution is needed in the backs earls can come on and there is very little change to the backline
I agree with you if our backrow wins the battle up front and around the fringes we will win, o brien will be needed to work on the ground a lot but with the human wrecking ball that is ferris beside him we should do allright
Im not to sure about sexton at 12, if we were thinking about it, it should have been tried out for 40-50 minutes of a warm up game but you never know

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/09/2011 12:39:50    1033390

Team announced then.

15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 12, Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Eoin Reddan, 1 Cian Healy, 2 Rory Best, 3 Mike Ross, 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 5 Paul O'Connell, 6 Stephen Ferris, 7 Sean O'Brien, 8 Jamie Heaslip

To be honest changes that were more or less expected. D'Arcy boy, you've been given one last chance, and i hope to god this isn't the final nail in your coffin. Big big game needed. Also from Rob Kearney. This lad has talent and hopefully he'll be back to his best.

On paper it's probably the best team we could have put out. Lets just hope that last 5 games have been one hell of a blip and we let rip at that Wallaby shower on Saturday.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/09/2011 09:24:28    1033960

So kidney's made four unsurprising changes to his team for the Australia game, Healy for Court, O'Brien for Jennings, Reddan for Murray and Kearney for Murphy, just wondering what peoples thoughts are of these changes. For me I think he's got them all right bar one, he really should have dropped Darcy and brought in Trimble but other than that we're at full strength given the options available. Hopefully with that team we can play a bit more open and have a good go, Healy, O'Brien and Heaslip should be told to put the heads down and charge and with a bit of luck set up a decent platform for the backs. Now for my money we'll put up a good early display but ultimately will fall short by 8-12pts or something but the last thing I want to see is another bloody moral victory or gallant 70min effort, I honestly would rather we got beat out the gate than fall short again by a point or two thanks to our inferiority complex!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/09/2011 09:30:18    1033966

Thats a kick in the stones for Andrew Trimble.
Terrible coaching and mangement from Kidney. He is more or less rewarding awful performances from both D'Arcy and in particular Earls. He's telling Trimble that the form of those 2 is better than anything he could do , and also telling D'arcy and Earls that no matter how awful they are he'll start with them.
I see on IRFU website that Earls father is Young Munster legend , maybe that explains it..

But compare this with the likes of Brian Cody - dropped last years Captain for an All Ireland Final... Different gravy and probably why he 's so successful

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 14/09/2011 10:43:05    1034015

Our last five games have been uninspiring, bears a lot of resemblance to the last World Cup, but for some strange reason i'm totally confident that we will take the field on Saturday and win the game.

Our scrum is the strongest it has been for the last few years. Our lineout if Best gets his darts right is one of our best weapons as O'Connell is looking imperious again, ably assisted by O'Callaghan. The back row is one of the most exciting Ireland have ever produced. Ferris, O'Brien and Heaslip are three man mountains who can make serious inroads into the Aussies.

Reddan needs to get the ball quickly to the backs to set up a platform for which they can attack, but it's the midfield pairing that may be found wanting. D'Arcy is just not playing well and this could in turn effect O'Driscoll. I'm hoping on Saturday that D'Arcy either cops himself on a bit, or Kidney is quick to make a change if he's being over-run. If Kearney is fit and hopefully returning to form we have no problem at full back, as long as he passes the ball and doesn't run into a cul-de-sac every time. Bowe is one of top wingers in the world and if we get the ball to him and put him in postion will be able to do some damage. Earls is due a good game and i have faith it will happen for him on Saturday.

All in all i'm as confident as i can be that we will win on Saturday. Come on Ireland!!!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/09/2011 10:48:06    1034019